Disc Golf Center
Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: didy22 Hole #18 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 456ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 83
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

2-4    8/14/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: stingraysteve
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is on a beautiful park that is mostly wooded, but has some holes in the meadow. Holes 1 - 6 are my favorite, they have great scenery, and a challenging yet fun layout. It's hard to loose a disc here because there isn't much underbrush.
Cons: You need a course map because the tees are poorly marked and you can get lost looking for the next tee. The course needs those signs at each tee that says what number it is and how many feet to the basket with a little diagram of the flight path.
Other Thoughts: You can play this course on a really hot, sunny day because its mostly shaded to keep you cool.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great course for a quick game

5+    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: GeoWolf
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course when I don't have enough time to get to any of the other great courses in the Portland area. The course is great in it's own right, and there are very challenging holes that IMO make me a better disc golfer. Every time I play this course I find new routes on some of the holes and types of throws to make.

New tee signs look great! Great job to everyone at stumptown and next adventure that worked on the course this summer!!
Cons: Can get kinda crowded sometimes. Just jump around on some of the holes in the middle of the course to pass up some of those 8-12+ people groups.
Other Thoughts: Hole six is one my favorite holes of all time. There is nothing better than letting a drive rip and watching the disc's flight down the hill towards the basket. Not a "top of the world" hole, but a great downhill shot for sure.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course.

1    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Ryman90
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun, amazing course, and challenging in a good way. Seems to be well maintained, when I was there there was a large group of volunteers helping out. Disc golfers there seem to be friendly.
Cons: My hometown course just wont be the same, and I'm 5 hours away from PP. I already feel the itch to go back.

A good hike to the bathrooms if you are deep in the course.

Signs could have been a bit clearer.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play this course decently well with 3 months of experience.

Perhaps I was just lucky but there were no crowds when I was there around 3 on a Saturday.

Bring water, it's quite the course. Especially during Summer.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent fun, but bring a map!

2-4    7/25/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: jnicola
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes!
Challenging.
Wide variety of features.
Dog friendly (thus far).
Shady!
Fairly tough to lose discs!
Cons: It's easy to miss different baskets.
Hole 17 and 18 are not well maintained.
Other Thoughts: Bring a map!
Pack water!
Plan on spending at least two hours!
Prepare to hit a lot of trees!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Best I've Been To.

1    6/30/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: lokirising
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's a huge park with lots of different types of holes to test your different throws.
The scenery is beautiful and well kept.
The abundance of huge trees provide great shade in the summer and cut down on the wind.
Cons: There are a lot of trees which can be maddening sometimes.
A beginner may be a little intimidated by this course with long holes and a few blind ones too.
It's in a bad part of town. Stay out of there at night. I was shot at while hanging out there one night. No joke!
One can easily get lost trying to find some of the holes, and only some of the tee pads have numbers on them.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it's an awesome course! I've yet to meet any unfriendly players there.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pier Park is the best.

5+    6/14/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: himynameismatt
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **Updated 10/14/10

Great versatility with many different types of shots, uphill, downhill, tunnel, left, right. More I can't even think of, you get to be really creative with your shots here.

Not many short holes, I like that 75% of the holes require you to actually throw a driver, as opposed to Leverich and Glenwood in Vancouver that have many holes reachable with a mid or putter.

Super challenging and competitive course.

Impossible to lose a disc here.

Looong Tee pads that remain pretty uniform throughout the course.

Well maintained baskets as well as a practice basket before the first tee.

This Park is absolutely beautiful. The tall evergreens provide cool shade in the summer, and protect from the rain in the winter.

New signs from Stumptown DG and Deek and Bryan's. Not only do the signs feature footage and major obstacles but location of the alternate pin and it's footage as well. These signs are great.

This course is everything Pacific Northwest Disc Golf is all about. A rose of the Rose City.
Cons: Not for beginners, some intermediate players might find it challenging as well.

Gets really crowded on nice days and weekends, but don't let that turn you away, you should enjoy every second you get to spend on this course.

Minimal to moderate non-Frolfer traffic, but they keep to the various paths that twist throughout the park.
Other Thoughts: This is the best Disc Golf course in the Portland Metro Area, I'd even go as far to call it possibly one of the top-5 courses in the entire Northwest.

If your a hardcore Frolfer hit this place up immediately, if you're just getting into the game or you've been playing the shorter courses of the area and want to gauge your game come here.

Enough good things cannot be said about the layout and design of this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/2/2009   5/23/2010
Review By: nonono
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the trees make it hard but its fun still also. good tee pads and baskets and a couple of benches when its hilly. good mix of different shots for you to try and master
Cons: its hard to find your ways around with no tee signs so you have to play with people who know the course or you have to ask someone. can get frustrating
Other Thoughts: this is a great course to play and learn lots of shots and have fun

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A PDX Classic....

