Bridgeton (St.Louis), MO
Carrollton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #9 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 505ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Champ Level Course

5+    11/3/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 0.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Arguably the most difficult disc golf course in the STL area, this course will make you stand on your head in order to even shoot par. The course is set on a former neighbor hood that I believe was originally bought out by the airport and then somehow went back to the City of Bridgeton for possible usage for a park. And boy.. do they have a step in the right direction. This course is far to vast and extensive to even begin to put its magnitude into words in a small review and other reviewers have done quite well so.. I will just highlight some of my personal reasons as to why I like it.

1) This course has just the right amount of huge, wide-open shots and tight technical shots that require intense accuracy.
2) The wide-open shots that I mentioned above, are not always so "wide-open" due to...A) The generous amount of roads that offer OB strokes B) Seemingly harmless woods are EXTREMELY dense and difficult to maneuver.
3) Elevation change is perfect!! It is never too extreme but it seems as though it is a rarity you are playing on an entirely flat surface.
4) Wind..An added factor that will always keep you on your toes... It seems as though the wind is never quite dead here in Bridgeton..due to Lambert and the highway next door.
5) This course will force you to use up every single shot that you have in your bag and you are guaranteed to be attempting something new... due to..
6) 3 Tee locations that are truly mind-blowing. Both the Blue and the White locations can send even the most seasoned of veterans home with their tail between their legs.
7) Huge expansive park that has very segregated and individual holes that are all unique.
8) Massive old trees that litter the fairways and woodlines.
9) Gateway Titans
10) Just a really challenging place to play and learn to perfect the game. If you can score here you can score anywhere.
11) Johnny on the spot!

Cons: From what I understand.. this course is still technically a temporary course. I believe that the city is eventually looking to make this land into a fully functional park and disc golf course equipped with pavilions, restrooms amenities etc. Also.. there is easily enough room to have another 18 hole course on the same property. but for now it still lacks..
1) Proper tee signage
2) Trash Cans
3) Concrete Tee Pads
4) Better Restrooms/ Water access
5) a few more park benches/ relief from shade
Other Thoughts: This course is incredible and I really cannot wait to see what it can become in the future. I really hope that the City of Bridgeton does decide to really make this place happen. thank you. And thank you to Dave Mac and Gateway Disc Sports for the gnarly design and use of property.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bring a map!

1    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: dandruff1138
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very unique course. Built on an old abandoned neighborhood the airport bought out. The fairways are mowed and it is fun to play. Very cool to let them put a course on something like this...
Cons: The layout of this course is... challenging. It is also tough to find the baskets as the theme for this course is "Line of shrubs/trees with baskets behind them..." Par is pretty tough and the course seems loooong. Lots of poison ivy!!!
Other Thoughts: Bring a map or be lost. Par is sometimes questionable. Natural/dirt tees, no signs for holes, just the # and an arrow. This course is fairly new, we are going to just have to be patient!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Suburbia Extraordinaire

5+    8/26/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: discdoh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1)This course will test your shot making ability. Although at first glance it appears that there are lots of open spaces to work with, you soon realize that this course plays a lot tighter than you originally thought. Every single hole has an element of OB due to the old streets that run throughout the course and the backend of all of the old backyards are covered in nasty overgrowth...if you don't place your drives carefully you will be taking LOTS of added strokes. I really enjoy the challenge that this creates.

2) There are plenty of holes you can air it out on. If you are looking to work on your long game, this course gives you plenty of opportunities to let the big dog rip! Once again, however, drive placement is just as crucial as distance. There really isn't a teebox where you can just blindly let it rip and be 100% positive that you will be inbounds when it comes down. This course will keep you honest.

3) There are lots of creative/tricky basket positions. Every hole has 3 different pin positions. and typically one of them can be considered the "extreme" position. Whether this means it is perched on the edge of a severe dropoff, tucked into a back corner, or sitting on top of a mound, there are some really cool basket locations.

4) The course has a really nice mix of par 3s, 4s, and 5s. It ranges from a shorty par 3 (Hole 12 Red Tee to Short Basket) to an epic par 5 (Hole 8 Blue Tee to Long Basket). If you aren't used to taking 4s and the occasional 5 (or worse), you better mentally prepare yourself ahead of time...shooting under par 68 from the white or blue tees takes some serious game!

