Bridgeton (St.Louis), MO 
Carrollton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #3 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 587ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    8/2/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: StLZep
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is both long and technical. Mistakes can be costly because the brush gets very thick. I feel a great sense of accomplishment when I execute shots and pars on this course.
Cons: Print a map or you won't know where you're going. There's also no water or concrete tees. Some of the tee locations are tucked WAY behind trees and are hard to find if you haven't played here before.



I believe there used to be more sandbags over some of the sewer openings. I plinked a tree on 8 and had a disc skip across the steet and go in a drain, and also slid one in the drain on the end of 10(got that one back).
Other Thoughts: The first time I played here I wasn't too impressed. Now I love this course and find it very rewarding when you play the holes well. Playing the back nine twice instead of the whole 18 will be less stressful if you're throwing bad. Bring water and a map.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Flawed Gem

1    7/15/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: PDGApunk
Played: 86  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging and fun! This course is in a very isolated park with hardly any traffic at all. It has great land for a disc golf course.. actually, it is great land for a couple courses. It is techincal and long.
Cons: While I enjoyed this course, I was also very annoyed playing it for many reasons:

1. Navigation is TERRIBLE. It needs a better flow. There was a few times where my friend and I were lost and it took 5-10 minutes to find the next tee.

2. This bad navigation would have been a little more excusible if there was a lot of empty boring space.. but there isnt. I saw a lot of great lines that were not being used between holes. A lot of land is not being used, I see no reason why there can not be at least 27 or 36 holes here. A few can be shortened and still be very tough and some do not need 3 placements... some of them needed only 1 placement because it was the perfect placement.

3. Tee signs are very necessary for this course. Most of the holes are blind shots... and since most of the holes are par 3.5-4s, it takes extra time for you to run up and look where the basket is.

4. Some of the low branches hanging in front of the tees could be manicured just a little bit better. But this is pretty minor... most arent bad at all.

5. Teepads please... St Louis Disc Golf Club is pretty good size.. I am not sure why they arent able to raise the fun
ds to put 9-18 teepads in a year on these newer courses that have natural teepads.
Other Thoughts: This course has a A LOT of potential to be a 4+... but I am giving it a sad 3. I love disc golf in St Louis. Most courses are great here. I expected great things with this course.. but I am pretty disappointed with it overall for how much potential it really has. It just seems very incomplete.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nothing Like a Round in the Backyard(s)

1    5/14/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Gateway Baskets that catch very well.
-Course is well spread out so that the holes don't interfere with each other.
-Course uses the available foliage, trees and brush to make some interesting pin placements and add some risk/reward to the course.
-There a lot of long distance holes on this course. A majority of holes over 500 feet. If you like courses that let you bomb your disc this is the course for you. The foliage also makes it so you need distance but also some accuracy to avoid the thick rough.
-This course has a couple shorter holes that are nice and help add a little balance to the longer holes.
-There doesn't seem to be a lot of non disc-golf traffic in the area.
-The old neighborhood roads are used well to add out of bounds and help add some challenge to some of the more wide open holes.
-Multiple pin-positions
-Hole 7 was my favorite hole. It is a straight shot up a fairway with thick foliage on the left, to a tight sharp tunnel through foliage to the basket.
Cons: -Navigation is terrible on this course. Most of the time the flow makes no sense on this course. There are long walks between many of the holes. Even though there are some signs pointing to the next hole, they don't do a very good job. You will be wandering around looking for tee-pads quite a bit. Even with a map, it is still really hard to navigate, but it helps a little bit.
-This course only has dirt tee-pads that get really muddy after it rains. Concrete tee-pads would be very helpful.
-Course badly needs tee-signs. It is very hard to see baskets from the tee, which often leads to long walk up the fairway to find the baskets. Adding signs that show a layout of the hole and all of the pin-positions would help this course out a lot.
-Course starts to feel repetitive, especially on the longer holes (and especially if you don't have a big arm). There is lots of throwing on open fairways until you find the basket tucked into an alcove in the foliage. The majority of longer holes feel like they play exactly like the above description. The holes on this course start to blend together.
-This course doesn't have very many amenities. There is an outhouse at the beginning of the course and a table at the first tee, but nothing else.
-This course has a creepy vibe. It felt really deserted. Due to the old abandoned neighborhood streets, the fire hydrants wrapped in plastic, this course felt like a ghost town. At times I almost felt like I was disrespecting the people who used to live in the neighborhood.

