Disc Golf Store
Mount Charleston, NV 
Las Vegas Ski & Snowboard Resort DGC Share
Uploaded By: lion Hole #4 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 240ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Hukin' n Hikin' on the mountain!

1    9/21/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 125  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent scenery and views throughout this mountain disc golf course.

Although the chairlift was not running when I played the course, this is still a "pro" and worth the cost, trust me. I may not be a professional athlete, but by the time we finished the hike up to the first tee, my legs were very tired.

Excellent variety of uphill and downhill holes as well as several protected baskets here which only add to the risk/reward fun factor.

The baskets are nice, yellow Innova Discatchers, which are a big plus on a course like this.

Navigation is easy with good tee signs and adequate next tee signs that point you in the right direction along the way. The map found under the links/files tab here also helped but was not needed much.

The extreme downhill hole, #10 gave me an opportunity to throw more than 500'. For someone like me that can typically throw in the 320'-340' range, it was very cool to see the disc fly out of my hand like that.

Plenty of photo opportunities throughout the course.
Cons: While I understand this is a temporary/seasonal course, the teepads leave much to be desired. Most of them are short (easy to fix) and rocky (not so easy to fix). Level, concrete pads would be nice, but may not be feasible with the winter activities that use the same space.

Limited/seasonal access.

Loose, rocky terrain ensures that you are paying attention to the ground more than the great views.

Holes #16--#18 were not playable. We looked at the map and located them, but parts of a chairlift were in the fairways.

We thought that we caught up to another group of golfers, but it turned out to be people hiking up the mountain. Similar situations may be a cause for concern. Use spotters on the blind shots.
Other Thoughts: This course is a challenge for all skill levels. However, I would not recommend it for beginners or anyone who has knee &/or ankle issues.

Please do yourself a favor and wear good shoes/boots for a round here in Mount Charleston, especially if the lift is not running. The loose and rocky terrain will sneak up on you sooner or later.

I had a ton of fun here, and I will be back with fresh legs. This, of course means I have to make it back to Vegas while the chairlift is operating. Looking forward to round #2 at the Las Vegas Ski & Snowboard Resort DGC!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Day in The Ski

1    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: lion
Played: 542  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Clean fairways and beaten paths.
2. Signs are all over the course guiding you to the next teepad and orange tape on the trails letting you know your going the right way.
3. Amazing views that can rival any course.
4. Lots of elevation to work with that really gives you a good workout and tests your game.
5. Having the option to pay for the chari lifts were nice, much better then hiking up to hole one which would of been killer or super tiring.
6. The tee signs were easy to follow and well placed. A few times the big tee signs were easy to spot off in the distance making the teepads quicker to spot.
7. Nice mixture of distances and a few holes were the lake comes into view and play on a role away.
8. Nice onsite Bar and Grill, plus pro shop.
9. Some of the baskets are well placed and jailed in making the hole even more difficult.
10. Plenty of onsite parking and a bathroom in the pro shop area.
11. Course map and distances available at shop.
12. Hole 18 ends at the bottom near the pro shop and parking. Makes it very convient and no long walk after the round, especially after all the hiking.
Cons: 1. Teepads were not level and the gravel was loose on certain pads. I didnt expect concrete, but in the future I could see rubber pads if the course takes off.
2. The course is free to play, but the 10 dollar lift ticket can be a con to some.
3. NO bathrooms on the course, just at the pro shop at the base.
4. NO trash cans on course, you must pack out your trash.
5. Basket 6 to teepad 7 is a little tough to follow, this was the only walk where I needed the map.
6. A few teepads throw into areas where hikers might be walking or families might be taking walks up the slopes.
7. The chairlifts come into play on a hole and you need to be careful not to hit the lift or the chairs especially if people are in them.
8. Course is only openat limited times of the day and the year.
9. Some of the slopes from the tee to the basket were hard to traverse down and a better path is needed. Slopes had alot of loose rock and gravel.
Other Thoughts: I thought the course was great and with just the teepads could of bumped it up another half point in the rating. Some of my conscouldnt be helped because it is a mountain course. I took the kids with me and I had a 2, 5, and 7 year old with me and they were able to play some of the course and walk the entire thing with me. Thats a huge plus. Lots of photo chances and nice views for the family. Kids loved the ice cream after the round at the pro shop. I had a good time and it took like 2 hours to play the entire thing with the kids. There are a lot of birdie chances and the course plays fair with larger fairways on the huge holes and tighter lines on the shorter holes. I really liked this course and will be back.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Coming down the mountain

2-4    6/9/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2013
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An hour from Vegas but a world away, you will gradually climb from 2000 feet to somewhere north of 8000 feet as cactuses give way to pines and bristlecones. It's also 30 degrees cooler than Vegas.

The base of the mountain is filled with people who seem to be happy to be there, whatever the reason. The lift ticket will take you up the slow triple lift (no detachable quads here) to the first tee, an epic 500-foot cliff shot with a roughly 100-foot elevation drop. There is significant danger to the right and only somewhat more landing area to the right.

