State College, PA 
Bernel Road Park Share
Uploaded By: jblough Hole #4 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beginner Love

2-4    2/23/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: I_Like_Juice
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Intuitive navigation from hole to hole, no map needed. The holes aren't extremely long for a beginner, so getting par is achievable. Great use of the landscape, hills, and dips. You get to see how differently you need to throw the disc for the changes in elevation, but not so extreme that it isn't fun. Well maintained with grass cutting in the warmer weather.
Cons: In the summer the weeds in the rough can be annoying for shots that miss the fairway. Deer poo can be plentiful. Thorn prickers can be hiding in the rough, so be careful when rummaging for a lost disc.
Other Thoughts: I played this course when it was newly installed last year, and again this past week. I definitely prefer it now that there aren't any weeds grown up on the course. I have been playing for less than a year, so I don't have a big arm as far as distance goes. I really enjoy playing this course. I usually run through it twice to get in a full 18.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beginner Friendly

1    9/25/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: Dettmerb
Played: 153  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely clean, newer park. Nice large sized concrete tee pads. Well mowed, defined fairways. Newer baskets in excellent condition. Simple navigation, no map needed. Slightly below average distances with most holes just under the 300 foot mark.
Cons: No tee signs. Most holes very similar. The only trouble you can get in is the high weeds off the fairway. We played in early fall and weeds were fairly sparse. I imagine in late spring, early summer could be tougher to find discs.
Other Thoughts: Nice park with an outstanding play area for kids. Appears brand new. Navigation was simple after finding hole #1. To get to hole #1, park in lot and follow walking trail at rear of lot toward the right. Hole #1 about 500 yards on your left.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course in a field

2-4    8/29/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets and tee pads were in great condition and were good to use. None of the holes were ridiculously short. On a few holes you could really let it fly. Some of the hole placements were cool and there was some elevation change that was fun.
Cons: Most of the holes were just straight, and there were basically no woods at all. There were no signs. (but easy to navigate).
Other Thoughts: They have a ton of land and some woods on the edge of the course to maybe expand. The rough is weird and is sometimes easy to find your disc in the tall grass and then other times it is an issue. It is a nice 9 hole course that you can play quickly if you like disc golf. Do not make more than a 15 minute drive for it though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Meet Circleville's Larger Twin Sibling!

1    6/23/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you've ever played the nearby Circleville Park, you'll know that there are several qualities that are the very essence of that course: short, straight ace runs that have occasional obstacles--but for the most part, it's just narrow grassy fairways with tall grass on each side.

Well, that's pretty much Bernel Road Park. In fact, the similarities are uncanny. What makes this park different (particulary better) from Circleville then? Read below:

- Holes, overall, are longer. #'s 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 come into mind particularly. Since there's no signage and I didn't feel like using my GPS to measure out the holes, I'd say that the average length is around 280-300--although I could be way off. I'm bad at ascertaining distance. Either way, you can bomb shots a lot easier here than you can at Circleville.

- Beginner friendly; except for the tall grass part. I can see a lot of noobs hyzering sharp and looking for their discs for awhile.

- I did notice that the holes get progressively longer as you go through the course, and then tend to get a little shorter on holes 8-9.

- Narrow fairways (they're only about 40 feet wide) are guarded by tall grass on each side. It's a good couse with which to practice super-straight drives, as the tall grass can certainly punish errant shots and force you to look for discs for awhile. I suggest bringing some of your favorite fairway drivers (Teebirds, Stalkers, Rivers, etc.) for this course.

- There's a few (emphasis on the few) left-turning dogleg shots in which you must clear a bush or tree to get to the basket. Hole #5 comes to mind, as the basket is parked right behind a giant pile of tall bushes. Hole #2 is another shot that requires a good long hyzer to avoid the tall grass rough. The only real anny shot is on #8, where you have to clear a tiny, guarded gap to get the basket, which is another 100 feet away on the green. #8 is a good sidearm hole.

- Nice teepads and manicured fairways. Even though there's no signage yet, the flow of the course is super intuitive and you should have no problems once you find hole #1.

- Should reduce some of the traffic at Circleville and get more people out playing disc golf, as it's not too far (~5 miles) from campus.

- Since this whole entire park was built recently, they took good care of putting the course away from pedestrian traffic, playgrounds, etc. I don't anticipate disc golfers crossing paths with other parkgoers at Bernel Road.
Cons: - Extremely redundant; not unlike Circleville. Look at my photos of the course. If you've seen one picture, you've seen them all. The entire course pretty much plays off the tee, down or up a long fairway, and to the basket. Aside from a blind shot here and there or a slight dogleg, there's not much variety here.

- There are elevation changes, but they're very slight. We're talking very low rolling hills here. Most shots go downhill (just enough to make the shot blind) but there's not much elevation change to speak of.

- Tall grass can really punish errant throws and because some shots are blind, you may want a spotter to see where your disc goes. I didn't spend much time looking for discs--thank goodness--but I can see this being a disc eater as the course gets older and more developed.

- No wooded, technical, low-ceiling shots. Trees, for the most part, are non-existent here. A mix of open-and wooded holes would have been nice.

- Also, as of this date, the course has no signage--although I didn't hold this against the course in my rating since the baskets and tees were just installed a recently.
Other Thoughts: When I heard there was a new course in the State College area, I got really excited. "Finally, this is going to be the super challenging, long, wooded course that the area's been deserving!," I thought. Well, I was certainly right about the longer part. Some holes are indeed longer (and a little more blind) than Circleville. But at the end of the day, it's still a bunch of rolling hills with fairways guarded by tall grass on every hole. Most shots are very straight and only a few RHBH hyzer shots are present. I suppose I was a little disappointed, but at least the area has 18 holes now

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.