Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: didy22 Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 336ft.   3 / 475ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Small dog-leg to the right behind the berm.



Reviews: 78
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Most PNW like

2-4    8/16/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: jksenior
Played: 117  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic with mature trees throughout.
We'll maintained (played during worlds)
Worlds signage was there so that was very good.
Very good incorporation of elevation with several downhill and uphill shots.
Huk Lab signs were present to show direction for blind shots. (Not sure if they are always there)
Good mix of of technical and open tee shots.
Cons: Biggest con is the repetitive nature of the holes. Most of the other players and myself found that we threw the same disc (or two) on the majority of the holes. I literally threw one of two discs on 14 of the 18 holes.
Most holes were generally straight, with a slight turn at the end.
There could be a shorter hole or two to mix in a putter or midrange.
Other than recovery shots, a mid-range was not necessary at all.
Greens were generally flat, but fast based on the dry conditions we played under.
It was quite dusty, also attributable to the dry conditions.
Navigation had a couple of non-intuitive routes: hole 6 to 7, hole 9 to 10, and hole 13 to 14.
Also, it's a real long walk back after 18.
Other Thoughts: After playing it the first time, I really liked Pier park, but after playing it three+ times I found it to be repetitive.
That said, it does give you the portland feel, and it was the only city course in the worlds rotation.
If traveling in portland I would still say its a must play, just for the PNW feel.
Also, it's right down the street from huk lab. Stop there before or after.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1st Rate Course in PDX

1    7/26/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: volklaero
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great new baskets with lime green/yellow metal for easy viability.

Creative holes, use of elevation, great use of trees for challenge, greens are well situated and thought out.

Signature Hallway hole through a long pass of trees with a narrow opening

No issues with parking even on a Saturday with softball games and other park activities

Well manicured and landscaped.

Concrete Tee Boxes
Cons: Sometimes next hole isn't immediately obvious - could use signage pointing to next tee.

1st two holes play around a softball field which was in use during our round
Other Thoughts: All in all, a great, challenging, fun course with elevation change, dense tree lined holes, state of the art baskets and the name to seal the deal. Play at will.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great course that shouldn't be missed.

5+    5/14/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: Fletcher
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
I started playing Pier Park about a year ago, and I've played regularly through all four season (about 2-5 times per week). The course is moderately long, and when busy will take a group of four about two hours to play. There is an open field and a warm up basket near the parking circle.

- The course is beautiful, and most of the holes are well situated with regard to the walking paths that crisscross the park. It's pretty rare to have random park goers cross into fairways, and on only a few occasions is there the threat that your disc will fly over a path.

- Variety between holes is fantastic with elevation change being an element on at least half of the holes. You'll have to use most or all of your shots to play well at Pier.

- The course signage is generally pretty good. Each hole has a sign showing the multiple pin position locations, and the distance for each.

- During the winter months the course layout changes to accommodate the additional rain and mud. Certain holes are taken out of play, and others brought into play. The course signage also changes to reflect the switch, which is nice.

- The course is used for multiple tournaments and league events throughout the year.
Cons:
- Walkouts between holes can be confusing for first time players, but there is a map at the hole 1 kiosk for those who need help. The biggest trouble seems to happen between holes 2 and 3, 6 and 7, 9 and 10, and 17 and 18 (summer layout).

- The city doesn't seem to maintain the course as well as it could be. The grass can get quite long at times, and it's not uncommon to find tree debris littering the course.

- Winter layout pin positions often turn into muddy messes that could be easily fixed by the city spreading out some wood chips. Holes 3 and 10 are most notable in this regard.

- Tee pads also get quite slick and muddy in the winter, and many have big puddles right beyond the end of the tee pad. Test your grip beforehand, and prepare to get your feet wet if you step past the edge.

- Garbage cans are present on the course, but are too few and far between. Often times people leave garbage under the benches near tee pads. Additional garbage cans are sorely needed.
Other Thoughts:
- There is a large dream catcher hanging high in the trees on hole 15 (summer layout). I looked for ages, but couldn't find it. A more experienced player eventually pointed it out to me. It's worth looking for if you have the time. It's waaay up there!

- If you're playing on weekdays after work it's often times best to get there around 6:00. There seems to be a rush at about 5:00-5:30 that really slows things down.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/19/2013   3/19/2014
Review By: thegeneral13
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: One of the most fun courses in the Portland area! Variety of hole lengths and shapes and elevations make this one a lot of fun to play more than once! Great scenery, park is well taken care of!
Cons: Can be busy, which is not a problem with the course just something to be aware of. Gets muddy in the spring/fall, again like any course in Pdx.
Other Thoughts: A must see if you are a PNW disc golfer!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/27/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: timbott
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a very scenic course inside the Portland city limits, although it is not 'close in'. Last week a pair of Bald Eagles flew through the course! Dogs are allowed on course (w/ leash) and many people bring them. Lots of garbage cans and open till midnight.
Scenic
Most 300+
Cons: It would be nice to have a four par mixed in somewhere, or perhaps a hazard. While the course is a blast to play, none of the holes are really 'memorable'.
Other Thoughts: Please pick up your garbage on this course. The signs and pads are not mini-dumps.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Top Notch

