Disc Golf Store
Hilliard, OH 
Roger Reynolds Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #7 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 210ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
In and Out

1    4/9/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 102  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First time at this course, with multiple throws per hole and having to search and estimate tee areas, took me 45 minutes. There is SERIOUS potential to be creative here and make some pretty amazing long tees. The course is in one small part of the park and while the park itself is huge and offers something for everyone, this section of the park was mostly dedicated to disc golf (see note below about picnic tables, however). Due to the size, the walk between holes is extremely short. Ample parking. Didn't see any other golfers so no wait.
Cons: Lack of signage is a huge problem here. For most holes I just looked for the portion of grass that was most worn-down and assumed that was the tee pad. Some parks won't allow signs or pads, which can both be expensive anyway, but some cheap flags would be nice. Just something to designate a tee area. Also, there is room on just about every hole to put in long tee areas. It was a little muddy yesterday and we haven't had a lot of rain, so I would imagine that it can get nasty after a storm.
Other Thoughts: Considering the allotted land, and that this is a park for beginners, the design is pretty good. At this point you must print out a map to know approximately where to tee off. As I mentioned, you could be creative and add some serious length and hazards. Just take this course for what it is, a mid-range practice course, and go out and take some ace runs! I could sum the whole experience up with this: I will return when I'm in the area, but only to make up my own long tees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    2/22/2014   2/26/2014
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was exactly the kind of course I was looking for because I had time restraints on my visit to the area. The holes are on the shorter side, which is nice for beginners or someone looking for a quick round. The course is mostly open with some sporadic trees. A pond comes into play on the last 2 holes, (it was frozen over during my visit.)

Other Pros:
- DISCatchers
- other amenities for the non-dg family
- numbers baskets and tee pavers
- fun course with ace runs
Cons: Although navigation should be easy, the tees are natural and the concrete pavers are flush with the ground so finding them can be tough. It's a beginner level course but, the water hazard could frustrate those newcomers. There were also picnic tables in some fairways which could be a safety issue or make a hole unplayable if they are occupied.

Other Cons:
- too simple for experienced players
- walking path near play
- bring map for the 1st time to find tee areas
Other Thoughts: When entering the park there were no signs toward the disc golf area. We noticed the pond from the fork in the road so we drove towards it and we found the baskets. There's nothing really special for me to say about the course except that it was the perfect course for us to play with the limited time we had in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

You can play disc golf here, too!

2-4    10/27/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 166  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The beautiful (Hilliard) Municipal Park has such an amazing array of family activities, that they haven't even listed the disc golf course on the directional signs. There are walking paths, fishing ponds, ball fields, a skate park, an amazing looking water park, and a raised mound 'amphitheater', around which they've installed nine new DISCatcher baskets. You can park in the lot next to the water park, or drive around to the skate park side and start with hole six. There is a blind shot on six and water to avoid on holes 8 & 9. The distances are not too great (mostly under 200', with one close to 300'), so you can work on your short game, or bring newer players out, without risk of losing a disc (unless you flip it into the pond on 8).

I always appreciate courses growing up wherever they may be, because we need a range of difficulty levels. This course is not intended for the competition level player, but for families using the park. Once you find the ground level tee markers (natural tees), the course can be a quick play through for anyone.
Cons: Although it keeps mowing easy, the lack of posts and tee signs above ground level mean the first time player may never find some of the intended tee spots (I didn't find 5, 8 or 9, but looked at reviews here to infer locations and post a map). There are some mild safety issues in the design: hole 2's natural flight path hyzers around the trees and directly over a picnic table (though I suppose that is moveable). Hole 3 plays its full length along the gravel walk/jog path. Hole 6 is blind over the raised part of that path. Hole 8 plays along the left side of the pond, and they've moved a half dozen picnic tables into the clearing between the 8th & 9th baskets. Hole 9 goes over the pond itself, and finishes just short of the main path. Folks like to fish in this pond, so you need to be careful and respectful of other park patrons (if it's not safe, skip the hole!)

The course does not force too many precision shots, and there aren't any really long shots. I would think trying to play 'safari' golf here would only increase the danger for the families using the park. So if you're above casual to Rec level, this park won't interest you much beyond short game practice.
Other Thoughts: I did come visit the first time using my car's Navigation system, which never found "Roger Reynolds", even though it's on the park sign. Look for Hilliard Municipal, if need be. Then I drove all the way around the back of the park until I spotted all the baskets back to the middle, and parked by the skate park. It looked like there was some really beautiful scenery around the outside, wooded areas of the park if they ever want a redesign, and shift the baskets to more interesting (and safer) territory.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Muddy & Wet

1    4/5/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: buckeyebrickner
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout
Scenic
Well laid out within some trees
Cons: No tee pads --> muddy, dirty, no grass
No par/distance posts
Tee number squares hard to find first time
In a very short and easy course, hole 8 is a teasing monster that comes from no where to steal your disc... not that I'm sour at all
Other Thoughts: Stay way left on hole 8! Beware of the pond! Be very afraid!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short Practice Course

1    9/24/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: NCapo18
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good for beginners and practice.
- Good practice with your mid-range
Cons: -Only 9 holes
-Short
-Easy
Other Thoughts: Nice park though. A nice pond to fish right next to the course which is in play the last two holes. Be careful on hole 8 or else you will go fishing for your disc.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Family friendly 9 holes

1    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: All Day
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Numbered tees and baskets.
Well maintained fairways.
Trees scattered throughout to add some challenge.
Good baskets.
Cons: Quite short, but you knew that already.
No listed hole distances, but everything seems to be the high 100' to low 200' range.
No teepads, but grass is fine for this.
Other Thoughts: Great little 9 holer that's fun for the whole family but still a bit of a challenge for amateurs for an all putter round. Several holes have carefully placed trees that I somehow managed to dodge with my Wizard and Magic. Don't even bother taking anything but your putters, but I think that's what makes a course like this fun to play. Work on short game, and I was able to finish 9 holes in 20 minutes flat. Hole #9 goes directly over the edge of a small pond, which was a nice touch.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center