Other Thoughts: This is a very unique course as this is the first time I have ever played a course in an old neighborhood. This land has a lot of potential. With better tee-pads, tee-signs, and flow this could be a very solid course, but right now it needs a lot of work to get there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Finally – a neighborhood built just for disc golf!

1    4/20/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique setting for disc golf; plays all over what used to be residential property that was torn down and allowed to grow over. Former neighborhood feels like a community park, sans any other activities.
• Disc Play: Requires a variety of lines, decent distance and good placement. Plays semi-open with a healthy number of trees and bushes that are remarkably well-placed relative to tees and pins to take certain lines away. Features some well-guarded pins, so your 1st or 2nd (and often 3rd) shots must be well placed to get a good look at the basket. Decent mix of fairway shapes (some pretty interesting). No major elevation, but the terrain changes constantly and comes into play a variety of ways … this course most definitely ain't flat. With ever-present OB roads on one side and thick growth (that used to demark property lines), staying in the well-defined fairways is paramount. Factor in the hole lengths and it makes for a very challenging round, with legit par 4's & 5's. Eight holes over 500 ft, so there's plenty of chances to use your longest discs, but with several under 300, there are still some birdie opportunities (even for noodle arms). Any way you slice it, you ain't carding a 54 here.

• Equipment: Baskets are fine. The rest is pretty bare bones; natural tees (meh), simple tee posts with hole # (alt pin distances hand-scrawled on posts) and a few next tee signs to help you out. Looked like there were multiple pin placements - a nice plus for locals.
• Aesthetics: reasonably nice, quiet, very green …makes for a pretty serene round (if you don't mind the highway noise or planes overhead).
• Isolation from other activities - No one else really doing anything on the course itself, however, there were a few joggers, dog walkers and an occasional car passing by on the OB roads adjacent to every hole. Be aware what's going on as there's a chance any tee shot could end up in the street.
• Memorable holes: I particularly liked the way # 7 rises up to a higher plateau a few times as you get further down the fairway. #5 just seemed to go on and on… 6 shots worth that.
Cons:
• Nav/flow: ooof! Even with the map, it's hard to follow, but without one, it's probably hopeless. What isn't obvious on the map (or when you first arrive) is that often, the best route to the next hole cuts through the vegetation that used to separate one back yard from another. After a while, you start noticing the paths, but no matter how you slice it, there are a few long walks and some truly goofy routing. Particularly frustrating to take a long walk to the wrong hole. Probably not that bad once you get the hang of it, but for the uninitiated, it sucks. If you're reading this, you're probably deciding whether or not to play here, so leave yourself a little extra time to get around.
• Natural tees: not all that bad, but some are pretty worn, with exposed roots that create a bad tripping hazard. I realize no one's gonna pay for it, but concrete would be a big step up.
• A few pins are positioned where they're guarded such that it basically forces a layup, thereby nullifying the benefit of a great tee shot and diminishing scoring separation.
• Not much shade - could be bad on really sunny days …sunscreen.
• Unvarying as far as fairway type - gets repetitive.
• Amenities: nope
Other Thoughts: Does the "long, open, work around some really well-placed obstacles" extremely well, but that's pretty much the only trick this dog has. In tandem with some good elevation and clever pin placements, I really think they've made the most of what this plot of land can yield. I found it to be a fun course, and could see playing here quite a bit if I lived locally. Nonetheless, it simply lacks the diversity a course needs to rate excellence in my book, and the bad routing doesn't help it score any points on that front. Still, any time you can combine this kind of challenge and with this much fun, you've done very well.

