Disc Golf Center

Course Extinct
Pine, CO 
Magic Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #2 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 222ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A Rocky Heaven

2-4    4/26/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The rocks are the best feature of this course. There are several baskets hidden in caves between the rocks. The rocks have a major affect on how many of the holes play. You can use them to get ricochets near the baskets but they can also cause roll-aways, if you hit them just right.
-Another major strong point of this course is its elevation. There are quite a few holes that are straight uphill, which makes some of the shorter holes play a little longer. Almost every hole features other uphill, downhill, and even some side-hill shots.
-The baskets are Disc-In baskets which are my favorite baskets and they always catch well.
-This course has a lot of tight wooded fairways, that require accuracy in order to score well. If you don't have accuracy, you will hit a lot of trees on this course.
-Hole 6 is the longest hole on the course. It is a long downhill shot down into the meadow, to a basket underneath the tree. This is one of the few holes that lets you air it out but it is a blast.
-There is a pretty good mix of holes on this course. Some require anhyzers, some require hyzers or straight shots. The course has a some holes that favor right-handed throwers but also some holes that favor left-handed throwers. In addition to the wooded holes, there are also some more wide open meadow holes that add some nice variety to the course.
-Lots of awesome views all around this course.
-Navigation is easy on this course, as they have arrows, pointing from the last basket to the next tee-pad. For the baskets that you cannot see, they have orange arrows, hung in the trees pointing the basket out to you.
-Benches and trashcans on most of the course.
-You get the course to your self.
-With all of the uphill and downhill, you have to watch for roll-aways on your discs, which I like because it adds some risk and reward to the course.
-Tee-pads are dirt but they are in pretty good shape.
-Hole 15 is the best hole. It a sidehill shot down a gap of trees, to a large rock formation, with the basket tucked about 15 feet down in the middle of the rock formation.
-Lots of memorable fun holes on this course. It will be hard to forget some of the holes on this course.
Cons: -The tee-pads are a little too short. I know this is a shorter course that doesn't require too much of a run-up, but I still felt really cramped on a lot of the tee-pads. Also, be careful on your follow through as many of the tee-pads don't have ground in front of them.
-No tee-signs at any of the holes. While the navigation is ok, and they give you a good walk through of the course, I still like to be able to see the distance and layout of the hole before I throw.
-Hole 16 is a boring filler hole. It is about 150 feet straight downhill and it was the least memorable hole of the course. It's a let-down especially after hole 15.
-Hole 6 is really the only hole that feels super long. There may have been a few holes over 350, but most of them feel a little short, and I wish the course had a few more longer holes.
-A few of the holes felt, slightly gimmicky with baskets supported by trees or on tree stumps but it didn't bother me too much.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast. Make sure you bring a lot of water and are ready for a hike, because this course has a lot of walking to it. Paulie was telling us that the land this course is on is up for sale, and the course may not be around too much longer. Make sure you hit this course, it is awesome and a must play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Aspens and Crevasses

2-4    8/18/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 112  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Magic Meadows has a bit of a storied pass, and Paulie will give you all the details. In short, they had big plans for it and it was a huge success before neighbors were less than thrilled with the traffic and the noise.

Like all the courses in the Conifer/Pine/Bailey area, this one has some great terrain and a lot of unique holes. The elevation changes are more dramatic than all the others except Conifer, and you will definitely be winded after a couple of the climbs. It is worth it. There are some fun cliff shots here. Hole 5 is a cool dropoff shot into some trees where overthrowing it will leave you with a longer shot than you had from the tee. I parked this twice with a thumber. Hole 6 shoots off the cliff to the meadow beyond.

Several holes here use the rows of aspens to great effect. Hole 1 is a short shot straight ahead. One of the later holes is another straight shot through a tunnel that will let you know if you can throw on a line when you're losing elevation (I can't, it turns out). Hole 2 is a nice hole with two prominent alleys through the aspens uphill. It looks like an easy birdie but it didn't turn out that way.

There are a couple holes here that use caves or crevasses. Some people think these are gimmicky, and I get that. I disagree, though. They force a precise approach shot, and if you feel like it's haphazard, it's probably because your drive was subpar.

The most memorable hole, #15, is a long throw to a basket hidden in a crevasse below. There is danger to the left, so fading out could leave you in a horrible place. Even if you hit the rock wall perfectly to "bank" the disc down into the crevasse, the rock walls may get in your head during your putt. Interesting hole.

As with all of the courses that Paulie designed, navigation is easy with color-coded arrows guiding you to the baskets and the next hole. Note to designers: this stuff matters. People don't pay money to stare at a map and use a sextant to guide them around.