5) The gently rolling terrain is maintained very nicely by the local municipality. There are still plenty of remnants from the previous homeowners landscaping efforts...flower beds, decorative trees, bamboo stands, retaining walls, etc. Even though Mother Nature is starting to reclaim the land a bit, it really does make for a pretty course in the meantime.

6) Beautiful Pro Titan baskets! Man, do they look huge and instill confidence!
Cons: All of my cons are basically issues with it being an underdeveloped course. From what I understand, the local municipality wants the local club to wait a a period of 2 years before they really start to develop the course. It has been almost 1.5 years since the baskets were installed, so the time is getting near...

1) There is a general lack of amenities. This includes permanent teepads, tee signage, benches (there are few picnic tables scattered throughout the course), a kiosk, a shelter/bathroom facility, and a parking lot. With any luck these issues will be resolved in the near future once the 2 year re-assessment occurs.

2) The course flow is a bit tricky. In order to accommodate the desire for a double 9-Hole loop layout, the logical flow had to be ignored a bit. I fully understand the intention of it all, but i also can see how some might consider this a nuisance. Once you have played the course a couple of times this issue is not nearly as bothersome.
Other Thoughts: My rating is based on what this course will be in the near future. Once there are concrete teepads (I believe there will be 54 of them when it is all said and done), proper tee signs and course navigation signs, and the normal amenities, this will truly be a world class course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course

5+    8/21/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 111  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 Sets of Pads & Baskets - Very challenging - Good mix of Holes & Shots - New Baskets - Trashcans - Well Maintained - Not Crowded

Carrolton Park was built on what used to be an old neighborhood by the airport. The course layout has 3 different tee pads (red, white and blue) as well as 3 pin placements for each hole. The red tee pads are marked by the tee post, while the white and blues are marked either by flags or stakes. The course does not get a lot of play, so you can usually move at your own pace out there, which I like. Even the short tees will challenge Advanced players and make them use a lot of different shots in your bag. Streets and sidewalks still wind through the course to create OB on nearly every hole. The city of Bridgeton does a great job keeping this course mowed and clearing limbs that are dragged over to the streets.
Cons: Poor Flow - No Tee Signs - Natural Tee Pads - No Restrooms or Drinking Fountains

There are quite a few places where you can get lost (especially between holes 1 & 2) if you do not have a map or local guide. There are other design flaws that make you walk back and forth as well such as holes 13-18. With all the space out there, it really could have been done better. Flow issues aside, this is a tough course that is worth playing. There are natural tee pads, for now. But, with 3 different sets, none of them are really worn that badly. Though they do not have public restrooms or running water, there is a Johnny located off Hole 1
Other Thoughts: This is a great challenging course that is a lot of fun (if you can stay in bounds) This could easily be a championship course if it had concrete tee pads and restrooms/running water. You can tell it is still a work in progress and it will be really great once it is completed. Until then, it is still a lot of fun and a great challenge. The icing on the cake is that it is right next to the airport and you see an airplane taking off or landing every other hole, which is awesome.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

unique course

1    5/23/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: mbs882
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course will really let you rip some drives. This course provides many good opportunities to shape some long drives. If you hit something it is generally your fault because you missed your line. Baskets are very nice.
Cons: Navigation is challenging on this course. I went and played by myself to see what it was like and had a lot of trouble not only knowing where to go between holes but also where baskets were. Since there are many long holes expect a lot of walking to find baskets before taking your shot, or just shoot blindly and hope its where you think it might be.

As many other reviewers have said the scenery is just strange. All the decaying streets are not much to look at. Honestly the whole course was a ghost town. It felt like an episode of the series life after people on the history channel. Aside from planes taking off over your head that is.
Other Thoughts: Clearly this course is a work in progress. My rating represents what it is now rather than its future potential. I just don't know that it will ever be a great course because of the setting. It does give big arms a great opportunity to air it out and shape some shots.

