Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #16 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 324ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 83
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 beautiful course

2-4    7/18/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: templink
Played: 58  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course set in a forest of trees that tower over you. On my 3-day trip to Oregon I played Pier Park by chance (because it was closest to downtown), and returned to play it two more times before leaving I liked it so much. Good mix of left turn, right turn, and tunnel shots. Almost no underbrush, so losing a disc is next to impossible. Good signs show pin positions with diagrams. Some hills to shoot up and down. Disc lost & found / recycling bin at hole #1. Sausage Guy sells sausages and Innova discs on weekends at park entrance. Permanent bathroom (not a port-a-potty).
Cons: Not much to complain about here. No water in play. Dog walkers. cyclists. There could be more open bomb shots.
Other Thoughts: All baskets were in the "B" (far) position when I played this course. Had they been in the "A" positions, it would look more like an Ace Race course, or have a lot of birdies.
Overall, this course was super fun. I loved being in the trees and playing this technical course. It's a must play for anyone in Portland. I liked it way more than McIver Riverbend.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Public Course

1    7/14/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Free
-Trash cans almost every other hole or more.
-beautiful setting in a park that makes you feel like you aren't anywhere near the city.
-Good mix of required shots. I think I used every shot I know for this course.
-Good baskets for catching the disc (not so much for visibility).
-Concrete tee pads, pretty good lenght as well (get a little slippery and muddy when it's wet).
-Some good elevation changes.
Cons: The map from this site sucks. The course signs are not too helpfull for placement either as they don't have actually dictation of object that are on the course (like if there is a big bush in the middle of the fairway in front of the basket, it wasn't on the sign).
The layout is a little scrambled, as a first time player I was very lost right of the bat... got some help at hole 2, then he had to go and I made do with a little serching about hole 11, luckily I met another disc golfer who helped me find my way the rest of the time.
Baskets are a little hard to see. The whole course is mostly under large trees and is therefore in the shadows, there are not really any bright marking on the baskets to see from a distance.
Even with all the trash cans, there was a lot of trash on this course... didn't make any sense.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course, it was very nice to play the long and short, left and right mixtures of holes.
The trees were so big that they seemed to make the basket look further than it was, but at the same time they were far enough apart that they are able to be avioded, but not easily all the time.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

2-4    7/7/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An amazing experience to play this course. One can't help but feel like he is playing in the middle of a National Forest. Immense trees cover the course and make for outstanding obstacles throught the course. These trees also make for a shady and consistent throwing environment. The holes have been well thought out and the tee signs are helpful. With such massive trees, minimal underbrush means you won't spend much time searching for discs.
Cons: Seems to have been in a rough part of town.
Other Thoughts: Only wish I had had more time to play the course 5 more times!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Your city doesn't have a park like this.

5+    7/3/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 112  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you go to your neighborhood park, you'll probably find some grass, some picnic tables, and maybe a rusted jungle gym. If you're lucky, there might be some mature trees to provide some shade. You probably don't go there often. So you may be in for a surprise when you enter Pier Park. Giant Douglas firs tower over the landscape and make for much more interesting obstacles than the trees you're probably used to. There are national parks less interesting than Pier Park.

After two decent holes out in the open, the course enters the heart of the park. There is some elevation here, and the course makes pretty good use of it. On hole #4 there is no elevation change but you are throwing around a couple mounds that poke into the fairway. On #5 you're throwing over a sizeable ridge to a hole on a hillside. And #6 might be the signature hill, a downhill drive to a hole just inside the tree line.

There are some pine trees and normal leafy trees dotting the course, but the Douglas firs play differently. There are virtually no branches that you could hit, no ticky tack leaf deflections. Many holes really don't punish you if you throw too high, which can be kind of fun.

The new tee signs are very good, showing pins positions and distances. This helps navigation, which used to be tougher and now is okay. At least you can see where the next tee sign is. The tees are concrete.

There is very little undergrowth here. It would be tough to lose a disc here.
Cons: The proximity to Portland can make this course pretty busy (which isn't altogether bad; I'm told the neighborhood is safer with the disc golf traffic that the park has attracted). We went in the evening before sunset, and it wasn't bad.

I'd like to see more baskets situated on slopes. Other than #5, I don't remember a lot of baskets with dangerous putts. In a lot of ways this course makes your drive very interesting but your approach and putt more mundane. That's a little nit picky, though. You won't be bored during this round.
Other Thoughts: It's difficult to describe (without sounding corny) the sense of awe you get playing here. It even smells nice. This is a really fun place to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 AHH Pier Park..

2-4    9/25/2009   7/5/2011
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course. Great layout with great flow even when busy. Killer canopy of trees to play beneath when the rain comes. Only got a little wet on hole 1. Mixed throws with choices. Clean and well maintained. Severals holes to open up on with several requiring skill and precision. I'll never pass this one up when I'm in the area...
Cons: Only two that I can think of. Parking can be tough when it's busy. Also, it is a busy course with it's location and the lack of other courses nearby. I'm sure the popularity plays a BIG factor as well.
Other Thoughts: Don't EVEN think about skipping this one if your in the area. If you do, you'll regret it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A championship level course

1    6/25/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful, championship-length course. It is easy to navigate, almost completely shaded, with little undergrowth to lose discs in. The pads, baskets, and signs are all in great shape. It is nearly impossible for a non-open caliber player to shoot under par on due to its length.

Someone was near tee 1 selling discs for reasonable prices on the Saturday afternoon I stopped by. It was busy, but not insane. Everyone I met was pretty friendly.

