Bettendorf, IA 
Middle Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
4 / 328ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Open front, wooded back.

1    3/30/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 55  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great signs on most of the course. Some missing though, some in out-of-the-way places are vandalized.
- Great how you can start on #1 or #10 from the parking lot.
- Good baskets and tee pads - no issues
- There was a trash bucket on EVERY hole. They're all home-made deals, but it's awesome that (I assume) locals are taking care of the course, and giving fellow discers places for trash.
- All sorts of other things going on at this large park - but mostly not in the way. Only competition for space, really, is the bike path that crosses #10 fairway. Completely visible though, and isn't an issue. Even a sign giving path users the right-of-way.
- #1 is a great starting hole. Not overly punishing, but gets you amped up for the round to come.
- #3 is pretty epic over the pond...probably 275 or 280 to carry it? Looks like this little pond is a recent addition to the park.
- #10 is very awesome in the long pin placement, having to shoot over the creek (which is really a small river). Probably hard to carry on one throw both for distance and finding an open line, I definitely laid up.
- #12 a very cool hole plunging into the woods, with a very small drainage creek through the middle of it. Enough trees left to make it difficult, but not frustrating.
- Some massive trees in the woods on the back nine, which is awesome. The basket on #13 is guarded by a tree that I bet is 150+ years old.
- #15 a huge bomber hole, on what is obviously the local sled hill.
- Love how #17 tees off from in the timber, but opens up into a wide open fairway. Holes like this that make you shoot a gap, but have huge reward for a big rip are awesome.
Cons: - Navigation is not fun on parts of this course. #4, 5, and 6 are all messed up if you've never played the course before. And the maps on DGCR don't reflect their new layout. I added helpers to the Course Conditions update. Nothing worse than playing the wrong hole from the wrong tee pad, only to find that a real tee pad for #4 doesn't even exist.
- Going from #9 to #10 isn't really intuitive, nor is the very long walk from #17 to #18.
- If you're not paying attention to hole numbers, you could miss #15 altogether. The path from #14 leads directly to #16, as you have to double back to get to #15. Signage would be great.
- #1 is not really labeled, probably not an issue.
- #10 could really use a dedicated bridge to get to the long pin position (or to #11 tee, for that matter.) Road bridge that's there is fine, but just a long way around.
Other Thoughts: - After spending 30 minutes playing the wrong holes and figuring out 4, 5, and 6, I was pretty frustrated. Made the rest of my round a little lackluster, and I was less impressed immediately coming off of the course than I am now, looking back on it. Very nicely done wooded holes on the back nine make up for the occasional lackluster hole on the front nine. This course has the potential to be a 4.5 if it had the proper care, up to date signage, and tee pads. Lots of memorable holes keep it at a solid 4 for me though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

a lot of fun

1    4/6/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very nice park
-good cement tees on all but 2 holes that have been changed recently but still have nice rubber pads on those 2 holes
-some of the best signs i have ever seen
-tons of elevation change( a nice change from the flat courses of north east Illinois)
-for a course in a city park it is nice and technical with great use of trees and the hills
-has a few good holes that test your arm
- the whole course is good but the back side is awesome hole ten shoots over the river to the back side that makes for a very nice hole and starts the awesome wooded holes on the back side. 15 is a nice bomber off the side of a hill that lets you use your arm.
Cons: only a few cons here
-there seems to have been some recent landscaping work done including putting in a small pond and some sort of man made river that caused some of the park to be a little muddy but i think that once the grass grows back it will be fine
- navigation was not as easy as i would have liked some signs pointing you to the next pad would have been nice and the change in holes 4,5,6 made things a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: this course was a lot of fun and one of the bet i have played in the quad cities besides the other side of camden i would gladly make the 2 plus hour drive to play this and a few other courses in the area i just wish that i had time to play more of the courses that quad cities have to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 VERY ENJOYABLE