1    8/20/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: getchofil
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Giant trees in a densely populated cited. Trees that are easily 100ft. Good signage. Easy to find all holes with the exception of 7 and 10, but with the map it was not a problem. Challenging holes; some left, right, uphill, downhill, tunnels. While the rest of the town was mid 80's, almost the entire course is covered in shade making it mid to low 70's. Friendly locals.
Cons: The only thing that was kind of a con but not necessarily controllable was that there were quite a wait at 4:00 on a Tuesday afternoon, but that just shows that this is a top notch course.
Other Thoughts: Talks of expanding or another course on adjoining property sounds promising.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Tough on Beginners

5+    6/19/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: mrDROCK
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great challenge - Moving back to Portland in 2010 brought me 3 blocks away from Pier and thus started my journey into disc golf. Having you first and home course as Pier Park is quite a challenge to overcome. My drives have increased in distance, but the woods keep you humble.
Beautiful woods - you cannot deny it is nice to be walking around in the middle of a pine forest for an hour.
Uphill, downhill, dogleg left and right, Pier has some great variety. It even draws you in with nice straight lines to the basket, but those trees are just in play to mess you up.
Nice full size tee pads and great signage. It would be an improvement to get some kind of marker for knowing which placement the basket is in.
Cons: Graffiti and vandalism of signs and benches has been a problem.
Unfortunately I cannot get through one round without smelling someone on the course smoking pot.
Trash can pile up over the weekends thanks to people's empty beer cans/bottles.
Mosquitoes can be a pain during the warm summer.
Bathrooms are few and in serious need of repair and care. I wish Portland Parks & Recreation would put some love into the facilities.
Other Thoughts: Even though I don't have the "big arm" for driving the distance on this course, it has been great to learn here. My confidence is really boosted when I take my game to a "shorter" course and can drive the basket because of my experiences practicing at Pier.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great city park course

1    6/14/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in a city park. Very enjoyable and has all the city park amnenties such as trash cans and bathrooms. I really like the throw on #2 very possible ace hole with a great bender shot. Pads good, two pin placements and once you realize which one it makes it easy with your map. Enjoyed it!
Cons: On busy times I'm thinking parking would be in short supply. Need signs pointing the way from one basket to next tee pad. #12 basket to #13 tee pad was hard to find even with the picture on our cell. The group in front of us never played 13, 14...they went just like we did to 15 tee pad. Yes...the sign said 15 so we started looking. Not much of a con, huh. #18 tee pad was a little hard to find. Long walk without directions back to parking and you walk right along side of #1 fairway which causes players on hole #1 to hold up until you pass through.
Other Thoughts: Very popular course, best to play it weekdays in the morning. Take a picture of the course layout on your cell it will help you find of a couple of tees. Need to watch for runners and dog walkers, there are just as many of them as golfers and some paths are out of sight but in range!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Trash Covered Masterpiece

5+    4/7/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 56  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
-This course is really wonderful! it has a variety of shots required and the holes are designed very well.

-All though they are sometimes bent or vandalized Pier Park has good signage.

- The park is heavily wooded, providing shade, challenge and makes for a beautiful scenery.

- The elevation changes throughout the course provide both variety and challenge.

- Almost all of the holes have multiple pin locations.

- In an effort to avoid the muddiest areas of the park, an alternate course layout during winter is used, adding more variety, which is a nice change.


Cons:
- Their are far too few trash cans at this course, almost every hole that does not have a trash can has large amounts of trash piled in one area. It's mostly empty beer cans/bottles but it's also shoes and bags of dog doody.

- The park is usually heavily trafficked by runners, bikers, dog walkers, and other disc golfers. It's not so bad that it causes major problems but it can certainly be a distraction.

- As with most courses in the pacific northwest, this course can get pretty muddy when it's been raining. Make sure and wear shoes with good grip, and bring a few rags for wiping mud off your plastic.

- This course has almost no hazards (OB, Mandos, Water, etc.) - Not a big deal but there is not much risk/reward off the tee.
Other Thoughts: The best time to play at Pier would be early in the morning at about 7am, there will be other people playing but not nearly as many. Also the way the sun comes through trees at that time is truly beautiful.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't like trees? Tough

5+    3/30/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: Stephen.Sines
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - LH/BH Balanced
- True changes in elevation
- ALL HOLES are moderate to heavily wooded
- Hole distances range from 273' to 548' year round
- Playable lines are only limited by your imagination
- Seasons new plastic quickly
- Absolutely breathtaking
Cons: - The only 18 hole course within Portland, Or
- Typically crowded (day/night)
- Not the best casual play park

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.