Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: didy22 Hole #13 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 334ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: Slight dog-leg to the left, about 25 yards past the hill indicated.



Reviews: 80
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Trash Covered Masterpiece

5+    4/7/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
-This course is really wonderful! it has a variety of shots required and the holes are designed very well.

-All though they are sometimes bent or vandalized Pier Park has good signage.

- The park is heavily wooded, providing shade, challenge and makes for a beautiful scenery.

- The elevation changes throughout the course provide both variety and challenge.

- Almost all of the holes have multiple pin locations.

- In an effort to avoid the muddiest areas of the park, an alternate course layout during winter is used, adding more variety, which is a nice change.


Cons:
- Their are far too few trash cans at this course, almost every hole that does not have a trash can has large amounts of trash piled in one area. It's mostly empty beer cans/bottles but it's also shoes and bags of dog doody.

- The park is usually heavily trafficked by runners, bikers, dog walkers, and other disc golfers. It's not so bad that it causes major problems but it can certainly be a distraction.

- As with most courses in the pacific northwest, this course can get pretty muddy when it's been raining. Make sure and wear shoes with good grip, and bring a few rags for wiping mud off your plastic.

- This course has almost no hazards (OB, Mandos, Water, etc.) - Not a big deal but there is not much risk/reward off the tee.
Other Thoughts: The best time to play at Pier would be early in the morning at about 7am, there will be other people playing but not nearly as many. Also the way the sun comes through trees at that time is truly beautiful.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't like trees? Tough

5+    3/30/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: Stephen.Sines
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - LH/BH Balanced
- True changes in elevation
- ALL HOLES are moderate to heavily wooded
- Hole distances range from 273' to 548' year round
- Playable lines are only limited by your imagination
- Seasons new plastic quickly
- Absolutely breathtaking
Cons: - The only 18 hole course within Portland, Or
- Typically crowded (day/night)
- Not the best casual play park

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Quick Update

5+    3/10/2013   3/10/2013
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Other Thoughts: Just wanted to submit a bit of an update...
The winter layout has changed holes 3, 4, 5, and 18.
There is really good signage though to show the new layout.

Other than that what more to add? For a free course in a city park this is one of the absolute best courses anywhere.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Trees, trees, trees (and a little mud)

5+    2/8/2013   2/10/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played 2 times a day early morning rounds on a recent 3 day trip to portland.

-Lots of parking and easy to navigate to, located on northern end of town, went straight to the course from the airport and took me about 20 min to get there.

-Easy course navigation, very well made signs with all the info you could want. Played with no-one to show me the way and had no issues.

-Scenery, this park is pretty spectacular, a few of the locals I played a round with just shrugged but playing in and amongst the giant trees is pretty special.

-Shot/Hole Variety, there was pretty much a little of everything and I dont think the course favors either hand or fh/bh. Seemingly 3-5 lines on every hole depending on how much you want to flirt with trees. A few holes were definetly "Oh F*#k" moments for me and my noodly arm, #16 took me until the 5th round before I finally got a par.

-#8/#18- playing down off hills is always one of my favorite shots, and these holes dont disappoint allowing for long gliding shots that are always fun to throw.

-Very well kept "rough", the trees throughout the course create plenty of obstacles if you get off line, but there was not too many places where you had to worry about losing a disk. There are a few blind holes on the course, its nice to be able to play a solo round and not worry about searching for discs forever.
Cons: -Mud, Im sure this is related to the time of year and the amount of rain but there were a few holes (2, 3, 4) that played in slightly more open fields that were basically big mud bowls, come prepared with extra towels and shoes!

-I never did find any water at the course but there are a few liquor stores only blocks away (more nit-picky than a real con).
Other Thoughts: Overall a great experience. A little muddy and damp but nothing to inhibit you from having a truly fun round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    1/12/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: holyschmidt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tough, but not so much that newer players couldn't have a good time. The course is pretty clean, has good teepads, varied uphill/downhill and diverse shot requirements.
Cons: Crowded.
Bathroom?
Other Thoughts: Only played it once, but it's already one of my favorites!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

I forgot I was in the city....

