Bettendorf, IA
Middle Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
4 / 420ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 kotc round 1

1    3/27/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: burns19852012
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The back 9 was pretty good liked being in the woods away from the wind and hole 15 is a great distance shot from the tee good for practice.
Cons: They just redid the course and i found it confusing why would you make another pond?
Other Thoughts: other than it being muddy overall a good course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun once you find your way around

1    4/10/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nicely manicured course that plays through a large multi-use park. Most of the course is grassy with scattered trees and occasional brushy rough that can come into play, with a few holes in denser woods for a nice change of pace. Nearly every hole has some elevation, with tricky uphill shots, a fun downhill bomb off a sledding hill, and several holes that play along the hill to make roll aways a hazard. There is some good length here, with several holes long enough to really rip a drive, and some nice short holes to mix things up. Some water comes into play on the course, adding some nice risky shots and some holes that are very nice visually.

The bright orange baskets look great and are easy to spot from a distance, and were in good shape so they caught well. The tee signs were nice, with distance and layout to the multiple pin placements. The alternate placements looked like they would change up the course quite a bit, and add some nice variety if they are changed reasonably often.
Cons: The biggest issue I had with this course was the navigation issues. There were a few long walks with no signage to make it clear where to go. A couple of these long walks crossed other fairways, making it a little bit of a safety issue as well. A map or guide is very helpful here, otherwise it can be a little frustrating to follow.

There are a few too many holes that are straight ahead. I would have liked a little more variety of hole shapes to test different shots. I would also like to see some way of marking which pin position was currently in use, some holes required some extra walking to know where to shoot which makes a long walk even longer.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course and a nicely taken care of park that was a pleasure to walk around. There are some nice long shots here, and some fun short holes through the woods, so there's enough variety to keep it interesting. It may be a little long for most beginners, and the navigation makes it not too first time friendly. More experienced players will enjoy the length and the elevation, but there could be a little more shot shaping variety to make it a great course. I definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: robthepope
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Starts and finishes near parking
-Detailed Tee Maps posted
-Beautiful Park and incredibly rugged at times
Cons: -Holes #2 and #6 are missing
-Hole #11 throws over a river and provides no immediate way across (Road crossing some 50-60 yards up the way; hope someone doesn't take your disc while you make the trek)
-Not clear where too park
-Park host to many other activities including a water park, running/bike path, and picnic areas.
-Does not navigate well at times
-A 1002 foot hole! you kidding me!
-Some flooding occurs
Other Thoughts: Lots of relief and some thickly wooded holes (after #11). One of the most difficult array of creative natural feeling holes. If these cons could be fixed this course has amazing potential. Don't let all the cons keep you from playing. I'll be frequenting this course for it's indescribable appeal.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Leaning Fairways of Pisa

1    6/21/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 205  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has some fun holes and a 1002-foot hole. They had some great tee signs and decent cement tee pads. There is a hole that (probably from the rains) that throws over a river wide creek that has really beautiful pin placement. The holes did make you throw a variety of different kind of shots. That is always a big plus for me.
Cons: Baskets 2 & 6 were missing. (Kudos to the people who did post a note about this on the first hole.) There is quite a long walk between some of the holes. A map is really needed for navigating on this course. The worst thing about this course for me was the fact that they built many of these holes "along" hillsides, so you are walking on the sides of your feet down the fairways. This will not only wear you out physically, but it will wear out your shoes and your spirit.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor was really shot from the walking conditions for me. The way I understand it from the locals I met, is this is one of the best courses that the Quad City area has to offer.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.