Minneapolis (Bloomington), MN 
Moir Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #1 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cones and a Quick Play

2-4    8/21/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a park that features big oak trees and small rolling hills.
I think this is one of the older courses in the area, on this site it says the course was designed in 1979, which is kind of cool in my opinion.
Each of the tee shots have fair lines to the basket. Each hole can be reached easily with one shot with a mid range. This is one of those courses that you can birdie every hole, but to do all nine in one round would be quite impressive. The course can be played multiple times in a little bit of time. It is great for new players
I am a fan of Minnesota courses having wood chips around the basket. This prevents erosion and also prevents skip aways, if your disc comes in too fast.
Cons: Each time I played at the course, the park had a big event going on that could potentially put some of the holes temporarily out of play.

The tee pads could use some wood chips, as the gravel is worn out and the tee areas are very small. Big run ups are not needed but they are really only two feet long and some back up into the parking lot.

I know the targets are very polarizing, but to me the targets are cool, and it was actual the reason I took the time to play the course, but unless you are 10' away, your odds of making the putt are slim. For the people that do manage to get an ace, the cones have big areas to welcome vandals to write their ace on the cones. It makes the course look not great.
Other Thoughts: I do my ratings based on fun, and I really did not have as much fun as I thought I would have. It was a fun course to play once. I found myself there again to warm up for one of my World's rounds, but the course had lost it's luster. Still, it is fun to play once to play on something different.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I'd go somewhere else for 9 holes

1    9/30/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -There are concrete tee pads
-It's fairly hard to get lost here
-There are at least chunks of wood at each tee that have the hole number and direction of the hole on them
-It's a disc golf course...
Cons: -Tee signs don't have distances on them
-Tee pads are incredibly short and for some dumb reason have barriers at the end which would be very easy to trip over
-Baskets are interesting to say the least (you basically have to drop it into the tray otherwise your disc will bounce out off of the solid metal "chains", more on this later)
-Only hole is above 250', everything else is silly short (in fact, one hole is 119')
Other Thoughts: I don't mind the local park pitch & putts or rec courses or whatever you would typically call them; however this one just doesn't get it done for me. There are two reasons for this: one of which is the baskets. These baskets are just weird, I'm not sure how else to put it. I'd like to say they have personality because they're different, but they're just a bad design. The baskets don't have chains, but rather it is a cone-shaped slab of metal in place of the chains. The trays are slightly larger but that does not nearly make up for the lack of chains to help catch discs. You literally have to drop your putt directly into the tray or it will probably bounce out. This course would be an absolute haven for aces, but you'd need to have a perfect shot to drop it in. Second, is the length of the course. Usually there is at least one hole on a course like this that requires a little bit of length or accuracy; but this course requires neither. I have now played 16 different courses and this is honestly the only one that I would not consider returning to again. If this course had normal baskets it would have some redeeming qualities as a course for an ace run. But as is, don't bother.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Just bring a putter

2-4    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very short course in the groomed woods of a multi use park. It seemed to me to be targetted towards children. There are no drives that require anything other than a putter and each cone is visible from the tee.

The course has concrete teepads, very old style. Short with 4-5 inch curbs on 2 sides. A hole number and arrow pointing towards the cone is painted on the curb of the teebox. Hole 1 starts near the parking area and hole 9 finishes on the other side of the picnic area. Not really near the lot.

The park is well groomed and there are portable outhouses near the parking area. There are also water fountains.
Cons: It is just too short for anyone other than a very bad beginner or child. Having cones really isn't a con to me, there are other courses that have cones that I enjoy. This one being so short and having cones ruins any value it may for me. I am sure that the intended audience would enjoy it more than I did.

Other Thoughts: It was medium busy and there were random people walking all over. This is just going to be a fact of life for courses like this. Not really a pro or con.

I called it passable (1.5) and that is more for condition than play value. It exists in a good playable state and there is a real audience for something like this. If you have an 8 year old and want to introduce them to the game this would be a good course for it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and putt

5+    6/26/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: slimshadyemb
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is in good shape. It is a popular park, therefore the area is well groomed. It is not terribly busy. This course is perfect for beginners or those who only have a short time to play
Cons: THE BASKETS. They are rotten. The target is small, they will spit your disc out. Some are held together with duct tape. Park benches have some profanity scribbled all over, so be careful what your kids see
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course for beginners. Every hole is aceable. Come here if you are just looking for a warmup. Only bring a midrange, you won't need anything longer. Very wide open. There are no signs, but the course is short enough that tees are easy to find.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Soooo Bad

5+    4/12/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for working on your short game. Also good if you need to get a quick round in. Its hardly ever busy, so you can usually get away with throwing a couple discs.
Cons: Crappy tees, baskets(really crappy), and signs. Very little creativity and a bad layout.
Other Thoughts: I will continue to play this course for reasons unknown.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.