Minneapolis (Bloomington), MN
Moir Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #7 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 178ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
very easy

1    6/20/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Dr.feelgood
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good for beginners women or children.
-very quick to play, only about 15 minutes.
-numbered teepads make navigation easy.
-historic
-clean.
-lots of garbage cans and benches.
-good for short range practice
Cons: -very easy
-short
-"baskets" make putts really difficult unless your right under them
-does not require anything faster then a midrange
Other Thoughts: A nice quick easy course. Not a very good variety of shots. Good for if you want to practice your short range game, except for putting. the "baskets" make putting a real challenge.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Never seen those before!

2-4    6/15/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This place is clearly old, and not in a bad way. It has history within the state of Minnesota disc golf-wise.
-It has many ace and birdie runs.
-I actually like the targets, not so much on a practical note but on a historical and unique note.
-Many holes have a bit of elevation in there that makes the holes more fun.
-Good for practicing approaches and putting.
-Woodchip paths and green areas on many hole.
-Big trees for obstacles
-Very good for beginners, children, girlfriends, grandparents, etc
-Very clean and safe feeling, not something you always find in the Twin Cities
-Adequate parking, bathrooms, playground if the kids don't want to disc
Cons: -Very short
-One of the more popular courses in the Metro area
-Some may think of the cones as a con
-Could be very busy
-May have to watch out for non-disc golfers.
-The big trees don't present a great challenge.
-The tees are pretty small but you don't need much of a run up on any holes.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be very fun. It is short and has ace runs which I like. It is definitely a course that was made back when players used one large diameter disc for everything. If you are looking for a long 18+ with technical holes then go to Bryant, Hyland, Kaposia, or BRP. If you want a very quick, fun round or have some beginners with you then come here. It is something to experience once due to its historical factor no matter who you are.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Green Saucers??? Cone shaped UFO's all over this course

1    6/17/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) I found a pile of 186 pennies in the parking lot . . . I say pay to play is great (as long as I get paid!) . . . a disc golfing friend of mine is all about finding money int he parking lots and on the courses he plays and I just threw this one in his face . . . it doesn't match the two $5 bills I found one spring coming out of the snowbanks, but it was fun nonetheless. I now make it my mission to find more money than Mr. Ellery, because even if he beats me at disc golf that day I can still say I found more money!

2) Big asphalt pads on this course . . . better than bare soil or grass! It's amazing a runup is barely needed on this course, but they have huge tees.

3) Plenty of picnic space, grills, a pavilion, a playground and an old fun duece or die disc golf course.

4) A pretty decent array of shots needed.

5) A 9 hole course with an average of under 200' . . . who can go wrong with that . . . it will be fun at the very least!!!!! Acerun anyone . . . woot!

6) Bathrooms are available along the 4th and 9th hole area. Nice and clean and they didn't smell . . . and they are better than the port-o-potty option . . . There you go timg my portopotty reference for this review.

7) Nice use of the rolling undulation of the park. Elevation is always critical on courses to make the shots change slightly . . . in fact I think elevation is probably one of the easiest ways to impact the shot options on a hole. You need to adjust to elevation as much or more than a tree here or there. It changes the whole form!!!
Cons: 1) Erosion due to the compaction around all of the tees. This is an eyesore and can only attract the nehsayers about disc golf so something should be done about this on disc golf courses.

2) No signs for the holes or directionals to help you navigate the course although it is fairly intuitive.

3) Upside down cone shaped baskets are old and outdated and play so differently than al newere baskets with chains. These need to go . . . some people say they are nostalgic . . . and sure I would agree . . . but I want to play disc golf as it existed when I started the game. I want chains and I want a sweet spot bigger than about a dollar bill.

4) Timbers at the end of each tee . . . although a nice visual, could be somewhat dangerous.

5) I could imagine how busy this courses would be on any given weekend being right in a residential area . . . but I played it at about 6:00 AM mid week . . ., in fact I had a long discussion with a local older retired dog walking guy wondering why I was up so early playing disc golf and why I was able to be playing disc golf on a friday morning.

