Bettendorf, IA 
Middle Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 168ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Part Three of the Trifecta

1    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenges. It's half a bomber course with controlled drives and half technical. Water, OB, elevation and nasty rough.

Setting: It's a pretty course. Visually pleasing and one of the reason disc golf is so much fun.

Cons: Navigation is an issue on Holes 4, 5, 6. Play it this way:
Hole 3 across the pond.
Next hole: walk 100 feet left of the basket and INVENT the tee pad for HOLE 4. Throw to the basket you can see along the same side of the creek. It's a bomber depending on where you put the pad.
Next, walk over the creek toward the playground at the top of the hill. On the far side of the playground is pad "6" which is actually HOLE 5. It plays down the hill toward the pond.
Next: Walk to the temp pad to the left of the basket. It plays up to the basket on the same side of the creek. That's HOLE 6.
Next. Cross the creek and up the hill across the street. HOLE 7 is to the right.

There was also some confusion about 9 to 10. When you finish 9, walk across the fairway of Hole 1 and you will see 10 on the lower field next to the walking path. The basket should be across the creek. You will need to go across the BRIDGE (go to your left up to the road) to get to the other side. Once over the bridge you will stay there and play the course through HOLE 17. Then you will cross back over the bridge and play HOLE 18 which is above the parking lot near HOLE 1.

HOLE 14 to HOLE 15. Walk past the pin along the path after finishing 14. Go to your right out into the open field with the ball fields. The tee pad is at the top of the hill and the pin is at the bottom of the hill to your left in the tree line.

HOLE 16 to HOLE 17. Walk back out into the open field and you will see a small foot path leading you back into the woods behind the ball field.

That should cover it.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Not a soul there while we were playing it. That was a shocker.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Open front, wooded back.

1    3/30/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 64  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great signs on most of the course. Some missing though, some in out-of-the-way places are vandalized.
- Great how you can start on #1 or #10 from the parking lot.
- Good baskets and tee pads - no issues
- There was a trash bucket on EVERY hole. They're all home-made deals, but it's awesome that (I assume) locals are taking care of the course, and giving fellow discers places for trash.
- All sorts of other things going on at this large park - but mostly not in the way. Only competition for space, really, is the bike path that crosses #10 fairway. Completely visible though, and isn't an issue. Even a sign giving path users the right-of-way.
- #1 is a great starting hole. Not overly punishing, but gets you amped up for the round to come.
- #3 is pretty epic over the pond...probably 275 or 280 to carry it? Looks like this little pond is a recent addition to the park.
- #10 is very awesome in the long pin placement, having to shoot over the creek (which is really a small river). Probably hard to carry on one throw both for distance and finding an open line, I definitely laid up.
- #12 a very cool hole plunging into the woods, with a very small drainage creek through the middle of it. Enough trees left to make it difficult, but not frustrating.
- Some massive trees in the woods on the back nine, which is awesome. The basket on #13 is guarded by a tree that I bet is 150+ years old.
- #15 a huge bomber hole, on what is obviously the local sled hill.
- Love how #17 tees off from in the timber, but opens up into a wide open fairway. Holes like this that make you shoot a gap, but have huge reward for a big rip are awesome.
Cons: - Navigation is not fun on parts of this course. #4, 5, and 6 are all messed up if you've never played the course before. And the maps on DGCR don't reflect their new layout. I added helpers to the Course Conditions update. Nothing worse than playing the wrong hole from the wrong tee pad, only to find that a real tee pad for #4 doesn't even exist.
- Going from #9 to #10 isn't really intuitive, nor is the very long walk from #17 to #18.
- If you're not paying attention to hole numbers, you could miss #15 altogether. The path from #14 leads directly to #16, as you have to double back to get to #15. Signage would be great.
- #1 is not really labeled, probably not an issue.
- #10 could really use a dedicated bridge to get to the long pin position (or to #11 tee, for that matter.) Road bridge that's there is fine, but just a long way around.
Other Thoughts: - After spending 30 minutes playing the wrong holes and figuring out 4, 5, and 6, I was pretty frustrated. Made the rest of my round a little lackluster, and I was less impressed immediately coming off of the course than I am now, looking back on it. Very nicely done wooded holes on the back nine make up for the occasional lackluster hole on the front nine. This course has the potential to be a 4.5 if it had the proper care, up to date signage, and tee pads. Lots of memorable holes keep it at a solid 4 for me though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

a lot of fun

1    4/6/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very nice park
-good cement tees on all but 2 holes that have been changed recently but still have nice rubber pads on those 2 holes
-some of the best signs i have ever seen
-tons of elevation change( a nice change from the flat courses of north east Illinois)
-for a course in a city park it is nice and technical with great use of trees and the hills
-has a few good holes that test your arm
- the whole course is good but the back side is awesome hole ten shoots over the river to the back side that makes for a very nice hole and starts the awesome wooded holes on the back side. 15 is a nice bomber off the side of a hill that lets you use your arm.
Cons: only a few cons here
-there seems to have been some recent landscaping work done including putting in a small pond and some sort of man made river that caused some of the park to be a little muddy but i think that once the grass grows back it will be fine
- navigation was not as easy as i would have liked some signs pointing you to the next pad would have been nice and the change in holes 4,5,6 made things a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: this course was a lot of fun and one of the bet i have played in the quad cities besides the other side of camden i would gladly make the 2 plus hour drive to play this and a few other courses in the area i just wish that i had time to play more of the courses that quad cities have to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 kotc round 1