Much like a loveable mutt, Carrollton may not have a pedigree, and certainly lacks the polish some other courses have, but its got a lot of heart.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Prepare to meet the challenge of the new frontier

2-4    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 20 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carrollton Park is set in an old neighborhood that was torn down when Lambert Airport was expanded in the late 90's. All of the houses are gone but the streets and much of the landscaping from the old neighborhood remain. Basically imagine all the houses vanishing from your neighborhood and there you go.

The site is relatively flat but there a bit of a pitch to it and some places where there was enough up and down that the homeowners had retaining walls built. There is a lot of vegetation, although the effect is more like a park-style course with a lot of trees as opposed to a heavily wooded course. What was the back of the property lines has a lot of built-up shule, so you generally have an O.B. road on one side of the hole and some nasty shule on the other. The design uses the abundance of OB and trees to create a course where shot placement can really save you some strokes. The holes are generally on the longer side, so the OB can easily come into play if your drive gets offline. The golf shots are pretty solid with multiple tees and pin placements to increase the variety. There are a few creative pin placements that take advantage of the elevation changes they have to work with. The shots can be pretty varied; it's hard to get away with just throwing hyzers here all day (I should know, all I can throw is hyzers and this course eats me up and spits me out.)

I'm a silly country boy, so I'll give this place cool points for the low-flying planes overhead. Some of the leftover decorative yard plantings are cool; you don't see bamboo growing on a course in Missouri every day.
Cons: The main con to Carrollton is that a drunken monkey could come up with better flow. It is very easy to get turned around and much of the place visually looks similar so it is easy to get lost anyway, and the meandering flow just makes it worse. Part of the issue is that it is designed to get you back by your car between holes #9-#10, but the cost is a winding roundabout stagger across the park. You walk past the basket for #7 to get to #6. Then you have a long walk to get to #8. The logical hole to walk to after #8 is #11. The second most logical tee to get to from #8 is #18. #9 is way the Hell back up the street on the other side. A lot of the course is like that; the spots where you can get lost are too numerous to list. You can waste a lot of time trying to figure out where you are. There are some directional signs, so that helps. A more logical flow would help more.

The tee signs are just posts with no maps. Some have distances written on them, others have the hole number and that's it. Given that there are multiple pin placements and many of them are blind from the tee, the lack of information on the tee signs is frustrating. There is one hole (I think it is #10) where I always forget where I am and think the basket is farther down than it is; there is a drop off that hides the street behind the pin that I ALWAYS throw into. A better tee sign might help me remember what I'm doing.

Not really cons for me but worth noting: The tees are natural, although most of the holes had a flagged alternate tee to use in case the regular tee was muddy. There are openings in the streets for the sewer, but most had sandbags stuck in there to keep your disc from rolling in. It seems like a golf-only site but the streets are not closed so you might encounter some traffic while you play. The park is kept up fairly well, but with the decaying neighborhood infrastructure it is hard to consider it a "pretty" park. There are an insane amount of power lines in play. There is no parking lot, you just park along the street and depending where on the street you are your car might be in the line of fire.
Other Thoughts: My sister taught at Carrollton Elementary on the other side of the freeway, which served this neighborhood and also was torn down when the airport expanded. Since I met many of the people who lived here and know how long and hard they fought to save their homes, playing disc golf across their abandoned neighborhood is fairly depressing for me.

In the end this is a replacement/improvement for the doomed Creve Coeur course. It's a pretty flat/pretty long course, which is unique in the St. Louis area other than Creve Coeur. However, it's not board-flat or nearly as wide open as Creve Coeur, so it makes for better golf.

I was on the fence about my rating, it's probably a 3.5 if all that matters to you is the shots but more like a 3 if you care a lot about amenities. I care more about the shots so I'm going to go with the higher rating. Shot for shot it's a very solid course. It lacks the elevation to really be great, but it is still a very good course that is worth checking out. Just make sure you bring a map.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Champ Level Course

5+    11/3/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Arguably the most difficult disc golf course in the STL area, this course will make you stand on your head in order to even shoot par. The course is set on a former neighbor hood that I believe was originally bought out by the airport and then somehow went back to the City of Bridgeton for possible usage for a park. And boy.. do they have a step in the right direction. This course is far to vast and extensive to even begin to put its magnitude into words in a small review and other reviewers have done quite well so.. I will just highlight some of my personal reasons as to why I like it.