5+    12/14/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *The trees. Just take my work for it, the trees are phenomenal....
*Great design. Rights, lefts, low ceiling, high ceiling, open, tight.... every type of shot required.
*Good Flow
*Challenging, yet manageable.
*Good use of minor elevation changes...
*Did I mention the trees????
Cons: *No tee signs or hole maps
*Some of the tees/pins can be difficult to locate, 6 to 7 and 13 to 14 to 15 come to mind, so if its your first time, bring a map or join up with a local.
*It can be crowded, but all of the people I've run into have been way cool.
*The park is kind of a pain to find, and its a ways out there, so get good directions, and stick to them.
*The park isn't in the best of neighborhoods, I've never had any problems, but I wouldn't be surprised to hear otherwise...
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. The course starts out with two semi-open holes, at least by Pier's standards. Hole three is where you enter the trees. For the rest of the course, you play through, or along the edges of a huge stand of MASSIVE fir trees. The cool thing, even though the trees make you feel you're in the forest, the underbrush is nonexistent, so losing a disc isn't a huge risk.

Even though there's no HUGE elevation changes, the course incorporates a fair amount of undulation, both in the fairways and on the greens...

Again, if its your first time, make sure you get solid directions to the park, and a map of the course, but if you've never been, and you have an afternoon to kill in Portland, check this course out.

There's just something special about this place, once you get into the trees, its easy to forget you're in a city park.



6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Peerless Pier

5+    12/27/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: Big Papa
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Location. Scenery. Salmon berries in the summer. Variety for righties and lefties. Close to home. Easy access. I've played this course about 100 times, never tire of it. Plenty of parking. The drive over St. Johns bridge is always a pleasure, coming and going. Friendly folks for the most part. I'm blessed to live near such an amenity. Great tees, the baskets are in very good shape. Little trash here and there, mostly a clean scene. Long drives, interesting technical challenges. I've only lost one disc in 100+ trips. The story here is trees. Little underbrush, you won't lose many discs here. If you're a Portlander, you know about our local gem. If you're visiting, you can't miss this one. Close to hotels or motels and good cheap eats, like the Mexi place on Lombard that shares the same bldg as the grocery. I thought DeLa Veaga was the bomb diggity....come on down and do Pier. Couple of plusses: Even when it's rainy and windy in P-town, for some reason the weather is better at Pier----less rain and wind I've discovered. Also, cooler on hot days.
Cons: Crowds!!! However, get there before 9:00 a.m and you'll have a leisurely time. The tokers and topers haven't got an idea yet at that time, so just go a little early and you'll be fine. Otherwise, it can be a time to try your patience. Pier is all about trees, lots o'trees; control those drives. I would say the course is basically intuitive to follow; there are a couple of tees that may be tough to find. I think there's a map of Pier somewhere...print it up if it's your first time. There is only one bathroom at the first tee----. Take some skeeter-fighter in summer, just in case---we got eaten up a couple of times.
Other Thoughts: I'll throw Pier 75% of the time. If you need a change, try Leverich in Vantuckey, close by off I-5. Or, a little further south, Timber in Estacada. Or Dabney in Troutdale. For a special treat, try North Bonneville across the Columbia River. But, Pier pretty much has it all. Once it started snowing there, and it was one of those times when the snow coming through the big firs, the whole scene could have been staged in a movie. GIve it up for the volunteers who helped get Pier in gear and keep it there.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I Work hard and Play Harder!

5+    12/7/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
17 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is in its own little world , with the towering green giants with their dark brown bark with the darkgreen foliage in the background. It can be serene. I appreciated the large concrete tees,the large area where the practice basket is and the baseball fields to practice your drives. The wide paths are appreciated through out the park since joggers and dog walkers frequent the park which brings me to the great design of Pier Park. There isn't any holes that require you to WAIT for others to get out of the way. The layout challenges all shots in the bag too.
Starting with a roller on Hole #1 & #2
( its the only part of the course that has "lawn" take advantage of it.
Hole #5 is a elevation shot up to a blinded basket.
Hole #6 - Your mouth waters as you look down at drive in elevation.
Hole #13 - Will test your over-hand.
Holes #14 & 15 - Screams "down the middle" as the basket stares at you if you have a straight drive.
Hole #18 - A wide-open drive
The scenery is WoW! tall trees
Cons: Can get crowded during afternoons and weekends.
Other Thoughts: I came up to Portland for work and discovered Pier Park. I played here 6-9 times a week for two months I've been spoiled. I was there during the hours of 6am-noon weekdays, very nice and quite its a whole different atmosphere,INCREDIBLE!

UPDATE: New tee signs and some underbrush has been removed...overall Pier Park looks at its finest. Tee signs improved my rating!

17 of 20 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.