Payson, UT 
Payson DGC Share
Uploaded By: martinb Hole #18 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 200ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short, Wooded & Challenging.

1    10/4/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: LiquidDivide
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.5 Years
Pros: Beautiful scenery up the Payson Canyon. There is a creek that comes into play on a few holes. It was very shallow when I went in early October, so losing a disc there seemed unlikely.

Good elevation changes and great use of the trees to make these short holes challenging. Some of the holes had really nice signs with maps that were very helpful.
Cons: Unlikely to get cell reception, so print off a map before you go. I got lost after hole 4 and had to skip to hole 8 and look for the missing holes later.

The course gets pretty congested in places in the later half. You can sees several pins and tees from one spot. Another good reason to bring a map.

The dirt tees are fine, but I wish they had concrete ones. Some of them were a little uneven, but not dangerous.

Some of the signs were missing their maps (mostly the later half where the course gets confusing).

The lack of on overall course map was disappointing. I found there is an alternate tee location for hole 6 once I got home and looked at the map.
Other Thoughts: This course is very wooded and if you aren't careful you can lose discs easily. The leaves had changed and fallen when I played and made it difficult to locate certain discs. Blue and white colored discs were the easiest to find. yellow and orange were terrible. I imagine the weeds get pretty tall in the summer time and could make it difficult to find discs during that season. Either way, pay attention to where you throw.

Took me an hour to play alone (would have been less if I hadn't got lost). It's a fun and challenging course. I plan on playing again next time I'm in the area.

Short and Wooded

1    9/15/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 74  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: This is a compact 18-hole course on a slightly hilly wooded tract of land with a creek cutting through the middle.

Most holes are short, with many in the 200' - 250' range. Good use of trees to either guard the basket or force a specific line on the drive. Not a course that requires a big arm, but rather rewards accuracy.

Three holes cross the creek (4, 17,18) which adds interest. The distances to clear the creek are short, which minimizes the danger of losing a disc.

Four holes (6, 7, 9, 10) play up a powerline right-of-way which results in the longer, more open holes on the course. But they are still tight enough to present a good challenge.

The tee signs that are there (about half) gave a nice map of the hole, par, and distance. Several signs also have a "Donated By" plaque with the name of a local business. Always great to see courses supported by locals.

Large parking lot with nearby restroom, picnic tables, trash cans.

Course navigation was pretty simple until about hole 13 where things get tight and mixed together.
Cons: The course is very congested around Holes 13 - 16. There are places where you can see 4 baskets and 4 tee signs from one spot, with a couple of others nearby. This makes it confusing to determine which basket to play to and would be a concern with multiple groups on the course.

About half of the tee signs were missing. It's a shame because they were nice signs.

Tee pads are dirt, and some are pretty uneven.

The morning we played a couple of moms with their kids were walking on the course, in the congested area of holes 13 - 17. It seems like no matter where they moved, they were in the way.

Challenging shoulder season course

2-4    4/5/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: bjornsvenson
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
Pros: This course is a beautiful drive from where we're at in UT County. Without driving up to SLC this is the best course I currently play in UT (R.I.P. Bicentennial in Provo).
-Hole Variety
-Accessible for beginner players
-Challenging obstacles and Elevation
-Gorgeous scenery
-NO PEDESTRIANS / DOG WALKERS!
Cons: -6 and 7 were difficult to identify
-Tee directions could be clearer
-With the amount of foliage, some brighter basket -markings could be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind this is not playable during the winter.
Bring a friend to spot for errant discs (esp. in Summer when the foliage is overgrown)

great technical course

1    7/28/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
Pros: great technical course!
many very very short holes, but certainly challenging.
excellent tee sign markers for most holes.
relatively new course that figures to develop well over time with additional tlc.
many many trees!
creek occasionally comes into play, probably more so during the wet season.
Cons: lumpy dirt tees could be improved. however, given the short distances involved for most holes, is not too big of a deal.

Great course!

1    6/14/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: Busdriverfred
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Loved the challenges! Lots of trees and high grass makes this course quite the challenge. Watch where your disc lands or you will be looking for it for a long time! Many trees along the way keep the course pretty shady and cool.
Cons: No bathrooms along the way. Someone actually left a deposit at one of the holes and nicknamed it the stink hole. The grass is very tall so if you do not see your disc land then you will probably lose it.
Other Thoughts: There are many fallen trees so if you are fat and out of shape like myself who do love the game there are plenty of places to sit down and rest. Although there is quite an elevation change from the 6th to the 11th basket the trail is well maintained and it is an easy hike.

Into the Woods

1    5/31/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: FHL88
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved all of the elevation changes. Hole #3 is quite possibly the most beautifully scenic hole I've ever seen. A window in the trees, a creekbed with the basket on the far side.

I found myself laughing a lot on this course with the distinct thwock sound as my disc hit a tree. (I only took beaters in case of loss.)

Most holes are fairly short and thank goodness.

This would be a fun one to go to with a group of friends or family. Even Whammo discs would be suitable for play here.
Cons: Many areas are overgrown with plant life which required some hunting to find my disc, and of course, many shots had invisible baskets.

I had a course map but the tees just blend into the trees. I guess that was done on purpose to make it less intrusive.
Other Thoughts: The driving directions leave a little to be desired. Canyon Rd ends in a T before you get to the course. You have to turn right on Red Deer Loop and follow it back to the course. The course itself would have been easy to miss - it's called Mt. Nebo Something Trail, with restrooms, a dumpster and multiple grills. I couldn't see any baskets from the road.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Short Course

1    4/5/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 57  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a unique course up in Payson Canyon just a little ways. The scenery is beautiful. You get fresh mountain air and the feeling of getting away to play.

Every hole has a clearly marked posts and the layout is such that you don't have to look hard at all to find them. Most have signs with hole lengths and graphics to show you where the basket is, and the ones that don't are pretty easy to determine because the baskets are all marked with the hole numbers too. We didn't have a course map and only mistook one basket on hole 8 for the wrong one. The course was really easy to navigate without a map.

You get a good mix of elevation changes as this course is anything but flat. It's no Solitude with really long holes though. You also throw over the creek 3-4 times which adds a bit of challenge to the course.

All the baskets are in good repair. Holes 15 and 17 are different styles and appear to be of lesser quality but are still just fine.
Cons: As mentioned before the tee pads are dirt and some are quite uneven. 6B, 14 and 18 are particularly uneven, but it's not a big deal at all.

My biggest con is that there are really only 2 holes that I didn't have to really restrain myself on, and I don't have that big of an arm. They are just extremely short holes.

Holes 11-15 throw back and forth through the trees at each other. It isn't a huge con because I don't imagine this course gets much traffic, but it is pretty tight in that area.
Other Thoughts: Although the vast majority of the holes are short, you are usually throwing through a bunch of trees, so that kind of offsets the ease of the short holes with some technicality.

All of the cons mentioned are really small. It is a fun course offering a lot of fun shots. It can especially be enjoyed by beginners who don't have a lot of range as well as pros to practice odd technical shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    7/13/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is such a different course than anything else in Utah. Other than the course built on Ski resorts, this course offers lush, green trees and changes in elevation. Most of the holes play pretty short (I could see some of them lengthened someday) which offers a lot of fun birdie opportunites while also punishing over-aggressive misses with the well-grown tree lines.
Cons: It's one thing to have dirt teepads but it's another when they seem to be of varying consistency and could be leveled off better. Not a huge drawback, but worth mentioning.
Other Thoughts: I think it's a great course to take beginners/newcomers as it offers scenery and even the luckiest throwers might find themselves looking at a birdie once in a while.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.