Bridgeton (St.Louis), MO 
Carrollton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #8 (Taken 6/2012)
5 / 563ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Course Could Be So Much Better With Some Work Put Into It!

1    10/24/2015   10/24/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
Pros: The park has just a huge amount of room. As one previous reviewer noted, there is easily room for 27, 36 or two complete 18 hole courses here. With that being said, I wasn't impressed with the current layout /design. There are a lot of long walkouts when I didn't see any reason for them. The terrain is great for the kind of course you have here, that is a long demanding one.

I thought hole # 3 was a really pretty hole. The natural fairway was three tiered and just kept narrowing down to the area where the basket was set.
Cons: Navigation and flow is horrible. It made no sense. There was no map on DGCR so I was flying blind and that was exactly how I felt.

The amenities are bare bones. The Gateway baskets are fine, although sometimes hard to spot. The dirt tee pads and minimal signage are poor. And as for those idiots who think they're clever for writing little remarks on the poles, please don't. I did appreciate those locals who used their sharpies and wrote the hole # and distances on the poles. That helped a little.

This course is described as moderately hilly. I believe I would describe it as mostly flat.

It was a little unnerving being in this big sprawling park and not seeing a soul. Kind of made me nervous.
Other Thoughts: If you like throwing 400-500 foot drives on most every hole, then this is the course for you. To describe this as a championship course or to rate it a 5, I would simply say, drive across Missouri and play Water Works in Kansas City and see for yourself what a 4.5 rated course looks, feels and plays like.

Cool and Creepy Course

1    10/4/2015   10/8/2015
Review By: Pcorrigan07
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very open course with long holes that demand a good approach shot. A drive is a drive but the approach will make or break you here. Private feeling as you play through an old neighborhood that has been completely grown over.
Cons: Most every drive is to a pin you cannot see so you may waste a lot of time scouting the pin. Bring a map. They have several online if you image search.
Needs updated tee markers. Hard to navigate. Would get a 4 if there were tee markers/pin map distances.
Other Thoughts: Please make this course what it should be. A little TLC, pin placement signs, next tee signs and benches would create a disc destination. Start with 18 pads.

Some cool guy posted a map on the course directory board and some copies in the 1st tee mailbox. Share them. Take one and return it after you play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Creve Coeur Park/Logan University Hybrid

1    6/28/2015   6/28/2015
Review By: renaudski
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a nice mix of distance and technical shots.
In my opinion it is a nice hybrid of Creve Couer park which is long with a lot of open shots and Logan University, which is one of the more technical courses in StL.

Most of the holes at Carrollton have some technical approach needed either by a well placed drive or approach. The technical aspects are not as advanced as Logan.

Carrollton has a nice mix of par 3, 4, 5s. I would recommend this course to anyone as there is ample seating, nice maintenance and accomdations nearby.

If you take this course for what it is, it will rank pretty high for the StL area. It has variety and difficulty with every hole birdie-able with a well placed drive and/or approach.
Cons: The navigation on this course is horrendous as mentioned in the other reviews. Bring a map.

Other Thoughts: 7 and 17 are the most difficult holes.
A lot of wild life roam this area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Carrolton Review

1    3/16/2015   3/16/2015
Review By: ustenido
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Critical golf thinking required! Shot placement is crucial. Lots of par 4s, and some 5s, so you lie is important. There is some crucial thinking that goes into the approach shots. They are not usually long, but they are well positioned pins with "fast greens"
the more i play hem, the more i think Gateways Titan is the best basket on the market
Cons: Teeing area is natural, designated by counter sunk stones, and eroded (and muddy), & not flat. Some roots exposed on a few. My recomendation is to take a slice from ball golf and designate a tee box, and move the tee markers around so that your box will have some life.
Sidewalks and streets play OB, and run adjacent to each hole. If this were water, it would be rated 5.0, but it is a pedestrian hazard, so be careful about shot selection.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes are long, so tee from a safe and dry spot.

Download a map. The tee signs and directional signs, and basket #s are TERRIBLE. The map helped me find my way.

Throw for accuacy, not distance off the tee because your landing zones are tight, even though it looks wide open from the box. Be moe aggressive with your approach if you lossed distance from a layed up tee shot. All in all, everything is birdiable, and anything can quickly turn into a bogie. Take your pars and move on. Wind and elevation play a huge factor around the pins, as well as OBs and very specific foliage

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1    8/2/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: StLZep
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is both long and technical. Mistakes can be costly because the brush gets very thick. I feel a great sense of accomplishment when I execute shots and pars on this course.
Cons: Print a map or you won't know where you're going. There's also no water or concrete tees. Some of the tee locations are tucked WAY behind trees and are hard to find if you haven't played here before.

