Bridgeton (St.Louis), MO 
Carrollton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #8 (Taken 6/2012)
5 / 563ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Fallout 3

1    12/12/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really fun course. It's set up to allow for a few grip and rip shots, and there are quite a few really technical shots.
Cons: It's really hard to understand where you're headed at times on this course. After finishing up hole 8 it seemed like the natural place for 9 to be was right in front of it, but instead that was the tee for hole 11. It's really hard to figure your way around, so make sure you keep your eyes peeled for the little flags that point you in the direction of the next hole.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course overall. It feels like you're playing Disc Golf in Fallout 3, which is cool. Some of the holes are a little repetative--I only played it once, but there were quite a few that felt like the same layout on a different hole. I noticed this in the first 9 holes most, but it's not really a detriment. I'd love to see some course maps out there, or some larger signage so you can tell the distance of the holes and the placement of the tee. I think it was hole 7 that I never would have found if I wasn't playing with someone experienced with the course. It was fun overall though. Totally worth playing a couple of times.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/1/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: TheGoldenPutter
Played: 52  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park used to be an old neighborhood and was torn down to expand the airport. All the houses and driveways are gone but you can still see where the houses used to stand because of the terraced landscape. This makes the park truly unique. The old streets also still remain which adds the challenge of OB on most holes.

+Design: The course uses the wood lines that used to be the edges of properties, so on most of the holes you have to navigate around thin pieces of densely "wooded" areas. This makes for fun and challenging hole shapes. An example would be #7, off the tee you throw up the terraces about 300ft to a 15 foot wide hole in the strip of woods, where the pin sits 50ft past that.

+Par 3's: The course plays on the longer par 4 side, but there are 7 throughout the course and each require a different shot. #6 is only 180ft but right behind the pin is a 5ft terrace drop off, so if you go long on the drive or putt, your looking at a difficult putt back.

+Par 4's and 5's: lots of solid 4's with a few 5's. All of them have interesting and fun approach/fairway shots. They also require good tee shot placement instead of just a long drive because of the OB streets. This adds a lot to the course because it demands distance and accuracy. There are probably a few holes where discing down is beneficial; good practice.

+Elevation: As mentioned before, the terraces make the park a fun new challenge.
+Multiple tees provide different shots
+Multiple pin locations that can dramatically change the hole.
+Challenge level is just right
+Discs are easy to find because the wooded strips are generally 10ft wide at most.
+Baskets: Gateway Titans, personal favourite.
+Grass kept short
Cons: -The course could still be considered a beta course. There aren't that many amenities yet but once the city decides to make this a permanent course it should be upgraded.

-Navigation: Even though signs have been put up to help, navigation can be tough. The streets running through the park can break up the flow and make it confusing. If you take a map and follow the new signs it should be easy though.

-Only tee sings are wooden posts w/ hole # and distance. So walking the hole to locate the pin may be necessary.

-Natural tee pads: Most of them are flat, but there are some rougher ones, and with rain footing could be difficult.

-Other: There are a few trash cans and picnic tables here and there but for such a long course some more benches would be very nice.

-Parking lot: The problem is, there isn't one. You have to park along the old streets, which could be a problem. The most convenient place to park is right along hole 9's fairway, so that means an out of control disc could be in your windshield. There are safe places to park though if that is a concern. If you park past #1's pin or by #15's tee pad you car should be safe.


Other Thoughts: >Could be a pro or con, but every now and then a jet will be taking off/landing at the nearby airport so you get a personal airshow, which includes the noise.

>Overall this course is really enjoyable to play.
>Unique challenge that I haven't found anywhere else.
>Print the map ( under links and files)
>Please respect the course. The course will only improve if it is kept in good shape. There is no excuse for litering.
>This is must play if you're in town. One of my favourites in St. Louis.

************** If you found this review unhelpfull, found a mistake, or want more info, please send me a personal message on DGCR so I can help.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential

5+    10/16/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: BreuerKyle
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the longer courses in Saint Louis, MO requiring different shots with some change in elevation
>
Park built on old neighborhood, which means lots of out of bounds. Makes players really control shots on some holes
>
Multiple Tee Pads
>
Multiple Hole Locations
>
So much potential with course and being improved everyday - Thanks to those taking care of the course
Cons: Hard to follow without a map your first time through the course
>
Park on street between holes (near holes 1,9, and 10)
Other Thoughts: This course has so much potential. Cannot wait to see what this course will be like within a few years. Quickly becoming one of my favorite courses in Saint Louis, MO

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good start to a championship level course

1    8/6/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: dehaas
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course offered a fair mix of holes, there were righty, lefty, uphill, downhill, short, and long. There are also 3 sets of tees and 3 basket placements that provide numerous ways to mix up the course. A buddy and I were lucky enough to hop in with a group of 2 locals who said that the baskets have been moved every few weeks.