1    5/5/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 142  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is near pro-caliber.
The pars are very lenient, however; making it easier to score well.
A variety of holes provides an entertaining 18 holes. Lots of elevation change -- plenty of valley shots. A wide creek with a strong current provides a serious hazard depending on pin placement for hole 10.
Good nature/beauty. Some nicely planted pine trees on a few holes and plenty of mature trees in play. The fairways were clean, and the course appeared to be well taken care of.
Nice bright orange baskets.
Cons: -There should be a more efficient (closer) bridge leading to the long pin on hole #10.
-Some difficulty navigating if you have no map. There's a significant gap between 6 and 7, 9 and 10, 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: It seems as if an overwhelming majority of these holes are played downhill, which is pretty cool. You'd think it would be pretty even (uphill/downhill) but the teepad placement offers more downhill shots.
--I played when all pin placements were on the longs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/29/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: CardFan11
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great open openings for front 9, plays long. Back 9 gives a different feel that is almost completely wooded.
Cons: 8 and 9 are almost always bogey bogey. Very long,
Other Thoughts: Great course to play, pins are moved frequently and is worth a play!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ninjas Dueling on the Rooftop

1    3/10/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice city park with plenty of room to create a wide variety of holes that all fall into place for a diverse disc golf experience.

Amenities. In and around the park are many activities for the entire family, included are a water park, playground, trails, tennis courts, ball fields and a Fitness Center across the street, all with plenty of parking.

Variety. A great variety of shots can be found here, the front 9 has a variety of mostly open shots that make good use of elevation with holes ranging from 200 to near 1000 feet (depending on pin location). The back 9 makes use of more technical lines, with a few open elevated bombs thrown in. Water comes into play on several holes, and many holes have some thick punishing rough.

Clean and well maintained. Though it was a bit wet and soggy in areas, the course looked very nice with apparent regular maintenance, though garbage cans were not very plentiful, things seemed to be well kept.

Local Scene. Regular leagues and tournaments. All of the locals I encountered were friendly and helpful.

Links. If you only have time for 9 holes, the course is laid out in 2 9 hole loops.

Other users. Less a few pedestrians and the road coming into play on occasion, this area is set aside for primarily disc golf.

Access. Near the freeway, in the city, near a large concentration of DG, it is easy to access this course.

Memorable Holes. Hole 8 is a 1000 foot monster lined by a creek and trees on the right side. 10 is a big dogleg that crosses a creek and hole 15 is a huge bomb off the top of the sledding hill.

Scenery. From an open city park scene the course ducks into the woods for a nice nature hike along the river.

Tees. Large, level concrete tees work very well.

Signage. Every tee is marked with a sign showing a rough map of the hole, distance, par, and hole number.

Replayability. Enjoyable and challenging enough that an advanced level player could get much use out of this course, I definitely wouldn't mind playing it again.

Baskets. Mach 5 baskets are all in good shape, multiple pin placements on many holes.
Cons: Navigation. I did struggle finding hole 1, a few spots were confusing but I was able to figure it out after a bit of wandering. Hole 18 is the most confusing involving a long walk across the bridge and up the hill. Next Tee signs and/or having a map available could help a lot.

Flow. There is some long walks between holes, or even in the middle of the holes as hole 10 you have to walk all the way around to cross the bridge.

Beginner Friendly. For the most part I believe this would be an alright place to practice and learn the game. But the water holes will eat discs and the longer technical holes could get quite frustrating for a beginner.

Map/Scorecard. I'd print one off before hand as it will probably be helpful, I didn't see any available at the start.
Other Thoughts: A great course in the Quad Cities area, I would say this is one of the can't miss courses if you're traveling through this way. If you're a local, you have a great selection and variety of courses, this is a great compliment to the surrounding ones, consider yourselves lucky.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    10/23/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large multi-use park, and makes great use of the available space. A lot of the course is set in relatively open areas, but still has a ton of challenge. A fantastic mix of elevation changes, patches of dense rough, lots of mature trees, water hazards in the form of a creek and some marshy areas, road OB, a little bit of everything really.
- Some holes have pretty drastic elevation changes, especially on the front end. The lanes are pretty clear in this section, though there are plenty of trees to hit, and some rough and water to avoid. The major challenge is staying on the fairway and getting good distance. Most of these holes are well over 300'; playing it safe can result in some high scores here. A good downhill bomber shot in an open field is also mixed in at the end.
- Other holes are more level, but with many more hazards. A small creek running along #4 and #5, another along #8 and #9, and one at the end of #10 (to name a few) must be avoided at all costs, in addition to the usual trees and shrubbery. The long lengths of these holes force you to throw bombs; the hazards will force you to throw a controlled shot.
- The rest of the course is set in a hilly forest, which has a completely different feel from the rest of the park. While the holes are significantly shorter, the lines are significantly tighter. Great complement to the long bomber holes. A bunch of different lines depending on the pin position, but overall a straight shot is needed above anything else. Some steep slopes here leading to the large creek; stay to the left on the way up the hill.
- Great teepads and baskets, good tee signs. Navigation isn't too bad, but the layout is kind of funky. I ended up playing a local route; I think it went 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 3, 7.
Cons: - While there is good variety of hole types here, most of it is dominated by fairly open fields. There is still a lot of challenge, but not too much excitement.
- A ton of other things going on at the park, and some holes are right next to the entrance road. Also have to cross the creek at one point on a sidewalk next to a main road. Good seclusion in the back forest, almost none everywhere else.
- Holes in the forest are fun, but also very short.
Other Thoughts: - This course is a beast, and is deceptively challenging. Consistently long hole lengths make distance a very important part of the game, as well as setting up the next shot. Shot placement away from trees/hazards goes a long way, but can make the holes seem even longer. Lots of hazards are present on a good amount of the holes as well, with lots of water in a lots of different ways. The shot over the creek on #10 is a great example of this. Forest holes are short, but tight and technical. A good workout for almost every aspect of the game, but long arms have the edge at this one.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Has it all