I believe there used to be more sandbags over some of the sewer openings. I plinked a tree on 8 and had a disc skip across the steet and go in a drain, and also slid one in the drain on the end of 10(got that one back).
Other Thoughts: The first time I played here I wasn't too impressed. Now I love this course and find it very rewarding when you play the holes well. Playing the back nine twice instead of the whole 18 will be less stressful if you're throwing bad. Bring water and a map.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Flawed Gem

1    7/15/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: PDGApunk
Played: 86  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging and fun! This course is in a very isolated park with hardly any traffic at all. It has great land for a disc golf course.. actually, it is great land for a couple courses. It is techincal and long.
Cons: While I enjoyed this course, I was also very annoyed playing it for many reasons:

1. Navigation is TERRIBLE. It needs a better flow. There was a few times where my friend and I were lost and it took 5-10 minutes to find the next tee.

2. This bad navigation would have been a little more excusible if there was a lot of empty boring space.. but there isnt. I saw a lot of great lines that were not being used between holes. A lot of land is not being used, I see no reason why there can not be at least 27 or 36 holes here. A few can be shortened and still be very tough and some do not need 3 placements... some of them needed only 1 placement because it was the perfect placement.

3. Tee signs are very necessary for this course. Most of the holes are blind shots... and since most of the holes are par 3.5-4s, it takes extra time for you to run up and look where the basket is.

4. Some of the low branches hanging in front of the tees could be manicured just a little bit better. But this is pretty minor... most arent bad at all.

5. Teepads please... St Louis Disc Golf Club is pretty good size.. I am not sure why they arent able to raise the fun
ds to put 9-18 teepads in a year on these newer courses that have natural teepads.
Other Thoughts: This course has a A LOT of potential to be a 4+... but I am giving it a sad 3. I love disc golf in St Louis. Most courses are great here. I expected great things with this course.. but I am pretty disappointed with it overall for how much potential it really has. It just seems very incomplete.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nothing Like a Round in the Backyard(s)

1    5/14/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Gateway Baskets that catch very well.
-Course is well spread out so that the holes don't interfere with each other.
-Course uses the available foliage, trees and brush to make some interesting pin placements and add some risk/reward to the course.
-There a lot of long distance holes on this course. A majority of holes over 500 feet. If you like courses that let you bomb your disc this is the course for you. The foliage also makes it so you need distance but also some accuracy to avoid the thick rough.
-This course has a couple shorter holes that are nice and help add a little balance to the longer holes.
-There doesn't seem to be a lot of non disc-golf traffic in the area.
-The old neighborhood roads are used well to add out of bounds and help add some challenge to some of the more wide open holes.
-Multiple pin-positions
-Hole 7 was my favorite hole. It is a straight shot up a fairway with thick foliage on the left, to a tight sharp tunnel through foliage to the basket.
Cons: -Navigation is terrible on this course. Most of the time the flow makes no sense on this course. There are long walks between many of the holes. Even though there are some signs pointing to the next hole, they don't do a very good job. You will be wandering around looking for tee-pads quite a bit. Even with a map, it is still really hard to navigate, but it helps a little bit.
-This course only has dirt tee-pads that get really muddy after it rains. Concrete tee-pads would be very helpful.
-Course badly needs tee-signs. It is very hard to see baskets from the tee, which often leads to long walk up the fairway to find the baskets. Adding signs that show a layout of the hole and all of the pin-positions would help this course out a lot.
-Course starts to feel repetitive, especially on the longer holes (and especially if you don't have a big arm). There is lots of throwing on open fairways until you find the basket tucked into an alcove in the foliage. The majority of longer holes feel like they play exactly like the above description. The holes on this course start to blend together.
-This course doesn't have very many amenities. There is an outhouse at the beginning of the course and a table at the first tee, but nothing else.
-This course has a creepy vibe. It felt really deserted. Due to the old abandoned neighborhood streets, the fire hydrants wrapped in plastic, this course felt like a ghost town. At times I almost felt like I was disrespecting the people who used to live in the neighborhood.

Other Thoughts: This is a very unique course as this is the first time I have ever played a course in an old neighborhood. This land has a lot of potential. With better tee-pads, tee-signs, and flow this could be a very solid course, but right now it needs a lot of work to get there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Finally a neighborhood built just for disc golf!

