Wilmington, NC 
Arrowhead Park Share
Uploaded By: takman Hole #14 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Decent beginner course

1    7/12/2016   7/13/2016
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 80  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a recent trip to the beach, I played Arrowhead, Trinity, and Joe Eakes. Joe Eakes is the best of the three (and Castle Hayne is better still), but Arrowhead (and Trinity) really are not designed with the serious player in mind. Like Trinity, which is a fun little 9-hole pitch and putt, you won't need more than a putter at Arrowhead. (You might use a mid or fairway driver on a hole or two, depending on your arm.) 13 of the 18 holes are under 200 feet and the longest on the course is 266. The rough isn't bad, for the most part, and the navigation is simple. This is a good course to introduce a beginner to the game or practice upshots. If you're looking for more serious golf, try Castle Hayne or Joe Eakes. If you're looking for the best intro course or a higher fun factor, try Trinity DGC at Good Hops Brewery. But for something in between -- a beginner course with a little elevation, a few holes over 200 feet (which Trinity lacks), and a full 18 holes -- Arrowhead works.

+ Decent elevation, considering it's near the coast.

+ Good mix of hyzer, anhyzer, and straight holes.

+ Good baskets.

+ Good signage with hole yardage and info; also intuitive navigation.

+ Nice bathrooms, a covered picnic area, and brand new playground. I took my kids here and it's certainly a kid-friendly course.
Cons: Intermediate, advanced, and pro-level players will find this course rather elementary. But again, I think it was designed with the beginner in mind. Two other courses in the area, as of 2016, cater to more serious players.

- Nothing for big arms. Very short, not very challenging.

- The rubber tees were not always level, and sometimes sand covered portions of them, but being such a short course, you don't need much of a run-up.

- The mosquitos are legit here. Wear bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for beginners and course explorers. Check it out!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/18/2015   10/21/2015
Review By: Discgolface1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course to practice the "up shot". Only disc really needed are mids and putters, even on the longest holes.The elevation makes for a nice hike. T
Cons: The holes are all short and tee signs don't match.seems to have been designed by a beginner player. Watch out for the stumps!!!
Other Thoughts: Wouldn't take much to turn this course into a great place to play

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good beginner course

2-4    7/27/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: AngelK
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some have complained about the course being short, but I think the baskets are great for beginners - easy to see and hole in ones are very achievable. Area can be a bit woodsy, but narrow enough to create a good challenge for more experienced players. Undergrowth isn't bad, trash cans at all tees, and trail is very well marked.
Cons: Course currently under construction, only played to basket 9. Course likely too short for more experienced players, most baskets are less than 200ft.
Other Thoughts: There is a creek that you can't see just beyond the trees next to the course, be careful when you decide to throw it as hard as you can.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

fun course

1    3/24/2015   3/25/2015
Review By: Schleppy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 26.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained
Plenty of trash cans
Good use of elevation
Good tee signs
Plenty of next hole signs to navigate you
Rubber tees worked well
Fun
Cons: No benches

Other Thoughts: I was in the Wilmington area for a vacation and had time to play this course once. Its a fun challenging short course. I used a putter off the tee with no run up on all but 3 holes which I used a mid range with no run up. For being as short as it is it still offered plenty of challenge. Fairways were well thought out and offered plenty of variety of left to right, right to left, uphill, downhill holes. The course was crowded on a Tuesday morning in March so be prepared for plenty off traffic on weekends and warmer months. But the locals were very nice and courteous to us. I definitely recommend this course if you are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Par 3

5+    4/1/2014   2/17/2015
Review By: tirepizza
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great use of elevation.
-Quick rounds.
-Perfect warmup for castle hayne.
-Lots of ace chances.
Cons: -Crowded on weekends.
-16 is really the only hole to let one rip.
Other Thoughts: All in all a fun course and great way to spend an hour whether you are visiting or a local.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

What it lacks in size, it makes up for in enjoyment!

5+    8/7/2014   9/30/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 142  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is pretty fun to play, considering how short it is. Usually courses of this length are reserved for one time play only, but Arrowhead kept drawing me back.

First off, if you're looking for any elevation changes at all in a course while you're near the beach, this is the course for you. The front nine incorporates elevation, sometimes rather large, in the majority of the holes. The back nine is a little more flat.

Counting holes that test your left/right abilities, it seems fairly balanced, although the two big downhill shots are both RHBH.

You have a few water hazards to deal with on a few holes, namely 18, although you'll find it takes a fairly erratic shot to end up there.

Every hole on the front 9 is what I would call wooded. The back 9 is a decent mixture of open and wooded, but the course lacks a truly open big arm shot.

For being at the beach, the course allows you to play in almost any weather due to the course's ability to wick away water. You won't have to tromp through swampland after a downpour.

The signs are well made and navigation shouldn't be much of an issue at all. There were even trashcans on the course.