1    3/27/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: burns19852012
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The back 9 was pretty good liked being in the woods away from the wind and hole 15 is a great distance shot from the tee good for practice.
Cons: They just redid the course and i found it confusing why would you make another pond?
Other Thoughts: other than it being muddy overall a good course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 VERY ENJOYABLE

1    5/5/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 149  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is near pro-caliber.
The pars are very lenient, however; making it easier to score well.
A variety of holes provides an entertaining 18 holes. Lots of elevation change -- plenty of valley shots. A wide creek with a strong current provides a serious hazard depending on pin placement for hole 10.
Good nature/beauty. Some nicely planted pine trees on a few holes and plenty of mature trees in play. The fairways were clean, and the course appeared to be well taken care of.
Nice bright orange baskets.
Cons: -There should be a more efficient (closer) bridge leading to the long pin on hole #10.
-Some difficulty navigating if you have no map. There's a significant gap between 6 and 7, 9 and 10, 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: It seems as if an overwhelming majority of these holes are played downhill, which is pretty cool. You'd think it would be pretty even (uphill/downhill) but the teepad placement offers more downhill shots.
--I played when all pin placements were on the longs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/29/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: CardFan11
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great open openings for front 9, plays long. Back 9 gives a different feel that is almost completely wooded.
Cons: 8 and 9 are almost always bogey bogey. Very long,
Other Thoughts: Great course to play, pins are moved frequently and is worth a play!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Middle at QCC

5+    7/27/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: discdude08
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The new bridges make hole transfers easy. the course is clean, mowed and very well manicured. The QC guys really have this down to an art form. All 18 holes are frequently rotated for a diverse set of scores. Par is always a good score on this course!
Cons: Its long!
Other Thoughts: Love it, one of my favorites as it offers a variety of throws!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ninjas Dueling on the Rooftop

1    3/10/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice city park with plenty of room to create a wide variety of holes that all fall into place for a diverse disc golf experience.

Amenities. In and around the park are many activities for the entire family, included are a water park, playground, trails, tennis courts, ball fields and a Fitness Center across the street, all with plenty of parking.

Variety. A great variety of shots can be found here, the front 9 has a variety of mostly open shots that make good use of elevation with holes ranging from 200 to near 1000 feet (depending on pin location). The back 9 makes use of more technical lines, with a few open elevated bombs thrown in. Water comes into play on several holes, and many holes have some thick punishing rough.

Clean and well maintained. Though it was a bit wet and soggy in areas, the course looked very nice with apparent regular maintenance, though garbage cans were not very plentiful, things seemed to be well kept.

Local Scene. Regular leagues and tournaments. All of the locals I encountered were friendly and helpful.

Links. If you only have time for 9 holes, the course is laid out in 2 9 hole loops.

Other users. Less a few pedestrians and the road coming into play on occasion, this area is set aside for primarily disc golf.

Access. Near the freeway, in the city, near a large concentration of DG, it is easy to access this course.

Memorable Holes. Hole 8 is a 1000 foot monster lined by a creek and trees on the right side. 10 is a big dogleg that crosses a creek and hole 15 is a huge bomb off the top of the sledding hill.

Scenery. From an open city park scene the course ducks into the woods for a nice nature hike along the river.

Tees. Large, level concrete tees work very well.

Signage. Every tee is marked with a sign showing a rough map of the hole, distance, par, and hole number.

Replayability. Enjoyable and challenging enough that an advanced level player could get much use out of this course, I definitely wouldn't mind playing it again.

Baskets. Mach 5 baskets are all in good shape, multiple pin placements on many holes.
Cons: Navigation. I did struggle finding hole 1, a few spots were confusing but I was able to figure it out after a bit of wandering. Hole 18 is the most confusing involving a long walk across the bridge and up the hill. Next Tee signs and/or having a map available could help a lot.

Flow. There is some long walks between holes, or even in the middle of the holes as hole 10 you have to walk all the way around to cross the bridge.

Beginner Friendly. For the most part I believe this would be an alright place to practice and learn the game. But the water holes will eat discs and the longer technical holes could get quite frustrating for a beginner.

