Minneapolis (Bloomington), MN 
Moir Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #2 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 146ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Suprisingly fun!

1    5/29/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: rdwyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, short course, a good place to bring a beginner to so they can learn the game. Lots of chances to bag an ace! In a nice community park. Very easy to navigate, once you find the first hole, you're good to go. Fun old-school baskets that make it really easy to drop puts into. No trash lying around, and a fun atmosphere
Cons: As it is in the middle of a big city park, families doing other things come into play on several holes. Almost too easy. I thought i played very poorly and still shot under par for the course. You can leave your driver at home even if you have a weak arm, a Roc or Buzz will be the only thing you need. Teepads are strange, they have a log barrier in front of them, so you should be careful unless you want a nasty stubbed toe
Other Thoughts: Although some people dislike this course because of how easy it is, it's a great course to bring someone to so they can learn the game, and if you just feel like kicking back,relaxing and playing a nice easy round with little to no challenge, this is a great course for you

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/17/2010   1/27/2011
Review By: lapants
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: well maintained fairways
easy navigation
fun to play
Cons: teepads are worn down
baskets are not so great (no give, discs bounce out)
most of the holes are short and straight
most holes don't require a driver
Other Thoughts: its a good course to play if your in the area or driving past on the way to a course and you want to get some extra holes in. overall a decent course, but i wouldn't go out of the way play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nostalgic Fun

1    9/11/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: yearofrolling
Played: 55  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, nostalgic baskets
Trees used as obstacles to some effect
Decent use of space to get 9 holes in such a small park
You won't get lost or have a hard time finding your shot, the basket or next tee
Cons: Most will find this course to be rather short by modern standards
Graffiti city!
Tee boxes need a little TLC
Other Thoughts: We decided to stop and play Moir on our roadtrip because my Sister-in-law's Mom played here in the '80s and we thought it would be kind of fun to play some of the same courses she would've played, courses that pioneered the sport.
We had a lot of fun so mission accomplished.

Everyone in our group had some concerns about getting out of the park before night fall.
The demographic of the people utilizing the park shifted abruptly as darkness encroached; the families picnicking and playing all left and the "punks" (for lack of a better term) started rolling in.
Between the kids talking drugs on the hole 3 tee box, the graffiti, the mosquitoes and the shady patrons filling the park, we decided against playing another round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: smarkquart
Played: 84  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a definite theme in mind when you play. You are here to work on approaches and long putts, but more importantly you are here to have fun. The rating of the course would be much lower if you come with any other mindset than just to play. There is also the added challenge of seeing how low of a score you can get because chances are on a good day you are still not going to birdie every hole.

Specifically:
* Well maintained, both being groomed and for the most part litter free.
* Despite being in a high traffic park, the course itself is well spaced out, staying clear of other activities.
* The land around the course is open enough where there are several tournaments creating temporary holes, making this course even more fun to play.
* Great opportunity to practice approaches, long range putting, and zeroing in on ace runs with your mids and putters.
* Well designed considering only two holes are longer than 250 feet. Despite the shortness on most holes, the course uses obstacles wisely, making each hole unique and still somewhat of a challenge (even if you do not break out a driver).
* You can play multiple rounds in a very short period of time.
Cons: The shortness is not a con as long as you are there to have fun. If you go there with a serious mind to play for a low average, to really test your skills, then you may be disappointed. However, the only real con of this course is that it can be packed. Rec players like this course because of its shorter distance, and because of the shorter holes Rec players really do not slow things down. The only reason you would be waiting is because the amount of groups playing.

Specifically:
* If you only want to play one or two rounds, it will be over quicker than you would like.
* Waiting on numerous groups, especially if there are a few who are obnoxious or do not know proper DG etiquette.
* Do not need a driver - ONLY a con if you feel cheated if you never use a driver.
* The course does have additional land that is used during tournaments; this course could be expanded.
* Heavily used park. Lock your car and watch your swearing.
Other Thoughts: The old-style cone baskets speak of how popular this sport is in Minnesota and for how long. The cones are servicable, acting closely to how chain baskets would work. However, I did nail a cone once for what should have been an ace and it simply bounced away. Actually surprising I have not had more ace opportunities as this is an ace friendly course.