1    12/27/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: reed2020
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All types of shots, long, short, technical, up hill, down hill. The course plays in beautiful 200'+ trees. Friendly locals if you get lost or confused. Good tee boxes and signs.
Cons: Some pedestrians that are out hiking. litter at most holes. Can get busy and backed up. Honestly though, these are VERY minor.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses I have played. I loved the layout and use of the landscape. Wish I lived closer so I could play it regularly. I will be coming back to this course again for sure.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

1    9/14/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a fairly large city park that has a few other activities present. There are some tennis courts, and a walking path, but there shouldn't be too much interference from non-disc golfers. Pedestrians at worst, most likely.
- Lots and lots of fir tree trunks here to define the hole shapes. The vast majority of the course plays in the wooded areas, basically starting with #3 and continuing through #16. There are some pretty generous fairways, like a slight anny on #3 and #4, a downhill shot with trees by the basket on #6, and a fairly straight shot on #12. Other holes are a lot tighter, like the hallway shot on #15, a sharp hyzer on #7, a long RHFH flick shot on #9, and a very low ceiling anny shot on #16. Much more punishment off the fairways on those holes due to a ton of trees.
- A few other holes have less trees to worry about; more rough/brush to contend with. #1 is the most open, a long downhill shot with a low ceiling. #2 is a sharp RHFH hyzer downhill around thick woods, with a blind pin position. #17 is a lot rougher, with low ceilings and nasty schule in the fairway. Can try a straight shot or a wide hyzer. #18 finishes it off with a fairly open downhill hyzer, with more trees near the pin.
- Good mix of shots needed to navigate the course, with some sharp hyzers and anhyzers or flicks, as well as some more gradual ones. A good collection of holes that require a straight shot as well. Should be pretty fair to righties or lefties; having a good anny, flick, or offhand throw goes a long way.
- Very good elevation changes present here. It starts off with three downhill shots, with #2's elevated teepad the most pronounced. #5 is a pretty steep uphill shot through some trees, while #6 shoots all the way back down the hill. #16-#17 all play fairly downhill as well, and #18 is a big downhill bomber shot. #15 is a long, low valley shot as well.
- Lots of length to this course, with an average hole length of 378'. Many, many holes to rip long drives through the trees. Some of the holes take a bomb to reach, on top of navigating through all the tree trunks. A handful of holes are under 300', but are still no picnic.
- Good signs, pads, and baskets throughout. Navigation can be a little tricky without a map, like #1 to #2, or #14 to #15, but it shouldn't be a big issue.
Cons: - The landscape of the woods here doesn't really vary that much; once you get amongst the tree trunks you are in there for a while. Can feel a little repetitive as some of the holes look very similar. The lines are different, but the feel is the same.
- Long walk back to the parking after hole #18, with hills no less.
Other Thoughts: - Solid course, start to finish. Lots and lots of distance, with lots and lots of trees. Also some more open holes on the front and back to mix things up. Good elevation changes here and there as well. Definitely suited for experienced players who can easily clear 300' of distance, any shorter and you'll be scrambling for par on most holes. Still, there aren't too many hazardous areas to frustrate beginners.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    12/1/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 38  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great signage
Concrete tee pads
Winter/summer layout
Every hole was different and required a different shot
Tree coverage was nice and made for added challenge
Cons: Busy, even very early, just after dawn
Some directions were confusing for 1st timers
Other Thoughts: Great overall experience!
My favorite hole was 18 with the huge drop off
Definitely one of the best I've played!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

1    11/14/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: hukdiscs
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is fun, challenging, and has great flow
Concrete Tee Pads and Nice Signs
Very hard to lose a disc
Clean, well maintained, and quiet
Good Baskets
Markers to keep you on the right track
Good hole variation and elevation change
Cons: Multi use park with walking paths
18th doesn't end near parking
Other Thoughts: Great atmosphere, felt like I was playing in a tranquil disc golf oasis in the middle of a very industrial area. The trees are very impressive too. I would give it a 5/5 but don't feel I've played enough courses nationwide to compare to yet.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New favorite? Probably.

1    10/6/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: kaiser flippin
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous. It may be 90 degrees out, but you'll be playing in the shade all day here. Great mix of left, right, short, long, roller, you name it. The ground is great for disc, I never felt worried about losing one. I may have been lucky, but I ran into a couple laid back, very cool locals who were happy to show me around.
Cons: Can be crowded.
Other Thoughts: I normally don't like playing through a lot of trees, but the branches here start at like 100 feet. Challenging, especially #15, but not distracting.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.