Minneapolis (Bloomington), MN 
Moir Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #5 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 158ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nostalgic fun!

1    3/28/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 88  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent beginner course, with nearly every hole less than 200'. The course is set in a relatively scenic little park on the end of a quiet street (at least when I was there). Lots of mature trees, and just a touch of elevation.

The course is set with cone baskets, which while most people would see as a con, I saw as a bonus. The holes are short enough that they add a little extra difficulty, just in a different way. Don't let them scare you off!!
Cons: The tee pads are basically junk. Small, boarded in asphalt calamities on most holes. You're probably better off playing off the sides of most of them.
Other Thoughts: I can definitely see why some people wouldn't like the idea of cone baskets, but as a quick, casual course, this place can't really be beat. You can literally knock out 9 in about 20 minutes, and you get the joy of playing something most people will never see.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cones suck

2-4    3/29/2014   3/29/2014
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: it has 9 holes with asphalt tees.
Cons: Cone baskets. Walking path through the course.
Other Thoughts: It sucks. Really it does. Cones are nice and historic and by the way they suck major ass. Course is very short and has no real difficulty.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Of The Turnip Targets!

1    7/24/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm not sure about the history lesson I'm learning here in the Twin Cities area. I'm reading that this is the oldest course in the state and that these "cone shaped targets" are "historic" and what the game started with. While I believe this course could very well be the oldest in the state, I don't think these cone baskets or UFO or little green martians or turnips or mushrooms or whatever the heck you wish to call them were ever common in disc golf. They were not the predecessors to the beloved baskets we all know and love to throw too. Disc golf had it's roots in Southern California back in the mid to late 70's and those early courses had baskets, not upside down, green coney things. But getting back to old Moir Park, this is mostly an enjoyable little 9 hole course with all these ACE runs. I thought it was cute and quaint that the # 1 sign says "Start" and the # 9 tee sign says "Finish." I've not seen that on a course ever before.
But I like these quick little 15 minute round courses. Attempting to rack up ACES on these targets would be interesting?????
Cons: I played early in the AM so missed the crowds rushing in to play this historic course. One problem with the cone targets is they provide a perfect platform for one to record his/her ACE on. So congratulations to "Joe" and all the others who recorded a 156' ACE and then so proudly wrote his/her names for all to gap at in awe for all eternity. But then again, maybe getting any ACE to stick on these targets actually is an event bordering on the miraculous and should be recorded for the ages!

OK, the course is short. It's your basic Pitch & Putt. Maybe the crowds can be insane. Be careful after dark, I guess.
Other Thoughts: As usual, I'm tending to agree with Mr. Harr and state that I like this course. If I lived close and it had baskets (not little green, upside down cone things) I'd play it all the time and enjoy racking up my meager career ACE total. As it currently plays, unless I lived across the street, I'd probably pass and spend my disc golfing time playing any one of the Twin Cities other mulitude of fine courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Suprisingly fun!

1    5/29/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, short course, a good place to bring a beginner to so they can learn the game. Lots of chances to bag an ace! In a nice community park. Very easy to navigate, once you find the first hole, you're good to go. Fun old-school baskets that make it really easy to drop puts into. No trash lying around, and a fun atmosphere
Cons: As it is in the middle of a big city park, families doing other things come into play on several holes. Almost too easy. I thought i played very poorly and still shot under par for the course. You can leave your driver at home even if you have a weak arm, a Roc or Buzz will be the only thing you need. Teepads are strange, they have a log barrier in front of them, so you should be careful unless you want a nasty stubbed toe
Other Thoughts: Although some people dislike this course because of how easy it is, it's a great course to bring someone to so they can learn the game, and if you just feel like kicking back,relaxing and playing a nice easy round with little to no challenge, this is a great course for you

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/17/2010   1/27/2011
Review By: lapants
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: well maintained fairways
easy navigation
fun to play
Cons: teepads are worn down
baskets are not so great (no give, discs bounce out)
most of the holes are short and straight
most holes don't require a driver
Other Thoughts: its a good course to play if your in the area or driving past on the way to a course and you want to get some extra holes in. overall a decent course, but i wouldn't go out of the way play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nostalgic Fun

1    9/11/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: yearofrolling
Played: 55  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, nostalgic baskets
Trees used as obstacles to some effect
Decent use of space to get 9 holes in such a small park
You won't get lost or have a hard time finding your shot, the basket or next tee
Cons: Most will find this course to be rather short by modern standards
Graffiti city!
Tee boxes need a little TLC
Other Thoughts: We decided to stop and play Moir on our roadtrip because my Sister-in-law's Mom played here in the '80s and we thought it would be kind of fun to play some of the same courses she would've played, courses that pioneered the sport.
We had a lot of fun so mission accomplished.

Everyone in our group had some concerns about getting out of the park before night fall.
The demographic of the people utilizing the park shifted abruptly as darkness encroached; the families picnicking and playing all left and the "punks" (for lack of a better term) started rolling in.
Between the kids talking drugs on the hole 3 tee box, the graffiti, the mosquitoes and the shady patrons filling the park, we decided against playing another round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Walk in the park

5+    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 41.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You have to think of it this way, this is the oldest course in the state, the cone targets are what got the sport started. When you play Moir, you are playing a historic landmark. Use a lid like I did in the early 80's and you'll have more fun.
Cons: Park can be crowded with other oark users, be respectful.
Other Thoughts: I learned of the game at Moir, it earned a 2 rating only because I have fond memories. If you can't appreciate the history of our sport, skip this course. Or play it and be proud that you played the first course that MN ever had.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Old Skool

1    8/9/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Logical flow of holes
-Ace runs o' plenty!
Cons: -picnic-ers often in the way
Other Thoughts: It is what it is.

It's one of the original basket courses from the late 70's. Hole distances are appropriate for the technology that was available then. My advice is to celebrate the history by digging out your old Wham-o 169 gram catch plastic and play it old-style.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Crowded, and out of the way

7/13/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: basmith42
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short with very straight forward baskets. Many baskets are protected by large trees. Still, there are many in the 120-180' range that will allow average players to feel like a pro.
Cons: It was very crowded when I played it. The other throwers on the course were very helpful and fun. The other people using the park didn't give a flying care... avoid it on weekends and evening.
Other Thoughts: The "flying saucer" baskets are worth playing at least once. They make a rewarding boing sound when you hole out.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.