1) This course has just the right amount of huge, wide-open shots and tight technical shots that require intense accuracy.
2) The wide-open shots that I mentioned above, are not always so "wide-open" due to...A) The generous amount of roads that offer OB strokes B) Seemingly harmless woods are EXTREMELY dense and difficult to maneuver.
3) Elevation change is perfect!! It is never too extreme but it seems as though it is a rarity you are playing on an entirely flat surface.
4) Wind..An added factor that will always keep you on your toes... It seems as though the wind is never quite dead here in Bridgeton..due to Lambert and the highway next door.
5) This course will force you to use up every single shot that you have in your bag and you are guaranteed to be attempting something new... due to..
6) 3 Tee locations that are truly mind-blowing. Both the Blue and the White locations can send even the most seasoned of veterans home with their tail between their legs.
7) Huge expansive park that has very segregated and individual holes that are all unique.
8) Massive old trees that litter the fairways and woodlines.
9) Gateway Titans
10) Just a really challenging place to play and learn to perfect the game. If you can score here you can score anywhere.
11) Johnny on the spot!

Cons: From what I understand.. this course is still technically a temporary course. I believe that the city is eventually looking to make this land into a fully functional park and disc golf course equipped with pavilions, restrooms amenities etc. Also.. there is easily enough room to have another 18 hole course on the same property. but for now it still lacks..
1) Proper tee signage
2) Trash Cans
3) Concrete Tee Pads
4) Better Restrooms/ Water access
5) a few more park benches/ relief from shade
Other Thoughts: This course is incredible and I really cannot wait to see what it can become in the future. I really hope that the City of Bridgeton does decide to really make this place happen. thank you. And thank you to Dave Mac and Gateway Disc Sports for the gnarly design and use of property.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bring a map!

1    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: dandruff1138
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very unique course. Built on an old abandoned neighborhood the airport bought out. The fairways are mowed and it is fun to play. Very cool to let them put a course on something like this...
Cons: The layout of this course is... challenging. It is also tough to find the baskets as the theme for this course is "Line of shrubs/trees with baskets behind them..." Par is pretty tough and the course seems loooong. Lots of poison ivy!!!
Other Thoughts: Bring a map or be lost. Par is sometimes questionable. Natural/dirt tees, no signs for holes, just the # and an arrow. This course is fairly new, we are going to just have to be patient!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Suburbia Extraordinaire

5+    8/26/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: discdoh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1)This course will test your shot making ability. Although at first glance it appears that there are lots of open spaces to work with, you soon realize that this course plays a lot tighter than you originally thought. Every single hole has an element of OB due to the old streets that run throughout the course and the backend of all of the old backyards are covered in nasty overgrowth...if you don't place your drives carefully you will be taking LOTS of added strokes. I really enjoy the challenge that this creates.

2) There are plenty of holes you can air it out on. If you are looking to work on your long game, this course gives you plenty of opportunities to let the big dog rip! Once again, however, drive placement is just as crucial as distance. There really isn't a teebox where you can just blindly let it rip and be 100% positive that you will be inbounds when it comes down. This course will keep you honest.

3) There are lots of creative/tricky basket positions. Every hole has 3 different pin positions. and typically one of them can be considered the "extreme" position. Whether this means it is perched on the edge of a severe dropoff, tucked into a back corner, or sitting on top of a mound, there are some really cool basket locations.

4) The course has a really nice mix of par 3s, 4s, and 5s. It ranges from a shorty par 3 (Hole 12 Red Tee to Short Basket) to an epic par 5 (Hole 8 Blue Tee to Long Basket). If you aren't used to taking 4s and the occasional 5 (or worse), you better mentally prepare yourself ahead of time...shooting under par 68 from the white or blue tees takes some serious game!

