Coleman, WI 
Coleman Tower Park DGC Share

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A nice try....

1    5/10/2016   5/22/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 265  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: 9(ish) hole course on the main road in Coleman, WI. You can't miss it...just head to the water tower.

Concrete tee pads of varying sizes. One tee per hole, and a few of the holes share a tee.

Some interesting shots here, with lots of mature hardwood trees as obstacles. You'll use a few different shots, which is surprising for such a small plot of land.

There is a decent variation in distances here, from sub-200's to around 350' on the longest hole. The shared tee pads and baskets helped in this regard.
Cons: The baskets here are homemade and crappy. Single chain, huge center pole, and catch like crap. I had a skip shot go into the chains,and knew I had no chance at the ace. They LOOK cool, being yellow and having a Coleman-esque logo on top, but that's about it. You're basically looking to drop your putts into the cage, not the chains.

If you're not the only group here, you could be in trouble. With shared baskets/tees, it just isn't conducive to multiple groups.

The course plays directly next to private backyards, and they're not tough to throw into. A couple of the baskets are almost right next to backyards. Not great design.
Other Thoughts: If this place had better baskets, it would have some replay factor. As it stands, I just can't imagine anybody but the locals playing here, ever.

Save your time and go someplace else unless you must bag everything.

They made something out of nothing

1    9/21/2015   9/22/2015
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 232  Reviewed: 163  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are homemade and don't catch the greatest, but they did a good job keeping the dimensions similar to standard issue baskets. There are 9 holes here, however only 7 tees and 7 baskets I believe. This is perfectly fine with the amount of space available. I'd much rather have this than a bland 5 or 6 hole course. The course is flat but there are a few trees to contend with on every hole at least. The tees are all concrete. The signs are descriptive enough. They have distances, hole #/#'s and basic hole diagrams on each. The course is permanent, wouldn't ever seem to be busy and is free to play. The park was clean and well maintained. There are restrooms onsite as well, they must only be open in summer months though. There is a very well done course map by hole 1 which helps you figure out the, otherwise confusing for first timers, layout. Nicely done here.
Cons: The baskets, though they look good, just don't catch great. This is usually the case with homemade baskets, and I will say that these are some of the better ones I've played on, though it's still a con to most. The course plays VERY close to a few backyards, especially on hole 2. The parking is basically non existent, though I doubt it's ever too busy if ever. the tee pads are all different sizes and are on the small side. It's still better than nothing.
Other Thoughts: definitely not worth any kind of trip out of your way, but if you're in the area you can play a couple rounds in under an hour easy. Nicely done for the space available. I had fun and if I wasn't running late would've played again for sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Coleman Disc Golf

2-4    8/21/2015   8/21/2015
Review By: Schneider310
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: All short Par 3's except for 2 holes. A real ace chaser.

Easy to find and great signs indicating basket locations and tee boxes.
Cons: 2 holes use the same basket and or tee pad.
Not much parking.
Other Thoughts: All in all it was a fun time. Great course to work on you putt/approach and mid range disc's. An absolute must if you like playing with younger kids.

On the down more experienced players will probably find it boring, but like I said a great course to work on your short game.

I will go out of my way to play here with my kids again but probably not alone.

Disc Golf Comes to Coleman

1    8/11/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: Shuie
Played: 751  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -the signs are very nice.
- most holes do require some shot shaping.
- the course would be a nice introduction course as most holes are under 250'
-Holes 8 is 384'(longest holes)
-Course flowed well
-at least they have baskets
course was empty (i was there one friday evening)
Cons: - tee pads are short most were 4-5 feet long and 3 feet wide
- course uses several tees twice to make it a full nine.
- most holes were mostly putters and midranges
Other Thoughts: The park is small, baskets are sub-par and the design is meh but, the disc golf is descent and I will come back from time to time. The course is worth the stop if your traveling up highway 141, other than that don't really waste your time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New Course in Coleman

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: simm
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signage, baskets are well built for homemade, fun course for beginners, course is the only one within 20 miles or so.
Cons: Concrete tees are often too short to be effective, baskets only have 8 outer chains-not the best for catching discs, many shorter holes, I outdrove quite a few.
Other Thoughts: A nice new addition to the northwoods. Definitely not a course for serious discers, but a great intro for the community. I was disappointed with the tees, which are old pieces of concrete from a construction project in town in 2011. Many are too short or oddly shaped to really be effective. The baskets were built by the high school metals students, and although they look fantastic, they could really use a few more chains to catch better. For a course in a village this size, it is a nice start.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center