I really like the baskets here. I've never seen them anywhere outside of this area.
Cons: Hole 16 is a 122-foot downhill hole. You'd think it's a simple birdie, and it's not (fast green and a couple of trees to miss, etc). But this one did feel a little silly. You really are basically lining up a long putt.

Tee pads are natural or wood chips. They were fine, and no one is expecting concrete.

A few of the open holes felt a little ordinary compared to the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: I'm not in great shape and was fine on this course, but it sucks the wind out of you more than Bucksnort, Phantom Falls, and Bailey (Conifer is comparable).

It was $20 to play. It used to be cheaper but part of the agreement with the neighbors is there are only a few tee times per week. I don't necessarily mind paying this. We need to get to the point where we recognize that playing a course like this is a treat, and you don't treat yourself for free. Also, no one is going to invest in making really creative, fun courses if they have to eat the entire cost.

All of the courses in this area are between 4.0 and 4.5 to me (Conifer might inch just above a 4.5), so it's really a matter of which way you're rounding on any given course. You'll need more than one trip to visit them all, but it's worth it. There are worse things than multiple trips to the mountains for excellent courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Magical Disc Golf Experience

5+    9/1/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: rgorke
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Magic Meadows is a beautiful Colorado mountain disc golf course with the dream of potential additional courses in the future. Creative pin placements with lots of risk/reward are found throughout the course. Paulie's directional arrow system is brilliant and assures no problems navigating through the course. There are some short holes but you'll find they're difficult to birdie being very tight and uphill. Also a new bomber hole at 550' and several at 350'+ so I would hardly suggest this is a putt-putt course. Take your time playing this course as it's rugged and allows you to enjoy the spectacular layout within aspen meadows and rock formations. Summer brings tons of wildflowers and fall brings an abundance of aspens that show off their glorious colors. Bring plenty of water as the only amenities are down the road a few miles. There is a port o potty and picnic table on site to use. The course has all natural tee pads, get used very little and stay in good shape.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a wonderful disc golf experience unlike any other with beautiful scenery, challenging holes and an intimate and private setting to make for a special disc golf experience.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Colorado mountain treasure

1    8/11/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Sean Mullins
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 8/16/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A must play course in the foothills west of Denver! Fantastic variety, and a good challenge for most golfers. Great views, wildlife, and seclusion. The navigation was a breeze, and the baskets catch very well. I used every shot in my bag but a roller. Rudy was a gracious host and we felt very welcome. The hospitality here is tremendous! Managed to ace #13 during my first round! I'll be back in the fall, at the peak of the fall colors. The course is loaded with aspens.
Cons: Not a fan of the very few mulch tee-pads(the packed dirt ones are fine), so I threw a few more forehand shots than I would've otherwise with good footing. But you cant exactly go pouring concrete pads in a course like this.

This is me nit-picking. The course is totally awesome!
Other Thoughts: We are truly fortunate to have such a treasure right here in our backyard. Get out there and play it already!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cool Secluded Course

1    7/15/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Privacy - If you can get a tee time at Magic Meadows, the course is yours for the day. There's nobody behind you, causing you to rush the round. Take your time, enjoy the views, and take advantage of the photo opportunities.

Creativity - Magic Meadows is one of the most creatively designed courses I have ever played. The most significant examples of this are pin placements and the use of rock out-croppings. The holes along the ridge are very unique, even for Colorado courses.

Variety - I honestly think that the variety at Magic Meadows is better than at it's neighbor, Phantom Falls. Magic Meadows has a little more variety of distance, shot shapes and obstacles.

Directionals / Pin Markers - Magic Meadows is easy to navigate and requires very little "scouting" as each blind tee shot is indicated by an arrow, visible from the basket, which points directly to the pin. It's an excellent system, that is great for players and took a lot of time and effort on Paulie's part. Given the amount of time needed to do this, you'll likely not see anything like it at most parks.

Cons: Fairway Grass - the wild mountain grass can get high in some spots. Given that the land is leased, and Paulie is running other courses, it can be a problem on some of the holes. Plus we played during the "monsoon season" and the grass was wet after an afternoon shower. Tall, wet grass is not ideal.

Safety - You sign a waiver for a reason. Some of the hikes and bluffs are daunting. Watch your footing. You know how in horror movies, folks often end up deep in the woods where "noone can hear you scream". Think about Magic Meadows like that. If you're playing the holes along the ridge and you sprain your ankle, (or worse, your knee) you are relying on your buddies to get you down the bluffs...bercause noone can hear your cries of pain. I made this "con" as light-hearted as possible, but seriously, play with caution and use common sense.