5) The gently rolling terrain is maintained very nicely by the local municipality. There are still plenty of remnants from the previous homeowners landscaping efforts...flower beds, decorative trees, bamboo stands, retaining walls, etc. Even though Mother Nature is starting to reclaim the land a bit, it really does make for a pretty course in the meantime.

6) Beautiful Pro Titan baskets! Man, do they look huge and instill confidence!
Cons: All of my cons are basically issues with it being an underdeveloped course. From what I understand, the local municipality wants the local club to wait a a period of 2 years before they really start to develop the course. It has been almost 1.5 years since the baskets were installed, so the time is getting near...

1) There is a general lack of amenities. This includes permanent teepads, tee signage, benches (there are few picnic tables scattered throughout the course), a kiosk, a shelter/bathroom facility, and a parking lot. With any luck these issues will be resolved in the near future once the 2 year re-assessment occurs.

2) The course flow is a bit tricky. In order to accommodate the desire for a double 9-Hole loop layout, the logical flow had to be ignored a bit. I fully understand the intention of it all, but i also can see how some might consider this a nuisance. Once you have played the course a couple of times this issue is not nearly as bothersome.
Other Thoughts: My rating is based on what this course will be in the near future. Once there are concrete teepads (I believe there will be 54 of them when it is all said and done), proper tee signs and course navigation signs, and the normal amenities, this will truly be a world class course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course

5+    8/21/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 Sets of Pads & Baskets - Very challenging - Good mix of Holes & Shots - New Baskets - Trashcans - Well Maintained - Not Crowded

Carrolton Park was built on what used to be an old neighborhood by the airport. The course layout has 3 different tee pads (red, white and blue) as well as 3 pin placements for each hole. The red tee pads are marked by the tee post, while the white and blues are marked either by flags or stakes. The course does not get a lot of play, so you can usually move at your own pace out there, which I like. Even the short tees will challenge Advanced players and make them use a lot of different shots in your bag. Streets and sidewalks still wind through the course to create OB on nearly every hole. The city of Bridgeton does a great job keeping this course mowed and clearing limbs that are dragged over to the streets.
Cons: Poor Flow - No Tee Signs - Natural Tee Pads - No Restrooms or Drinking Fountains

There are quite a few places where you can get lost (especially between holes 1 & 2) if you do not have a map or local guide. There are other design flaws that make you walk back and forth as well such as holes 13-18. With all the space out there, it really could have been done better. Flow issues aside, this is a tough course that is worth playing. There are natural tee pads, for now. But, with 3 different sets, none of them are really worn that badly. Though they do not have public restrooms or running water, there is a Johnny located off Hole 1
Other Thoughts: This is a great challenging course that is a lot of fun (if you can stay in bounds) This could easily be a championship course if it had concrete tee pads and restrooms/running water. You can tell it is still a work in progress and it will be really great once it is completed. Until then, it is still a lot of fun and a great challenge. The icing on the cake is that it is right next to the airport and you see an airplane taking off or landing every other hole, which is awesome.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

unique course

1    5/23/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: mbs882
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course will really let you rip some drives. This course provides many good opportunities to shape some long drives. If you hit something it is generally your fault because you missed your line. Baskets are very nice.
Cons: Navigation is challenging on this course. I went and played by myself to see what it was like and had a lot of trouble not only knowing where to go between holes but also where baskets were. Since there are many long holes expect a lot of walking to find baskets before taking your shot, or just shoot blindly and hope its where you think it might be.

As many other reviewers have said the scenery is just strange. All the decaying streets are not much to look at. Honestly the whole course was a ghost town. It felt like an episode of the series life after people on the history channel. Aside from planes taking off over your head that is.
Other Thoughts: Clearly this course is a work in progress. My rating represents what it is now rather than its future potential. I just don't know that it will ever be a great course because of the setting. It does give big arms a great opportunity to air it out and shape some shots.

One suggestion to the designers might be fairway stakes on the par 4's similar to what they use on ball golf courses. Maybe something 100 feet out that can be seen from the tee so you at least have a point of reference where you are driving. Just a thought.

In any event this is not a course I'd be rushing to take my friends to. If you have a big arm and need a new challenge its worth a shot though.

-Matt

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.