Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #13 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 334ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 83
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Portland, OR Pier Park

1    1/30/2009   2/1/2009
Review By: topdawgy58
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Nice cement tee pads. I really long course with Par 3. Lots of trees.
lots of Blind shots. Easy to find.
Cons: Long holes for a Par 3. Half the holes are closed until March. Really crowded. Long walks to the next hole. Need tee signs with picture of hole.

1 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 The Beauty of Portland

2-4    7/14/2008   1/25/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2011
27 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Where to begin...Pier Park DGC is located in a beautiful multi purpose park surrounded by 200 foot Douglas Firs. As you enter the course there is a skate park, soccer field, ball field, and warm up basket. Towards the inner part of the park a basketball court, fountain (where the kiddos play in the summer), restrooms, water fountain and tennis courts.

On the course Pier Park provides Mach 2 baskets which were in great shape, multiple pin placements, and tee pads that were a mix of concrete and fly pads that seemed to provide good footing (even though it was summer so it might differ in the winter/spring).

The general course design was exceptional, with great flow, defined fairways (which were a mix of very tight to fairly wide open), and plenty elevation changes which made it quite challenging at times. Foliage and maintenance was apparent, with no underbrush, and only a few areas towards the last two holes with brambles (but with accuracy, easily avoidable). Trees were trimmed accordingly, and appeared to be cut regularly. Along the way benches and trash bins were present and at the time were in good condition and emptied regularly.

Pier Park DGC was truely unique experience for many reasons, but the mix of tight technical and open bomb holes which catered to both left and right handed players and the scenic beauty sold me. This course had a variety of hole distances and required a lot of shots. Camping was easily accessible (Milo McIver in Estacada 20 minutes away for about $17/night).
Cons:
This course truely was one of the better courses I have ever played putting it easily in my top 20 thus far. However, during the rainy season I could see those fly pads being a bit slippery. Also, the walk back from hole 18 to hole 1 (parking lot) was a bit of a walk (but considering it was Pier Park, it was well worth it).
Other Thoughts:
In playing this course there were two holes that truely made this course epic. Hole #6 provided a wonderful elevation drop and a righty could throw the perfect hyzer which would head towards the pin which was heavily guarded. As the sun came through those massive Douglas Firs it was as if a halo was surrounding the basket. It was truely magical. Second was Hole #15 which was deffinately a hole which required pure skill (for the pros) or a whole lot of luck (for the rest of us) as you had to shoot about 250 feet straight down the fairway with pin point accuracy at the basket, between massive trees about 10-15 feet apart creating a long and tight tunnel. If you happened to hit a tree along the way and it spit off outside of the fairway, there was a good chance you might not make par. I felt it was by far the most difficult hole on the course with a high risk/reward.

Portland truely is an amazing place, with a great atmosphere, amazing food, and incredible disc golfers/courses. I recommend this course to anyone who passes through and if you can make a weekend of it I would also head east towards Milo McIver which is as good if not better depending on your game.

27 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    10/5/2008   1/11/2009
Review By: rkopald
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.8 Years
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Incredible variety of terrain. Just a really fun course to play. mostly very friendly regulars. Lots of tight holes, long holes, and tunnels. This course seems to reward accuracy. Wish I had some! I love Pier Park and don't play it nearly enough.
Cons: Gets very crowded. The usual sketchy types that seem to be on every course I play can ocassionally be stinking up this course too. Best played early.
Other Thoughts: I'm blathering a little bit, but I think this is a great course. It's probably a bit much for people just getitng into the sport, but if you're an intermediate or advanced player(which I am most definitely not), this is a course you'll keep thinking about.

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 I LOVE THIS COURSE and YOU SHOULD TOO!!!

2-4    9/17/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.6 Years
14 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolutely a fun course!!! It's a BEAUTIFUL COURSE!!! Lots of terrain ups… downs…hooks… you name it… inside heavily wooded holes. Friendly local players. Awesome scenery and an overall great work out… not only exercise wise, but in your ability to play the game too . Diverse length holes w/ concrete tee boxes and the baskets are in decent condition
Cons: Lots of black berry bushes, trees, blind throws if you are un familiar w/ the park. Crowded after 12:00 noon. Easy to loose a disc or get cut up by shrubbery. Some of the holes by the apartments have sketchy people and will try and bum smokes, beer, etc off of you. Lack of hole markers/maps which can make it hard to navigate your 1st time. Parking can be a pain if you get there in the afternoon as it can get crowded at different times of day.
Other Thoughts: There is a pretty cool skate park that is street and vert w/in walking distance of hole # 1 if you skate too… so it's a multi sport park area. They also have a practice basket located in the field between the skate park and hole #1. Portland park rangers are usually off duty until March… you can still get busted by Portland Police if you are a drinker as rules prohibit alcohol. The sound of Knocked trees… Stoke-ness… Boos… and a very often heard Fore!!!- MAKES YOU FEEL AT HOME … and a MUST PLAY in my opinion ;)

14 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Portland's Finest

5+    8/29/2010   6/14/2008
Review By: Discwog
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
5 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Cement Tee Pads
Good baskets
Good mix if shots required
Beautiful design
Great Scenery
*** NEW Tee Signs ***
Big Trees!
Cons: Course can be busy
Occasional trash
Hole three & four can be swampy
Other Thoughts: This is Portland's Finest disc golf course!

