Bridgeton (St.Louis), MO
Carrollton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #8 (Taken 6/2012)
5 / 563ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Suburbia

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 47  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses the area giving very well, considering it was meant to be a residential neighborhood. The streets and trees make the course very challenging. Several of the holes use the stair step type elevation form the old lots.

It allows you to use every type of shot you have with distances ranging from 120ft or so to 500+ ft. I think there was only 1 disc in my bag that i didn't throw when i played here.

There are also 3 tees, and at least 3 pin positions on each hole which allow for a big change in shots on every hole.
Cons: The cons should all be fixed with time, the city of Bridgeton is sort of dragging their feet from what I'm told.

The tees are currently just paint on the ground with 4X4 post for the reds, the blue and yellows are just paint and a small stake. There are no real signs, there are distances written on the posts, but you have to know where the pins are as a large number of them are not visible from the tee.

There are no benches at any of the tees. There are a few trashcan spread throughout the course but a few more would be nice.

The titan on hole 4 is missing one of the bottom rings, but has been rigged up with zip ties.

There is no parking, so you have to park along the fairways. Take a map and be logical where you park close to 1 and 10's teepads is a good spot.

TAKE A MAP OR GUIDE it gets confusing. I had guides, and I'm not sure I could follow it on my own.
Other Thoughts: BE RESPECTFUL so that the city will allow this course to be completed, and maybe even let more of the land around the airport be turned into disc golf courses.

Pick up your trash, watch your language there are apartments near by, and avoid breaking branches and trees (there was a lot of talk about this and how it has completely changed holes)


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best mix of shots in St. Louis

2-4    6/26/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set up to challenge any disc golfer with short, medium, and long tee boxes and multiple pin placements. The course winds through an old subdivision with mature trees and lanscaped yards. There are several different types of elevation changes and out-of-bounds. The narrow yards make for a very challenging course and the manicured lawns allow drivers to get big skips into OB.
Cons: The only cons right now are that there are no tee signs, tee boxes, and the course still needs some landscaping.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course in St. Louis....only time will tell.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Suburbia

1    6/26/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 33  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am unofficially naming this course "Suburbia".
The course is built right on top of what used to be an actual subdivision/neighborhood of over 50 houses. The streets and sewers are all still in place, the plots of land where each individual house stood are still graded and look ready for construction and you can literally picture your discs flying over driveways with bicycles and minivans parked in them (there are actually no driveways - that's just a good imagination). There is no other course I've seen quite like it. I loved the feeling, like asking mom if I could go play in the neighbors yard :)
>
The course has a very good mix of shot style, direction and distance. Just about every disc can find a workout and it was nice to have plenty of opportunities to play with some of the discs in my bag that get neglected.
>
It is very nice to see three alternate pin placements on every hole and I agreed with most of the choices.
From the looks of things, there will be between two and three tee pads for each hole... of which I also felt the location choices were nice.
>
The holes all felt to have a nice balance between challenging and playable - nothing that felt like a cakewalk, nothing that felt unjustifiably difficult or impossible (there is one exception, but I think cutting down one or two crummy little trees will fix the issue - more in Cons).
>
The staged/stepped grading of the land between plots make for a very interesting and fun twist to the normal rolling hills on traditional park courses. It could work for you or work against you and it was all about planning where to park your disc to avoid driving it right into a rise or having it float over an edge and down an extra 75ft. A welcome, if not punishing challenge.
>
Cons: The cons at this course are a mixed bag of "it's still not finished and will improve" and "this is what you have to deal with to build a course on such a unique piece of land"
>
The biggest complaint here is going to be navigation. TAKE A MAP! There are many, many places where the next logical teepad you see is actually not the one you want. You'll frequently find yourself walking across the street and down almost two blocks to get to the next hole. You'll often discover that you have just walked right into the middle of another holes fairway while on your way to the next tee. The problem is due to having to fit the layout in between the existing roads from the old neighborhood and still come up with some way to have hole 1 and 18 remotely near one another. Maybe there is another way, but I won't even begin to speculate because it must have been a nightmare to design.
>
There are currently no trash cans. I'm sure there will be eventually, but for now, you need to preplan on packing out everything you bring. Don't be like the jack-wagons playing in front of me that I became personal janitor for by cleaning up an entire case worth of beer cans, despite having asked them to stop throwing their trash on the brand new course.
>
The Gateway Titan basket on Hole 4 is a defect. Gateway forgot to weld on the ring below the bucket that keeps discs from slipping through and onto the ground. It's the dumbest mistake and I have no idea how it made it through quality control. Hopefully it will be replaced or repaired for free.
>
There is no parking lot. You will always be parking your car along the street. This means that you will want to have that map of the course in your hands as you decide where to park. As the course becomes more popular, you will need to decide to start somewhere other than hole 1 as no parking will be available by hole 18.
>
In many cases there will be safety issues that require players to be doing their due diligence and paying attention. Most of the fairways are narrow, by contrast to regular parks, and are bordered on both sides by roads - roads where people park their cars and even a slight ricochet off a tree or a shot that got a little flippy could be on a direct path for someones car or worse, their head. There is also a spot along fairway 11 where a really fast throw which heads to the right could end up on the highway. I don't even want to think about that. Please be careful.
>
Other Thoughts: Not much else to add, but please download the map, you'll never make it through without it. Also, make sure to locate the correct basket before you tee off - the map only shows the "A" positions and will have you throwing in the complete wrong place before you realize it.
Also, don't be the bung-heads who ruin this courses relationship with the city of Bridgeton - pick up your trash and keep your language clean and at a reasonable level (there are apartments all along the edge of the course where children were playing and windows were open). If you see somebody working hard to blow it for the rest of us, say something.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Potential

1    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 154  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This will be a great addition to many existing course already in the StL area. With multiple pads (soon to be installed) and multiple pin placements, this has the potential to be the best in the area (36 holes). A challenge with the up/down hill placements. The par system is consistent with other courses I've played.
Cons: The distance from pad-pad on 7-8 and 15-16 left me wondering about trekking around. Note: Until the signs are in place, bring a map.
Only real negative I could find was 18 and 15 are in close proximity. I didn't realize this and I threw to "18", it ended up being 15, and so I backtracked. Also from 18 you walk in the path of 15 back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a brand new course that has taken a few years to come to fruition. Thanks to those in River City Flyers for making the happen. I realize that improvements will happen over time, some sooner than later. For example, the pads themselves and/or better paths will be established.
I look forward to playing this course many time a year.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Love New Bridgeton course

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: mkpjr37
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Love the ups and downs good mix of short mids and longs, good par system to me. nice 3's 4's and 5's multiple tees and pins will make this a awesome course. 2nd time playing course brought a map this time flow was better once you figure ins and outs. Tourneys are gonna have tight ob to make more challenging as you play more course will play faster love the skill shot element to most holes.
Cons: Only thing i see is close to apartments on a few holes and park cars might come into play if not parked right

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.