Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: didy22 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 357ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 79
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Among the region's finest

5+    8/25/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: Benefit1970
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Varied holes: The open routes have trees you need to throw around, and the tight routes have reasonable openings.
- Elevation: Some subtle changes in elevation is very much welcomed.
- Trees: Most of this course takes full advantage of very mature trees, with very little underbrush.
- Teepads: Concrete, large, in good shape.
- Signage at teepads: Very clearly illustrates where the basket is.
- Baskets: BRAND NEW. Amazing baskets, with woven inner chains that catch discs consistently.
- Ambiance: Nothing beats playing under 100-foot trees. Just incredible.
- Difficulty: Good shots are rewarded, and bad shots are punished. A decent mix of easy, average, and hard holes.
Cons: - Trash: Needs more garbage and recycling cans
- Length: A little short for my taste. Some of the holes are very easily ace-able by above-average players.
- Course signage: While signs at the teepads are good, there aren't enough wayfinding signs to help new players along.
- Water: From what I can tell, there's only one nearby water fountain, near the start of the first hole. Considering the park has a wading fountain in the middle, a drinkable water fountain there would be a nice touch.
- Benches: In a perfect world, there would be a sitting surface at every hole. But that's a minor gripe.
Other Thoughts: For my money, this is the best disc golf option for Portland residents who don't want to travel too far, or may need to travel by bicycle. Takes about an hour to bike from downtown PDX, and it's a nice ride.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1st Rate Course in PDX

1    7/26/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: volklaero
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great new baskets with lime green/yellow metal for easy viability.

Creative holes, use of elevation, great use of trees for challenge, greens are well situated and thought out.

Signature Hallway hole through a long pass of trees with a narrow opening

No issues with parking even on a Saturday with softball games and other park activities

Well manicured and landscaped.

Concrete Tee Boxes
Cons: Sometimes next hole isn't immediately obvious - could use signage pointing to next tee.

1st two holes play around a softball field which was in use during our round
Other Thoughts: All in all, a great, challenging, fun course with elevation change, dense tree lined holes, state of the art baskets and the name to seal the deal. Play at will.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Trash Covered Masterpiece

5+    4/7/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 58  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
-This course is really wonderful! it has a variety of shots required and the holes are designed very well.

-All though they are sometimes bent or vandalized Pier Park has good signage.

- The park is heavily wooded, providing shade, challenge and makes for a beautiful scenery.

- The elevation changes throughout the course provide both variety and challenge.

- Almost all of the holes have multiple pin locations.

- In an effort to avoid the muddiest areas of the park, an alternate course layout during winter is used, adding more variety, which is a nice change.


Cons:
- Their are far too few trash cans at this course, almost every hole that does not have a trash can has large amounts of trash piled in one area. It's mostly empty beer cans/bottles but it's also shoes and bags of dog doody.

- The park is usually heavily trafficked by runners, bikers, dog walkers, and other disc golfers. It's not so bad that it causes major problems but it can certainly be a distraction.

- As with most courses in the pacific northwest, this course can get pretty muddy when it's been raining. Make sure and wear shoes with good grip, and bring a few rags for wiping mud off your plastic.

- This course has almost no hazards (OB, Mandos, Water, etc.) - Not a big deal but there is not much risk/reward off the tee.
Other Thoughts: The best time to play at Pier would be early in the morning at about 7am, there will be other people playing but not nearly as many. Also the way the sun comes through trees at that time is truly beautiful.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't like trees? Tough

5+    3/30/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: Stephen.Sines
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - LH/BH Balanced
- True changes in elevation
- ALL HOLES are moderate to heavily wooded
- Hole distances range from 273' to 548' year round
- Playable lines are only limited by your imagination
- Seasons new plastic quickly
- Absolutely breathtaking
Cons: - The only 18 hole course within Portland, Or
- Typically crowded (day/night)
- Not the best casual play park

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Trees, trees, trees (and a little mud)

5+    2/8/2013   2/10/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played 2 times a day early morning rounds on a recent 3 day trip to portland.

-Lots of parking and easy to navigate to, located on northern end of town, went straight to the course from the airport and took me about 20 min to get there.

-Easy course navigation, very well made signs with all the info you could want. Played with no-one to show me the way and had no issues.

-Scenery, this park is pretty spectacular, a few of the locals I played a round with just shrugged but playing in and amongst the giant trees is pretty special.

-Shot/Hole Variety, there was pretty much a little of everything and I dont think the course favors either hand or fh/bh. Seemingly 3-5 lines on every hole depending on how much you want to flirt with trees. A few holes were definetly "Oh F*#k" moments for me and my noodly arm, #16 took me until the 5th round before I finally got a par.

-#8/#18- playing down off hills is always one of my favorite shots, and these holes dont disappoint allowing for long gliding shots that are always fun to throw.

-Very well kept "rough", the trees throughout the course create plenty of obstacles if you get off line, but there was not too many places where you had to worry about losing a disk. There are a few blind holes on the course, its nice to be able to play a solo round and not worry about searching for discs forever.
Cons: -Mud, Im sure this is related to the time of year and the amount of rain but there were a few holes (2, 3, 4) that played in slightly more open fields that were basically big mud bowls, come prepared with extra towels and shoes!

-I never did find any water at the course but there are a few liquor stores only blocks away (more nit-picky than a real con).
Other Thoughts: Overall a great experience. A little muddy and damp but nothing to inhibit you from having a truly fun round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    1/12/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: holyschmidt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tough, but not so much that newer players couldn't have a good time. The course is pretty clean, has good teepads, varied uphill/downhill and diverse shot requirements.
Cons: Crowded.
Bathroom?
Other Thoughts: Only played it once, but it's already one of my favorites!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

1    11/14/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: hukdiscs
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is fun, challenging, and has great flow
Concrete Tee Pads and Nice Signs
Very hard to lose a disc
Clean, well maintained, and quiet
Good Baskets
Markers to keep you on the right track
Good hole variation and elevation change
Cons: Multi use park with walking paths
18th doesn't end near parking
Other Thoughts: Great atmosphere, felt like I was playing in a tranquil disc golf oasis in the middle of a very industrial area. The trees are very impressive too. I would give it a 5/5 but don't feel I've played enough courses nationwide to compare to yet.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New favorite? Probably.

1    10/6/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: kaiser flippin
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous. It may be 90 degrees out, but you'll be playing in the shade all day here. Great mix of left, right, short, long, roller, you name it. The ground is great for disc, I never felt worried about losing one. I may have been lucky, but I ran into a couple laid back, very cool locals who were happy to show me around.
Cons: Can be crowded.
Other Thoughts: I normally don't like playing through a lot of trees, but the branches here start at like 100 feet. Challenging, especially #15, but not distracting.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    9/19/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: SKizzUMATIK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fairly easy layout to follow, well tended, decent variety, beautiful landscape, great course
Cons: Can't really think of any... Except maybe the baseball/soccer field adjacent to holes 1 and 2 could probably cause some issues during those seasons
Other Thoughts: This course is a great example of what other courses should strive to be. Even a good chunk of the tee pads have the hole number in metal sunken into the concrete. Classy stuff.

PS: Thanks for hating on this review folks.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

2-4    7/7/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An amazing experience to play this course. One can't help but feel like he is playing in the middle of a National Forest. Immense trees cover the course and make for outstanding obstacles throught the course. These trees also make for a shady and consistent throwing environment. The holes have been well thought out and the tee signs are helpful. With such massive trees, minimal underbrush means you won't spend much time searching for discs.
Cons: Seems to have been in a rough part of town.
Other Thoughts: Only wish I had had more time to play the course 5 more times!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.