Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #11 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 375ft.   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: Gentle right dogleg to pin beyond dogwood tree.



Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not Impressed

1    5/30/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: RallySoob
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great baskets, open areas, very clean, mowed. Elevation shots are fun. beautiful scenery. Theres a private disc/accesorie vendor out there most of the time selling bins of discs at good prices.
Cons: My only one complaint is that there are no signs at each hole desribing the layout and basket location of each hole. especially when you get back into the wooded area it gets really confusing. we had to ask for help to the next hole a couple times because we would go the wrong way to the next hole. Someone needs to spend some $ on some signs to make this already fantastic course a perfect course....
Other Thoughts: I wonder if we could setup a Golf Disc fundraiser to fund the project of gettting each hole on this course a hole description sign?

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The amount of trees were used well to require players to carefully choose how and where they are going to throw.

- Also, the trees provided a lot of shade which is really nice during these hot Spring/Summer days.

- The hole lengths were great, not to long (so they're good for beginners) but not so short to the point where advanced players have no fun.

- Doesn't give an advantage to right handers or left handers. I like this because it requires me to work on my forearm and my anhyzer shots.
Cons: - Some added signage could add a lot to this course. I was lucky enough to play the course with someone who had played it before but I can imagine I would've got lost a couple times if I didn't.

- Along with the signage, some of the baskets are not visable from the tee so a map at the holes would be good too.
Other Thoughts: A great course with a lot of holes that require a lot of different shots: long hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots through trees, low, high. It really is a great course for any type of player, whether it's a RHFH, a RHBH, a LHBH, or a LHFH.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Is this Heaven?

1    5/14/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Big Bob
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is the Gem of Northwest!
Lots of oppurtunity for big arms
who are going to have to work on thier up game!
Nice layout find a map or a local!
Did I mention trees?
Lots of trees...narrow fairways!
Cons: Did I mention the trees?
Other Thoughts: Nicest course I've ever sat foot on....
Heaven for disc golfers....
Disc vendor by hole 1

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 So close to the ultimate.

1    4/6/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As I played I kept thinking that this must be disc golf heaven... It wasn't, but darn close. There are a varietey of hole designs. Hilly holes, flat holes, long holes and short holes. It is set in a beautiful Portland park and has giant trees on every hole. All the pros had a 5 sealed, but a few non-disc golf related items made it lose that .5 it needed.
Cons: On arrival we had to wait for the first tee which may not be a con but unusual to me. There continued to be a person or more on every tee of the course at 1:00 on a Monday. It is a busy course. To my knowledge there were no bathrooms. We saw what looked like a drug deal, actually it happened on the fairway on 16 and they would not move there business else where so we had to skip that hole. Nothing against drugs just don't block my drive. The holes were almost challenging to navigate, but busy enough you should not have a problem.
Other Thoughts: With some signs or maps and a bathroom this could be a 5 out of 5! Another Oregon gem!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Portland, OR Pier Park

1    1/30/2009   2/1/2009
Review By: topdawgy58
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Nice cement tee pads. I really long course with Par 3. Lots of trees.
lots of Blind shots. Easy to find.
Cons: Long holes for a Par 3. Half the holes are closed until March. Really crowded. Long walks to the next hole. Need tee signs with picture of hole.

1 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 The Beauty of Portland

2-4    7/14/2008   1/25/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 183  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2011
27 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Where to begin...Pier Park DGC is located in a beautiful multi purpose park surrounded by 200 foot Douglas Firs. As you enter the course there is a skate park, soccer field, ball field, and warm up basket. Towards the inner part of the park a basketball court, fountain (where the kiddos play in the summer), restrooms, water fountain and tennis courts.

On the course Pier Park provides Mach 2 baskets which were in great shape, multiple pin placements, and tee pads that were a mix of concrete and fly pads that seemed to provide good footing (even though it was summer so it might differ in the winter/spring).

The general course design was exceptional, with great flow, defined fairways (which were a mix of very tight to fairly wide open), and plenty elevation changes which made it quite challenging at times. Foliage and maintenance was apparent, with no underbrush, and only a few areas towards the last two holes with brambles (but with accuracy, easily avoidable). Trees were trimmed accordingly, and appeared to be cut regularly. Along the way benches and trash bins were present and at the time were in good condition and emptied regularly.

