Bettendorf, IA 
Middle Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
4 / 348ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: robthepope
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Starts and finishes near parking
-Detailed Tee Maps posted
-Beautiful Park and incredibly rugged at times
Cons: -Holes #2 and #6 are missing
-Hole #11 throws over a river and provides no immediate way across (Road crossing some 50-60 yards up the way; hope someone doesn't take your disc while you make the trek)
-Not clear where too park
-Park host to many other activities including a water park, running/bike path, and picnic areas.
-Does not navigate well at times
-A 1002 foot hole! you kidding me!
-Some flooding occurs
Other Thoughts: Lots of relief and some thickly wooded holes (after #11). One of the most difficult array of creative natural feeling holes. If these cons could be fixed this course has amazing potential. Don't let all the cons keep you from playing. I'll be frequenting this course for it's indescribable appeal.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best course thus far

1    7/20/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holy crap this course is the best course I have ever had the pleasure of playing on. Hole 1 has you staring down a massive ravine with your target on the far hill. Hole 2 has you careening downhill before ending back up on a small ridge in which the basket is placed. Hole 3 is almost straight downhill with a marsh hazard lying in front of your target. Holes 4 and 5 follow a small stream and provide a few trees as obstacles. Hole 6 is played under an awesome canopy of trees by a small playground. Hole 7 is similar, and holes 8 and 9 are massively long, topping out at over 1000 feet. The back nine is even more amazing. Hole 10 shoots across a river and has you cross over a bridge to get to the pin, 11 has you fly through a tight opening and into a big field, ending with the basket nestled against the woods (another long hole). Holes 12 through 14 play through the woods where technique overrides power and finesse is absolutely necessary. 15 is a grand sledding hill that provides awesome air for your discs, ending by a baseball field. 16 takes you back into the woods, shooting downhill, with some downed trees in your way. 17 is another awesome shot over water with a breaktaking view, leading you back into the big field of hole 11. 18 has you cross back over the bridge and is a very quaint way to end this phenomenal round. Words cannot describe the greatness. You have to play it for yourself.
Cons: The only thing that is keeping this from a 5 rating is the layout of the front nine. This course has you double back several times and cross over a couple holes to get from 6 to 7. Also the creek by 4 and 5 was rather nasty. But these are petty things looking back.
Other Thoughts: The most variety I have every seen on a single course. This takes Cass Benton and raises the bar phenomenally. I will be hard pressed to find a course that tops this one. It was so challenging without breaking your spirit. Not for beginners I guess but I took two beginners and they loved it. YOU MUST PLAY THIS COURSE BEFORE YOU DIE!! I have tears in my eyes. Thank you.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Leaning Fairways of Pisa

1    6/21/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has some fun holes and a 1002-foot hole. They had some great tee signs and decent cement tee pads. There is a hole that (probably from the rains) that throws over a river wide creek that has really beautiful pin placement. The holes did make you throw a variety of different kind of shots. That is always a big plus for me.
Cons: Baskets 2 & 6 were missing. (Kudos to the people who did post a note about this on the first hole.) There is quite a long walk between some of the holes. A map is really needed for navigating on this course. The worst thing about this course for me was the fact that they built many of these holes "along" hillsides, so you are walking on the sides of your feet down the fairways. This will not only wear you out physically, but it will wear out your shoes and your spirit.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor was really shot from the walking conditions for me. The way I understand it from the locals I met, is this is one of the best courses that the Quad City area has to offer.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Quad City Course

4/13/2008   4/14/2008
Review By: MoPhunk
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging course with some nice long holes. Course starts off as a grip and rip but turns into a tight and finesse course on the back nine. Very good layout and a variance of holes.
Cons: You have to do a little bit of walking between a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: By far my favorite course to play in the Quad Cities.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.