The best part about this park is it is huge. The designers took advantage of this to make every hole pretty epic. There are no filler holes here. That said, you occasionally have to walk a bit between holes, especially from 18 back to the parking lot.

The locals tell me there will soon be 12 more holes added into the park next door and the two parks will be connected by a bridge. That would make for a sweet 30 hole golf tournament.
Cons: Not a lot of variation on hole length. Nearly every hole is 350-450. The "birdie holes" are 300 feet long and there aren't many.

There was also a strange phenomenon of a pile of beer cans and gatorade bottles next to every tee. There were no trash cans, but every one went to the trouble to put the cans in one big pile. There weren't any between tee pads, but every tee pad had a pile. It was like they were waiting for some homeless guy who comes by every afternoon to pick them up and recycle them or something. I cannot believe how much effort has gone into this course to not have a few trash cans on it.

Other Thoughts: I wouldn't miss this course if you pass within 100 miles of it. It is better than the best course in dozens of states. Add in trash cans and a little more variety in hole length and it would get the illusive perfect 5.

P.S. I only made it to first base on hole 19. Home plate would be an impressive drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Perfectly Pleasant Pier Park

5+    12/23/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: bbails
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Few cities can boast of having a serious dg course within city limits. Pier Park's proximity to civilization has not resulted in short gimmicky holes. Nor has the design been left to amateurs.
Many challenging holes offer problems for lefties and righties alike. There are good tee signs and tee pads. And though an occasional jogger or dog walker interlopes, they usually seem aware of the flying plastic.

Winter and mornings aren't crowded. Local players range from the homeless bottle collectors (yes they were playing) to former world champions. Everyone I've run into (in my four or five times here) was pleasant.

Most of the challenges of this course involve finding a route around a gigantic early tree(s). But what great trees they are!
Cons: Most of the hole lengths are similar (many around 320, or downhill but playing 320) and quite a few of the holes present the same problems. (3 and 4 for example. Or 17 and 18.)

There isn't really that much elevation/gain or loss despite what previous reviewers say. (visit Horning's Hideout, Stafford Lake, Lake Casitas, or Dela for a taste of elevation gain/loss). That said, the holes that involved elevation were fun.

All of the greens/basket areas are pretty easy. There's never really a price to pay for blowing by a basket. And there's never that one little annoying branch to alter your otherwise easy putt. (some may view this as a pro, i prefer the challenge.)

Other Thoughts: -Easy Parking

-good warmup/practice area

- donation box

- barely good enough bathroom.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 TIMBERRIFFIC!!!

5+    10/24/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: Tolan
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Bring your A-Game! Good elevation changes, nice and long. IN THE TIMBER!!! Pick your alley and FLING IT! Threadin' needles and stuff. It's usually pretty good for not stacking up, but on those nice friday afternoons in the summer, it can. The fountain in the back (off hole 9 or 10, I think) is a friggin lifesaver on those summer afternoons, isn't it, Drew? Repeat after me: "I AM A LUMBERJACK!!!"
Cons: None, if you complain about the trees, they will kill you. Ask Marky Mark.
Other Thoughts: Play the "19th". At least see how far you can throw your discs. Make sure you aren't throwing over the top of the golfers approaching hole 2. See if you can hit home plate...I've seen it done. Probably 450 feet on the fly...ridiculous..? The thermals you get off the soccer field in the summer are, ridiculous.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

1    11/6/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: Tiets1
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 30.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed; Nice Elevation on many holes; Good mix of short and long holes; Beautiful new signage (Thankyou Next Adventure!); Good community of Disc Golfers; Gorgeous Old Growth Doug Firs on every Hole; A nice mix of Sequoia and large Shade Trees- this course really puts you in touch with the PNW beauty. All Par Threes, but good opportunity for skill Dueces; nothing is luck at Pier so bring your "A" game- not a course for beginners.
Cons: Not many. The course can get crowded; this is a park so you will encounter children, walkers, joggers, etc- but rarely do they cause delay to play
Other Thoughts: I play this course every Saturday at first light with my fellow Discmen- and each and every Saturday, the weather and light change the apperance of the course, it is an amazing serene place. Please be a steward for the park and pack out anything you bring in, and even trash, bottles, etc that others leave behind- enjoy!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Epitome of Oregon

1    9/8/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 152  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A picturesque course located in a park with 200ft Douglass trees. When you think of a course in Oregon, this course is what you would think of. This beautifully maintained course has a great mix of holes in length. You will need to bring all your shots out of the bag, because this course requires a little of everything when it comes to shots required. Overall this course is more technical than open with the thick trees throughout the course. Although there isn't much of an elevation change, the course allows for 80% of the holes to be challenging and really fun.
Newer baskets, concrete tee pads, and great tee signs makes for another great experience navigating the course. The park is very clean and well-maintained so make sure to keep your trash and dispose of it at the front of the park. At the front of the park there are also restrooms and running water with plenty of street parking.
Cons: It's really hard to put in too many cons for this course, but then again there's always something that can be improved on. There really isn't any elevation changes, which I think really can add to a difficulty of a course. Most of the holes were more technical, and the few that were open were very bland. Make sure to watch out for bikers.
Other Thoughts: The overall challenge of this course was about a 3.75/5. This is a must play course if you are in Portland or the area in general. I had the most fun on this course than I did at Milo or Hornets, not saying it is better but I had more fun. The locals were very friendly and fun to shoot with. A great course to really take in the feel of Oregon and the beauty of the outdoors.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.