Freeland, MI 
Tittabawassee Trails Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #10 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 202ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
New course for me

1    10/4/2014   10/5/2014
Review By: Steven Hultquist
Played: 256  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, challenging all levels of play. Did get to play some of the new holes and they look promising, aced the new hole behind 10, ;-D
Cons: I had a hard time navigating the course due to next tee signs missing/damaged. This looks like a work in progress so I'm sure this will be addressed.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

going in wrong direcxtion

5+    8/7/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: Mac423
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes. Utilizes the water feature in the park. Decent cement tee pads with footage and par marked on post. Some brush has been recently cleared making the course easier. The creeks have had work done so that they are much shallower and harder to lose a disc in.
Cons: -Some brush has been cleared, making somewhat easy holes even easier.

-Baskets on hole 2 and 13 have both been moved to stupid locations in the last couple weeks.

-Baskets on 2 holes were simply not there due to recent work being done.

- Mosquitoes
Other Thoughts: I originally had this course rated as a 3.5, however.. with recent changes to pin locations, I have to drop this to a 3. I hope whoever is making the decisions recently stops what they are doing! It is still a really fun course, and worth the time to play for anyone passing through the area. Confirmed by some of the people doing the work on course that they are adding 6 new holes, and they will not be sharing baskets.. so this is good news.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

lake tittabawasee

1    11/20/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a large multi-use park. The area seems to be relatively DG exclusive but I believe the walking trails will be used by non-dgers as well as dgers.

Challenge-- This course is challenging fun. It may be short but it will truly test every shot in your bag. the lake shot on #3 is bitchin fun and even has a short tee for those less inclined to possibly lose plastic. another hole with a creek winding through it (#11?) has a short tee as well over the creek.

Teepads-- nice, big, level, in great shape. Concrete.

Teesigns-- basic, but informative. hole number, par, distance but no map given.

Baskets-- have seen better days but are still very usable.

Lengths-- there is such a variety of lengths here. #12 along the tracks is great but the club was burning brush in the middle of the fairway the day I was there.

Routing and nav-- reasonable. the map online was helpful and there are a few "next tee" signs around the course.

Uniqueness/water/elevation-- this course has some serious character. the water holes in the woods with the creek have some serious personality. Loved the hole playing down the creek and the one with the creek winding through it.
Cons:
length-- it's a con as well. this course is quite short, especially after #13. most holes are 200 or less..

deadfall--this could be related to recent storm but there was a ton of dead fall (not leaves)
Other Thoughts: this was a very fun course and a very fast play..

A cherished and respected course

5+    9/5/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 9/12/2013
Pros: + Very nice setting for the course, complete with a pond to toss over, a stream to avoid in a couple spots, and a couple small hills to provide some necessary variety
+ There's an alternate tee for the pond hole, and it is fantastic for those who don't want to take the chance of losing a disc
+ Practice basket to get a few putts in before starting a round
+ Probably the most appropriately designated course pars of the region's courses
+ A few treacherous, unforgiving holes
+ A few holes you can make up a stroke on
+ The course "settles down" at the end and offers plenty of chances for birdies
+ Scorecards sometimes available at tee #1
+ Basic tee signs newly re-installed with hole # and distance
+ Newly installed navigational signage
+ EXPANDING (6 new holes, and at least one new long tee)
+ Tons of brush has been cleared and makes the course much more enjoyable
+ Baskets stay in place in winter
Cons: - Prone to wetness
- Vandals and graffiti
- Popular/crowded after 5pm most days
Other Thoughts: Freeland seems to be the region's favorite and most popular course. I once predicted that it wouldn't be for very long... Wickes is amazing, but with the course expanding to 24 holes, adding a couple long tees, re-installed hole and newly installed directional signage, and all the brush cleared, this course is earning itself a GREAT reputation. High hopes, I have!

Anyway, if you play it safe and hit your lines, this can definitely be a quick and fairly easy confidence-boosting course. Just don't over-complicate it. You don't need a "full bag" to play here. Drivers aren't even necessary, but helpful on two holes. That being said, if you don't hit your lines or miscalculate the landing point of your discs, you're gonna have a bad time. The rough is appropriately rough. A round can be ruined in one or two holes easily.

