Bridgeton (St.Louis), MO 
Carrollton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #1 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Needs work.

2-4    8/19/2016   8/19/2016
Review By: broc989
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Longer holes that challenge your drives.

Planted bamboo around course makes for a challenging obstacle.

Course has a balance of pin location for right-hand & left-handed throwers.
Cons: Not clearly marked. Pins missing on a couple of holes last time we played. Holes not clearly marked. Had to do a solid amount of walking to find pins and T pads.
Other Thoughts: Course is in a poor area of St. Louis. Surrounded by housing apartments. Just didn't get a safe feeling while playing. Make sure you bring a friend.

Personally, theres so many other great courses in the area I would recommend going to another course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ok place.

1    12/16/2015   12/18/2015
Review By: thegodofcheese
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Landscape is nice and plenty of room.
Cons: Little to no signage
Dirt/Mud tees
Flow is bad
Other Thoughts: Bring a map! Otherwise you'll be throwing blind on distance and even direction on some holes, and you'll be walking forever.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Course Could Be So Much Better With Some Work Put Into It!

1    10/24/2015   10/24/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2015
Pros: The park has just a huge amount of room. As one previous reviewer noted, there is easily room for 27, 36 or two complete 18 hole courses here. With that being said, I wasn't impressed with the current layout /design. There are a lot of long walkouts when I didn't see any reason for them. The terrain is great for the kind of course you have here, that is a long demanding one.

I thought hole # 3 was a really pretty hole. The natural fairway was three tiered and just kept narrowing down to the area where the basket was set.
Cons: Navigation and flow is horrible. It made no sense. There was no map on DGCR so I was flying blind and that was exactly how I felt.

The amenities are bare bones. The Gateway baskets are fine, although sometimes hard to spot. The dirt tee pads and minimal signage are poor. And as for those idiots who think they're clever for writing little remarks on the poles, please don't. I did appreciate those locals who used their sharpies and wrote the hole # and distances on the poles. That helped a little.

This course is described as moderately hilly. I believe I would describe it as mostly flat.

It was a little unnerving being in this big sprawling park and not seeing a soul. Kind of made me nervous. It's similar to many sci-fi movie plots where someone has deserted the planet for some unknown reason and some space traveler lands and discovers some kind of alien/ape race. Only this time, it was me with my disc golf bag and I discovered a course I couldn't comprehend.
Other Thoughts: If you like throwing 400-500 foot drives on most every hole, then this is the course for you. To describe this as a championship course or to rate it a 5, I would simply say, drive across Missouri and play Water Works in Kansas City and see for yourself what a 4.5 rated course looks, feels and plays like. Water Works actually has people playing it!

 Cool and Creepy Course

1    10/4/2015   10/8/2015
Review By: Pcorrigan07
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very open course with long holes that demand a good approach shot. A drive is a drive but the approach will make or break you here. Private feeling as you play through an old neighborhood that has been completely grown over.
Cons: Most every drive is to a pin you cannot see so you may waste a lot of time scouting the pin. Bring a map. They have several online if you image search.
Needs updated tee markers. Hard to navigate. Would get a 4 if there were tee markers/pin map distances.
Other Thoughts: Please make this course what it should be. A little TLC, pin placement signs, next tee signs and benches would create a disc destination. Start with 18 pads.

Some cool guy posted a map on the course directory board and some copies in the 1st tee mailbox. Share them. Take one and return it after you play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Creve Coeur Park/Logan University Hybrid

1    6/28/2015   6/28/2015
Review By: renaudski
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a nice mix of distance and technical shots.
In my opinion it is a nice hybrid of Creve Couer park which is long with a lot of open shots and Logan University, which is one of the more technical courses in StL.

Most of the holes at Carrollton have some technical approach needed either by a well placed drive or approach. The technical aspects are not as advanced as Logan.

Carrollton has a nice mix of par 3, 4, 5s. I would recommend this course to anyone as there is ample seating, nice maintenance and accomdations nearby.

If you take this course for what it is, it will rank pretty high for the StL area. It has variety and difficulty with every hole birdie-able with a well placed drive and/or approach.
Cons: The navigation on this course is horrendous as mentioned in the other reviews. Bring a map.

