Disc Golf Store
Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: didy22 Hole #12 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 334ft.   3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: Past the fence and just left, or straight ahead.



Reviews: 83
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Top Notch

1    8/20/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: getchofil
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Giant trees in a densely populated cited. Trees that are easily 100ft. Good signage. Easy to find all holes with the exception of 7 and 10, but with the map it was not a problem. Challenging holes; some left, right, uphill, downhill, tunnels. While the rest of the town was mid 80's, almost the entire course is covered in shade making it mid to low 70's. Friendly locals.
Cons: The only thing that was kind of a con but not necessarily controllable was that there were quite a wait at 4:00 on a Tuesday afternoon, but that just shows that this is a top notch course.
Other Thoughts: Talks of expanding or another course on adjoining property sounds promising.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Perfectly Wooded

2-4    8/17/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: TheHoaginator1020
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Huge trees protect this haven of a course from all the harsh wind that punishes Oregon daily, while still leaving it open enough to make your disc easy to find. The first time I played I remember remarking on how gorgeous it is just to walk through, and that is probably why it gets so much traffic.
Beautiful and simple signs give you a good idea where the baskets are, so those blind holes aren't too difficult to figure out. Lots of good variences between left and right shots within the set up, as well as some major elevation changes.
Also the devision between difficulty within the 18 hole course is very even, making all holes easily pared with a 3. The lay out is very stretched out so you don't come in contact with too many people on other holes, though a couple teeboxes coincide with each other so you still get to meet up with lots of the other players.
Sometimes if your lucky, there's a concession stand that sets up with discs for those of you starting out, and snacks if you forgot to stop by the store. I've only seen them out there once, but it was a nice surprise seeing as how I had forgotten the drinks.
Lots of placing to sit down and take a break and enjoy the scenery.
Safe location within the city limits, near a residential area, and fairly close to the free way.
Beginner friendly, as well as a challenge for more seasoned players.

Cons: Uhhh..... lets see.... there was a lot of trash out there, although it wasn't after I passed. I make it habit to contribute to the courses as much as I can so everytime I come by something unnatural to the area, I add it to the bag.
Lots of traffic, but really for a leasurely day of disc golf, when has that ever been a problem? Everyone was very courteous as well, I didn't have to request to play through once.
Yep.... don't have much else to say.
Other Thoughts: Not yet have I ventured to all the courses that Portland has to offer, but so far this is at the top of the list. It's well maintained, offers all the essentials for a long day outside, and it gives you a good idea of what disc golf is all about. This is definitely a course that needs to be on your list if your passing through or you live in the surrounding area. You won't be disappointed.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 TIMBERRIFFIC!!!

5+    10/24/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: Tolan
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Bring your A-Game! Good elevation changes, nice and long. IN THE TIMBER!!! Pick your alley and FLING IT! Threadin' needles and stuff. It's usually pretty good for not stacking up, but on those nice friday afternoons in the summer, it can. The fountain in the back (off hole 9 or 10, I think) is a friggin lifesaver on those summer afternoons, isn't it, Drew? Repeat after me: "I AM A LUMBERJACK!!!"
Cons: None, if you complain about the trees, they will kill you. Ask Marky Mark.
Other Thoughts: Play the "19th". At least see how far you can throw your discs. Make sure you aren't throwing over the top of the golfers approaching hole 2. See if you can hit home plate...I've seen it done. Probably 450 feet on the fly...ridiculous..? The thermals you get off the soccer field in the summer are, ridiculous.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course.

1    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Ryman90
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun, amazing course, and challenging in a good way. Seems to be well maintained, when I was there there was a large group of volunteers helping out. Disc golfers there seem to be friendly.
Cons: My hometown course just wont be the same, and I'm 5 hours away from PP. I already feel the itch to go back.

A good hike to the bathrooms if you are deep in the course.

Signs could have been a bit clearer.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play this course decently well with 3 months of experience.

Perhaps I was just lucky but there were no crowds when I was there around 3 on a Saturday.

Bring water, it's quite the course. Especially during Summer.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/2/2009   5/23/2010
Review By: nonono
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the trees make it hard but its fun still also. good tee pads and baskets and a couple of benches when its hilly. good mix of different shots for you to try and master
Cons: its hard to find your ways around with no tee signs so you have to play with people who know the course or you have to ask someone. can get frustrating
Other Thoughts: this is a great course to play and learn lots of shots and have fun

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A fun day...

