Coeur d'Alene, ID
Panhandle Kiwanis DGC @ Cherry Hill Share
Uploaded By: mactavius Hole #16 (Taken 6/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cherry Hill(side)

2-4    10/13/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: fuegoador
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1 Years
Pros: It's a hill so lots of elevation change and great for a hike. Some good wooded holes and some good field holes too. Just off the freeway so it's easy to get to while on a road-trip. Several holes with alt-pin locations.
Cons: Still some crossover on the fairways. Ankle-breakers galore in the areas that were cleared out for the redesign. Easy to lose discs in the long grass in the meadow and in the creekbed that's on the back nine. Dog owners sometimes go out into the meadow area to allow their dogs to run so there can be some crossover there as well. Not well marked so it can be easy to get lost on several holes.

fun yet hectic

1    4/18/2013   4/20/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice and easy location. First tee pad easy to find. Great parking and bathrooms. Great city to visit. Most tee pads were good and all baskets were good. I believe it would be hard to lose a disc.
Cons: Wow, no signs or a few hand written on cardboard with some directions. Totally spent 1 hour trying to find the pads with the baskets to go with them. Luckily I was able to ask a couple of other players and mostly that my wife was walking with me and she would scope out a basket AND then we would try to figure out what tee pad worked with the basket! Sad because it would be a really nice round of golf if there were signs. (What is with courses that do not have signs?)
Other Thoughts: I will play the course anytime I'm visiting Cd'l now that I have some idea of which way to go and which way to throw.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bummed out...

5+    7/11/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. A lot of brush and debris has been cleared.
Cons: Well, where do I start. Unfortunately the remodel in my opinion has had a negative impact on this course. There are really no thumb or tomahawk drives anymore. 90% of the tee pads are orientated only for RHBH drives due to overhanging tree branches, narrow fairways and trees in the middle of fairways. If you throw RHFH, you'll be significantly limited as well. The previous layout had a couple negative aspects but IMO did not warrant a complete redesign. A considerable number of holes were much better before. Unfortunately a couple of over zealous people have been a serious detriment to this course. Sad. BTW, there is SIGNIFICANTLY more up and down hiking now than there was before and an even BIGGER chance of losing your disc so keep a close eye on your throws.
Other Thoughts: On a personal note to mactavius (Geoff), disc golf course design is not meant to only accommodate your throwing style. Your signature hole 16 (a joke) only proves that further and I can't believe that you are comparing this redesign to ANY of the courses at Farragut. You still have a lot to learn.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good start on remodel

1    7/14/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Dadio
Played: 63  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 29.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like this park. While not huge they have managed to put in a fun course with a variety of shots. They have done a good job building tee pads and have taken some of the confusion out of the course with the new basket placements. The park has other amenities so kids have place to play if not throwing and could do bbq or picnic in conjunction with round.
Cons: Remodel is off to a good start but still has a ways to go. My biggest reservation is that some of the holes, while better, are still very close to each other, especially at the bottom of the hill. The potential for being hit by a bad shot is higher than I like if the course is busy. Tee pads that are done are nice but there are still a couple rough ones. Maps are well stocked and makes course playable but there are still no signs on many of the tees. Couple of tees were hard to find from previous hole(on top of hill, 13 or 14) so 'next tee' signs would be nice. There were laminated arrows on some holes pointing to next tee. Grass is longer on meadow, not as bad as some courses I've played but still easy to lose track of disc. Baskets are hard to spot, especially ones in shade. Making hole numbers on top higher contrast(black on orange or yellow background) would help. There is a lack of garbage cans on course. There is only one long hole and it is downhill. Pros will need to look elsewhere for a serious challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice local course and I am very glad to see the effort being put into the remodel but it is not a top tier course(yet?). It is well on the way to being one of the nicer area courses and I will happily update my review as the remodel continues as it is worth the 45 minute drive for me to play once or twice a month. Thanks for the work being put into the remodel, good to see a course being improved.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New Life

5+    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: mactavius
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like this course better than any at Farragut. The new layout maximizes the use of land. Each hole is challenging yet fair; all parts of the game are tested. The new tee pads are excellent (save Holes 3 and 17, which don't give enough room behind the actual pad for a safe run up). The pads are solid and constructed to last. Fairway overlapping has been minimized. The temporary signage is decent, and the new tee signs should be less destructible than the previous ones. Be prepared for elevation changes.
Cons: The grass needs to be cut. I'm working on that. I volunteered a lot of my time to get the new layout in place. Now that we've finished building it, I will continue to focus my energies to clearing branches and cutting grass (if and when I get access to a lawnmower). Until then, make sure you pay attention to where your disc lands, because even good shots can be swallowed in thick grass (Holes 6, 13 and 14 immediately come to mind). I've got plenty of time until the fall semester begins.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 starts near the dog park. After the hole, walk toward the playground to find Hole 2. Take a look at the pictures I took in the "Media" section. Please don't litter.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The New Cherry Hill

5+    6/21/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: General Scales
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where to start. Very nice park with more than just disc golf. Tennis courts, BMX track, playground and a dog park. CDA know how to treat their residents. ELEVATION!!! You will throw up hill, down hill, across gully's, up gully's. Woods all over the places. Challenging mix of sloped greens and open greens. Multiple pin placements for every basket. Multiple routes for all types of throws. Errant throws can be severely punished by roll away's that go for a long ways. Risk and reward on a lot of the holes. A giant top of the world type shot from hole 6 really let's you air out your drivers. Water fountains and restrooms on site.
Cons: ELEVATION! If you aren't in shape or don't like hiking, don't play it. You will walk up and down the steep hill multiple times. No dogs allowed in the park due to the recent installation of a dog park. Which isn't a deal breaker but puts some people off as they aren't able to bring their dogs with them. Roll away's and accidental hyzers can cause a lost disc in a heartbeat. WATCH YOUR DISCS! Lot's of mosquito's at this time of year so plan accordingly.
Other Thoughts: When this course was first put in a few years ago, it was extremely rough. There was thorns, dead tree's, dead wildlife abundant throughout. Last year, the CDA Parks Department went through and cleared out much of the dead tree's and fire hazards that choked the fairways. Before the remodel, I would only play Cherry when I was either playing League or somebody really really wanted to go there.

The NIDGC started the remodel in November or December of last year and had the course redone by June. The new layout now is not only more challenging but eliminates a lot of the dangers from crossing fairways and blind shots. I will now make the 30 minute drive out to Cherry willingly and have played it more this year then I have in the 2 years previous combined. Big props to the NIDGC for making this course so much better and soldiering through the crappy winter months to make it happen.

Last note, the NIDGC has weekly league competition every Wednesday throughout the year. 3 dollars to play for non members (1 for current members). Ace pot and CTP's at every league event. Bag Tag's as well if you spend the 25 dollars to become a member (which also nets you a disc). Scratch and handicap play means everyone has a chance to win. League plays the 1st and 3rd (and if there is a 5th Wednesday) at Corbin Park in Post Falls and the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays at Cherry. See you on the course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.