Gilbert, AZ 
Greenfield Lakes - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: tbtspark Hole #15 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 342ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice and different

2-4    12/31/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: Uncle Dougie
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Nice scenic front 18 added to an existing ball course. Green grass and well manicured palm trees make for a pleasant round of golf. This was a treat for me since I'm from Illinois in the area visiting friends in Arizona. Pay to play which I'm not opposed to as long as the course is warrants it. This one is deserving. $5 to play or $10 to play with a golf cart. I enjoy walking so I opted for the $5 option. Ponds throughout the golf course makes for a good challenge to save par. Slight elevation on some of the holes. There is a lost and found box and they post the names and numbers of lost discs on the website. Friendly and helpful staff. Pro shop on site. Not alot of discs but they do sell Innova and Discraft. They also sell unclaimed discs for 2-4 bucks.
Cons: I'm not sure how often the club house fishes the ponds for discs, but the most recent dates show as far back as November 13'. Some of the holes play across ball golfers fairways. Not alot of challenging holes as it is mostly wide open. A Lot of hyzer and straight shots. The ponds are the only real challenge on a handful of holes. Ball golfers have the right away which can turn a solo (hour) round turn into a 2 hour round if the course is busy. I've read that some ball golfers can be less than inviting. The staff tries to stagger tee times and group disc golfers together. The calling ahead for a tee-time requirement can be a turn off for alot of people. Good luck getting your disc back from the drink same day. You have to wait until they post it online in the lost and found tab of their website. I lost 3 discs to the pond in two days there. I live in Illinois.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this a solid course with beautiful scenery. They have a back 18 that unfortunately, I didn't get to play.

How far?

1    5/12/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: thinblend
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Golf cart. For $10, you get a golf cart to drive in and you can play both front and back courses if you want. The cart is especially nice since it can be very hot in the summer. Tees are nice and grippy. Grass throughout, easy on discs.
Cons: I had intended to play the front and back courses, but after the front 18, I was quite upset.

Most of the baskets were set extremely far away. No trees, tunnels or anything. Nothing at all. Just wide open. If you like to huck thoughtlessly, this might be the course for you.

The only hazard was the pond, in play for about 3 holes. In which case, if you throw one in, it's not coming out since it's black pond liner with poo water to fill it.

I also went on a day where there were maybe 5 golfers total and they have right of way. I can imagine having long waits on busier days.

and oh yeah, it cost money to play. I don't think I will go back. There's just better courses out there that you can play for free.
Other Thoughts: The shop has lost and found discs. You can also buy used discs that aren't claimed as well. The price on some of them were really low for discs that were in great shape. Seems like the people pricing it don't actually know the value on the discs which makes it nice on the pocket at times.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Quick course, lacks variety

1    1/21/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: -Carts are available if you need them
-Cement tee pads
-Multiple pin placements
Cons: -The course lacks variety of shots. The first 10 holes are played with a right to left fade
-Few obstacles, generally only around baskets
-First basket in a VERY dangerous location, in line with a ball golf driving range.
Other Thoughts: I played solo and walked the course. Shot around par. Finished in an hour flat.

You've Gotta Try This

1    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carts make it easy to play a lot of golf in a hurry
Grass! Rare on desert courses.
No cacti and I only saw one spikey plant.
Water in play
Map. It's pretty hard to get lost even without it.
Our group threw two discs into yards (they were particularly terrible throws. The yards really aren't even in play) but the owners quickly returned them. It wouldn't take very many discers jumping fences for this course to disappear.
The beer cart comes around with icy cold drinks.
Cons: You need to call for a tee time or be prepared not to be able to play for a while
You should really know ball golfing courtesies and habits because you will be inserted between golf ball foursomes. Some of the holes play across their greens (which make for a nice "fake lake" since they're OB) but sometimes you have to wait for ball golfers, and sometimes they have to wait for you.
You won't get any discs out of the murky lakes, at least on the day you throw them in. I put 2 discs in and lent a disc that someone else threw in. ~$50 in six holes
Ball golf courses don't have enough trees for my taste.
Other Thoughts: This course is so unique you have to try it while you're in town. If you've never played disc with a cart, here's your chance. $10 gets you 36 holes and a cart. That's a great price. I spent a while talking to the pro and he is very supportive of disc golf as it provides an additional revenue stream that also supports the ball golfers. He did say it was hard to mix the two and he is considering making it mostly disc in the summers, and mostly ball in the winters. But with shorter rounds and a cart....I'd come play this course in the middle of summer.