6) I think it is #5 throwing over the corner of a volleyball court . . . better design could have been used I guess.

7) Other activities in this park could lead to frustration I guess . . .although the course is somewhat removed from other activities I could imagine it is busy on many days and the disc golf falls to the wayside!

8) Worn out teepad areas . . .
Other Thoughts: This is an old course and it has old baskets but it still remains an adequate course in my opinion. I don't like the cone shaped baskets but that can't take away from the desgn and fun of the course. Sure they may be frustrating to have such a small sweet spot . . . but they still are a target and everyone throws to the same targets.

If this course had chained baskets I would play it everyday if it was in my area. Talk about aceruns and birdie attempts .. . who wouldn't love this???? But as it is it is only average in my opinion.

I do think I figured something out about these coneshaped UFO saucer baskets. Aim for the basket instead of the cone . . . Nose down is better than nose up too!!! File that info away!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: smarkquart
Played: 83  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a definite theme in mind when you play. You are here to work on approaches and long putts, but more importantly you are here to have fun. The rating of the course would be much lower if you come with any other mindset than just to play. There is also the added challenge of seeing how low of a score you can get because chances are on a good day you are still not going to birdie every hole.

Specifically:
* Well maintained, both being groomed and for the most part litter free.
* Despite being in a high traffic park, the course itself is well spaced out, staying clear of other activities.
* The land around the course is open enough where there are several tournaments creating temporary holes, making this course even more fun to play.
* Great opportunity to practice approaches, long range putting, and zeroing in on ace runs with your mids and putters.
* Well designed considering only two holes are longer than 250 feet. Despite the shortness on most holes, the course uses obstacles wisely, making each hole unique and still somewhat of a challenge (even if you do not break out a driver).
* You can play multiple rounds in a very short period of time.
Cons: The shortness is not a con as long as you are there to have fun. If you go there with a serious mind to play for a low average, to really test your skills, then you may be disappointed. However, the only real con of this course is that it can be packed. Rec players like this course because of its shorter distance, and because of the shorter holes Rec players really do not slow things down. The only reason you would be waiting is because the amount of groups playing.

Specifically:
* If you only want to play one or two rounds, it will be over quicker than you would like.
* Waiting on numerous groups, especially if there are a few who are obnoxious or do not know proper DG etiquette.
* Do not need a driver - ONLY a con if you feel cheated if you never use a driver.
* The course does have additional land that is used during tournaments; this course could be expanded.
* Heavily used park. Lock your car and watch your swearing.
Other Thoughts: The old-style cone baskets speak of how popular this sport is in Minnesota and for how long. The cones are servicable, acting closely to how chain baskets would work. However, I did nail a cone once for what should have been an ace and it simply bounced away. Actually surprising I have not had more ace opportunities as this is an ace friendly course.

When it was empty, I could play a round in less than 20 minutes. Playing with one disc, it can probably be accomplished in 15 minutes. Yet, even at full capacity it would take about 30 minutes to play a full round. The course flows smoothly from hole to hole and with the shorter holes and groomed areas off the fairway, there are few excuses for groups to slow down.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Conehead...it's French

5+    5/13/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: grimace
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Old school cone baskets!!! Helps get your putts straight and low. Putter course. Great way to improve your short game. 9 holes, can be played very quickly. Great for a quick round of 9 or 18...or 27...or...
Cons: Cones are loud. meh. baskets themselves are tricky to stay in. the course is very short. the park is a multiple use park and is packed with picnickers often. gets alot of traffic, usually jr high and high schoolers. the cones and baskets have taken a beating of the years. not just from discs but vandals.
Other Thoughts: Great course for improving your putt and approach.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/14/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is in the middle of a picnic area, so course is designed with that in mind. All short holes with practically no obstacles and very small elevation changes. Also saucer baskets provide a challenge.
Cons: When I've played this course, there's always been random people walking around or playing near where the course is. You have to be constantly worrying about whether one of those kids is going to run right in front of your disc at some point.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.