Bridgeton (St.Louis), MO 
Carrollton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #7 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 420ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/2/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: StLZep
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is both long and technical. Mistakes can be costly because the brush gets very thick. I feel a great sense of accomplishment when I execute shots and pars on this course.
Cons: Print a map or you won't know where you're going. There's also no water or concrete tees. Some of the tee locations are tucked WAY behind trees and are hard to find if you haven't played here before.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played here I wasn't too impressed. Now I love this course and find it very rewarding when you play the holes well. Playing the back nine twice instead of the whole 18 will be less stressful if you're throwing bad. Bring water and a map.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/1/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: TheGoldenPutter
Played: 52  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park used to be an old neighborhood and was torn down to expand the airport. All the houses and driveways are gone but you can still see where the houses used to stand because of the terraced landscape. This makes the park truly unique. The old streets also still remain which adds the challenge of OB on most holes.

+Design: The course uses the wood lines that used to be the edges of properties, so on most of the holes you have to navigate around thin pieces of densely "wooded" areas. This makes for fun and challenging hole shapes. An example would be #7, off the tee you throw up the terraces about 300ft to a 15 foot wide hole in the strip of woods, where the pin sits 50ft past that.

+Par 3's: The course plays on the longer par 4 side, but there are 7 throughout the course and each require a different shot. #6 is only 180ft but right behind the pin is a 5ft terrace drop off, so if you go long on the drive or putt, your looking at a difficult putt back.

+Par 4's and 5's: lots of solid 4's with a few 5's. All of them have interesting and fun approach/fairway shots. They also require good tee shot placement instead of just a long drive because of the OB streets. This adds a lot to the course because it demands distance and accuracy. There are probably a few holes where discing down is beneficial; good practice.

+Elevation: As mentioned before, the terraces make the park a fun new challenge.
+Multiple tees provide different shots
+Multiple pin locations that can dramatically change the hole.
+Challenge level is just right
+Discs are easy to find because the wooded strips are generally 10ft wide at most.
+Baskets: Gateway Titans, personal favourite.
+Grass kept short
Cons: -The course could still be considered a beta course. There aren't that many amenities yet but once the city decides to make this a permanent course it should be upgraded.

-Navigation: Even though signs have been put up to help, navigation can be tough. The streets running through the park can break up the flow and make it confusing. If you take a map and follow the new signs it should be easy though.

-Only tee sings are wooden posts w/ hole # and distance. So walking the hole to locate the pin may be necessary.

-Natural tee pads: Most of them are flat, but there are some rougher ones, and with rain footing could be difficult.

-Other: There are a few trash cans and picnic tables here and there but for such a long course some more benches would be very nice.

-Parking lot: The problem is, there isn't one. You have to park along the old streets, which could be a problem. The most convenient place to park is right along hole 9's fairway, so that means an out of control disc could be in your windshield. There are safe places to park though if that is a concern. If you park past #1's pin or by #15's tee pad you car should be safe.


Other Thoughts: >Could be a pro or con, but every now and then a jet will be taking off/landing at the nearby airport so you get a personal airshow, which includes the noise.

>Overall this course is really enjoyable to play.
>Unique challenge that I haven't found anywhere else.
>Print the map ( under links and files)
>Please respect the course. The course will only improve if it is kept in good shape. There is no excuse for litering.
>This is must play if you're in town. One of my favourites in St. Louis.

************** If you found this review unhelpfull, found a mistake, or want more info, please send me a personal message on DGCR so I can help.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Suburbia

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses the area giving very well, considering it was meant to be a residential neighborhood. The streets and trees make the course very challenging. Several of the holes use the stair step type elevation form the old lots.

It allows you to use every type of shot you have with distances ranging from 120ft or so to 500+ ft. I think there was only 1 disc in my bag that i didn't throw when i played here.

There are also 3 tees, and at least 3 pin positions on each hole which allow for a big change in shots on every hole.
Cons: The cons should all be fixed with time, the city of Bridgeton is sort of dragging their feet from what I'm told.

The tees are currently just paint on the ground with 4X4 post for the reds, the blue and yellows are just paint and a small stake. There are no real signs, there are distances written on the posts, but you have to know where the pins are as a large number of them are not visible from the tee.

There are no benches at any of the tees. There are a few trashcan spread throughout the course but a few more would be nice.

The titan on hole 4 is missing one of the bottom rings, but has been rigged up with zip ties.

There is no parking, so you have to park along the fairways. Take a map and be logical where you park close to 1 and 10's teepads is a good spot.

TAKE A MAP OR GUIDE it gets confusing. I had guides, and I'm not sure I could follow it on my own.
Other Thoughts: BE RESPECTFUL so that the city will allow this course to be completed, and maybe even let more of the land around the airport be turned into disc golf courses.

Pick up your trash, watch your language there are apartments near by, and avoid breaking branches and trees (there was a lot of talk about this and how it has completely changed holes)


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

1    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 162  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This will be a great addition to many existing course already in the StL area. With multiple pads (soon to be installed) and multiple pin placements, this has the potential to be the best in the area (36 holes). A challenge with the up/down hill placements. The par system is consistent with other courses I've played.
Cons: The distance from pad-pad on 7-8 and 15-16 left me wondering about trekking around. Note: Until the signs are in place, bring a map.
Only real negative I could find was 18 and 15 are in close proximity. I didn't realize this and I threw to "18", it ended up being 15, and so I backtracked. Also from 18 you walk in the path of 15 back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a brand new course that has taken a few years to come to fruition. Thanks to those in River City Flyers for making the happen. I realize that improvements will happen over time, some sooner than later. For example, the pads themselves and/or better paths will be established.
I look forward to playing this course many time a year.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.