What I enjoyed the most about the course is how it made you focus on shot selection and then the execution of that shot. There were many cases where I thought my tee shot was good only to find that I was 20-30 feet away from having the desired look on my second shot. Getting that extra little bit of distance off of the tee doesn't necessarily mean that you will score better than the guys on your card.

The course is located in an old subdivision, and the course uses the roads running through it as a great use of OB. It comes into play on many holes, but there are a few in particular where the OB can be especially tight. This adds an obvious layer of difficulty to the course.

I was surprised to see a good amount of garbage cans out on the course and next to no garbage loose.
Cons: I followed the advice in many other reviews and had the course map pulled up on my phone. My buddy and I were lucky enough to have 2 regular players approaching the first tee at the same time so we played with them. I'm glad we did, because even with a map I think I would have been confused following the lay out. I'm not 100% sure I'd know exactly where I was going if I had to play the course right now without a map. So try to play with somebody who has already played the course if possible, or be prepared to struggle with navigation a bit. I'm definitely willing to walk a bit in between holes epecially if it means the quality of the holes will be top notch, but this course does not flow as well as others for people who have not seen it before.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was impressed with the course. I'd heard a lot of hype surrounding it and was not let down. Carrollton definitely IS NOT your standard par 54 pitch and putt. If you want to score well you must have your accuracy and mental game under control, otherwise it will eat you alive. For this reason a lot of people may not care for the course, but it is definitely a challenge. To me this is what a golf course should be. Whoever can play smart golf and hit their lines will do well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 meh.

2-4    7/22/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: nodnarb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: there's nobody there. it's pretty close to my house. i appreciate that they're using the land that used to be a subdivision with nice homes before the airport tore it down.
Cons: i didn't find this course to be particularly fun or challenging. the scenery isn't that great unless you like seeing decaying streets crisscrossing through the course. the layout sort of sucks. good luck finding the tees because the layout doesn't make a lot of sense. even if you do happen to know where the correct tee is, most of them are a long way away from the basket you just got done playing. the storm sewers in the decaying streets look like a great way to lose a lot of discs. a bad throw, bounce, or roll towards one of them could ruin your day. this course is also pretty long. somebody needs to remind Dave M. that a fun course doesn't necessarily equal a long course. a few holes run close to an apartment complex. although it doesn't look like the projects in north saint louis, i wouldn't be surprised if little kids start coming up and stealing your discs like they do at Jefferson Barracks. be careful where you park. there's really no good place to park with no fear of getting disc dents in your car unless you want to walk a mile.
Other Thoughts: i've played this course 3 times in the last two weeks to get the feel of it and try to get the layout into memory. the only reason why i'd play this course is to get away from the crowd that clogs up my favorite course (Endicott) while Creve Coeur is closed. honestly, it just doesn't crank my chicken. to me, the decaying streets and knowledge of what the place used to look like before the airport tore it all down is a big downer. if i really want to play a course this big, i'd rather go to Sioux Passage. Sioux Passage is just nicer all around, more scenic, and just as empty. don't let my review make you avoid the course, just play it yourself and make your own decision. although i appreciate that they're making use of the land, i really think they could have done better with some other bit of land.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Suburbia

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 53  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses the area giving very well, considering it was meant to be a residential neighborhood. The streets and trees make the course very challenging. Several of the holes use the stair step type elevation form the old lots.

It allows you to use every type of shot you have with distances ranging from 120ft or so to 500+ ft. I think there was only 1 disc in my bag that i didn't throw when i played here.

There are also 3 tees, and at least 3 pin positions on each hole which allow for a big change in shots on every hole.
Cons: The cons should all be fixed with time, the city of Bridgeton is sort of dragging their feet from what I'm told.

The tees are currently just paint on the ground with 4X4 post for the reds, the blue and yellows are just paint and a small stake. There are no real signs, there are distances written on the posts, but you have to know where the pins are as a large number of them are not visible from the tee.

There are no benches at any of the tees. There are a few trashcan spread throughout the course but a few more would be nice.

The titan on hole 4 is missing one of the bottom rings, but has been rigged up with zip ties.

There is no parking, so you have to park along the fairways. Take a map and be logical where you park close to 1 and 10's teepads is a good spot.

TAKE A MAP OR GUIDE it gets confusing. I had guides, and I'm not sure I could follow it on my own.
Other Thoughts: BE RESPECTFUL so that the city will allow this course to be completed, and maybe even let more of the land around the airport be turned into disc golf courses.