5+    8/10/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the best course around. They have multiple pin placements so that there are a lot of different ways that the course will play. This is a great tourney course that will make you make all types of shots. It is by far the best city course I have played any where.
This park is always in a great condition. There is almost no place to loose a disc on the course.
Cons: Well there are not that many I have ever found. The one and it is only very small, Benches and trash cans. I wish there where a few more around the course but it is not enough to take much away.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course any time I can and try to. This is a must stop on any trip though Portland. I have sometimes had to wait in line at the first tee but by 3 all are spread out so don't worry. There is also a guy that sells discs and dogs and he is usually by the first tee. Even on some of the hottest days in Portland it can be nicer and cooler under the tree of Pier park.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    8/8/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: mmedlock
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pier Park is by far the most beautiful course i have ever played. I consider myself extremely lucky to have learned the game here. Right now, the course is playing more difficult than normal. This is because of the Rose City Open that was played here a few weeks ago. The pin locations are long on most holes. I have noted this as a pro because i embrace the challenge :). This course will test all aspects of your game. Length, technical ability, uphill and downhill shots, and even windy shots (1-2, and 17-18), The holes in between are very sheltered from the tall trees from wind and sun. This course makes for a wonderful hike in the Portland area. Everyone i have met here is extremely nice and willing to help. Say hi to Tim on the first hole. He is the local disc/dog vendor. Great prices on discs as well as local hot dogs! This course is a must experience in Oregon.
Cons: This course can get very crowded on the weekends during the afternoons. Personally, i cant blame the crowds. Patience is sometimes a must however. There are a few holes that can be tough to navigate. Once again, locals can be very helpful for this. That's pretty much all of cons i can think of for this course. Oh yeah, there are some days where trees are not your friends. Like i said earlier, this course has a lot of technical shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall, i enjoy playing Pier Park very much. It has taken me a little less than a year to score under par. I even got my first ace on hole #2 at Pier. Also, if you want to buy any discs, Tim is the man to see. You will save a atleast 2 bucks per disc. Every wednesday there is a mixed doubles tournament for 6 bucks. This tourny usually brings in about 40 players. If you want to see the best course in Oregon, Pier Park is where its at.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Get pier'd

5+    7/22/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: lens2film
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Each hole has a number of options for lines to take off the tee. If you are a technical player, you will still be challenged. If you are a distance player, you will still be pushed to throw further. If you are a beginner you will have to learn quick. The trees offer protection, but at the same time you will want to chop them down at least five times a round (jk). That leads me to the con.
Cons: Aside from the busy days, the hardest thing to get over is the tree love/hate relationship you will build at pier. Even the best players have some bad tree action. But that is also a big Pro for this course. You will never have the same round.
Other Thoughts: I began playing about 2 years and have played from day one on this course. My best is -4 solo and -9 doubles. If you play here long enough, it will MAKE you a great player. I have since move to LA and will play La Mirada, but I will ALWAYS come back here when I visit Portland.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good way to spend the afternoon

5+    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: didy22
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Expect elevation changes and challenging obstacles. There are both right and left dogleg courses, as well as some dead straight ones. Expect to throw some uphill shots as well as some downhill ones. Hardly anyone there in the mornings, you can feel like you have the park to yourself. Nice cement pads and respectable players.
Cons: Tends to be a popular place and you often have to wait to tee off if you go in the later afternoon. There are a lot of tree obstacles and they can begin to feel a little monotonous, especially on the back 9. There are apartments on the back part of the course and you should expect to have to wait as residents walk right through the hole. This happens at least once whenever I go, but it's not that bad--they are pretty oblivious though. Sometimes tee ball games will be going on at hole one and there can be some sketch moments if you fade left with your disk. The mosquitoes LOVE this park :-)
Other Thoughts: There is a guy that sells discs and food near hole one. He's there practically every day for most of the day. Disc prices are reasonable, food prices are not. The course has grown over a bit since the hole-by-hole pictures were posted. I'm trying to upload updated ones.

A score of 2-4 over par can be considered a good day on this course. If you have been playing for awhile, you should be able to knock out a few birdies, as well.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Is this Heaven?

1    5/14/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is the Gem of Northwest!
Lots of oppurtunity for big arms
who are going to have to work on thier up game!
Nice layout find a map or a local!
Did I mention trees?
Lots of trees...narrow fairways!
Cons: Did I mention the trees?
Other Thoughts: Nicest course I've ever sat foot on....
Heaven for disc golfers....
Disc vendor by hole 1

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.