One suggestion to the designers might be fairway stakes on the par 4's similar to what they use on ball golf courses. Maybe something 100 feet out that can be seen from the tee so you at least have a point of reference where you are driving. Just a thought.

In any event this is not a course I'd be rushing to take my friends to. If you have a big arm and need a new challenge its worth a shot though.

-Matt

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fallout 3

1    12/12/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really fun course. It's set up to allow for a few grip and rip shots, and there are quite a few really technical shots.
Cons: It's really hard to understand where you're headed at times on this course. After finishing up hole 8 it seemed like the natural place for 9 to be was right in front of it, but instead that was the tee for hole 11. It's really hard to figure your way around, so make sure you keep your eyes peeled for the little flags that point you in the direction of the next hole.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course overall. It feels like you're playing Disc Golf in Fallout 3, which is cool. Some of the holes are a little repetative--I only played it once, but there were quite a few that felt like the same layout on a different hole. I noticed this in the first 9 holes most, but it's not really a detriment. I'd love to see some course maps out there, or some larger signage so you can tell the distance of the holes and the placement of the tee. I think it was hole 7 that I never would have found if I wasn't playing with someone experienced with the course. It was fun overall though. Totally worth playing a couple of times.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/1/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: TheGoldenPutter
Played: 52  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park used to be an old neighborhood and was torn down to expand the airport. All the houses and driveways are gone but you can still see where the houses used to stand because of the terraced landscape. This makes the park truly unique. The old streets also still remain which adds the challenge of OB on most holes.

+Design: The course uses the wood lines that used to be the edges of properties, so on most of the holes you have to navigate around thin pieces of densely "wooded" areas. This makes for fun and challenging hole shapes. An example would be #7, off the tee you throw up the terraces about 300ft to a 15 foot wide hole in the strip of woods, where the pin sits 50ft past that.

+Par 3's: The course plays on the longer par 4 side, but there are 7 throughout the course and each require a different shot. #6 is only 180ft but right behind the pin is a 5ft terrace drop off, so if you go long on the drive or putt, your looking at a difficult putt back.

+Par 4's and 5's: lots of solid 4's with a few 5's. All of them have interesting and fun approach/fairway shots. They also require good tee shot placement instead of just a long drive because of the OB streets. This adds a lot to the course because it demands distance and accuracy. There are probably a few holes where discing down is beneficial; good practice.

+Elevation: As mentioned before, the terraces make the park a fun new challenge.
+Multiple tees provide different shots
+Multiple pin locations that can dramatically change the hole.
+Challenge level is just right
+Discs are easy to find because the wooded strips are generally 10ft wide at most.
+Baskets: Gateway Titans, personal favourite.
+Grass kept short
Cons: -The course could still be considered a beta course. There aren't that many amenities yet but once the city decides to make this a permanent course it should be upgraded.

-Navigation: Even though signs have been put up to help, navigation can be tough. The streets running through the park can break up the flow and make it confusing. If you take a map and follow the new signs it should be easy though.

-Only tee sings are wooden posts w/ hole # and distance. So walking the hole to locate the pin may be necessary.

-Natural tee pads: Most of them are flat, but there are some rougher ones, and with rain footing could be difficult.

-Other: There are a few trash cans and picnic tables here and there but for such a long course some more benches would be very nice.

-Parking lot: The problem is, there isn't one. You have to park along the old streets, which could be a problem. The most convenient place to park is right along hole 9's fairway, so that means an out of control disc could be in your windshield. There are safe places to park though if that is a concern. If you park past #1's pin or by #15's tee pad you car should be safe.


Other Thoughts: >Could be a pro or con, but every now and then a jet will be taking off/landing at the nearby airport so you get a personal airshow, which includes the noise.

>Overall this course is really enjoyable to play.
>Unique challenge that I haven't found anywhere else.
>Print the map ( under links and files)
>Please respect the course. The course will only improve if it is kept in good shape. There is no excuse for litering.
>This is must play if you're in town. One of my favourites in St. Louis.