Other Thoughts: 7 and 17 are the most difficult holes.
A lot of wild life roam this area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Carrolton Review

1    3/16/2015   3/16/2015
Review By: ustenido
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Critical golf thinking required! Shot placement is crucial. Lots of par 4s, and some 5s, so you lie is important. There is some crucial thinking that goes into the approach shots. They are not usually long, but they are well positioned pins with "fast greens"
the more i play hem, the more i think Gateways Titan is the best basket on the market
Cons: Teeing area is natural, designated by counter sunk stones, and eroded (and muddy), & not flat. Some roots exposed on a few. My recomendation is to take a slice from ball golf and designate a tee box, and move the tee markers around so that your box will have some life.
Sidewalks and streets play OB, and run adjacent to each hole. If this were water, it would be rated 5.0, but it is a pedestrian hazard, so be careful about shot selection.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes are long, so tee from a safe and dry spot.

Download a map. The tee signs and directional signs, and basket #s are TERRIBLE. The map helped me find my way.

Throw for accuacy, not distance off the tee because your landing zones are tight, even though it looks wide open from the box. Be moe aggressive with your approach if you lossed distance from a layed up tee shot. All in all, everything is birdiable, and anything can quickly turn into a bogie. Take your pars and move on. Wind and elevation play a huge factor around the pins, as well as OBs and very specific foliage

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/2/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: StLZep
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is both long and technical. Mistakes can be costly because the brush gets very thick. I feel a great sense of accomplishment when I execute shots and pars on this course.
Cons: Print a map or you won't know where you're going. There's also no water or concrete tees. Some of the tee locations are tucked WAY behind trees and are hard to find if you haven't played here before.



I believe there used to be more sandbags over some of the sewer openings. I plinked a tree on 8 and had a disc skip across the steet and go in a drain, and also slid one in the drain on the end of 10(got that one back).
Other Thoughts: The first time I played here I wasn't too impressed. Now I love this course and find it very rewarding when you play the holes well. Playing the back nine twice instead of the whole 18 will be less stressful if you're throwing bad. Bring water and a map.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Flawed Gem

1    7/15/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: PDGApunk
Played: 86  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging and fun! This course is in a very isolated park with hardly any traffic at all. It has great land for a disc golf course.. actually, it is great land for a couple courses. It is techincal and long.
Cons: While I enjoyed this course, I was also very annoyed playing it for many reasons:

1. Navigation is TERRIBLE. It needs a better flow. There was a few times where my friend and I were lost and it took 5-10 minutes to find the next tee.

2. This bad navigation would have been a little more excusible if there was a lot of empty boring space.. but there isnt. I saw a lot of great lines that were not being used between holes. A lot of land is not being used, I see no reason why there can not be at least 27 or 36 holes here. A few can be shortened and still be very tough and some do not need 3 placements... some of them needed only 1 placement because it was the perfect placement.

3. Tee signs are very necessary for this course. Most of the holes are blind shots... and since most of the holes are par 3.5-4s, it takes extra time for you to run up and look where the basket is.

4. Some of the low branches hanging in front of the tees could be manicured just a little bit better. But this is pretty minor... most arent bad at all.

5. Teepads please... St Louis Disc Golf Club is pretty good size.. I am not sure why they arent able to raise the fun
ds to put 9-18 teepads in a year on these newer courses that have natural teepads.
Other Thoughts: This course has a A LOT of potential to be a 4+... but I am giving it a sad 3. I love disc golf in St Louis. Most courses are great here. I expected great things with this course.. but I am pretty disappointed with it overall for how much potential it really has. It just seems very incomplete.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Like a Round in the Backyard(s)

1    5/14/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Gateway Baskets that catch very well.
-Course is well spread out so that the holes don't interfere with each other.
-Course uses the available foliage, trees and brush to make some interesting pin placements and add some risk/reward to the course.
-There a lot of long distance holes on this course. A majority of holes over 500 feet. If you like courses that let you bomb your disc this is the course for you. The foliage also makes it so you need distance but also some accuracy to avoid the thick rough.
-This course has a couple shorter holes that are nice and help add a little balance to the longer holes.
-There doesn't seem to be a lot of non disc-golf traffic in the area.
-The old neighborhood roads are used well to add out of bounds and help add some challenge to some of the more wide open holes.
-Multiple pin-positions
-Hole 7 was my favorite hole. It is a straight shot up a fairway with thick foliage on the left, to a tight sharp tunnel through foliage to the basket.
Cons: -Navigation is terrible on this course. Most of the time the flow makes no sense on this course. There are long walks between many of the holes. Even though there are some signs pointing to the next hole, they don't do a very good job. You will be wandering around looking for tee-pads quite a bit. Even with a map, it is still really hard to navigate, but it helps a little bit.
-This course only has dirt tee-pads that get really muddy after it rains. Concrete tee-pads would be very helpful.
-Course badly needs tee-signs. It is very hard to see baskets from the tee, which often leads to long walk up the fairway to find the baskets. Adding signs that show a layout of the hole and all of the pin-positions would help this course out a lot.
-Course starts to feel repetitive, especially on the longer holes (and especially if you don't have a big arm). There is lots of throwing on open fairways until you find the basket tucked into an alcove in the foliage. The majority of longer holes feel like they play exactly like the above description. The holes on this course start to blend together.
-This course doesn't have very many amenities. There is an outhouse at the beginning of the course and a table at the first tee, but nothing else.
-This course has a creepy vibe. It felt really deserted. Due to the old abandoned neighborhood streets, the fire hydrants wrapped in plastic, this course felt like a ghost town. At times I almost felt like I was disrespecting the people who used to live in the neighborhood.