Pier Park DGC was truely unique experience for many reasons, but the mix of tight technical and open bomb holes which catered to both left and right handed players and the scenic beauty sold me. This course had a variety of hole distances and required a lot of shots. Camping was easily accessible (Milo McIver in Estacada 20 minutes away for about $17/night).
Cons:
This course truely was one of the better courses I have ever played putting it easily in my top 20 thus far. However, during the rainy season I could see those fly pads being a bit slippery. Also, the walk back from hole 18 to hole 1 (parking lot) was a bit of a walk (but considering it was Pier Park, it was well worth it).
Other Thoughts:
In playing this course there were two holes that truely made this course epic. Hole #6 provided a wonderful elevation drop and a righty could throw the perfect hyzer which would head towards the pin which was heavily guarded. As the sun came through those massive Douglas Firs it was as if a halo was surrounding the basket. It was truely magical. Second was Hole #15 which was deffinately a hole which required pure skill (for the pros) or a whole lot of luck (for the rest of us) as you had to shoot about 250 feet straight down the fairway with pin point accuracy at the basket, between massive trees about 10-15 feet apart creating a long and tight tunnel. If you happened to hit a tree along the way and it spit off outside of the fairway, there was a good chance you might not make par. I felt it was by far the most difficult hole on the course with a high risk/reward.

Portland truely is an amazing place, with a great atmosphere, amazing food, and incredible disc golfers/courses. I recommend this course to anyone who passes through and if you can make a weekend of it I would also head east towards Milo McIver which is as good if not better depending on your game.

27 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    10/5/2008   1/11/2009
Review By: rkopald
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.6 Years
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Incredible variety of terrain. Just a really fun course to play. mostly very friendly regulars. Lots of tight holes, long holes, and tunnels. This course seems to reward accuracy. Wish I had some! I love Pier Park and don't play it nearly enough.
Cons: Gets very crowded. The usual sketchy types that seem to be on every course I play can ocassionally be stinking up this course too. Best played early.
Other Thoughts: I'm blathering a little bit, but I think this is a great course. It's probably a bit much for people just getitng into the sport, but if you're an intermediate or advanced player(which I am most definitely not), this is a course you'll keep thinking about.

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 I LOVE THIS COURSE and YOU SHOULD TOO!!!

2-4    9/17/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
14 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolutely a fun course!!! It's a BEAUTIFUL COURSE!!! Lots of terrain ups… downs…hooks… you name it… inside heavily wooded holes. Friendly local players. Awesome scenery and an overall great work out… not only exercise wise, but in your ability to play the game too . Diverse length holes w/ concrete tee boxes and the baskets are in decent condition
Cons: Lots of black berry bushes, trees, blind throws if you are un familiar w/ the park. Crowded after 12:00 noon. Easy to loose a disc or get cut up by shrubbery. Some of the holes by the apartments have sketchy people and will try and bum smokes, beer, etc off of you. Lack of hole markers/maps which can make it hard to navigate your 1st time. Parking can be a pain if you get there in the afternoon as it can get crowded at different times of day.
Other Thoughts: There is a pretty cool skate park that is street and vert w/in walking distance of hole # 1 if you skate too… so it's a multi sport park area. They also have a practice basket located in the field between the skate park and hole #1. Portland park rangers are usually off duty until March… you can still get busted by Portland Police if you are a drinker as rules prohibit alcohol. The sound of Knocked trees… Stoke-ness… Boos… and a very often heard Fore!!!- MAKES YOU FEEL AT HOME … and a MUST PLAY in my opinion ;)

14 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Portland's Finest

5+    8/29/2010   6/14/2008
Review By: Discwog
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
5 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Cement Tee Pads
Good baskets
Good mix if shots required
Beautiful design
Great Scenery
*** NEW Tee Signs ***
Big Trees!
Cons: Course can be busy
Occasional trash
Hole three & four can be swampy
Other Thoughts: This is Portland's Finest disc golf course!

5 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Great Portland Course

5+    6/6/2008   6/6/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2009
21 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course all around, giant 200 foot trees everywhere makes for a majestic setting.
Tough course that can be fun for players of all levels up to 1000 rated pros.
Good hole variety, dog legs, some elevation, a blind shot or two.
New concrete tee pads are sweet and the hole numbers written on them help with navigation.
Baskets just got new chains and catch very well.
Weekly league on Wednesdays through the summer.
course gets harder throughout with the last 5 holes the hardest, good hole flow.
I've never lost a disc here, there really isn't any place to lose a disc.
Course doesn't rely on OB for a challenge, and OB really doesn't come into play.
New benches put it that are sweet.
Cons: No tee signs and it can be a bit hard to navigate.
Course will get crowded on weekends.
Some crime in the area.
Long walk out after 18.
Other Thoughts: Pier is simply a fantastic course, it's a top 5 in the state no question in my mind. The course was just thought out well, it flows and has many ways to test your game. Over the last few years the local disc golf community has put in a lot of great work on this course adding new chains on the baskets, new tee pads and benches which eliminate my major complaints on the course. Pier also hosts a fun B tier in June, the Rose City Open that's a lot of fun. If you live anywhere in the vicinity of Portland you need to check Pier out, if you're traveling to the metro area it's right up there with Milo Mciver as far as must play courses.

21 of 25 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.