1    4/20/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 193  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique setting for disc golf; plays all over what used to be residential property that was torn down and allowed to grow over. Former neighborhood feels like a community park, sans any other activities.
Disc Play: Requires a variety of lines, decent distance and good placement. Plays semi-open with a healthy number of trees and bushes that are remarkably well-placed relative to tees and pins to take certain lines away. Features some well-guarded pins, so your 1st or 2nd (and often 3rd) shots must be well placed to get a good look at the basket. Decent mix of fairway shapes (some pretty interesting). No major elevation, but the terrain changes constantly and comes into play a variety of ways ... this course most definitely ain't flat. With ever-present OB roads on one side and thick growth (that used to demark property lines), staying in the well-defined fairways is paramount. Factor in the hole lengths and it makes for a very challenging round, with legit par 4's & 5's. Eight holes over 500 ft, so there's plenty of chances to use your longest discs, but with several under 300, there are still some birdie opportunities (even for noodle arms). Any way you slice it, you ain't carding a 54 here.

Equipment: Baskets are fine. The rest is pretty bare bones; natural tees (meh), simple tee posts with hole # (alt pin distances hand-scrawled on posts) and a few next tee signs to help you out. Looked like there were multiple pin placements - a nice plus for locals.
Aesthetics: reasonably nice, quiet, very green ...makes for a pretty serene round (if you don't mind the highway noise or planes overhead).
Isolation from other activities - No one else really doing anything on the course itself, however, there were a few joggers, dog walkers and an occasional car passing by on the OB roads adjacent to every hole. Be aware what's going on as there's a chance any tee shot could end up in the street.
Memorable holes: I particularly liked the way # 7 rises up to a higher plateau a few times as you get further down the fairway. #5 just seemed to go on and on... 6 shots worth that.
Nav/flow: ooof! Even with the map, it's hard to follow, but without one, it's probably hopeless. What isn't obvious on the map (or when you first arrive) is that often, the best route to the next hole cuts through the vegetation that used to separate one back yard from another. After a while, you start noticing the paths, but no matter how you slice it, there are a few long walks and some truly goofy routing. Particularly frustrating to take a long walk to the wrong hole. Probably not that bad once you get the hang of it, but for the uninitiated, it sucks. If you're reading this, you're probably deciding whether or not to play here, so leave yourself a little extra time to get around.
Natural tees: not all that bad, but some are pretty worn, with exposed roots that create a bad tripping hazard. I realize no one's gonna pay for it, but concrete would be a big step up.
A few pins are positioned where they're guarded such that it basically forces a layup, thereby nullifying the benefit of a great tee shot and diminishing scoring separation.
Not much shade - could be bad on really sunny days ...sunscreen.
Unvarying as far as fairway type - gets repetitive.
Amenities: nope
Other Thoughts: Does the "long, open, work around some really well-placed obstacles" extremely well, but that's pretty much the only trick this dog has. In tandem with some good elevation and clever pin placements, I really think they've made the most of what this plot of land can yield. I found it to be a fun course, and could see playing here quite a bit if I lived locally. Nonetheless, it simply lacks the diversity a course needs to rate excellence in my book, and the bad routing doesn't help it score any points on that front. Still, any time you can combine this kind of challenge and with this much fun, you've done very well.

Much like a loveable mutt, Carrollton may not have a pedigree, and certainly lacks the polish some other courses have, but its got a lot of heart.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Prepare to meet the challenge of the new frontier

2-4    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 131  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 20.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carrollton Park is set in an old neighborhood that was torn down when Lambert Airport was expanded in the late 90's. All of the houses are gone but the streets and much of the landscaping from the old neighborhood remain. Basically imagine all the houses vanishing from your neighborhood and there you go.

The site is relatively flat but there a bit of a pitch to it and some places where there was enough up and down that the homeowners had retaining walls built. There is a lot of vegetation, although the effect is more like a park-style course with a lot of trees as opposed to a heavily wooded course. What was the back of the property lines has a lot of built-up shule, so you generally have an O.B. road on one side of the hole and some nasty shule on the other. The design uses the abundance of OB and trees to create a course where shot placement can really save you some strokes. The holes are generally on the longer side, so the OB can easily come into play if your drive gets offline. The golf shots are pretty solid with multiple tees and pin placements to increase the variety. There are a few creative pin placements that take advantage of the elevation changes they have to work with. The shots can be pretty varied; it's hard to get away with just throwing hyzers here all day (I should know, all I can throw is hyzers and this course eats me up and spits me out.)