If you use this course to introduce players to the sport, encourage them to play it safe (forehand when the left is hazardous, backhand when the right is). Most of the holes are 250 feet or below (six holes are less than 200 feet). But even so, the trees will always keep you fighting, so it won't bore new players or be too easy for experienced players. The course is the most convenient in the area for short tournaments like the Vibram Birdie Bash, but might be too wooded for the Discraft Ace Race. One hint is that even though the layout doesn't appear this way, most of the holes can be birdied with straight shots. In fact, you could comfortably play this course with only a putter.

Another cool idea for this course is to play holes #1, #2, #3-long, then from #3's short tee back to #2's pin (pretty difficult and risky), and then move on to play #14-18. A very quick nine hole round that is especially satisfying when it's muddy since these holes don't feature the stream and typically are clear.

It does get crowded, especially when people get out of work, and is usually a bit busy on the weekend. The central location might make it a bit more popular than the peripheral courses. The local leagues are active and well-established, so that helps its popularity. Overall, it's easy to compare to the four other mid-Michigan courses. Unlike Freeland, you can bust a driver out for most of a round in Midland, which is slightly more challenging with longer wooded holes, but less fun and kind of boring. Sanford is the most challenging wooded course with seemingly longer wooded holes than both Midland and Tittabawassee, but it's not free and the course par is super generous. Memorial Park in Frankenmuth is where all of your drivers come out and distance is more important than accuracy most of the time. Wickes Woods in Saginaw is much more challenging and offers a wider variety of hole layouts. As of right now, it's the most diverse course in the area.

Thanks for reading!

 I will avoid any jokes about the woman's anatomy.

1    7/21/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent design for the property available. They incorporated 4 different styles of hole, prairie, tight woods, clean woods, and an open hole with water.
2) Extremely challenging shots due to the tightness of the fairways and the thick rough. Throwing in the fairways is at a premium. I always prefer a challenge to a simple walk in the park.
3) Woodchips are used in spots which helps to keep the mud down.
4) Water in play . . . it is easily clearable for an Intermediate level player, but anyone in Recreational or lower level skill will want to use the forward tee.
5) There are a couple of really attractive holes. While most of the holes are carved out of thick underbrush in the woods, there are a few holes that are in a really nice mature woods with very little underbrush.
6) Nice concrete tees are always appreciated.
7) Posts with Hole # and Distance.
8) Good variety of shot selection needed here. I love it when a course makes you throw everything you have.
9) Elevation is used very effectively to make some fun shots. You have to go up and down in the woods which alters the shot requirements too.
Cons: 1) Overall I would say that this course is a little too tight. The underbrush is extremely punishing and also extremely difficult to get out of. If they could clean up some buckthorn and underbrush this course might also be a lot more attractive. For instance those last few holes on the course are in a wonderfully clean section of the park . . . and the rest of the holes if they were cleaned up would look like these holes.
2) Compaction and erosion are big issues here. There are a lot of bare areas in the woods because of all the traffic and very little sunlight.
3) Not enough hole distance variation. Almost all of the holes are mid 100's to mid 200's.
4) Not at all beginner friendly in my opinion. Too much underbrush and too tight.
5) Navigation is difficult because of other walking trails weaving in and out of the course. Simple directional signs would make this much better. We often sent people both directions to look for the next tee.
6) There will definitely be some wet low spots on this course at times. There are some low pockets that will hold water.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough course to rate. I had a lot of fun and the disc golf is fun and challenging, but the underbrush and confusing layout makes it more frustrating. Obviously maintenance on this park could be better since it seems to be pretty beat down. I am going to give it a 3.0 but feel like if they improved some of the underbrush and signage would really bring this course up at least .5 a disc or more. It will never be long and super challenging to people who throw 300' easily, but it could be a perfect Recreational to Intermediate course if it was a little cleaner. That would also allow beginners a chance to enjoy this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/5/2011   4/23/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this course is well layed-out, very nice tee pads, dnt remember if they had the distances on the holes, trash cans were there, very clean, a shot over a huge pond made it fun, easy to navaigate, nice baskets
Cons: I dnt remember any cons, it was a fun course and will return back when in the area
Other Thoughts: some locals were just arriving when we finished the course, we talked to them and told us about another course and then they actually showed us where it is and played doubles with us then had lunch afterwards

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Narrow but fun.

