Portland, OR 
Pier Park Share
Uploaded By: @iDiscGolf Hole #5
3 / 291ft.   3 / 473ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >
 One of the best

5/26/2008   5/30/2008
Review By: caravan2001
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.7 Years
7 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful, forested setting with huge trees
Challenging holes
Well Maintained
Constantly changing pin placements
Cons: can get crowded
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Portland area, if not anywhere. It's just a gorgeous place to play. A challenging course, and one that has to be seen to be believed. I love this place. So does everyone else though, and it tends to get really crowded, especially on summer nights around 6. Still, it usually moves pretty fast. This place is the best.

7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 First Time Experience

5/24/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful course!
Hundreds of Douglas Firs that are huge!
Very little underbrush so no real fear of losing any discs.
Great teepads.
Great variety of shots and many elevation changes.
The trees bring a challenge to anyone and everyone.
Decent baskets have extra chains.
A few benches throughout the park to take a break on.
Many things besides disc golf so bring the whole family!
Cons: No tee signs so unless you're playing with a local, you have to spot the basket and guess the distances yourself. Because of the elevation changes, some of the uphill walkout might make you exhuasted after a while.
The walk from 18 back to hole 1 is long.
Other Thoughts: This has got to be one of the best courses in the northwest! It is breathtakingly beautiful and great fun for the entire family. With decent tee signs, this course would easily be a 5. I would recommend playing with a local if it is your first time there but because there are so many people out there, it is easy to jump in with a few people that know the course. All I can think about is how much I want to go back and play again!

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Once Again - Portland Ranks #1

5+    2/16/2008   5/14/2008
Review By: jsalyers1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2010
5 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Wow! Amazing course. Bring a camera. 18 holes of play beneath a majestic pine and cedar canopy. Trees are everywhere... as you are indeed playing in a forest. A lot of elevation change - and a lot of narrow fairways. Not much space at times for error - but the punishment is not that bad as there is practically no underbrush to loose your disk in.
Cons: Course could use a little better signage... but it is busy enough you can just follow a group. The course does have a lot of walkers and runners... so be careful where you are throwing. Nice weekends = extremely busy!
Other Thoughts: This is worth a trip accross the country. If you are not from the PNW - come to this park and play - it is a very fine sampling of what the region has to offer. I updated this on 4/30/10 as I was tired of the negative reviews due to my previous short review.

5 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 -

1    3/4/2008   3/5/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 156  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2009
24 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
-Beauty, beauty, beauty.
-Huge Douglas Firs everywhere.
-Well defined fairways: If you throw a good drive, you're rewarded!
-Teepads in great shape.
-Great use of elevation.
-Great variety of shots necessary.
-Very fair for Righty or Lefty golfers.
-Lots of weekly events to participate in summer.
-Easy access from downtown or airport.
-NO UNDERBRUSH!!!!
-Beauty, again!
-200ft doug firs shelter from elements well.
-Friendly locals to play with.
-Taken care of well by local DGers.
Cons:
-Crowded at times.
-Occasional gang activity in nearby housing that leaks onto course at times.
-No tee signs
-Needs more benches.
-Lots of trash at times (it's a city park!).
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the most beautiful courses I've ever played. Walking around through an old growth forest is always a good thing, being able to play DG at the same time is even better. Sometimes you just have to stop and look around you and take it in.

There are shots at Pier that will humble just about anyone. Hole one is a picturesque shot alongside a hill that separates to fields and it's a beautiful start. Then by hole three you enter the forest. Almost all holes have well defined and functioning fairways for both lefty and righty. The course design is just great. Could be modified in couple spots, but you could say that about any course.

All-in-all, Pier is one of the most enjoyable places to play, purely for the aesthetic value fo the course, and the course itself is pretty awesome as well.

24 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 One Of The Best In The Northwest!

1    8/6/2005   2/21/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
20 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It sits in a lovely park. It's nestled under 200 foot Douglas Fir Trees. It has some wonderful elevation change which makes for some "Big Air Throws." I like the fact that there are clearly defined fairways on each hole. You will be rewarded if you can throw reasonably straight. It's what disc golf in the Northwest should be, whether you're there on a drizzly, gray day or a lovely sunny day. The towering trees offer protection from the elements.
Cons: It's not marked all that well and we had a difficult time finding the park but it's so worth the experience once you get there.
Other Thoughts: I rate it # 1 in the Pacific Northwest just a stroke ahead of Milo McIver.

UPDATE-Almost five years later! I've just recently had the pleasure of playing Whistler's Bend. Until I play somewhere better, IMO Whistler's Bend is the best course in the NW. Pier is beautiful and challenging in it's own way.

20 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 

11/10/2007   11/10/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
6 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: One of the best courses along the coast.
Cons: No signs
Other Thoughts: i travel a lot and this is the place to go if your not visiting estacada

6 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Grea City Course

6/22/2007   6/22/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
7 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: City course with great variety and challenge. Long holes mostly under 200ft tall evergreens. Lots of elevation change, and difficult routes.
Cons: I live in NY! No Signs.
Other Thoughts: The best course inside city limits I have ever played, hands down.

7 of 19 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.