Disc Golf Store
Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #16 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 324ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Trash Covered Masterpiece

5+    4/7/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 56  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2013
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
-This course is really wonderful! it has a variety of shots required and the holes are designed very well.

-All though they are sometimes bent or vandalized Pier Park has good signage.

- The park is heavily wooded, providing shade, challenge and makes for a beautiful scenery.

- The elevation changes throughout the course provide both variety and challenge.

- Almost all of the holes have multiple pin locations.

- In an effort to avoid the muddiest areas of the park, an alternate course layout during winter is used, adding more variety, which is a nice change.


Cons:
- Their are far too few trash cans at this course, almost every hole that does not have a trash can has large amounts of trash piled in one area. It's mostly empty beer cans/bottles but it's also shoes and bags of dog doody.

- The park is usually heavily trafficked by runners, bikers, dog walkers, and other disc golfers. It's not so bad that it causes major problems but it can certainly be a distraction.

- As with most courses in the pacific northwest, this course can get pretty muddy when it's been raining. Make sure and wear shoes with good grip, and bring a few rags for wiping mud off your plastic.

- This course has almost no hazards (OB, Mandos, Water, etc.) - Not a big deal but there is not much risk/reward off the tee.
Other Thoughts: The best time to play at Pier would be early in the morning at about 7am, there will be other people playing but not nearly as many. Also the way the sun comes through trees at that time is truly beautiful.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't like trees? Tough

5+    3/30/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: Stephen.Sines
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - LH/BH Balanced
- True changes in elevation
- ALL HOLES are moderate to heavily wooded
- Hole distances range from 273' to 548' year round
- Playable lines are only limited by your imagination
- Seasons new plastic quickly
- Absolutely breathtaking
Cons: - The only 18 hole course within Portland, Or
- Typically crowded (day/night)
- Not the best casual play park

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Trees, trees, trees (and a little mud)

5+    2/8/2013   2/10/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played 2 times a day early morning rounds on a recent 3 day trip to portland.

-Lots of parking and easy to navigate to, located on northern end of town, went straight to the course from the airport and took me about 20 min to get there.

-Easy course navigation, very well made signs with all the info you could want. Played with no-one to show me the way and had no issues.

-Scenery, this park is pretty spectacular, a few of the locals I played a round with just shrugged but playing in and amongst the giant trees is pretty special.

-Shot/Hole Variety, there was pretty much a little of everything and I dont think the course favors either hand or fh/bh. Seemingly 3-5 lines on every hole depending on how much you want to flirt with trees. A few holes were definetly "Oh F*#k" moments for me and my noodly arm, #16 took me until the 5th round before I finally got a par.

-#8/#18- playing down off hills is always one of my favorite shots, and these holes dont disappoint allowing for long gliding shots that are always fun to throw.

-Very well kept "rough", the trees throughout the course create plenty of obstacles if you get off line, but there was not too many places where you had to worry about losing a disk. There are a few blind holes on the course, its nice to be able to play a solo round and not worry about searching for discs forever.
Cons: -Mud, Im sure this is related to the time of year and the amount of rain but there were a few holes (2, 3, 4) that played in slightly more open fields that were basically big mud bowls, come prepared with extra towels and shoes!

-I never did find any water at the course but there are a few liquor stores only blocks away (more nit-picky than a real con).
Other Thoughts: Overall a great experience. A little muddy and damp but nothing to inhibit you from having a truly fun round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    1/12/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: holyschmidt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tough, but not so much that newer players couldn't have a good time. The course is pretty clean, has good teepads, varied uphill/downhill and diverse shot requirements.
Cons: Crowded.
Bathroom?
Other Thoughts: Only played it once, but it's already one of my favorites!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

1    11/14/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: hukdiscs
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is fun, challenging, and has great flow
Concrete Tee Pads and Nice Signs
Very hard to lose a disc
Clean, well maintained, and quiet
Good Baskets
Markers to keep you on the right track
Good hole variation and elevation change
Cons: Multi use park with walking paths
18th doesn't end near parking
Other Thoughts: Great atmosphere, felt like I was playing in a tranquil disc golf oasis in the middle of a very industrial area. The trees are very impressive too. I would give it a 5/5 but don't feel I've played enough courses nationwide to compare to yet.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New favorite? Probably.

1    10/6/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: kaiser flippin
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous. It may be 90 degrees out, but you'll be playing in the shade all day here. Great mix of left, right, short, long, roller, you name it. The ground is great for disc, I never felt worried about losing one. I may have been lucky, but I ran into a couple laid back, very cool locals who were happy to show me around.
Cons: Can be crowded.
Other Thoughts: I normally don't like playing through a lot of trees, but the branches here start at like 100 feet. Challenging, especially #15, but not distracting.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    9/19/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: SKizzUMATIK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fairly easy layout to follow, well tended, decent variety, beautiful landscape, great course
Cons: Can't really think of any... Except maybe the baseball/soccer field adjacent to holes 1 and 2 could probably cause some issues during those seasons
Other Thoughts: This course is a great example of what other courses should strive to be. Even a good chunk of the tee pads have the hole number in metal sunken into the concrete. Classy stuff.

PS: Thanks for hating on this review folks.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

2-4    7/7/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An amazing experience to play this course. One can't help but feel like he is playing in the middle of a National Forest. Immense trees cover the course and make for outstanding obstacles throught the course. These trees also make for a shady and consistent throwing environment. The holes have been well thought out and the tee signs are helpful. With such massive trees, minimal underbrush means you won't spend much time searching for discs.
Cons: Seems to have been in a rough part of town.
Other Thoughts: Only wish I had had more time to play the course 5 more times!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 AHH Pier Park..

2-4    9/25/2009   7/5/2011
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course. Great layout with great flow even when busy. Killer canopy of trees to play beneath when the rain comes. Only got a little wet on hole 1. Mixed throws with choices. Clean and well maintained. Severals holes to open up on with several requiring skill and precision. I'll never pass this one up when I'm in the area...
Cons: Only two that I can think of. Parking can be tough when it's busy. Also, it is a busy course with it's location and the lack of other courses nearby. I'm sure the popularity plays a BIG factor as well.
Other Thoughts: Don't EVEN think about skipping this one if your in the area. If you do, you'll regret it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Epitome of Oregon

1    9/8/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 150  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A picturesque course located in a park with 200ft Douglass trees. When you think of a course in Oregon, this course is what you would think of. This beautifully maintained course has a great mix of holes in length. You will need to bring all your shots out of the bag, because this course requires a little of everything when it comes to shots required. Overall this course is more technical than open with the thick trees throughout the course. Although there isn't much of an elevation change, the course allows for 80% of the holes to be challenging and really fun.
Newer baskets, concrete tee pads, and great tee signs makes for another great experience navigating the course. The park is very clean and well-maintained so make sure to keep your trash and dispose of it at the front of the park. At the front of the park there are also restrooms and running water with plenty of street parking.
Cons: It's really hard to put in too many cons for this course, but then again there's always something that can be improved on. There really isn't any elevation changes, which I think really can add to a difficulty of a course. Most of the holes were more technical, and the few that were open were very bland. Make sure to watch out for bikers.
Other Thoughts: The overall challenge of this course was about a 3.75/5. This is a must play course if you are in Portland or the area in general. I had the most fun on this course than I did at Milo or Hornets, not saying it is better but I had more fun. The locals were very friendly and fun to shoot with. A great course to really take in the feel of Oregon and the beauty of the outdoors.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.