Bettendorf, IA 
Middle Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
4 / 327ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Awesome Variety Here

1    8/29/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big concrete tees. This course it is important and it is too good of a course to have anything other than concrete.

2) Nice signs with Hole #, distance, par and a diagram.

3) Orange Mach baskets with # plate facing the tees is helpful. The bright color is also appreciated.

4) 3 pins per hole on nearly every hole. I love it when a course can play many different ways.

5) Nice elevation changes on multiple holes on this course. The elevation is used in all directions which is important. Sidehills are also part of the game at this course which changes your normal shot.

6) Practice Basket is located near #18 basket. It is different than the course baskets because it isn't painted which is actually smart because it could easily be confused for #18 basket (since it is only 50-60' away).

7) Awesome variety on this course. There is water in play on multiple holes, elevation changes in all directions, longer bomber holes, tight technical wooded, some shorter holes, and an awesome variety in distances of holes. All in all one of the most balanced courses I have played.

8)Fairly beginner friendly except the distance.

9) I really wasn't expecting the back 9 to be what it was but I appreciated it after playing the long more open front 9. I loved those cute little wooded holes back in the woods. It reminds me of my home course but much better holes.

10) As well balanced of a course as I have ever played I think.

11) Hole #10 garners points just for being on this course. It is one of my favorite holes played on my 20 course trip! I love the throw across the creek (River???) to the green. Not only is it a tough throw, it also has some low ceiling trees, and your tee shot needs to be placed well to make your life easier. The risk of going in the water trying to keep it close to the water is just awesome design. I love this hole!
Cons: 1) Some erosion areas on the slopes like #1 will continue to be a problem. Hopefully these areas get planted with something to help retain the soil from eroding away.

2) #8 and #9 are almost stupid long. It seems like they needed to use that entire length of the little creek for flow but they could have easily made the hole a couple hundred feet shorter. It just gets repetetive throwing 200' 5 times just to make your approach. I am not sure how the big throwers would feel but it gets old throwing the same shot 4-5 times up along the creek.

3) Hole #15 was very we at the base of the hill. I almost thought about walking around it through the woods. I have a feeling that was just the repercussion of the recent heavy rains this part of the state received.

4) I wish there was a way to see which holes the basket was in. There are multiple locations on many of the holes, I just wish there was some sort of indication as to which hole it was on the tee sign. Lots of work to keep updated but would be much appreciated.

5) Its a little goofy walking from #10 fairway across the bridge along the road to cut back down to the green area and finish the hole. It isn't really a big issue, but it is a little strange and worth mentioning. The good news is it makes it a great hole!
Other Thoughts: What a great course. It has some of everything. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and put it in my top 4 in the Quad Cities area. It isn't as challenging as West Lake or the two Camden courses, but it has some of everything so it is very well balanced. This course might actually crack my top 25 courses, but I need to think about that before I place it with my other 4 disc courses. I woul come back to this course anytime I was in the Quad Cities. It is more fair but as enjoyable as West Lake and Camden, with slightly less challenge, but what it lacks in challenge it has in variety. It is just so well balanced. That is key to its rating. The maintenance seems to be pretty good and it is well taken care of.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course ranks among the most challenging I've played. There's punishment on every hole and little margin for error. This course slapped me around, but it was still a blast.

The first three holes are all big elevation shots. #1 throws from hill to hill across a wooded section. #2 is more of an open shot, and #3 throws down hill, with a nasty marsh that will likely eat your disc if you don't clear it (anything ~260ft or less). #4 is a long straight shot with the marsh lining the fairway to the left. #5 and #6 play through a wooded area of the park with some rolling hills providing elevation change.

#7 moves to a different area of the park for a challenging drive. #8 is a ridiculous bomb (+1000') where you'll probably have to drive 3-4 times (I drove twice before I even saw the basket). #9 is another bomb where you'll probably need your driver twice. If that isn't enough challenge...

#10 is one of the craziest shots I've ever seen. A L to R tee shot across a pretty wide creek with trees along the banks, and little hope of getting your disc back if you don't clear the creek. Then you have to walk uphill on the bike path to the bridge in order to cross the creek.

#11 is a bomb with very thick underbrush on both sides of the fairway.

#12-14 are short wooded shots, with the creek coming into play. #15 is a fun downhill bomb, then #16 goes back into the woods. #17 is another long, punishing shot, then the course crosses back across the bridge and ends innocently enough on a short, fairly open tee shot on #18.

This course had some great tee signs and tee pads. I also liked how the baskets were painted bright orange to make them easier to see.
Cons: There are three pin locations listed on each tee sign, but there is no indication which is currently in place. On most holes, you can see the basket from the tee, but on the long bombs, it's annoying to have to walk 300ft just to check the pin location.

I have no problem with courses that use tall grass or water hazards as punishment, but the marsh in play on 3 and 4 smelled like sewage water or some kind of municipal waste run off... and this was in the middle of the park. It's pretty easy to lose a disc in here, and it sucks having to trudge through sewage water in the middle of a park to find a disc.

Because of all the punishment and distance, this course is essentially beginner proof. New players will not have fun here.

