Course Extinct
Pine, CO 
Magic Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: slugwater Hole #15 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 302ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Amazing course

1    8/5/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: Lanebrew
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an amazing place to play disc golf. It started out with Rudy and Paulie warmly greeting us and explaining a few of the blind holes, signage and general course hints. Then they gave us a scorecard with clipboard that had hints for every hole. Nothing better than going to a new course, getting some info that on x hole, it is VERY BAD to be long, left, etc. The course is very technical and requires accuracy. If you want throw bombs, hit the driving range (which they have). There are several blind holes which are pretty cool and some of the basket placements are amazing (one is in a cave, another is in a crevace, another sitting between 2 trees carved into it). The creativity is amazing. One of the most breathtaking views you will see is from 14. Absolutely worth the short hike.
Cons: I can't really think of any. We had a great time.
Other Thoughts: I definitely recommend you play here. After the round, Paulie cooked up some brats and we have a few beers just chilling. I HIGHLY recommend playing the pitch and putt course. It's a 9 hole game where you get a point for metal, 3 for chains and 6 for a make. Makes for a fun betting game with your buddies!!!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: DiiSegreti
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very fun course. Not to much in long holes on the intermediate course but the technicality of the adopts made this course a blast. Some very unique pin set ups that made this a ton of fun to play. Pauly and Rudy are onto something good here. They are onto the beginning of what is going to become the standard for this sport. People get out of town and go play this course. You'll not regret it.
Cons: Bring your hiking boots.
Other Thoughts: I'll be playing this course again. I can't wait for the pro course to open.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A great course!

1    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: EvergreenJC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is a great, unique course and I'll definitely be back to play many times again. Lots of fun pin placements, elevation change and challenging shots. Only the intermediate course is currently open and this will be a fantastic 3-course park when done. The driving range and putting 9-hole are exactly what my friends and I have been saying we wanted at a course. Rudy was awesome and clearly put a lot into this with his partners. No park rangers!!
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Can be tricky to find. Be sure to look for the white fence on the right and turn left there. Better signage at the gate would be great.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Found the magic, but where is the meadow?

5+    8/3/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Magic Meadows intermediate course is a fine addition to the 285 mountain corridor. The route to the course is simple and the dirt road down to the course is in good condition. The course itself requires fitness and features a great mix of short, long, left, right, and straight shots. The fairways are narrow, but I wouldn't say they are too tight. The designers incorporated several geographic and natural features into the course. #11 has its basket in a "cave." The approach is tricky because the fairway is narrow and the basket is elevated on a rock formation. I had to crawl to pick my disc out of the basket. The view from #14 is a picturesque 180-degree panorama. #15 is totally unique: the basket is straight off the tee, but blind and located beneath and between two huge rock formations. #16 is lodged between two trees that form a V.
Cons: As you can see from the hole info., this is a really short course. Strong players won't need a full throw until #6. That said a birdie is as likely as a bogey on most holes. The tee pads are dirt so over time they could wear down like at Conifer. The course is specifically groomed for one tee pad and one pin placement. Due to the new arrangement with the neighbors $20 per day is steep.
Other Thoughts: Having played the course when it opened and after it reopened, I must say I am disappointed as to how the situation turned out. The course shop, driving range, and putting course are all gone. The course is a nice niche course, but it is not amazing. I recommend playing the course as it could be gone when the lease is up. This is a small business so come out and support it and bring your friends.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome course

1    7/28/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: lwiles2
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I am fairly new to disc golf, but my boyfriend has been playing for a few years. The best thing about this course is that it had things to offer both of us.

The driving range is awesome ($3 for a bucket of 20 discs, with baskets to aim at every 100 ft) and while we were throwing Rudy came by and gave us some tips (which really helped both of us). We didn't try the putting greens, but we will next time for sure.

The course itself is challenging but so much fun. The hike is rough, but totally worth it once you get to hole 14. There are rocks to throw around, baskets hanging in trees and caves, and free ice water at a few of the tee boxes. You can buy discs, food, drinks, hats, etc. at the pro shop, and when you get done playing Rudy offers to grill hot dogs and burgers for a small donation.

It is $6.00 to play a round, and $10.00 for the day, but it is totally worth paying and donating. They even told us about clinics coming up in September, so join the FB group for updates on that if you haven't yet.
Cons: None. This place is great.
Other Thoughts: You can tell Rudy is a seasoned player, and he really payed attention to every detail about this place. Everything my boyfriend or I have ever wished was at other courses, this one has. Chairs at every tee, water along the way, and infinite time and space to practice before or after your round. We are going back this Saturday, and we can't wait!

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Colorado's Finest

1    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: optimusjimbo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: *Unique challenging shots
*currently working on adding more courses to this location
*Seats at every hole, coolers of water on a few holes.
*hole 7 returns you to the clubhouse for bathroom breaks
*clubhouse has hot food prepared as ordered, snacks, drinks, discs for sale, lost & found discs.
*9 hole putting range with unique score system
*driving range
Cons: none whatsoever
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I've honestly felt the need to review. this place is the most amazing course i've played at. from the unique technical shots from hidden inside of caves and hanging from trees. to free water provided on the course trail. anyone who plays disc golf in colorado needs to try this place.

the current course is going to be the "Intermediate course" they are working on a beginner course and a pro course as well.

there are garden gnomes placed near the baskets to mark where the longest drives have landed which entertained me more than it probably should have

the putting range is a nice challenge as well
i did not try out the driving range today but maybe someday

definitely already trying to plan a trip back and telling everyone i know that plays that this is the place to be

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/16/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: dennytodd
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.3 Years
5 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: So, me and my buddys took a discgolf Colorado trip from Texas. And scheduled a tee time (6 dollars,which is cheap)at magic meadows on our second day. Rolled up to the course that had only been open for one day and thought to myself there not even ready yet. There were baskets everywhere. I was thought we had gotten there like a week early. Nope!!!! The baskets were actually a 9 hole putting course and a bad ass driving range. Which comes with a bucket of discs that they retrieve. Or you can throw your own. So we get up to hole one and its a total ace run backed up to a mountain. Strait shot. Then we follow the big wooden arrows on the trees to the next hole. Very easy to navigate. We climb the mountain after a few holes to find a breath taking veiw of Pine Colorado. Every hole is par 3. The course is fairly tight with tricky shots. There are some open shots as well. For example- i think its hole 6, looks super easy down hill but if you over shoot it youre screwed. There are some hanging baskets from trees, a basket in a cave, and even a teebox in a cave. Super cool. There are also little knomes and painted rocks for c.t.p placements. Makes it more fun. Rudy is a very helpful and cool guy. He sat us down for a few minutes before we got started and gave us a good tutorial. Then when we finished he threw some dogs and burgers on the grill for us. Thanks Rudy....
Cons: None. Bring a can of oxygen if your not from around there.
Other Thoughts: Already planning a trip to go back there and Phantom Falls which is just as bad ass. All and all, this course is fun for the pro and the beginner.

5 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.