Lawrence, IN 
Horizon Indy DGC Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #18 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun & Pretty

1    5/7/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 286  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 18 nice, newer Chainstar baskets scattered about the Horizon Camp grounds, with a cadre of players who generally follow the pattern of the map posted here on DGCR (hat tip to ajbova!) to make a fun, challenging course for the Recreational to Intermediate player. Though there are no tee signs or set tee locations, this review pertains to the use of this map.

With rolling terrain, light to moderate foliage to define lines, and some really pretty infrastructure (including a pond and a little covered bridge walkway), the campus and the course are a great way to spend an hour or two. Holes range from about 170 to about 370 feet in length, include shaped lines in both directions, allow for longer arms to air out a couple, and for technical experts to play into some tight greens. For instance, hole 4 plays along the side of a large sports field, but is followed by two holes that actually play into some moderately treed woods lanes, where you do NOT want to go left into a rather deep ravine. Hole 10 features a basket position only a few feet from a 45 degree slope down to the pond on your left. There are even a couple of places where paved paths and driveways could be declared OB to force more conservative play. Even the short, downhill hole 17 could declare 'over the path' as an island green mando off the tee.

[edit after chatting with Brett Goodrich 5/29/16} Although the course has been technically listed as 'private', they don't mind at all (and actually would be thrilled to have you) if you play there on off days (reportedly after 6pm and on weekends, but please don't play if they have other activities underway). I saw four groups on the course on the weekend day I visited.
Cons: The lack of tees and signage mean you can't really compare scores or hold events (unless the TD is willing to mark with flags), but it does reduce erosion issues on the tees that must throw from the grass. Hole 1 (from the parking lot corner) is assumed to be a mando left to right around the basketball court fence, but throws over (around) a volleyball net. If not a mando, there might be folks who will try to spike hyzer over the basketball pavement (unwise). Transitions are a little awkward on hole 9, where you basically 'shelter' your tee shot from hole 8 by stepping beside the cabin to throw, and you still have a strong chance of hitting the windows of the building across the way. Then you have to walk around that building to throw hole 10. Hole 16 has you throwing over (around) a small parking area.
Other Thoughts: I paced all the holes as marked on the (DGCR) map, and gave rough approximations of distances, but that kind of accuracy is very limited. My rating had to be held down because of the lack of defined tees. This would definitely be a 3.5 or better if they modified one or two places for safety and flow, and installed permanent tees and signage.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 264 courses and written 248 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, I started playing at 50 and am now 55. I don't throw far (300 footers feel like success), but am addicted to DG, and have played with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Change of Pace

2-4    4/7/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 102  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.7 Years
Pros: - Baskets - 18 Chainstar baskets that are very grippy. They are in great condition.

- Can create your own shot depending on your ability: Basket to basket, tree to basket, etc. See cons. (There are no established throw pads)

- Variety - Uphill, downhill, valley, wooded holes, open holes, a creek, and a pond come into play.

- Water Hazards - Holes 10 and 18 deal with a pond. A bad throw can end up there. There is a creek running along holes 5, 6, and 12. The creek is a few inches deep but you have to climb down a small drop off.

- When camp/church grounds are empty, disc golf course sees little traffic. If not, see Cons.

- A few benches to sit on to rest.

USE THE COURSE MAP!!!
Cons: - No set throw pads - Not only are there no concrete pads, but there are no set throw pads in the grass. Dirt is only wore away on 2 of the throw areas according to the map. You can create your own course which can be a pro or con.

- No signs - No sign for disc golf course in general, no signs for individual holes. Without the map you will be wandering around for awhile and doing backtracking.

- Poorly Marked - In addition to lack of signage, not all of the baskets have numbers on them (some have worn off).

- No trash cans -

- Not much shade - Exceptions: Holes 3, 5, 6, 12, 14, 15.

- Course can be unplayable due to camp activities; 2 soccer fields, baseball field, relays, races, etc. I have came here once and was told that the course was closed for the day.