When it was empty, I could play a round in less than 20 minutes. Playing with one disc, it can probably be accomplished in 15 minutes. Yet, even at full capacity it would take about 30 minutes to play a full round. The course flows smoothly from hole to hole and with the shorter holes and groomed areas off the fairway, there are few excuses for groups to slow down.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just bring a putter

2-4    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very short course in the groomed woods of a multi use park. It seemed to me to be targetted towards children. There are no drives that require anything other than a putter and each cone is visible from the tee.

The course has concrete teepads, very old style. Short with 4-5 inch curbs on 2 sides. A hole number and arrow pointing towards the cone is painted on the curb of the teebox. Hole 1 starts near the parking area and hole 9 finishes on the other side of the picnic area. Not really near the lot.

The park is well groomed and there are portable outhouses near the parking area. There are also water fountains.
Cons: It is just too short for anyone other than a very bad beginner or child. Having cones really isn't a con to me, there are other courses that have cones that I enjoy. This one being so short and having cones ruins any value it may for me. I am sure that the intended audience would enjoy it more than I did.

Other Thoughts: It was medium busy and there were random people walking all over. This is just going to be a fact of life for courses like this. Not really a pro or con.

I called it passable (1.5) and that is more for condition than play value. It exists in a good playable state and there is a real audience for something like this. If you have an 8 year old and want to introduce them to the game this would be a good course for it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great beginner course

5+    8/19/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: kjjohnson447
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short Holes, Wide and straight, not a ton of trees to worry about, and losing a disc is rather hard. Not terribly busy if you come at the right time.
Cons: Park people can get it the way, be prepared to yell fore, or duck if you hear it.
Other Thoughts: I like just because its the closest course to my house.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and putt

5+    6/26/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: slimshadyemb
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is in good shape. It is a popular park, therefore the area is well groomed. It is not terribly busy. This course is perfect for beginners or those who only have a short time to play
Cons: THE BASKETS. They are rotten. The target is small, they will spit your disc out. Some are held together with duct tape. Park benches have some profanity scribbled all over, so be careful what your kids see
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course for beginners. Every hole is aceable. Come here if you are just looking for a warmup. Only bring a midrange, you won't need anything longer. Very wide open. There are no signs, but the course is short enough that tees are easy to find.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Walk in the park

5+    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 41.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You have to think of it this way, this is the oldest course in the state, the cone targets are what got the sport started. When you play Moir, you are playing a historic landmark. Use a lid like I did in the early 80's and you'll have more fun.
Cons: Park can be crowded with other oark users, be respectful.
Other Thoughts: I learned of the game at Moir, it earned a 2 rating only because I have fond memories. If you can't appreciate the history of our sport, skip this course. Or play it and be proud that you played the first course that MN ever had.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Conehead...it's French

5+    5/13/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: grimace
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Old school cone baskets!!! Helps get your putts straight and low. Putter course. Great way to improve your short game. 9 holes, can be played very quickly. Great for a quick round of 9 or 18...or 27...or...
Cons: Cones are loud. meh. baskets themselves are tricky to stay in. the course is very short. the park is a multiple use park and is packed with picnickers often. gets alot of traffic, usually jr high and high schoolers. the cones and baskets have taken a beating of the years. not just from discs but vandals.
Other Thoughts: Great course for improving your putt and approach.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Old Skool

1    8/9/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Logical flow of holes
-Ace runs o' plenty!
Cons: -picnic-ers often in the way
Other Thoughts: It is what it is.

It's one of the original basket courses from the late 70's. Hole distances are appropriate for the technology that was available then. My advice is to celebrate the history by digging out your old Wham-o 169 gram catch plastic and play it old-style.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.