Disc Golf Store
Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 321ft.   3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 83
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  pier park

1    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: discdogs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lovely wooded course within the city.Long and technical with nice elevation.Friendly golfers who are glad to show you course.Proshop and grill on hole one(im the vendor)
Cons: could use more signage,can get busy peak times on weekends
Other Thoughts: If you are in the portland area this course is a must visit.proshop open 12 to 6 seven days.And at 2.50 for a quesadilla and 3.50 for a huge locally made sausage with sauteed onions and garlic i believe prices are good across the board!Come check our course out

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 my first course

5+    6/26/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: bigcarpo
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very nicely wooded city park setting. Holes are a great mix of trees and elevation. You can even use public transit to get there.
Cons: Can get over crowded on weekends. Not an easy course for beginners. During the winter Park staff removed holes for vegetation restoration so it becomes a 12 hole course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good way to spend the afternoon

5+    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: didy22
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Expect elevation changes and challenging obstacles. There are both right and left dogleg courses, as well as some dead straight ones. Expect to throw some uphill shots as well as some downhill ones. Hardly anyone there in the mornings, you can feel like you have the park to yourself. Nice cement pads and respectable players.
Cons: Tends to be a popular place and you often have to wait to tee off if you go in the later afternoon. There are a lot of tree obstacles and they can begin to feel a little monotonous, especially on the back 9. There are apartments on the back part of the course and you should expect to have to wait as residents walk right through the hole. This happens at least once whenever I go, but it's not that bad--they are pretty oblivious though. Sometimes tee ball games will be going on at hole one and there can be some sketch moments if you fade left with your disk. The mosquitoes LOVE this park :-)
Other Thoughts: There is a guy that sells discs and food near hole one. He's there practically every day for most of the day. Disc prices are reasonable, food prices are not. The course has grown over a bit since the hole-by-hole pictures were posted. I'm trying to upload updated ones.

A score of 2-4 over par can be considered a good day on this course. If you have been playing for awhile, you should be able to knock out a few birdies, as well.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love at first sight!!!

5+    6/18/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: justint97
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well kept.
Beautiful setting.
Great Flow
Plenty of Distance but no too much to scare off novices.(which i was when i played)
Challenging. (How else are you going to get better?)
Sausage Guy bye hole 1 that also happens to sell discs.(I highly recomend the cajun w/ sauteed onions)

Bathrooms and water
Cons: If it's your first time, i suggest printing the map on this site or find a local to guide you.
Other Thoughts: I've only been playing 7 months but am addicted and fortunate enough to get to travel with work and play many courses all over the country. Pier is still in my top 3 after playing over 35 courses. It is a must play. I cant wait to go back.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/7/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
8 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Probably one of the best courses in the state and maybe the nation, Pier park is a beautiful course with everything you would want in a disc golfing experience. My first impressions were good as there was someone selling discs and hot dogs on hole number one, not sure if this is a regular deal but that was fantastic, he also had bug spray! Good amount of length to this course but don't let that fool you, this is an extremely technical course with many trees, doglegs, elevation, and tight fairways. The 200 foot trees are amazing and there are a lot of them. No underbrush which is rare in a northwest course.

*****UPDATE*****

New tee signs went in provided by The Stumptown Disc Golf Club.
Cons: Biggest con would signage or lack thereof; it is incredibly difficult to find your way around if you do not have a map or a guide.
Other Thoughts: The other reviewers speak of crowds and navigation problems, I'm not sure you can have both, if there are a lot of people then you can follow the next group or ask one of the many locals. I drove from Everett, WA to meet a buddy who is working down there, it took me three and half hours each way but it was totally worth it.

8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect

1    6/5/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: RedSoxRob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great holes, good distance and good number of obstacles.
Cons: Like previous posts, you NEED THE MAP. Even with the map its a little tricky - but it at least helps.
Other Thoughts: Can be some traffic going into this part of Portland. There's only one road that gets up the course and it can get crowded.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not Impressed

1    5/30/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: RallySoob
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great baskets, open areas, very clean, mowed. Elevation shots are fun. beautiful scenery. Theres a private disc/accesorie vendor out there most of the time selling bins of discs at good prices.
Cons: My only one complaint is that there are no signs at each hole desribing the layout and basket location of each hole. especially when you get back into the wooded area it gets really confusing. we had to ask for help to the next hole a couple times because we would go the wrong way to the next hole. Someone needs to spend some $ on some signs to make this already fantastic course a perfect course....
Other Thoughts: I wonder if we could setup a Golf Disc fundraiser to fund the project of gettting each hole on this course a hole description sign?

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The amount of trees were used well to require players to carefully choose how and where they are going to throw.

- Also, the trees provided a lot of shade which is really nice during these hot Spring/Summer days.

- The hole lengths were great, not to long (so they're good for beginners) but not so short to the point where advanced players have no fun.

- Doesn't give an advantage to right handers or left handers. I like this because it requires me to work on my forearm and my anhyzer shots.
Cons: - Some added signage could add a lot to this course. I was lucky enough to play the course with someone who had played it before but I can imagine I would've got lost a couple times if I didn't.

- Along with the signage, some of the baskets are not visable from the tee so a map at the holes would be good too.
Other Thoughts: A great course with a lot of holes that require a lot of different shots: long hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots through trees, low, high. It really is a great course for any type of player, whether it's a RHFH, a RHBH, a LHBH, or a LHFH.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Is this Heaven?

1    5/14/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is the Gem of Northwest!
Lots of oppurtunity for big arms
who are going to have to work on thier up game!
Nice layout find a map or a local!
Did I mention trees?
Lots of trees...narrow fairways!
Cons: Did I mention the trees?
Other Thoughts: Nicest course I've ever sat foot on....
Heaven for disc golfers....
Disc vendor by hole 1

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 So close to the ultimate.

1    4/6/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As I played I kept thinking that this must be disc golf heaven... It wasn't, but darn close. There are a varietey of hole designs. Hilly holes, flat holes, long holes and short holes. It is set in a beautiful Portland park and has giant trees on every hole. All the pros had a 5 sealed, but a few non-disc golf related items made it lose that .5 it needed.
Cons: On arrival we had to wait for the first tee which may not be a con but unusual to me. There continued to be a person or more on every tee of the course at 1:00 on a Monday. It is a busy course. To my knowledge there were no bathrooms. We saw what looked like a drug deal, actually it happened on the fairway on 16 and they would not move there business else where so we had to skip that hole. Nothing against drugs just don't block my drive. The holes were almost challenging to navigate, but busy enough you should not have a problem.
Other Thoughts: With some signs or maps and a bathroom this could be a 5 out of 5! Another Oregon gem!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.