Pick up your trash, watch your language there are apartments near by, and avoid breaking branches and trees (there was a lot of talk about this and how it has completely changed holes)


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best mix of shots in St. Louis

2-4    6/26/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set up to challenge any disc golfer with short, medium, and long tee boxes and multiple pin placements. The course winds through an old subdivision with mature trees and lanscaped yards. There are several different types of elevation changes and out-of-bounds. The narrow yards make for a very challenging course and the manicured lawns allow drivers to get big skips into OB.
Cons: The only cons right now are that there are no tee signs, tee boxes, and the course still needs some landscaping.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course in St. Louis....only time will tell.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Suburbia

1    6/26/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 43  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.7 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am unofficially naming this course "Suburbia".
The course is built right on top of what used to be an actual subdivision/neighborhood of over 50 houses. The streets and sewers are all still in place, the plots of land where each individual house stood are still graded and look ready for construction and you can literally picture your discs flying over driveways with bicycles and minivans parked in them (there are actually no driveways - that's just a good imagination). There is no other course I've seen quite like it. I loved the feeling, like asking mom if I could go play in the neighbors yard :)
>
The course has a very good mix of shot style, direction and distance. Just about every disc can find a workout and it was nice to have plenty of opportunities to play with some of the discs in my bag that get neglected.
>
It is very nice to see three alternate pin placements on every hole and I agreed with most of the choices.
From the looks of things, there will be between two and three tee pads for each hole... of which I also felt the location choices were nice.
>
The holes all felt to have a nice balance between challenging and playable - nothing that felt like a cakewalk, nothing that felt unjustifiably difficult or impossible (there is one exception, but I think cutting down one or two crummy little trees will fix the issue - more in Cons).
>
The staged/stepped grading of the land between plots make for a very interesting and fun twist to the normal rolling hills on traditional park courses. It could work for you or work against you and it was all about planning where to park your disc to avoid driving it right into a rise or having it float over an edge and down an extra 75ft. A welcome, if not punishing challenge.
>
Cons: The cons at this course are a mixed bag of "it's still not finished and will improve" and "this is what you have to deal with to build a course on such a unique piece of land"
>
The biggest complaint here is going to be navigation. TAKE A MAP! There are many, many places where the next logical teepad you see is actually not the one you want. You'll frequently find yourself walking across the street and down almost two blocks to get to the next hole. You'll often discover that you have just walked right into the middle of another holes fairway while on your way to the next tee. The problem is due to having to fit the layout in between the existing roads from the old neighborhood and still come up with some way to have hole 1 and 18 remotely near one another. Maybe there is another way, but I won't even begin to speculate because it must have been a nightmare to design.
>
There are currently no trash cans. I'm sure there will be eventually, but for now, you need to preplan on packing out everything you bring. Don't be like the jack-wagons playing in front of me that I became personal janitor for by cleaning up an entire case worth of beer cans, despite having asked them to stop throwing their trash on the brand new course.
>
The Gateway Titan basket on Hole 4 is a defect. Gateway forgot to weld on the ring below the bucket that keeps discs from slipping through and onto the ground. It's the dumbest mistake and I have no idea how it made it through quality control. Hopefully it will be replaced or repaired for free.
>
There is no parking lot. You will always be parking your car along the street. This means that you will want to have that map of the course in your hands as you decide where to park. As the course becomes more popular, you will need to decide to start somewhere other than hole 1 as no parking will be available by hole 18.
>
In many cases there will be safety issues that require players to be doing their due diligence and paying attention. Most of the fairways are narrow, by contrast to regular parks, and are bordered on both sides by roads - roads where people park their cars and even a slight ricochet off a tree or a shot that got a little flippy could be on a direct path for someones car or worse, their head. There is also a spot along fairway 11 where a really fast throw which heads to the right could end up on the highway. I don't even want to think about that. Please be careful.
>
Other Thoughts: Not much else to add, but please download the map, you'll never make it through without it. Also, make sure to locate the correct basket before you tee off - the map only shows the "A" positions and will have you throwing in the complete wrong place before you realize it.
Also, don't be the bung-heads who ruin this courses relationship with the city of Bridgeton - pick up your trash and keep your language clean and at a reasonable level (there are apartments all along the edge of the course where children were playing and windows were open). If you see somebody working hard to blow it for the rest of us, say something.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

1    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 162  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This will be a great addition to many existing course already in the StL area. With multiple pads (soon to be installed) and multiple pin placements, this has the potential to be the best in the area (36 holes). A challenge with the up/down hill placements. The par system is consistent with other courses I've played.
Cons: The distance from pad-pad on 7-8 and 15-16 left me wondering about trekking around. Note: Until the signs are in place, bring a map.
Only real negative I could find was 18 and 15 are in close proximity. I didn't realize this and I threw to "18", it ended up being 15, and so I backtracked. Also from 18 you walk in the path of 15 back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a brand new course that has taken a few years to come to fruition. Thanks to those in River City Flyers for making the happen. I realize that improvements will happen over time, some sooner than later. For example, the pads themselves and/or better paths will be established.
I look forward to playing this course many time a year.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Love New Bridgeton course

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: mkpjr37
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Love the ups and downs good mix of short mids and longs, good par system to me. nice 3's 4's and 5's multiple tees and pins will make this a awesome course. 2nd time playing course brought a map this time flow was better once you figure ins and outs. Tourneys are gonna have tight ob to make more challenging as you play more course will play faster love the skill shot element to most holes.
Cons: Only thing i see is close to apartments on a few holes and park cars might come into play if not parked right

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.