1    4/3/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large, multiuse park along the creek. Ball fields, playground, pool complex, walking path that runs through park, picnic areas, and a lagoon. Since there were a lot of other activities at the park, it was maintained well.

Nice tee signs with good information. Bright orange baskets. Concrete tee pads. Multiple pin locations available. Elevation changes, across low areas, along hills - left and right, rolling hills. Blind pin locations. Great mix of hole styles, from open all the way to heavily wooded. Very long course, one of the longest I have played. Creek hazard. Plenty of parking, even if not @ hole 1, there are several other parking areas.

Gameplay was fun and challenging. I never got bored with a shot or ever said that it felt like we were throwing the same hole, every hole seemed different that all the others.
Cons: Not many cons here. Some of the lower areas had standing water in them, but I played in April a few days after a rain. Standing water on 11 and 15.

Walk from 6 to 7 across hole 3 is redonkulous. Cross fairway 1 after 9 heading towards 10. Would be great to have a man bridge to get to the pin on hole 10, instead of walking up and across then back down the street bridge to cross the creek. Walk from 17 to 18, same thing but the other direction across the bridge and back over.

Saw people walking through course letting doggies poop, hope my disc doesn't land in any.

Not sure about hole 18, as the fairway follows a ball field fence and is OB inside the field. Not sure how I would feel playing that when there is a game going on, but wasn't an issue when I was there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round here, other than getting a little wet because of the standing water, it was a fun round. This is however a course that will make you wish you could throw up to 400' accurately, as it would be helpful on the longer holes. I enjoyed the open holes as much as the wooded holes on this course, as each of them played differently. Even though some of the wooded holes were shorter, they were riddled with trees which made shots difficult.

I liked how the course starts on hole 1, which is a hill to hill shot with a tree lined fairway on each side. This hole is duecable, but if you catch a tree, you'll be approaching and putting back up the hill. The length of hole 8 didn't bother me, yeah it hurt my score a little, but not many people out there can say they've played a 1000'+ hole. I liked the opportunity for a huge bomb up-top hole 15 (the locals call it the sledding hill).

I'd give this course a 4.5 based on game play and varity of holes, but the potential for standing water, excess walking thru a few holes, and the lack of the bridge on 10, leaves me at a 4.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Variety Here

1    8/29/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 713  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big concrete tees. This course it is important and it is too good of a course to have anything other than concrete.

2) Nice signs with Hole #, distance, par and a diagram.

3) Orange Mach baskets with # plate facing the tees is helpful. The bright color is also appreciated.

4) 3 pins per hole on nearly every hole. I love it when a course can play many different ways.

5) Nice elevation changes on multiple holes on this course. The elevation is used in all directions which is important. Sidehills are also part of the game at this course which changes your normal shot.

6) Practice Basket is located near #18 basket. It is different than the course baskets because it isn't painted which is actually smart because it could easily be confused for #18 basket (since it is only 50-60' away).

7) Awesome variety on this course. There is water in play on multiple holes, elevation changes in all directions, longer bomber holes, tight technical wooded, some shorter holes, and an awesome variety in distances of holes. All in all one of the most balanced courses I have played.

8)Fairly beginner friendly except the distance.

9) I really wasn't expecting the back 9 to be what it was but I appreciated it after playing the long more open front 9. I loved those cute little wooded holes back in the woods. It reminds me of my home course but much better holes.

