Bridgeton (St.Louis), MO 
Carrollton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #8 (Taken 6/2012)
5 / 563ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Cool and Creepy Course

1    10/4/2015   10/8/2015
Review By: Pcorrigan07
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very open course with long holes that demand a good approach shot. A drive is a drive but the approach will make or break you here. Private feeling as you play through an old neighborhood that has been completely grown over.
Cons: Most every drive is to a pin you cannot see so you may waste a lot of time scouting the pin. Bring a map. They have several online if you image search.
Needs updated tee markers. Hard to navigate. Would get a 4 if there were tee markers/pin map distances.
Other Thoughts: Please make this course what it should be. A little TLC, pin placement signs, next tee signs and benches would create a disc destination. Start with 18 pads.

Some cool guy posted a map on the course directory board and some copies in the 1st tee mailbox. Share them. Take one and return it after you play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Flawed Gem

1    7/15/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: PDGApunk
Played: 86  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging and fun! This course is in a very isolated park with hardly any traffic at all. It has great land for a disc golf course.. actually, it is great land for a couple courses. It is techincal and long.
Cons: While I enjoyed this course, I was also very annoyed playing it for many reasons:

1. Navigation is TERRIBLE. It needs a better flow. There was a few times where my friend and I were lost and it took 5-10 minutes to find the next tee.

2. This bad navigation would have been a little more excusible if there was a lot of empty boring space.. but there isnt. I saw a lot of great lines that were not being used between holes. A lot of land is not being used, I see no reason why there can not be at least 27 or 36 holes here. A few can be shortened and still be very tough and some do not need 3 placements... some of them needed only 1 placement because it was the perfect placement.

3. Tee signs are very necessary for this course. Most of the holes are blind shots... and since most of the holes are par 3.5-4s, it takes extra time for you to run up and look where the basket is.

4. Some of the low branches hanging in front of the tees could be manicured just a little bit better. But this is pretty minor... most arent bad at all.

5. Teepads please... St Louis Disc Golf Club is pretty good size.. I am not sure why they arent able to raise the fun
ds to put 9-18 teepads in a year on these newer courses that have natural teepads.
Other Thoughts: This course has a A LOT of potential to be a 4+... but I am giving it a sad 3. I love disc golf in St Louis. Most courses are great here. I expected great things with this course.. but I am pretty disappointed with it overall for how much potential it really has. It just seems very incomplete.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a map!

1    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: dandruff1138
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very unique course. Built on an old abandoned neighborhood the airport bought out. The fairways are mowed and it is fun to play. Very cool to let them put a course on something like this...
Cons: The layout of this course is... challenging. It is also tough to find the baskets as the theme for this course is "Line of shrubs/trees with baskets behind them..." Par is pretty tough and the course seems loooong. Lots of poison ivy!!!
Other Thoughts: Bring a map or be lost. Par is sometimes questionable. Natural/dirt tees, no signs for holes, just the # and an arrow. This course is fairly new, we are going to just have to be patient!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fallout 3

1    12/12/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really fun course. It's set up to allow for a few grip and rip shots, and there are quite a few really technical shots.
Cons: It's really hard to understand where you're headed at times on this course. After finishing up hole 8 it seemed like the natural place for 9 to be was right in front of it, but instead that was the tee for hole 11. It's really hard to figure your way around, so make sure you keep your eyes peeled for the little flags that point you in the direction of the next hole.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course overall. It feels like you're playing Disc Golf in Fallout 3, which is cool. Some of the holes are a little repetative--I only played it once, but there were quite a few that felt like the same layout on a different hole. I noticed this in the first 9 holes most, but it's not really a detriment. I'd love to see some course maps out there, or some larger signage so you can tell the distance of the holes and the placement of the tee. I think it was hole 7 that I never would have found if I wasn't playing with someone experienced with the course. It was fun overall though. Totally worth playing a couple of times.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Potential

1    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 170  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2016
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This will be a great addition to many existing course already in the StL area. With multiple pads (soon to be installed) and multiple pin placements, this has the potential to be the best in the area (36 holes). A challenge with the up/down hill placements. The par system is consistent with other courses I've played.
Cons: The distance from pad-pad on 7-8 and 15-16 left me wondering about trekking around. Note: Until the signs are in place, bring a map.
Only real negative I could find was 18 and 15 are in close proximity. I didn't realize this and I threw to "18", it ended up being 15, and so I backtracked. Also from 18 you walk in the path of 15 back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a brand new course that has taken a few years to come to fruition. Thanks to those in River City Flyers for making the happen. I realize that improvements will happen over time, some sooner than later. For example, the pads themselves and/or better paths will be established.
I look forward to playing this course many time a year.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.