Other Thoughts: This is a very unique course as this is the first time I have ever played a course in an old neighborhood. This land has a lot of potential. With better tee-pads, tee-signs, and flow this could be a very solid course, but right now it needs a lot of work to get there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Finally a neighborhood built just for disc golf!

1    4/20/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 212  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique setting for disc golf; plays all over what used to be residential property that was torn down and allowed to grow over. Former neighborhood feels like a community park, sans any other activities.
Disc Play: Requires a variety of lines, decent distance and good placement. Plays semi-open with a healthy number of trees and bushes that are remarkably well-placed relative to tees and pins to take certain lines away. Features some well-guarded pins, so your 1st or 2nd (and often 3rd) shots must be well placed to get a good look at the basket. Decent mix of fairway shapes (some pretty interesting). No major elevation, but the terrain changes constantly and comes into play a variety of ways ... this course most definitely ain't flat. With ever-present OB roads on one side and thick growth (that used to demark property lines), staying in the well-defined fairways is paramount. Factor in the hole lengths and it makes for a very challenging round, with legit par 4's & 5's. Eight holes over 500 ft, so there's plenty of chances to use your longest discs, but with several under 300, there are still some birdie opportunities (even for noodle arms). Any way you slice it, you ain't carding a 54 here.

Equipment: Baskets are fine. The rest is pretty bare bones; natural tees (meh), simple tee posts with hole # (alt pin distances hand-scrawled on posts) and a few next tee signs to help you out. Looked like there were multiple pin placements - a nice plus for locals.
Aesthetics: reasonably nice, quiet, very green ...makes for a pretty serene round (if you don't mind the highway noise or planes overhead).
Isolation from other activities - No one else really doing anything on the course itself, however, there were a few joggers, dog walkers and an occasional car passing by on the OB roads adjacent to every hole. Be aware what's going on as there's a chance any tee shot could end up in the street.
Memorable holes: I particularly liked the way # 7 rises up to a higher plateau a few times as you get further down the fairway. #5 just seemed to go on and on... 6 shots worth that.
Cons:
Nav/flow: ooof! Even with the map, it's hard to follow, but without one, it's probably hopeless. What isn't obvious on the map (or when you first arrive) is that often, the best route to the next hole cuts through the vegetation that used to separate one back yard from another. After a while, you start noticing the paths, but no matter how you slice it, there are a few long walks and some truly goofy routing. Particularly frustrating to take a long walk to the wrong hole. Probably not that bad once you get the hang of it, but for the uninitiated, it sucks. If you're reading this, you're probably deciding whether or not to play here, so leave yourself a little extra time to get around.
Natural tees: not all that bad, but some are pretty worn, with exposed roots that create a bad tripping hazard. I realize no one's gonna pay for it, but concrete would be a big step up.
A few pins are positioned where they're guarded such that it basically forces a layup, thereby nullifying the benefit of a great tee shot and diminishing scoring separation.
Not much shade - could be bad on really sunny days ...sunscreen.
Unvarying as far as fairway type - gets repetitive.
Amenities: nope
Other Thoughts: Does the "long, open, work around some really well-placed obstacles" extremely well, but that's pretty much the only trick this dog has. In tandem with some good elevation and clever pin placements, I really think they've made the most of what this plot of land can yield. I found it to be a fun course, and could see playing here quite a bit if I lived locally. Nonetheless, it simply lacks the diversity a course needs to rate excellence in my book, and the bad routing doesn't help it score any points on that front. Still, any time you can combine this kind of challenge and with this much fun, you've done very well.

Much like a loveable mutt, Carrollton may not have a pedigree, and certainly lacks the polish some other courses have, but its got a lot of heart.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.