I thought the front 18 was slightly better than the back, so if you have to choose, play the front.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf

5+    9/23/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: hangwind
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: How about a nice ball golf course embracing disc golf with excellent grip cement tee pads, Mach 5 baskets, GOLF CARTS with the cart girl circling three times in the front 18 and there is a back 18 too. Water hazards, some minor elevation, tree put into play and wonderful roller conditions. Challenging basket position that make the game INTERESTING because you may lose your favorite disc in the water. Everything about this course is a positive as the fact that it is built is an indicator that we can co-exist. Some looong baskets with a few short ones in there too. For the long holes, the fairways are good for rollers that help for people that don't have cannon drives to keep up. Can't say enough nice things about this course.
Cons: None. It is on the edge of the metropolitan area of Phoenix. It could be a long drive for you. It is a solid hour of driving for me and I am very happy to do it over and over for a course of this quality.
Other Thoughts: If you can't throw with a high degree of accuracy, you might lose a disc or two. Chances are you will get your precious plastic back at the pro shop next time. If you don't have a strong arm, bone up on your roller, that's how I keep up with the pro players on my card every weekend. This is not a course for new players. You will need to know how the game of golf works in order to play and not upset anyone. Staff welcome disc golfers. Don not retrieve discs that are thrown in the yards of people that live along the fairways, even if your disc is just on the other side of the fence, leave it alone and suck it up.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 CARTS!!!

1    7/20/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 42  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a new course in the Phoenix Metro area and it plays on Greenfield Lakes ball golf course, so you get to use golf carts! There's a lot of challenge here with some holes being lodged right between the water and the ball golf greens (which are OB). There are some fun short holes, as well as some very challenging long par 3's and then there are the handfull of par 4's where you can really let her rip. You have multiple basket locations on most hooles and multiple tee locations on some holes. Did I mention you get to use golf carts? :)
Cons: We played after a week of rain so hole #16 was unplayable and there was a lot of standing water near some of the hole--and it was all very stinky! There is no signage at all, but you get a map from the clubhouse. Unfortunately the map is not the best. I reccomend bringing someone who has played the course before. The tees are just to yellow rocks on the grass and I can see them becoming hard to play as this course gets broken in. I lost my best disc in the water on hole 17--but I guess that's my fault for throwing it so poorly--but no guts....
When it is windy some of the shots are darn near impossible. You do have to watch out for the ball golfers, though when we played in the late afternoon there were very few of them on the course. You are asked to yield to them because it was their course first. The course is about 45 minutes from my house and is pay to play--the first such course in the Phoenix Valley (I do understand some won't think that is a con, but having NEVER paid to play before it was a con to me.)
Other Thoughts: It's really cool having a new course, but I'm not sure I like having to drive 45 minutes to pay $5 to lose my best disc. Though driving the carts sure does compensate for the $5 fee.
Overall I enjoyed playing here but I doubt I will make too many trips to specifically play this cousre. That being said, if I found myself in Gilbert I would probably plop down the $5 to throw a round and have some fun riding around in the carts. Did I mention the golf carts were a lot of fun?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A nice thought

1    7/7/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Carts, The non water holes are really fun a great place to just let er rip on drives. Pro shop fishes for discs and keeps them in the pro shop to get claimed for $2 by the owner
Cons: ball golfers don't acknowledge disc golfers, baskets are next to water and the green the grass is so short that it makes discs go wild and even a good shot can wind up in the lake, the lake is difficult to fish and if you try to get get in the liner sides will slide you all the way in making it difficult to get out.
Other Thoughts: A fun experience if you don't land in the water, the course fishes and takes lost discs to the pro shop to be reclaimed for $2, I encountered a scuba diver retrieving discs today. Go try it but don't get too excited. And beware of golfers hitting their drives right into you.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.