Freeland, MI 
Tittabawassee Trails Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #8 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    6/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Jazzbass33
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has many holes with a lot of personality.It's a course with some tough challenges,the kind that make you WANT to conker it.The kind of challenges that make you pull out some different shots....learn new shots.
Cons: It does get muddy,especially in the Spring/early Summer.A few pads need replacement(mostly#9)
Other Thoughts: This is an addictive course.When you go for the first time,you probably need a few points in the right direction,but it's really not that hard to figure out.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/20/2008   6/10/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very fun course, with different types of shots, some straight, some to the right or left, some over water, and some wide open. Elevation changes really make for some unique hole layouts. If you can get a good throw there are ace possibilities starting right from hole 1 and then holes: ,4,9,11,13,15,16, and 17 (not that I've ever gotten one). I really like how this course seems like it was designed with some kind of natural hazard on almost every hole. Hole 7 has you throw from an elevated pad with the basket up on the hill to the right, with an area to the left that has a bunch of trees and bushes, but the worst part is the two trees directly in front of the pad that make it such a narrow lane to throw in, unless you tomahawk it.
Cons: No signs. Muddy...drainage could be better. If it's your first time it can be easy to get lost it helps to have someone who has played the course before. I play this course quite a bit because it's pretty close to home, and at most time it can get real congested with big groups of people.
Other Thoughts: You are almost guarnteed to run into some muddy spots, no matter what season. My only bad comment about this course is, at times there are so many people that, even if the people in front of you let you through, you will just have to wait for the group of people in front of them. If you want to play a quick round you better get to the course real early.

**UPDATE**7/17/11
The drainage has gotten a lot better the last couple years, its not nearly as muddy as it used to be. Also the course doesnt seem to get quite as congested with lots of people anymore.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Its alright.

1    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 73  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Its a very tight, wooded course with very little room for error. Some of the shorter holes/ace runs are quite fun. Over the water, next to the RR tracks and the pleasant scenery highlight this course.
Cons: Not enough 'wiggle room'. Not to say that every course has to be wide open, but a little variance and some sign of a fairway would be nice. All in all, a little on the short side for me. Very wet when we played, the drainage is below average. No stores nearby. Not an easy place to find your way around. Print a map.
Other Thoughts: If not for the pleasant scenery, I don't think that I would play here again. In the area, Chippewa banks is a more complete course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite

5+    4/29/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: TCMFW
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Each hole is challenging and tons of fun!!
Most holes are not strait tee offs, so the challenge of placement makes the round more enjoyable.
Cons: Can get extremely muddy, bring a towel and crappy shoes. Also signs and par markers are not available so if it's your first time you could get turned around
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the best in Michigan.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mud Sucks

5+    4/23/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout
I loved the multi levels
Well kept, the bridges have been redone lately, and they built stairs when going up and down hills (first time I've seen that)
Cons: # 3 and the no swimming sign :(
Anyone who played this course wished they had scuba gear when it came to 3
Other Thoughts: Great course, taking more people with me tomorrow to play! One thing to remember: bring a towel! It gets extremely muddy and mucky almost the whole course after it rains

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A great time and worth a look

1    11/28/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: donnyv
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Only been able to play here once a few years ago so I'm not an expert on this course. It was a real nice, fun place to play, even in November. No bugs, no leaves, no big groups, not super hot/humid. Just a partly cloudy day in the 40's with a light wind and and inch of snow on the ground.

PROS
1. Woods ~ Nice place to bring the mids. No boring wide-open and empty fields. Only a couple real tight spots to worry about. Couple holes require a cannon to shoot over like the pond/lake.

2. Good Variety of Interesting Holes ~ Lots of little hills and narrow alleys of trees mixed it up to make a real challenge for every skill level. Some nice elevated shots that you don't get at every other course. Teeing off one of the ridges down to the pin was a highlight for me. I also liked the foot bridges crossing the ditches.

3. Kid-friendly Park ~ The course was not extremely long, which worked out for our younger ones that can't quite make it through those 27-hole mega-courses. Playground and BB courts, Port-a-john etc on site too.