5 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Great Portland Course

5+    6/6/2008   6/6/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2009
21 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course all around, giant 200 foot trees everywhere makes for a majestic setting.
Tough course that can be fun for players of all levels up to 1000 rated pros.
Good hole variety, dog legs, some elevation, a blind shot or two.
New concrete tee pads are sweet and the hole numbers written on them help with navigation.
Baskets just got new chains and catch very well.
Weekly league on Wednesdays through the summer.
course gets harder throughout with the last 5 holes the hardest, good hole flow.
I've never lost a disc here, there really isn't any place to lose a disc.
Course doesn't rely on OB for a challenge, and OB really doesn't come into play.
New benches put it that are sweet.
Cons: No tee signs and it can be a bit hard to navigate.
Course will get crowded on weekends.
Some crime in the area.
Long walk out after 18.
Other Thoughts: Pier is simply a fantastic course, it's a top 5 in the state no question in my mind. The course was just thought out well, it flows and has many ways to test your game. Over the last few years the local disc golf community has put in a lot of great work on this course adding new chains on the baskets, new tee pads and benches which eliminate my major complaints on the course. Pier also hosts a fun B tier in June, the Rose City Open that's a lot of fun. If you live anywhere in the vicinity of Portland you need to check Pier out, if you're traveling to the metro area it's right up there with Milo Mciver as far as must play courses.

21 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

5/26/2008   5/30/2008
Review By: caravan2001
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.9 Years
7 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful, forested setting with huge trees
Challenging holes
Well Maintained
Constantly changing pin placements
Cons: can get crowded
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Portland area, if not anywhere. It's just a gorgeous place to play. A challenging course, and one that has to be seen to be believed. I love this place. So does everyone else though, and it tends to get really crowded, especially on summer nights around 6. Still, it usually moves pretty fast. This place is the best.

7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 First Time Experience

5/24/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful course!
Hundreds of Douglas Firs that are huge!
Very little underbrush so no real fear of losing any discs.
Great teepads.
Great variety of shots and many elevation changes.
The trees bring a challenge to anyone and everyone.
Decent baskets have extra chains.
A few benches throughout the park to take a break on.
Many things besides disc golf so bring the whole family!
Cons: No tee signs so unless you're playing with a local, you have to spot the basket and guess the distances yourself. Because of the elevation changes, some of the uphill walkout might make you exhuasted after a while.
The walk from 18 back to hole 1 is long.
Other Thoughts: This has got to be one of the best courses in the northwest! It is breathtakingly beautiful and great fun for the entire family. With decent tee signs, this course would easily be a 5. I would recommend playing with a local if it is your first time there but because there are so many people out there, it is easy to jump in with a few people that know the course. All I can think about is how much I want to go back and play again!

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Once Again - Portland Ranks #1

5+    2/16/2008   5/14/2008
Review By: jsalyers1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2010
5 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Wow! Amazing course. Bring a camera. 18 holes of play beneath a majestic pine and cedar canopy. Trees are everywhere... as you are indeed playing in a forest. A lot of elevation change - and a lot of narrow fairways. Not much space at times for error - but the punishment is not that bad as there is practically no underbrush to loose your disk in.
Cons: Course could use a little better signage... but it is busy enough you can just follow a group. The course does have a lot of walkers and runners... so be careful where you are throwing. Nice weekends = extremely busy!
Other Thoughts: This is worth a trip accross the country. If you are not from the PNW - come to this park and play - it is a very fine sampling of what the region has to offer. I updated this on 4/30/10 as I was tired of the negative reviews due to my previous short review.

5 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 -

1    3/4/2008   3/5/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2009
24 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
-Beauty, beauty, beauty.
-Huge Douglas Firs everywhere.
-Well defined fairways: If you throw a good drive, you're rewarded!
-Teepads in great shape.
-Great use of elevation.
-Great variety of shots necessary.
-Very fair for Righty or Lefty golfers.
-Lots of weekly events to participate in summer.
-Easy access from downtown or airport.
-NO UNDERBRUSH!!!!
-Beauty, again!
-200ft doug firs shelter from elements well.
-Friendly locals to play with.
-Taken care of well by local DGers.
Cons:
-Crowded at times.
-Occasional gang activity in nearby housing that leaks onto course at times.
-No tee signs
-Needs more benches.
-Lots of trash at times (it's a city park!).
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the most beautiful courses I've ever played. Walking around through an old growth forest is always a good thing, being able to play DG at the same time is even better. Sometimes you just have to stop and look around you and take it in.

There are shots at Pier that will humble just about anyone. Hole one is a picturesque shot alongside a hill that separates to fields and it's a beautiful start. Then by hole three you enter the forest. Almost all holes have well defined and functioning fairways for both lefty and righty. The course design is just great. Could be modified in couple spots, but you could say that about any course.

All-in-all, Pier is one of the most enjoyable places to play, purely for the aesthetic value fo the course, and the course itself is pretty awesome as well.

24 of 29 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.