Somewhat gimmicky - While some may like the novelty aspects of courses, and they're not all bad, some of the holes at Magic Meadows are gimmicky. You know, hanging baskets and baskets in the splits of trees, etc. Even though Magic Meadows is not a pitch and putt course, it sometimes felt like miniature golf. 'Over the first boulder, bounce off the second boulder on the right and you might land by the pin'...that kind of stuff.
Other Thoughts: Magic Meadows is definitely a cool course and well worth playing when you're in Denver. With Phantom Falls, Beaver Ranch, Bailey and Bucksnort all within 14 miles, it's part of a great area of disc golf. There is something for EVERY disc golfer in these courses.

I honestly can't say enough good things about Paulie. That guy has his stuff together and he takes good care of the courses. The price is steep compared to the fees charged at other courses, but you can clearly see the proceeds going back into the course. Paulie gives a great tour, and a cheat sheet for each hole. He also informs you about dangerous spots on the course. Bottom line: Paulie cares about disc golf and growing the sport, which is an awesome thing in my book.

As for the course itself, contrary to popular belief, it's not a pitch and putt course though there are some short holes that would qualify as such. However, I found there to be lots of these holes in Colorado on my trip. Most every course I have played has a few holes where you tee of with a mid, and are easily birdied. It's unfair to classify an entire course as such based on a few holes. That being said, Magic Meadows is designed to be an "intermediate" course. The pros would not likely have a good time here. Nor would those players whose only disc-golf-related skill is throwing 450 feet. if you're a skilled player who doesn't solely rely on distance, you'll have an advantage. If you fall into the category of "power over skill", I would reccomend Magic Meadows or similar style courses, to refine your weaknesses.

The major thing to remember when playing Magic Meadows is to take your time and enjoy your surroundings. You'll have opportunities to look across the continental divide. very stunning views throughout the course.

I feel confident in rating Magic Meadows as an "Excellent" course. The variety and design are really good. The setting is amazing. All that being said, it's not quite on the "elite" level. But it is definitely worth playing, and I do believe that a vast majority of disc golfers would really enjoy the course.

Currently, they are only accepting 3 tee times per week at Magic Meadows. Contact Paulie and try to set something up if you're going to be in the area and would like to play. The hike is physically demanding. We hopped off a plane from Nashville and went straight to Magic Meadows...not a good idea. It takes your body a couple of days to adjust to the altitude. Bring lots of water or other fluids. I honestly would not suggest soda or beer, as they will dehydrate you even faster...but if you take them, take even more water than you think you'll need. Again, you'll be far from amenities once you're at the course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Setting for DG

1    7/15/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
22 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The land Magic Meadows course is on is beautiful- partly on a grassy valley and partly on the rocky hillside you are immersed with images of white-barked aspen trees, fascinating rock formations, and incredible mountain views in all directions. This a course that absolutely gives you that "out-in-nature" and "away-from-it-all" kind of feel (especially because you are guaranteed to be the only ones on the course that day, and especially after Paulie mentions things like bears and mountain lions and then drives away leaving you completely alone with the course!)

Paulie is a fantastic host and course designer. He really wants people to come and play his courses. His attention to detail is amazing and evident from beginning to end- he gives you a scorecard and hole-by-hole tip sheet, he walks you through any tricky navigation areas or confusing basket placements before you play, and he has installed plenty of signage to ensure that you won't get lost and you know where to aim off the tee. One of his best ideas is having a sign in the middle of the fairway anytime there is a blind or hidden basket from the teebox to prevent having to walk the hole twice to play it once (and believe me, in this altitude and terrain, you don't want to walk more than is necessary!) Paulie has this place very well thought out and planned and is constantly making improvements, always from the eyes of the people who are coming to play his courses.

Again let me emphasize that you get a private round here- the course will be all yours for the day- (this factor is why some people rate this course a 5.0) This allows holes to be set-up a little different- you can have tees closer to baskets (shorter walks) and holes that cross (longer holes, better holes, etc.). The course itself has a nice mixture of short holes, holes that are short but play long uphill, and a couple long more flat holes as well. The terrain is mostly up and down, but there are a few flatter holes mixed in as well making for a nice variety throughout the round. The baskets are of high quality and many are placed in unique locations in various rock formations. These placments, the terrain, and the altitude make this (what Paulie calls an Intermediate) course much more challenging than it looks on paper or in the pictures.
Cons: Apparently you used to be able to, but now you can't just play anytime you want- you have to make a tee time (part of the agreement with neighbors to the property) and there are only a few times a week, so be sure to plan ahead and contact Paulie in advance if planning to make a trip out to this area (which you should).

