Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #18 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 456ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee: Basket in cavelike opening in far distant trees.



Reviews: 78
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A championship level course

1    6/25/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful, championship-length course. It is easy to navigate, almost completely shaded, with little undergrowth to lose discs in. The pads, baskets, and signs are all in great shape. It is nearly impossible for a non-open caliber player to shoot under par on due to its length.

Someone was near tee 1 selling discs for reasonable prices on the Saturday afternoon I stopped by. It was busy, but not insane. Everyone I met was pretty friendly.

The best part about this park is it is huge. The designers took advantage of this to make every hole pretty epic. There are no filler holes here. That said, you occasionally have to walk a bit between holes, especially from 18 back to the parking lot.

The locals tell me there will soon be 12 more holes added into the park next door and the two parks will be connected by a bridge. That would make for a sweet 30 hole golf tournament.
Cons: Not a lot of variation on hole length. Nearly every hole is 350-450. The "birdie holes" are 300 feet long and there aren't many.

There was also a strange phenomenon of a pile of beer cans and gatorade bottles next to every tee. There were no trash cans, but every one went to the trouble to put the cans in one big pile. There weren't any between tee pads, but every tee pad had a pile. It was like they were waiting for some homeless guy who comes by every afternoon to pick them up and recycle them or something. I cannot believe how much effort has gone into this course to not have a few trash cans on it.

Other Thoughts: I wouldn't miss this course if you pass within 100 miles of it. It is better than the best course in dozens of states. Add in trash cans and a little more variety in hole length and it would get the illusive perfect 5.

P.S. I only made it to first base on hole 19. Home plate would be an impressive drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Perfectly Pleasant Pier Park

5+    12/23/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: bbails
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Few cities can boast of having a serious dg course within city limits. Pier Park's proximity to civilization has not resulted in short gimmicky holes. Nor has the design been left to amateurs.
Many challenging holes offer problems for lefties and righties alike. There are good tee signs and tee pads. And though an occasional jogger or dog walker interlopes, they usually seem aware of the flying plastic.

Winter and mornings aren't crowded. Local players range from the homeless bottle collectors (yes they were playing) to former world champions. Everyone I've run into (in my four or five times here) was pleasant.

Most of the challenges of this course involve finding a route around a gigantic early tree(s). But what great trees they are!
Cons: Most of the hole lengths are similar (many around 320, or downhill but playing 320) and quite a few of the holes present the same problems. (3 and 4 for example. Or 17 and 18.)

There isn't really that much elevation/gain or loss despite what previous reviewers say. (visit Horning's Hideout, Stafford Lake, Lake Casitas, or Dela for a taste of elevation gain/loss). That said, the holes that involved elevation were fun.

All of the greens/basket areas are pretty easy. There's never really a price to pay for blowing by a basket. And there's never that one little annoying branch to alter your otherwise easy putt. (some may view this as a pro, i prefer the challenge.)

Other Thoughts: -Easy Parking

-good warmup/practice area

- donation box

- barely good enough bathroom.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 TIMBERRIFFIC!!!

5+    10/24/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: Tolan
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Bring your A-Game! Good elevation changes, nice and long. IN THE TIMBER!!! Pick your alley and FLING IT! Threadin' needles and stuff. It's usually pretty good for not stacking up, but on those nice friday afternoons in the summer, it can. The fountain in the back (off hole 9 or 10, I think) is a friggin lifesaver on those summer afternoons, isn't it, Drew? Repeat after me: "I AM A LUMBERJACK!!!"
Cons: None, if you complain about the trees, they will kill you. Ask Marky Mark.
Other Thoughts: Play the "19th". At least see how far you can throw your discs. Make sure you aren't throwing over the top of the golfers approaching hole 2. See if you can hit home plate...I've seen it done. Probably 450 feet on the fly...ridiculous..? The thermals you get off the soccer field in the summer are, ridiculous.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

1    11/6/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: Tiets1
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 30.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed; Nice Elevation on many holes; Good mix of short and long holes; Beautiful new signage (Thankyou Next Adventure!); Good community of Disc Golfers; Gorgeous Old Growth Doug Firs on every Hole; A nice mix of Sequoia and large Shade Trees- this course really puts you in touch with the PNW beauty. All Par Threes, but good opportunity for skill Dueces; nothing is luck at Pier so bring your "A" game- not a course for beginners.
Cons: Not many. The course can get crowded; this is a park so you will encounter children, walkers, joggers, etc- but rarely do they cause delay to play
Other Thoughts: I play this course every Saturday at first light with my fellow Discmen- and each and every Saturday, the weather and light change the apperance of the course, it is an amazing serene place. Please be a steward for the park and pack out anything you bring in, and even trash, bottles, etc that others leave behind- enjoy!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Epitome of Oregon