Holes 2-15 gradually descend the mountain, some crisscrossing the hill and a few taking you back up the hill. The baskets are usually visible from the tee, although it may take a little squinting and moving around to see them. Fortunately the baskets are yellow. Every hole has a homemade tee sign with a slice of tree propped up vertically with a laminated tee sign nailed to it. I love the tree stump part; the laminated paper is okay but gets the job done, showing the distance and shape of the fairway, and sometimes the distance to landmarks in the fairway.

It is obvious the course was designed by people who know disc golf. No boring holes throwing across a ski trail to a basket in the wide open like you see at some other ski resorts. You'll find yourself trying to decide if you should take the riskier line to go for the birdie or take the safer route for par. I really liked the options presented on these holes, and just as important, the lines that were prevented. If you love throwing huge hyzer routes for every shot, you might not like this course. The tees are often situated next to a tree that will keep you from throwing certain lines.

Navigation was pretty easy due to the "next tee ->" signs. There are maps you can get when you buy your lift ticket.

A couple of the notable holes:

Hole 2 was a fairly short hole with a tight line where a fallen tree prevents arching putts. I've never seen something quite like this. It's not unfair, but it will force an adjustment if that is how you putt.

Hole 6 is about 140 feet downhill with a reservoir behind (it would be tough to have the water come into play), but it's a tight line to the basket and not an easy birdie.

Hole 10 is a 700-foot downhill bomb with the basket in the open, but you need to decide how far you can throw and still be confident you'll end up on the fairway/ski trail.
Cons: The biggest con of the course is how gravelly the slopes are. Hole 1 took a good ten minutes to complete because walking down the hill is so slow and unsteady (if the course ever gets busy, there could be some huge backups here, but I don't see any way around this). My footing never felt sure on these steeper parts, and you may have to walk back and forth parallel to the hill just to get down (it helps a little to walk in the few areas where the sparse grass is growing). By the end of the round, your toes will ache from jamming into the front of your shoes.


A few of the holes throw under the active chair lift, but these aren't too much of a safety issue. I made sure no one was on the chair in front of me just in case. There are some inactive chairlifts that come into play on other holes, but that is a unique and interesting feature.

Tee pads are all natural and short. There are only a couple holes that really require a run-up, though. If you didn't park the 250-foot hole through the woods, it's not because you didn't have enough of a run up.

Update for 2013:
The course map is not updated for 2013 and needs to be with the redesigned holes (see below).
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind that disc fly more overstable at elevation. I had a number of overstable discs I never even threw. I also had a tough time judging distances on some holes (or at least the proper disc selection for those distances). I underthrew and overthrew a lot of approach shots.

The lift ticket is $10, but no griping, please. Everyone else has to pay to get to the top, so let's just applaud the management for allowing a course here (you can hike up if you are frugal and in terrific shape). The elevation will take the wind out of you, so bring some water.

By the way, this is not a great course for first beginners at all. You need to be able to shape some shots or at least be able to lay up accurately.

As you drive up Lee Canyon Road, you see plenty of terrain that would be ideal for many types of disc golf courses (flat wooded courses, hilly desert courses, etc). I hope some more get put in up here. The landscape is rich.

The course will only be open until October or so. I'll be getting in as many rounds as possible before then.

Update for 2013:
Holes 7 through 10 have been redesigned. Hole 10 used to be an epic downhill throw that wasn't safe with the people at the bottom. These four holes play in the same area around hole 7. A few other holes have minor movement of baskets or tees.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: Jakob1200
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Finally! A new course for us locals. The terrain is beautiful. The day starts off amazing just with the chair lift ride to hole one. Not to mention its 20-30 degrees cooler in the mountains than in the city. Nice variety of shots, big bombers followed by fun technical shots, up hill then down. Watch your disc on hole 1 if its windy. You WILL lose it. The layout is fairly easy to follow. Next tee signs are posted and also look at the ground, they have laid out paths to the next tee, they are just hard to spot sometimes. You will get some major cardio on this course as well. Lots of hiking. Also keep an eye out for wildlife. Horses and elk. Sometimes they gather by pins.
Cons: The biggest con is the tee pads. As of right now there is no rubber. They are dirt and very rocky. Not to mention some of them feel very short. I found it hard on occasion to get a good run up on some of them. While this irritated me the first time I was less bothered by it every time after. If the rubber was in I would probably even bump this to a 3.5. Again I will reiterate to watch your discs on this course. You pull a bad shot, get frustrated, and look away, your disc is gone. Even if you watch it its not a given you will find it. Also the 10 dollar lift ticket only gets you up once. It is not a day pass so do your self a favor and get the season pass if you are going to go a bunch.
Other Thoughts: Overall I am really liking the new course. Its a bit of a drive but its worth it. This course will have you working, on your shots and on your cardio. Make sure to wear good shoes, you will be dealing with steep inclines, up and down. If you are not use to playing in this type of terrain I suggest you play holes 16-18 first. They are at the bottom of the lift and are a good warm up for the day ahead. All in all a very enjoyable course.

By the way, did I mention to watch your discs?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.