4. Good Use of Available Land ~ The park is a medium sized local park with most of the other activities near the front-end. The course maximizes the land allowed very well and is the perfect size for the community.

5. Location ~ There are a few other courses nearby to check out. This also helps the DG community to remain strong will helping reduce the enviromental impact from overcrowding at the course
Cons: It's been a while since I was here so these cons could be outdated or fixed by now...

CONS
1. No Course Maps Available at Park ~ We printed one from dgcoursereview and it saved us from getting lost. Thanks for the heads up.

2. Intimidating and Risky Shots Over Large Pond ~ Some people might lose a disc or two over the lake/pond. It was a little windy on Thanksgiving so we just played that one short. Heard a kid drowned there a year or two ago. Not worth it.

3. Nature Trails Through Course ~ There must be walking trails through the middle of the course. We were the only DGers there and we ran accross a few couples taking a stroll down some side-trails. Not really a con but they could've been hurt.

4. No Tee Signage ~ Tee signs were not in yet either. Luckily the map we got from dgcr saved the day for us again.

5. Slow Drainage ~ Standing water on the hole near the RR tracks made it a little interesting. A few places here and there were bad but most of the course was okay.
Other Thoughts: Would like to play here again in the summer on a nicer day and in better conditionsto so I can give this place a higher rating. Hopefully the cons will be fixed by then if they haven't been already.

Don't forget to print a course map and check it out sometime.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tittabawassee Park

5+    8/25/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: Hyramdubya
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses in the Midland/Saginaw area. Most of it is through the woods, but it is open enough to see the pin and at least have a good chance of getting a 3 or with a good drive a 2. There is some elevation change and hole 3 is an epic hole where you have to throw over a pond. On that hole they do have a tee box off to the side if you don't want to chance losing you disc to the pond. The paths between holes are nice and wood chipped and the course is maintained. The tee boxes are cement and they do have a practice basket at the beginning of the course.
Cons: The course can be hard to navigate; I posted a map here on the links of their course web page. They do have a mail box at the beginning of the course where they sometime have maps. They don't have hole distances marked anywhere.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion this course is easily a 4 disc review, but I will give it 4.5 discs, because, Hole 3, the throw over the pond, is a Hole I will never forget and it is always a challenge. I would add this course to my wish list and try to come play it if you haven't. If you come to this course you should play the Chippewa Banks in Midland too, that is a great course also and it is very close.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Accuracy is key

1    7/13/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: CMUviolin
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes with close straight shots, very tightly wooded, some water. One thing that this course has that many wooded courses don't is hills. There is more then just threading it through trees, you also have to throw over hills as well.
Cons: Some holes are so wooded that threading the disc through is many times a matter of luck.
Other Thoughts: Fun course and makes for a challenging game. Not for a beginner.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  First Timer

2-4    8/11/2008   8/12/2008
Review By: misteranderson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course to learn on. Everyone you meet or run into there always helpful and easy going. Beautiful park.
Cons: WOODS!! LOL actually not to many lot of tall grass on holes 5-8 but thats bout it.
Other Thoughts: This is currently the only course in Saginaw which is a shame. However just read in the Saginaw News that Thomas Township is thinking of adding a course to the expanding Roberts Park so I guess call the Recreation People In Thomas Township and Push for it!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hoodland Trails

5+    11/10/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2011
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
--This isn't like any other course you've ever played I can garuntee you that! Tittabawassee Trails is in a clean park with good maintenance. Every hole has nice concrete tee pads. The hole variety here is moslty wooded but has a few open holes aswell, also the woods arn't too overwellming. The land is utilized well for variety, you'll need all types of shots (I use a bigger selection of discs here than most courses).
Cons:
Course Navigation--
No Signs, but if you print out the map you will be 100% fine, if you dont print a map it will be impossible to navigate if youve never played.

--Only thing holding this course back from a 4.0/4.5 rating is good signage.
Other Thoughts:
Hazards--
Train tracks // Big bomb over pond on hole #3 // Small creek on hole #5 // small marsh (usually dried up) on left side of Hole #11.

--This is the closest course from Bay City.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.