1    9/8/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 151  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A picturesque course located in a park with 200ft Douglass trees. When you think of a course in Oregon, this course is what you would think of. This beautifully maintained course has a great mix of holes in length. You will need to bring all your shots out of the bag, because this course requires a little of everything when it comes to shots required. Overall this course is more technical than open with the thick trees throughout the course. Although there isn't much of an elevation change, the course allows for 80% of the holes to be challenging and really fun.
Newer baskets, concrete tee pads, and great tee signs makes for another great experience navigating the course. The park is very clean and well-maintained so make sure to keep your trash and dispose of it at the front of the park. At the front of the park there are also restrooms and running water with plenty of street parking.
Cons: It's really hard to put in too many cons for this course, but then again there's always something that can be improved on. There really isn't any elevation changes, which I think really can add to a difficulty of a course. Most of the holes were more technical, and the few that were open were very bland. Make sure to watch out for bikers.
Other Thoughts: The overall challenge of this course was about a 3.75/5. This is a must play course if you are in Portland or the area in general. I had the most fun on this course than I did at Milo or Hornets, not saying it is better but I had more fun. The locals were very friendly and fun to shoot with. A great course to really take in the feel of Oregon and the beauty of the outdoors.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    8/14/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: stingraysteve
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is on a beautiful park that is mostly wooded, but has some holes in the meadow. Holes 1 - 6 are my favorite, they have great scenery, and a challenging yet fun layout. It's hard to loose a disc here because there isn't much underbrush.
Cons: You need a course map because the tees are poorly marked and you can get lost looking for the next tee. The course needs those signs at each tee that says what number it is and how many feet to the basket with a little diagram of the flight path.
Other Thoughts: You can play this course on a really hot, sunny day because its mostly shaded to keep you cool.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great course for a quick game

5+    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: GeoWolf
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course when I don't have enough time to get to any of the other great courses in the Portland area. The course is great in it's own right, and there are very challenging holes that IMO make me a better disc golfer. Every time I play this course I find new routes on some of the holes and types of throws to make.

New tee signs look great! Great job to everyone at stumptown and next adventure that worked on the course this summer!!
Cons: Can get kinda crowded sometimes. Just jump around on some of the holes in the middle of the course to pass up some of those 8-12+ people groups.
Other Thoughts: Hole six is one my favorite holes of all time. There is nothing better than letting a drive rip and watching the disc's flight down the hill towards the basket. Not a "top of the world" hole, but a great downhill shot for sure.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course.

1    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Ryman90
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun, amazing course, and challenging in a good way. Seems to be well maintained, when I was there there was a large group of volunteers helping out. Disc golfers there seem to be friendly.
Cons: My hometown course just wont be the same, and I'm 5 hours away from PP. I already feel the itch to go back.

A good hike to the bathrooms if you are deep in the course.

Signs could have been a bit clearer.
Other Thoughts: I was able to play this course decently well with 3 months of experience.

Perhaps I was just lucky but there were no crowds when I was there around 3 on a Saturday.

Bring water, it's quite the course. Especially during Summer.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent fun, but bring a map!

2-4    7/25/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: jnicola
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes!
Challenging.
Wide variety of features.
Dog friendly (thus far).
Shady!
Fairly tough to lose discs!
Cons: It's easy to miss different baskets.
Hole 17 and 18 are not well maintained.
Other Thoughts: Bring a map!
Pack water!
Plan on spending at least two hours!
Prepare to hit a lot of trees!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Best I've Been To.

1    6/30/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: lokirising
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's a huge park with lots of different types of holes to test your different throws.
The scenery is beautiful and well kept.
The abundance of huge trees provide great shade in the summer and cut down on the wind.
Cons: There are a lot of trees which can be maddening sometimes.
A beginner may be a little intimidated by this course with long holes and a few blind ones too.
It's in a bad part of town. Stay out of there at night. I was shot at while hanging out there one night. No joke!
One can easily get lost trying to find some of the holes, and only some of the tee pads have numbers on them.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it's an awesome course! I've yet to meet any unfriendly players there.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.