I'm a silly country boy, so I'll give this place cool points for the low-flying planes overhead. Some of the leftover decorative yard plantings are cool; you don't see bamboo growing on a course in Missouri every day.
Cons: The main con to Carrollton is that a drunken monkey could come up with better flow. It is very easy to get turned around and much of the place visually looks similar so it is easy to get lost anyway, and the meandering flow just makes it worse. Part of the issue is that it is designed to get you back by your car between holes #9-#10, but the cost is a winding roundabout stagger across the park. You walk past the basket for #7 to get to #6. Then you have a long walk to get to #8. The logical hole to walk to after #8 is #11. The second most logical tee to get to from #8 is #18. #9 is way the Hell back up the street on the other side. A lot of the course is like that; the spots where you can get lost are too numerous to list. You can waste a lot of time trying to figure out where you are. There are some directional signs, so that helps. A more logical flow would help more.

The tee signs are just posts with no maps. Some have distances written on them, others have the hole number and that's it. Given that there are multiple pin placements and many of them are blind from the tee, the lack of information on the tee signs is frustrating. There is one hole (I think it is #10) where I always forget where I am and think the basket is farther down than it is; there is a drop off that hides the street behind the pin that I ALWAYS throw into. A better tee sign might help me remember what I'm doing.

Not really cons for me but worth noting: The tees are natural, although most of the holes had a flagged alternate tee to use in case the regular tee was muddy. There are openings in the streets for the sewer, but most had sandbags stuck in there to keep your disc from rolling in. It seems like a golf-only site but the streets are not closed so you might encounter some traffic while you play. The park is kept up fairly well, but with the decaying neighborhood infrastructure it is hard to consider it a "pretty" park. There are an insane amount of power lines in play. There is no parking lot, you just park along the street and depending where on the street you are your car might be in the line of fire.
Other Thoughts: My sister taught at Carrollton Elementary on the other side of the freeway, which served this neighborhood and also was torn down when the airport expanded. Since I met many of the people who lived here and know how long and hard they fought to save their homes, playing disc golf across their abandoned neighborhood is fairly depressing for me.

In the end this is a replacement/improvement for the doomed Creve Coeur course. It's a pretty flat/pretty long course, which is unique in the St. Louis area other than Creve Coeur. However, it's not board-flat or nearly as wide open as Creve Coeur, so it makes for better golf.

I was on the fence about my rating, it's probably a 3.5 if all that matters to you is the shots but more like a 3 if you care a lot about amenities. I care more about the shots so I'm going to go with the higher rating. Shot for shot it's a very solid course. It lacks the elevation to really be great, but it is still a very good course that is worth checking out. Just make sure you bring a map.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Champ Level Course

5+    11/3/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Arguably the most difficult disc golf course in the STL area, this course will make you stand on your head in order to even shoot par. The course is set on a former neighbor hood that I believe was originally bought out by the airport and then somehow went back to the City of Bridgeton for possible usage for a park. And boy.. do they have a step in the right direction. This course is far to vast and extensive to even begin to put its magnitude into words in a small review and other reviewers have done quite well so.. I will just highlight some of my personal reasons as to why I like it.

1) This course has just the right amount of huge, wide-open shots and tight technical shots that require intense accuracy.
2) The wide-open shots that I mentioned above, are not always so "wide-open" due to...A) The generous amount of roads that offer OB strokes B) Seemingly harmless woods are EXTREMELY dense and difficult to maneuver.
3) Elevation change is perfect!! It is never too extreme but it seems as though it is a rarity you are playing on an entirely flat surface.
4) Wind..An added factor that will always keep you on your toes... It seems as though the wind is never quite dead here in Bridgeton..due to Lambert and the highway next door.
5) This course will force you to use up every single shot that you have in your bag and you are guaranteed to be attempting something new... due to..
6) 3 Tee locations that are truly mind-blowing. Both the Blue and the White locations can send even the most seasoned of veterans home with their tail between their legs.
7) Huge expansive park that has very segregated and individual holes that are all unique.
8) Massive old trees that litter the fairways and woodlines.
9) Gateway Titans
10) Just a really challenging place to play and learn to perfect the game. If you can score here you can score anywhere.
11) Johnny on the spot!

Cons: From what I understand.. this course is still technically a temporary course. I believe that the city is eventually looking to make this land into a fully functional park and disc golf course equipped with pavilions, restrooms amenities etc. Also.. there is easily enough room to have another 18 hole course on the same property. but for now it still lacks..
1) Proper tee signage
2) Trash Cans
3) Concrete Tee Pads
4) Better Restrooms/ Water access
5) a few more park benches/ relief from shade
Other Thoughts: This course is incredible and I really cannot wait to see what it can become in the future. I really hope that the City of Bridgeton does decide to really make this place happen. thank you. And thank you to Dave Mac and Gateway Disc Sports for the gnarly design and use of property.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.