USE THE COURSE MAP!!!
Other Thoughts: This course is on the way to my friend's house so he showed me the layout for the course. I made a course map which will provide you with a nice flow and a mildly challenging layout to the course. If you do not use the map you will not enjoy this course. I have had positive feedback from disc golfers who have used the map on this course so I would suggest it. I took pictures of the course based on the map for reference.

The course has a great amount of variety and a few water hazards which makes this course unique.

A camp worker told me the course was playable weekdays after 6 as well as weekends (unless camp activities are taking place).

If this course had signs, established dirt or even concrete tees, I believe this course would be a 3.5 out of 5. If the course had all of the above and alternate tees, it would maybe be a 4 out of 5.

 Not a destination

5+    8/30/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: Grungedude42
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -As previously stated, the baskets are in great shape, and there are a full 18.
-Easy to play on Friday nights, parking is close to the first and last holes, very little traffic most of the time.
-Some interesting shots. Big sweeping hyzers, some tricky tunnel shots, and a nice blind drive.
Cons: -Obviously the land is not primarily used for disc golf. Some parking areas and buildings are far too close to the baskets for safety's sake.
-No distinguishable tee areas, signage or guides. You're on your own out there.
-When there are activities there, the course is totally unplayable. There's nights I head out there to get a quick round in, and wind up headed to Cumberland after I find that there's a mini camp happening.
Other Thoughts: Despite the undeveloped nature of the course, there is a charm to the property. It is very quiet, the people are friendly, and with some creativity you can improvise some very tricky holes. I usually play basket to basket, and use the time to work on some new shots. For a real variety, I've played it basket to basket from 1 to 18, turned around and played backwards back to 1.
All in all, a fun place to work on shots and maybe bring a friend, but utterly unplayable for a doubles night, and forget about a tourney.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A "build-your-own" course

5+    6/5/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: lukerichter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Before I go into the specifics of the course layout and such, a disclaimer should be stated: there is no (obvious) official layout to this course. There are no tee pads, just baskets lying around the property. Having said that, let me go over the pros of the layout (or layouts) I usually play.
-The baskets are top notch, near perfect condition Chainstars. Every one of them is in great working condition, probably because of the little use this unappreciated gem gets.
-The terrain of Camp Indy is surprisingly well-varied and interesting! Depending how you play this course (be creative!) there are rarely boring, straight shots. The course is hilly, sometimes wooded, and there is a pond that comes into play on one or two holes.
-The campus, being a school/summer camp/Bible college, is very well maintained and clean. I never even saw a piece of trash and surely not a cigarette butt to be found. Camp Indy is in a good part of town and in reasonable driving distance from Indianapolis.
-Because there is no official layout, this gives an opportunity for creativity on the part of the golfer. This may be seen as a huge con to many players, but give it a try. Maybe walking the course through and scouting it out is a good idea before jumping right in. I found that all the baskets are easily spotted and not far from each other.
Cons: -Even though I listed the lack of a layout in the pro category, it is definitely a con in many respects. For one, no one may ever actually play the course as it was intended to be played. Maybe there was no original intention. Again, the lack of official layout could be a huge turn off to many.
-There are often other activities going on on campus, especially during the spring and summer months (Summer camp, cross country practice, football practice, etc.). If you were to start after 6 pm you should be fine. Just be careful not to start before 6 on school days, I have been kicked off the course before by a self-entitled looking twenty-something riding full speed at me in a golf cart like I was lighting the basketball hoops on fire. Ah, Bible camps.
Other Thoughts: It has been a while since I played here for the first time, and when I did I played with a friend who knew the course well. If at all possible, play with someone who has familiarity with the basket locations. It should make the whole experience much more enjoyable. Since there is not an official layout, I feel like whatever I rate this course will be different from your experience. I rated Camp Indy with three stars because that is the amount of enjoyment I have when I play here relative to the other courses around me. Come to Camp Indy with an open mind, and take the course for what it is. Maybe you will like building your own course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.