Navigation here can get pretty confusing. Next tee signs are definitely needed, especially since there are several long walks to holes.

The tee pad on #6 was at an almost perpendicular angle to the basket. This was weird.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that has almost every type of challenge you could want... water hazards, huge distance, wooded shots, elevation. But, there is a lot here to frustrate new players, so I'd recommend skipping it if you don't have an accurate drive of at least 300ft, or you could end up losing some discs. If you have the skill, you'll have a lot of fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun once you find your way around

1    4/10/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nicely manicured course that plays through a large multi-use park. Most of the course is grassy with scattered trees and occasional brushy rough that can come into play, with a few holes in denser woods for a nice change of pace. Nearly every hole has some elevation, with tricky uphill shots, a fun downhill bomb off a sledding hill, and several holes that play along the hill to make roll aways a hazard. There is some good length here, with several holes long enough to really rip a drive, and some nice short holes to mix things up. Some water comes into play on the course, adding some nice risky shots and some holes that are very nice visually.

The bright orange baskets look great and are easy to spot from a distance, and were in good shape so they caught well. The tee signs were nice, with distance and layout to the multiple pin placements. The alternate placements looked like they would change up the course quite a bit, and add some nice variety if they are changed reasonably often.
Cons: The biggest issue I had with this course was the navigation issues. There were a few long walks with no signage to make it clear where to go. A couple of these long walks crossed other fairways, making it a little bit of a safety issue as well. A map or guide is very helpful here, otherwise it can be a little frustrating to follow.

There are a few too many holes that are straight ahead. I would have liked a little more variety of hole shapes to test different shots. I would also like to see some way of marking which pin position was currently in use, some holes required some extra walking to know where to shoot which makes a long walk even longer.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course and a nicely taken care of park that was a pleasure to walk around. There are some nice long shots here, and some fun short holes through the woods, so there's enough variety to keep it interesting. It may be a little long for most beginners, and the navigation makes it not too first time friendly. More experienced players will enjoy the length and the elevation, but there could be a little more shot shaping variety to make it a great course. I definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, challenging course

5+    8/4/2009   5/10/2010
Review By: chelseahawk3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes. Relatively open course, except for a few tight ones in the back nine. Takes you through a scenic park. Nice tees and pads.
Cons: There are some very challenging holes. 1000+ foot hole is a real bitch. Also risk of losing discs in large creek. Can be very muddy and wet in some low areas.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a decent course. If not for the very long holes, this would be an excellent course. It is a relatively new course and has the potential to be a great course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Put On Your Hiking Shoes

1    4/19/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: xsjunkie
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tees
-Orange Baskets
-Easy shots, Hard Shots, Long Shots, Not so long shots, Hyzer Shots, Anhyzer Shots, Thumber Shots, Backhand Throws, Forehand Required, uphill shots, downhill shots, wide open shots, tight (nearly impossible shots)...I think you get the idea!
-CHALLENGING!!
-Park has everything, pond, playground equipment, water park etc.
Cons: -Bring the bug repellant
-Course is very wet, even though it hasn't rained for a week
-Back 9 is dirty, lots of boggy ground and brackish water. It's going to be mosquito hell when it warms up.
-Wooded holes need some attention. As per previous review, too many trees make a calculated throw impossible.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course once before when I first started. I hated it! Now that I have more playing experience, I really enjoyed myself. This course is a must play if you're in the QCA. Just bring your A Game and your hiking shoes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    10/17/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: sportsheros90
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 31.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: They were all pros. So many different kinds of shot. Very long holes, holes with elevation changes, side slopes, open park area, throwing over a river, a river mind you not just a creek, through the woods offered some great sight lines and challenges, I really can't stress that this course had it all. Beautiful signage as well and close to shopping and hotels for the tourist.
Cons: It's not closer to my home.
Other Thoughts: All I can say is WOW! We had such an awesome experience, the course was in awesome shape, all different kinds of shots, easy to find, a bridge hole, it had it all. This is my new favorite course!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing; great front, ok back

1    9/8/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *The holes on the front side of the river (1-10?) are outstanding DG terrain -- rolling, grassy hills with big mature trees (kinda like perkerson in Atlanta, or less hilly waterworks in KC)
*1st ~10 holes are really fun to play; some great holes on the back too
*Good mix of terrain -- begins in hilly mostly open area and eventually enters the woods & transitions into tight technical holes
*Located in another very nice Iowa Park
*Good signage; easy to find way around for the most part (aside from #6 as mentioned in other reviews)
*Variety of shots required
*Variety of hole types -- up & down hill, left & right turning, long & short, etc.
Cons: *The biggest con was that 3 holes in the wooded area around #13 (a couple after crossing the river) were jammed in the woods, as were a couple of others on the back 9....the 1st 10 holes were so good that it really stuck out
*you would get lost after #6 if not pre-warned by a prior review & carrying a map
*you have to cross a river in the middle of the course to get to the holes on the other side
*several short wooded holes are 200' or less with no fairway. a 2 is luck on a these holes, not skill.
*safety hazard? on the long downhill hole that plays toward a ball field...
*the hole after you cross the creek eats discs. the shule on the right side of the fairway on the downed tree is a disc eater
Other Thoughts: This course had two sides...the 1st 10 or 11 holes prior to crossing the river were great (4 stars) but the holes on the other side were lacking (3 stars) ... they needed major tree/shule removal as they current eat discs & block the fairway.