Map/Scorecard. I'd print one off before hand as it will probably be helpful, I didn't see any available at the start.
Other Thoughts: A great course in the Quad Cities area, I would say this is one of the can't miss courses if you're traveling through this way. If you're a local, you have a great selection and variety of courses, this is a great compliment to the surrounding ones, consider yourselves lucky.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    10/23/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 416  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large multi-use park, and makes great use of the available space. A lot of the course is set in relatively open areas, but still has a ton of challenge. A fantastic mix of elevation changes, patches of dense rough, lots of mature trees, water hazards in the form of a creek and some marshy areas, road OB, a little bit of everything really.
- Some holes have pretty drastic elevation changes, especially on the front end. The lanes are pretty clear in this section, though there are plenty of trees to hit, and some rough and water to avoid. The major challenge is staying on the fairway and getting good distance. Most of these holes are well over 300'; playing it safe can result in some high scores here. A good downhill bomber shot in an open field is also mixed in at the end.
- Other holes are more level, but with many more hazards. A small creek running along #4 and #5, another along #8 and #9, and one at the end of #10 (to name a few) must be avoided at all costs, in addition to the usual trees and shrubbery. The long lengths of these holes force you to throw bombs; the hazards will force you to throw a controlled shot.
- The rest of the course is set in a hilly forest, which has a completely different feel from the rest of the park. While the holes are significantly shorter, the lines are significantly tighter. Great complement to the long bomber holes. A bunch of different lines depending on the pin position, but overall a straight shot is needed above anything else. Some steep slopes here leading to the large creek; stay to the left on the way up the hill.
- Great teepads and baskets, good tee signs. Navigation isn't too bad, but the layout is kind of funky. I ended up playing a local route; I think it went 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 3, 7.
Cons: - While there is good variety of hole types here, most of it is dominated by fairly open fields. There is still a lot of challenge, but not too much excitement.
- A ton of other things going on at the park, and some holes are right next to the entrance road. Also have to cross the creek at one point on a sidewalk next to a main road. Good seclusion in the back forest, almost none everywhere else.
- Holes in the forest are fun, but also very short.
Other Thoughts: - This course is a beast, and is deceptively challenging. Consistently long hole lengths make distance a very important part of the game, as well as setting up the next shot. Shot placement away from trees/hazards goes a long way, but can make the holes seem even longer. Lots of hazards are present on a good amount of the holes as well, with lots of water in a lots of different ways. The shot over the creek on #10 is a great example of this. Forest holes are short, but tight and technical. A good workout for almost every aspect of the game, but long arms have the edge at this one.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Has it all

1    4/3/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large, multiuse park along the creek. Ball fields, playground, pool complex, walking path that runs through park, picnic areas, and a lagoon. Since there were a lot of other activities at the park, it was maintained well.

Nice tee signs with good information. Bright orange baskets. Concrete tee pads. Multiple pin locations available. Elevation changes, across low areas, along hills - left and right, rolling hills. Blind pin locations. Great mix of hole styles, from open all the way to heavily wooded. Very long course, one of the longest I have played. Creek hazard. Plenty of parking, even if not @ hole 1, there are several other parking areas.

Gameplay was fun and challenging. I never got bored with a shot or ever said that it felt like we were throwing the same hole, every hole seemed different that all the others.
Cons: Not many cons here. Some of the lower areas had standing water in them, but I played in April a few days after a rain. Standing water on 11 and 15.

Walk from 6 to 7 across hole 3 is redonkulous. Cross fairway 1 after 9 heading towards 10. Would be great to have a man bridge to get to the pin on hole 10, instead of walking up and across then back down the street bridge to cross the creek. Walk from 17 to 18, same thing but the other direction across the bridge and back over.

Saw people walking through course letting doggies poop, hope my disc doesn't land in any.

Not sure about hole 18, as the fairway follows a ball field fence and is OB inside the field. Not sure how I would feel playing that when there is a game going on, but wasn't an issue when I was there.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round here, other than getting a little wet because of the standing water, it was a fun round. This is however a course that will make you wish you could throw up to 400' accurately, as it would be helpful on the longer holes. I enjoyed the open holes as much as the wooded holes on this course, as each of them played differently. Even though some of the wooded holes were shorter, they were riddled with trees which made shots difficult.

I liked how the course starts on hole 1, which is a hill to hill shot with a tree lined fairway on each side. This hole is duecable, but if you catch a tree, you'll be approaching and putting back up the hill. The length of hole 8 didn't bother me, yeah it hurt my score a little, but not many people out there can say they've played a 1000'+ hole. I liked the opportunity for a huge bomb up-top hole 15 (the locals call it the sledding hill).

I'd give this course a 4.5 based on game play and varity of holes, but the potential for standing water, excess walking thru a few holes, and the lack of the bridge on 10, leaves me at a 4.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.