Course Extinct
Pine, CO 
Magic Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #10 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 222ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Colorado mountain treasure

1    8/11/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Sean Mullins
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 8/16/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A must play course in the foothills west of Denver! Fantastic variety, and a good challenge for most golfers. Great views, wildlife, and seclusion. The navigation was a breeze, and the baskets catch very well. I used every shot in my bag but a roller. Rudy was a gracious host and we felt very welcome. The hospitality here is tremendous! Managed to ace #13 during my first round! I'll be back in the fall, at the peak of the fall colors. The course is loaded with aspens.
Cons: Not a fan of the very few mulch tee-pads(the packed dirt ones are fine), so I threw a few more forehand shots than I would've otherwise with good footing. But you cant exactly go pouring concrete pads in a course like this.

This is me nit-picking. The course is totally awesome!
Other Thoughts: We are truly fortunate to have such a treasure right here in our backyard. Get out there and play it already!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 WOW

2-4    8/1/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: LDietz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Varied. I played discs that normally never come out of my bag. You have to be versatile here. You need right turns, left turns, straight shots, and a few overheads would also be helpful. This course demands accuracy and touch. An errant shot can turn a 2 into a 5. I'm not a real good player put can keep close to some great players by being careful and smart.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course 4 times. Every time I like it better. If you don't like hiking then this is not the course for you. If you like to show off your long arm then this is not the course for you. Maybe the advanced course will be. But if you are an intermediate player (this is the intermediate course) and a good throw is 200 ft. then this course is a blast. You can still make pars and birdies.

6 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Definite Magic

1    8/7/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: Leroy
Played: 132  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.6 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I found Magic Meadows to be a very unique disc golf experience. This is a tight technical course that goes up and down the side of a hill. The holes aren't very long but getting a par is still a challenge due to the large amount of trees on the property. That being said the fairways are tight but not too tight as they cut through Aspen groves, Pine trees and rock formations. I found I needed to throw hyzer, anhyzer, forehand, backhand, tomahawk, ricochet and any other trick I had which made it a fun challenge. There are several holes that drop down quite steep which is always fun to throw. A few others that climb up steep which will humble you quick. Several of the holes have the basket placed among rock formations. At first I thought these shots would be too difficult and frustrating, but the course design is very good and these shots are actually makeable. Each hole has chairs for you to wait at if needed and they are from all sorts of time periods making a round at Magic Meadows feel like a mini chair museum. They provide water at a couple of strategic places which I really appreciated. A clipboard with scorecard and tip sheet is provided to help first time players navigate. There's a pro shop in a kooky old travel trailer which was neat. A nine hole putting warm up course that includes a game you can play if you want. A driving range where you can throw your discs or rent a bucket of discs and the staff picks them up. To top it off I even saw a horseshoe pit.
Cons: I had to wait 5 minutes for a deer to get out of fairway #11 so I could throw. (I'm kidding about this being a con. It was a peaceful amazing thing to experience).
Other Thoughts: I was skeptical at first about how good this course would be. But as my round progressed I just kept finding my self saying "Wow" over and over. Easily one of my top 5 courses. Normally I would say dirt tee pads are a con but being that this is a shorter, tight technical course you never really need a monster windup so the tee pads are just fine. If you are looking to throw long this is not the place for that, but the Baily course up the road will give your big arm a workout later in the day if you really need that fix. This would be a beautiful place for a hike with all the Aspen Groves and rock formations, but combined with disc golf it works for recreation on several levels. They seem to have planned this very well. I hope they can make a success of this and put in the other two courses they have planned.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

1    8/5/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: Lanebrew
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an amazing place to play disc golf. It started out with Rudy and Paulie warmly greeting us and explaining a few of the blind holes, signage and general course hints. Then they gave us a scorecard with clipboard that had hints for every hole. Nothing better than going to a new course, getting some info that on x hole, it is VERY BAD to be long, left, etc. The course is very technical and requires accuracy. If you want throw bombs, hit the driving range (which they have). There are several blind holes which are pretty cool and some of the basket placements are amazing (one is in a cave, another is in a crevace, another sitting between 2 trees carved into it). The creativity is amazing. One of the most breathtaking views you will see is from 14. Absolutely worth the short hike.
Cons: I can't really think of any. We had a great time.
Other Thoughts: I definitely recommend you play here. After the round, Paulie cooked up some brats and we have a few beers just chilling. I HIGHLY recommend playing the pitch and putt course. It's a 9 hole game where you get a point for metal, 3 for chains and 6 for a make. Makes for a fun betting game with your buddies!!!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A great course!

1    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: EvergreenJC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is a great, unique course and I'll definitely be back to play many times again. Lots of fun pin placements, elevation change and challenging shots. Only the intermediate course is currently open and this will be a fantastic 3-course park when done. The driving range and putting 9-hole are exactly what my friends and I have been saying we wanted at a course. Rudy was awesome and clearly put a lot into this with his partners. No park rangers!!
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Can be tricky to find. Be sure to look for the white fence on the right and turn left there. Better signage at the gate would be great.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.