Potential to be a great course; too bad there isn't 18 holes of room in the front side terrain or this could be a top course.

Memorable holes were the long par 5 hole with a left to right downhill slant, the downhill par 3 through big trees (#6 or 7) & the bomber downhill hole towards the ball field

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Please mark this course better

1    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course seemed pretty nice, the wholes i played were fun and pretty well layed out. I also like the orange baskets as they are much easier to see then the grey ones.
Cons: What to do after whole 6????? i realize now with this amazing dgcoursereview site that i needed to walk up the hill and cross the street a good 200 yards away but the really need to mark the course better.. something on the tee sign would be find to tell you where to go on the next hole.
Other Thoughts: if i had a guide or a map this course would have recieved a 3.5 but the frustration i felt looking for hole 7 then finding it was that far away with no marker on the course scores it a 2.5

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the top qca courses

2-4    7/26/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 364  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Ample parking area near first hole
-portajohns throughout front nine
-Great signage, which seems to be a common theme among all qca courses
-Good concrete tee pads (4' x 8' I think)
-Well maintained (recently mowed when each time I was there)
-Good shot variety (hyzer, anhyzer, straight holes)
-Good variety of hole lengths (anywhere from 200' in the woods to 850' in the 'open' (1002' foot hole not in placement when I played))
-about half the holes are "open" (although shot placement is still paramount) and half are in the woods and fairly technical
-water on a couple holes (2 with a bad shot and 10)
Cons: not a lot of cons just ones that bother me
-the walk from 6-7 is ridiculous-you have to walk down the hill between 3 and 4 (when dry, through 3's fairway when wet) then up the hill, cross the road and up another hill to 7's teebox
-the walk from 9 to 10 crosses 1's fairway
-you have to walk over the road bridge (23rd st.) to get to the pin on 10 (they should just build a bridge for it)
-long walk btwn 17 and 18 (back across the aforementioned bridge, then up the hill)
-navigation gets a little hairy in 15, 16, 17 there are good paths through the woods, but it's easy to miss 16 if you're not looking for the cut into the woods
-park is fairly heavily used by nondiscers (mostly pedestrians and bikers on hole 10 but could also be a problem with fishermen (hole 2) and kids on hole 6), just be careful on 10 and make sure not to put anyone at risk, there is a warning sign on 10 for people who don't realize the danger
-water backs up on back nine in low areas (I played the day after a heavy rain and 11's left rough had knee high water in it.)
-No drinking water that I saw on the course, there probably is some by the water park area, but that is a bit out of the way
Other Thoughts: This is truly a great course, there are some course layout issues that I think could be addressed with a little thought and sign moving (for instance skip hole three, with kind of a long walk to 4 then after playing 5 and 6, play 3, it would make the walk less arduous to 7) but not really sure how you'd fix 17-18.
This course is huge and tough and not recommended for beginners.
If you are coming to play here I would recommend going to www.iowadg.com and posting up to see if a local will join you.
I could see this course as a 4 or 4.5 for some people who know the course well and aren't bothered by long walks.

UPDATE: The best order to play the holes on this course IMO is play 18,1,2,4-6, 3, cross road to 7-10, cross creek at 23rd st. then play 11-17 with a hike back to the parking lot.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing middle of the road about it

1    6/13/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging. A wonderful mix of park golf and woods golf with some formidable water hazards including a sick shot over a tree lined creek on Hole 10 where you have to find a window to get across. Tremendous variations in hole length including a hole which is 1002' in the longest setting (although I don't think it was set there during my visit), and little sub 200' on #13 with a tricky placement. Cool day glo orange DGA baskets provided for easy sight on often long or darkened fairways. I particularly enjoyed the wooded and technical shots on the back nine. I heard a lot of hype about Middle and it didn't dissapoint me.
Cons: Definitely not a course for rec players as at over 6800' in the shortest configuration and plenty of places for your disc to get lost, it is definitely going to be a long round if you can't throw over 250' or throw straight. A set of shorter tees would really broaden the appeal here. I do wish on Hole 10 they'd build a footbridge to shorten the walk to the other side of the creek. You'll need to use the street bridge to the east of the fairway (and come back on that same bridge from 17 to 18). Also there's a lot of non-DG activity going on in this park and its not ususual to have these folks in your line of fire on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: Two baskets were missing when I played here. I won't consider that a con because its not something the local club can do much about until they can afford replacements. I do kind of wish I could have played these holes although there was a large group of kids playing (on a Friday morning!) on what would have been Hole 6, so I may have had to skip that hole anyways. For as big as this course is, the DG infrastructure is so unimposing that you (or particularly a non DG'er) might not realize there's a course here if you weren't looking for it, watch out for pedestrians and bikers. My main regret was that I was in a hurry to play Middle before heading west to IC, and wish I could have gotten in another round to study it better. Guess I'll need another trip to the QC sometime. A must play!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.