1    10/22/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: starskeeter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a nice township park just off of 10 and right next to M-47.
- Course has good variety of RHBH and LHBH shots through the woods.
- Hole 3 is fun and provides the only hole where accuracy on your drive isn't as important as the distance on your drive.
- Good use of the landscape that is available. Elevation is used well (though there isn't a ton on this course).
Cons: - Navigation is difficult without a map, and is even somewhat difficult with a map. There are a lot of trails that go in and out of the course.
- A lot of tightly wooded shots. If you go too far from the fairway you can easily end up with a bogey or double bogey.
Other Thoughts: Worth a short trip to check out this course. If you are in the area I recommend Midland's course at Chippewa Banks as well (they are only 7 miles apart).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

5+    1/9/2012   6/14/2011
Review By: Dogleg2rt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -good variation of BH and FH holes.
-technical and fairly tight for gamers.
-nice use of elevation in design of course.
-practice basket at hole #1
Cons: -can be a muddy mess at times.
-no signage.
Other Thoughts: as of 1-9-12, loop can be played in shoes. one of the other holes will probaly douche those shoes w mud tho, so throw straight.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Which way did he go?

1    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Setting: Quiet park is easy to find off the main road, with plenty of paved parking. Course is isolated from other park activities for the most part.

Disc Play: Course begins and ends with several short technical holes that have that "typical Michigan woodsy" feel. The middle holes really ramp up the challenge with many mid to moderately long and tight holes that require decent distance with very good control for birdie opportunities. There are a couple of holes (3 & 12) where you can let rip, but for the other 16, throttling down will save you strokes (and quite possibly discs). Hole design is pretty good for the most part, but nothing special. Shot variety is good, with a mix of fairways hooking left, slicing right and many going straight. A few blind holes required scouting up ahead, and will help keep you honest from the teepad.

Course makes good use of water to add some thrill. The tee shot on 3 is far enough to make you think about it, but not so far that noodle arms (like me) can't carry the water. They also added a safer, dry approach to the left of the lake, so that those who don't want to risk splash down get to drive from an elevated tee pad with a left hooking line to a blind basket, which keeps the hole interesting for everyone. Designers also made decent use of elevation where it's available.

Hardware: Cement pads were in good shape (some were short), baskets were decent. Nothing more to note.
Cons: Navigation: By far this course's biggest fault. The fact that there are absolutely no signs, posts, tee markers, or arrows to point you towards the next tee whatsoever only hampers navigation on a course that flows poorly from basket to next tee in many spots.

Atmosphere: I have to agree with Bucket Bonanza; the locals here really need to learn etiquette. People looking for discs that don't seem to care if someone's waiting on the pad. Please learn the words learn the words "Go ahead and play through." Others were driving up on people while the group ahead were still looking and/or playing.

Lots of mud after many rainy days really dampened the fun factor for me - literally. This was a bigger problem between holes than it was on the fairways, and worse than on most courses I've played.

Just my opinion, but except for about 6 holes or so, I found the course to be lacking aesthetic appeal. Densely wooded holes block sunlight and keep grass from growing, resulting in fairways that are pretty much just dirt. Combined with low lying topography that retains water and washes away any mulch that may have been laid down, and the holes look washed out, bleak and barren, or swampy. Course looks like it gets lots of traffic from people who don't take care of it. Numerous trees had branches that would have extended into the fairway broken off - not cut. All in all, you get a course that simply isn't aging gracefully.
Other Thoughts: Have to say I was a bit disappointed. I was expecting more after reading some of the other reviews and what I've heard from others, but everything I've stated is pretty much factual and/or reinforced by the opinions of other reviewers.

No doubt the extreme muddiness I encountered has biased my opinion, but let that serve as a warning to anyone planning a trip here to make sure they select drier conditions, lest they share my bias.

Nonetheless, I'd have to say disc play is "good," so I'll give it a 3.0, but since the course falls short in just about every other area, that's all I got for this place.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun every time

2-4    5/21/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: AKasprzak
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: good teepad, mostly clean grounds. challenging holes. we had alot of fun.
Cons: was muddy the last 2 times we were there but seems like its trying to dry up (its the wet season what do you expect). stuck behind a group of drunks with children that littered everywere and woundnt let us pass till they sat down to smoke some green.
Other Thoughts: alot of fun for both right and left handed players. Great course if you are not stuck behind drinks. i would recomend this course to friends. enjoyed this course and will return

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.