************** If you found this review unhelpfull, found a mistake, or want more info, please send me a personal message on DGCR so I can help.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lots of Potential

5+    10/16/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: BreuerKyle
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the longer courses in Saint Louis, MO requiring different shots with some change in elevation
>
Park built on old neighborhood, which means lots of out of bounds. Makes players really control shots on some holes
>
Multiple Tee Pads
>
Multiple Hole Locations
>
So much potential with course and being improved everyday - Thanks to those taking care of the course
Cons: Hard to follow without a map your first time through the course
>
Park on street between holes (near holes 1,9, and 10)
Other Thoughts: This course has so much potential. Cannot wait to see what this course will be like within a few years. Quickly becoming one of my favorite courses in Saint Louis, MO

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good start to a championship level course

1    8/6/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: dehaas
Played: 61  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course offered a fair mix of holes, there were righty, lefty, uphill, downhill, short, and long. There are also 3 sets of tees and 3 basket placements that provide numerous ways to mix up the course. A buddy and I were lucky enough to hop in with a group of 2 locals who said that the baskets have been moved every few weeks.

What I enjoyed the most about the course is how it made you focus on shot selection and then the execution of that shot. There were many cases where I thought my tee shot was good only to find that I was 20-30 feet away from having the desired look on my second shot. Getting that extra little bit of distance off of the tee doesn't necessarily mean that you will score better than the guys on your card.

The course is located in an old subdivision, and the course uses the roads running through it as a great use of OB. It comes into play on many holes, but there are a few in particular where the OB can be especially tight. This adds an obvious layer of difficulty to the course.

I was surprised to see a good amount of garbage cans out on the course and next to no garbage loose.
Cons: I followed the advice in many other reviews and had the course map pulled up on my phone. My buddy and I were lucky enough to have 2 regular players approaching the first tee at the same time so we played with them. I'm glad we did, because even with a map I think I would have been confused following the lay out. I'm not 100% sure I'd know exactly where I was going if I had to play the course right now without a map. So try to play with somebody who has already played the course if possible, or be prepared to struggle with navigation a bit. I'm definitely willing to walk a bit in between holes epecially if it means the quality of the holes will be top notch, but this course does not flow as well as others for people who have not seen it before.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was impressed with the course. I'd heard a lot of hype surrounding it and was not let down. Carrollton definitely IS NOT your standard par 54 pitch and putt. If you want to score well you must have your accuracy and mental game under control, otherwise it will eat you alive. For this reason a lot of people may not care for the course, but it is definitely a challenge. To me this is what a golf course should be. Whoever can play smart golf and hit their lines will do well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

meh.

2-4    7/22/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: nodnarb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: there's nobody there. it's pretty close to my house. i appreciate that they're using the land that used to be a subdivision with nice homes before the airport tore it down.
Cons: i didn't find this course to be particularly fun or challenging. the scenery isn't that great unless you like seeing decaying streets crisscrossing through the course. the layout sort of sucks. good luck finding the tees because the layout doesn't make a lot of sense. even if you do happen to know where the correct tee is, most of them are a long way away from the basket you just got done playing. the storm sewers in the decaying streets look like a great way to lose a lot of discs. a bad throw, bounce, or roll towards one of them could ruin your day. this course is also pretty long. somebody needs to remind Dave M. that a fun course doesn't necessarily equal a long course. a few holes run close to an apartment complex. although it doesn't look like the projects in north saint louis, i wouldn't be surprised if little kids start coming up and stealing your discs like they do at Jefferson Barracks. be careful where you park. there's really no good place to park with no fear of getting disc dents in your car unless you want to walk a mile.
Other Thoughts: i've played this course 3 times in the last two weeks to get the feel of it and try to get the layout into memory. the only reason why i'd play this course is to get away from the crowd that clogs up my favorite course (Endicott) while Creve Coeur is closed. honestly, it just doesn't crank my chicken. to me, the decaying streets and knowledge of what the place used to look like before the airport tore it all down is a big downer. if i really want to play a course this big, i'd rather go to Sioux Passage. Sioux Passage is just nicer all around, more scenic, and just as empty. don't let my review make you avoid the course, just play it yourself and make your own decision. although i appreciate that they're making use of the land, i really think they could have done better with some other bit of land.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.