To be a wooded course, there is hardly any underbrush. You won't have very many chances to lose a disc, so you shouldn't feel bad at running at those aces, which could come in bunches on this course.(In fact my brother hit an ace on 5 during our rounds there).
Cons: The course is short. It's perfectly acceptable to throw a putter on nearly every hole on the front nine and even nearly half of the back, although you might opt for a fairway driver. In this aspect, it doesn't challenge the big arm players in a way I look for when objectively rating a course.

A few holes on the back 9 play out into an open field which may or may not be used by the general public. Something to keep in mind when throwing there.

I don't recall any seating available, but the terrain would be difficult in many places to put any. Additionally, the course should only take an hour to play so you won't really need any in the first place.

Outside of the overall ease of difficulty to the whole course, I can't think of very many other cons. The layout dictates a lot of my rating and it just lacks that challenge I'm looking for. The layout takes advantage of the land available, but there simply isn't enough land to create a championship level course.
Other Thoughts: Don't hesitate to stop and play Arrowhead if you're in the area. At the very least, the park is well maintained, you're bound to have a fun experience, some ace runs and you shouldn't lose a disc. Use it to warm up your Putt and Approach game before tackling Castle Hayne.


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A joy to play

2-4    5/26/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: waltny
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well marked signage, tee boxes and baskets
-Well groomed course with out a major amount of under growth to swallow up discs
-Nice variety in lines needed to take to each basket
-Really gives your mids and P&A's a workout. On occasion you may disc down with a FD for a forehand or go for it with something like a drone or zone
Cons: Strangely I have no major or minor issues to address, this may change with a few more runs on the course
Other Thoughts: This course was a great time. I have been restricting myself to only mids and putters and this course delivers. A lot of short holes that prove easy ace runs with a few that reward those to take chances. I parked quite a few that lead to birdies first time out.

The wind is minimal once you get in the trees and I enjoyed warming up in the field beforehand lobbing at basket 13 . I would play again and suggest to others to give it a chance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Fun

1    3/4/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: darnleyroad
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course was well designed. The terrain is varied, and there are quite a few elevation changes. It's also well maintained.
Cons: It's not especially challenging. The course is pretty short, there were a lot of holes where I was teeing off with an approach disc. Only really one hole where I was able to break out a driver.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun. The course makes use of the space well, and it's in a very nice park. I definitely recommend it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Fun Play

1    3/8/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, wooded course that wouldn't be out of place in more westerly parts of the state. There's tons of trees and whole the fairways aren't overly tight, any inaccuracy will result in hitting a trunk of some kind. The biggest danger comes from all the early gaps. There are a lot of them. I couldn't put an exact number on the amount of tees that sit with a pair of trees just in front but they would not fit on one hand. I'd say that the more interesting and challenging holes are concentrated in the front nine. Mostly, this is because of the elevation changes on that part of the course. A few of the holes (4,6,7) boast some seriously vertical fairways. Good stuff.

I also didn't find any of the fairways to be lacking in lines of attack. On a few occasions, there are multiple flight paths, in particular the uphill on 6, where there is a long hyzer route and narrow straight path that finishes right. Open shots are also rare but 16 provides a nice long route through the power corridor. Most of the holes support one flight path and typically, it's exacting but not too demanding. The majority are simple doglegs with some straight approaches. Solid if not overly exciting.

I wouldn't describe this course as beginner-friendly but it's not beginner-unfriendly either. There are some things that should frustrate them, but with the easy distances involved and the low amount of underbrush, they should be able to get out of trouble. Advanced players might be bored somewhat but they shouldn't be coming here looking for a destination course. I would say that the ideal audience for this course is the intermediate player without a lot of time on their hands. It plays quickly. A lot quicker than either of the other two courses in the county and it's proximity to downtown Wilmington means that many players are likely in out of here on a regular basis. As a play-it-all-the-time course it fits the bill and when you combine the easy navigation, the ability to start on 10, (or 13 if you have the map) there is no reason not to play it if you are in the area for the other two courses.
Cons: The holes are short. Thirteen of them are under two-hundred feet. A wooded course like this isn't required to feature monster distances but when their this short, it's too easy to recover for par even when missing the drive and ending up on the trees. So it's not an ideal course for experienced players. And it's not ideal for beginners as the lines are bit too tight for them. I'm talking a lot about what it isn't but that's probably the only thing wrong that I see. It's not a destination. It's not a challenge. It's not memorable or spectacular in any way. There are no signature holes. For what it is, a quick, relatively easy wooded course, (in an area without any other) it actually succeeds pretty well.
Other Thoughts: It's about a three-minute drive off the route to Joe Eakes. It takes less than forty minutes to play. It has some nice lines and if you aren't expecting another Castle Hayne, you won't be disappointed. It's not a destination course: it's an on-the-way course. And thankfully, this one is very much on-the-way.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner beach course.

1    2/23/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very short, so it tests your short game well. A good number of ace runs. Decently designed for the land. Good signage, nice to have trash cans at every hole for the assholes that decide to drop their beer cans while playing.
Cons: Could use a few trees taken out to make the fairways consistent with the lengths. Fun to have short holes, but this ends up being more of a putting round than a real throw down.
Other Thoughts: For a beginner, this course would be great if they could avoid the trees.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.