10) As well balanced of a course as I have ever played I think.

11) Hole #10 garners points just for being on this course. It is one of my favorite holes played on my 20 course trip! I love the throw across the creek (River???) to the green. Not only is it a tough throw, it also has some low ceiling trees, and your tee shot needs to be placed well to make your life easier. The risk of going in the water trying to keep it close to the water is just awesome design. I love this hole!
Cons: 1) Some erosion areas on the slopes like #1 will continue to be a problem. Hopefully these areas get planted with something to help retain the soil from eroding away.

2) #8 and #9 are almost stupid long. It seems like they needed to use that entire length of the little creek for flow but they could have easily made the hole a couple hundred feet shorter. It just gets repetetive throwing 200' 5 times just to make your approach. I am not sure how the big throwers would feel but it gets old throwing the same shot 4-5 times up along the creek.

3) Hole #15 was very we at the base of the hill. I almost thought about walking around it through the woods. I have a feeling that was just the repercussion of the recent heavy rains this part of the state received.

4) I wish there was a way to see which holes the basket was in. There are multiple locations on many of the holes, I just wish there was some sort of indication as to which hole it was on the tee sign. Lots of work to keep updated but would be much appreciated.

5) Its a little goofy walking from #10 fairway across the bridge along the road to cut back down to the green area and finish the hole. It isn't really a big issue, but it is a little strange and worth mentioning. The good news is it makes it a great hole!
Other Thoughts: What a great course. It has some of everything. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and put it in my top 4 in the Quad Cities area. It isn't as challenging as West Lake or the two Camden courses, but it has some of everything so it is very well balanced. This course might actually crack my top 25 courses, but I need to think about that before I place it with my other 4 disc courses. I woul come back to this course anytime I was in the Quad Cities. It is more fair but as enjoyable as West Lake and Camden, with slightly less challenge, but what it lacks in challenge it has in variety. It is just so well balanced. That is key to its rating. The maintenance seems to be pretty good and it is well taken care of.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course ranks among the most challenging I've played. There's punishment on every hole and little margin for error. This course slapped me around, but it was still a blast.

The first three holes are all big elevation shots. #1 throws from hill to hill across a wooded section. #2 is more of an open shot, and #3 throws down hill, with a nasty marsh that will likely eat your disc if you don't clear it (anything ~260ft or less). #4 is a long straight shot with the marsh lining the fairway to the left. #5 and #6 play through a wooded area of the park with some rolling hills providing elevation change.

#7 moves to a different area of the park for a challenging drive. #8 is a ridiculous bomb (+1000') where you'll probably have to drive 3-4 times (I drove twice before I even saw the basket). #9 is another bomb where you'll probably need your driver twice. If that isn't enough challenge...

#10 is one of the craziest shots I've ever seen. A L to R tee shot across a pretty wide creek with trees along the banks, and little hope of getting your disc back if you don't clear the creek. Then you have to walk uphill on the bike path to the bridge in order to cross the creek.

#11 is a bomb with very thick underbrush on both sides of the fairway.

#12-14 are short wooded shots, with the creek coming into play. #15 is a fun downhill bomb, then #16 goes back into the woods. #17 is another long, punishing shot, then the course crosses back across the bridge and ends innocently enough on a short, fairly open tee shot on #18.

This course had some great tee signs and tee pads. I also liked how the baskets were painted bright orange to make them easier to see.
Cons: There are three pin locations listed on each tee sign, but there is no indication which is currently in place. On most holes, you can see the basket from the tee, but on the long bombs, it's annoying to have to walk 300ft just to check the pin location.

I have no problem with courses that use tall grass or water hazards as punishment, but the marsh in play on 3 and 4 smelled like sewage water or some kind of municipal waste run off... and this was in the middle of the park. It's pretty easy to lose a disc in here, and it sucks having to trudge through sewage water in the middle of a park to find a disc.

Because of all the punishment and distance, this course is essentially beginner proof. New players will not have fun here.

Navigation here can get pretty confusing. Next tee signs are definitely needed, especially since there are several long walks to holes.

The tee pad on #6 was at an almost perpendicular angle to the basket. This was weird.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that has almost every type of challenge you could want... water hazards, huge distance, wooded shots, elevation. But, there is a lot here to frustrate new players, so I'd recommend skipping it if you don't have an accurate drive of at least 300ft, or you could end up losing some discs. If you have the skill, you'll have a lot of fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.