$20/round would be a lot if you lived here and wanted to play all the time, but as a destination area, it is not too bad, as you do get the course to yourself. He said we could play two rounds which can take 5-6 hours. The altitude got us pretty good as this was the first course we played after flying in, and we only played once, but would have loved to play it again.

The natural tees are fine, and he would be crazy to pour concrete all over on this beautiful piece of LEASED property, but they are not concrete, and I personally prefer courses with concrete tees for both better footing and a more official/permanent/consistent feel.

The mountain grass in the fairways was thin, but was still rather tall. It is playable and wasn't too bad to find your discs and mowed fairways are generally preferred, but I doubt these fairways get mowed or have much of a need to except for in late summer (probably impractical to get a mower here anyways). Just pay attention to where you land or you could be searching more than you want.

Though in the original plans until some other issues have put them on hold, there are no manufactured tee signs, however they are not really necessary as he gives you all the info you need with the scorecard, page of hole descriptions, and self-made navigation arrows.

Things that used to be here are no more- clubhouse, driving range, practice 9, etc. due to making peace and compromising with the neighbors.
Other Thoughts: The course has changed quite a bit since many of the reviews on DGCR were written. Due to the restrictions made as a compromise to appease the complaints of neighbors. The place is now just a disc golf course with a port-a-pottie and a table near hole 1.

Advice, be aware of the effects of 8000'+ altitude: 1) you will have to stop and catch your breath frequently even after short walks and 2) discs fly differently up here, way more stable. Also, bring your snacks and drinks with you, once you are in the gate, you are not leaving until you are done playing.

Magic Meadows is NOT a pitch and putt, it is very challenging despite the length on paper. 250' may not seem like much until it is straight up hill through a narrow gap between a bunch of apsen trees to a basket hidden behind a giant rock!!! Now you are just hoping for par, so if you think you can shoot a 40 out here, then come on out and prove it ;)

Though I really enjoyed the course and the setting, to me it was more of a novelty/gimmicky course with its abnormal basket placements, and not a course that I crave to play over and over again. Don't get me wrong, it was really fun, but it is closer to what I call extreme disc golf vs. championship-style disc golf. It is highly recommended as part of your disc golf vacation to this area, but not quite the level of the very best courses in the entire country.

22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Great course for intermediate player

1    7/12/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: JGreenNY
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Other Thoughts: Magic Meadows is a beautiful course. Paulie has done a great job in creating an extremely cool course that has a bit of everything.

The holes are fairly short but its not an easy course as the elevation changes and tight windows to get through the trees make it very challenging.

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

A woman's Perspective

2-4    6/21/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: GoldieD
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses--I love that on any given hole I can make a par-even though I can't shoot long. It is a beautiful, natural site and has many varied holes, each with it's own set of challenges. I find that I use almost every disc I bring. I appreciate the chance to relax and not hurry--we can play at our pace.
Cons: I am not a long thrower at age 70, so I prefer the shorter holes--but I appreciate that others love these.
Other Thoughts: It is fun to see what I can do--how I can improve.
Rudy and Paul are special people who do everything to make an experience at Magic Meadows truly magical and memorable. I never tire of playing this course--great exercise but doesn't wear me out. Challenging and beautiful. Truly not to be missed. This course keeps us young!!

6 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Yes, it's magic

1    6/4/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: Oboeman
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Magic is a wonderful course, both challenging and fun. The play is through meadows, up to great views, around rock formations and through forests. Basket placement is superb with lots of surprises.

Given the varied terrain, many different types of shots are in play. Pars are well earned and beginner, intermediate and advanced players will all find a lot to like.

Paulie did a great job putting this course together and, as many others have commented, is a wonderful host. The $20- donation is fare and well worth the price of admission.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Check out Paulie's pro shop. It may look small but there's a solid selection of disks, clothing and other cool stuff.

3 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 awsome

1    5/10/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: montezuma's revenge
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: This is the best course I have played. It is a pretty tech course with some absoutly amazing basket placement.
Cons: It is a pay to play course and it cost a donation of $20. However you do get to play two rounds and in my opinion it is well worth the money.
Other Thoughts: Paul runs the course and is a wicked chill guy. He has a nice pro shop at his house where you can buy new and used discs T-shirts and other suff. I recomend you check this place out.

2 of 19 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.