Wilmington, NC 
Arrowhead Park Share
Uploaded By: takman Hole #18 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A joy to play

2-4    5/26/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: waltny
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well marked signage, tee boxes and baskets
-Well groomed course with out a major amount of under growth to swallow up discs
-Nice variety in lines needed to take to each basket
-Really gives your mids and P&A's a workout. On occasion you may disc down with a FD for a forehand or go for it with something like a drone or zone
Cons: Strangely I have no major or minor issues to address, this may change with a few more runs on the course
Other Thoughts: This course was a great time. I have been restricting myself to only mids and putters and this course delivers. A lot of short holes that prove easy ace runs with a few that reward those to take chances. I parked quite a few that lead to birdies first time out.

The wind is minimal once you get in the trees and I enjoyed warming up in the field beforehand lobbing at basket 13 . I would play again and suggest to others to give it a chance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Fun

1    3/4/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: darnleyroad
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course was well designed. The terrain is varied, and there are quite a few elevation changes. It's also well maintained.
Cons: It's not especially challenging. The course is pretty short, there were a lot of holes where I was teeing off with an approach disc. Only really one hole where I was able to break out a driver.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun. The course makes use of the space well, and it's in a very nice park. I definitely recommend it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quick Fun Play

1    3/8/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, wooded course that wouldn't be out of place in more westerly parts of the state. There's tons of trees and whole the fairways aren't overly tight, any inaccuracy will result in hitting a trunk of some kind. The biggest danger comes from all the early gaps. There are a lot of them. I couldn't put an exact number on the amount of tees that sit with a pair of trees just in front but they would not fit on one hand. I'd say that the more interesting and challenging holes are concentrated in the front nine. Mostly, this is because of the elevation changes on that part of the course. A few of the holes (4,6,7) boast some seriously vertical fairways. Good stuff.

I also didn't find any of the fairways to be lacking in lines of attack. On a few occasions, there are multiple flight paths, in particular the uphill on 6, where there is a long hyzer route and narrow straight path that finishes right. Open shots are also rare but 16 provides a nice long route through the power corridor. Most of the holes support one flight path and typically, it's exacting but not too demanding. The majority are simple doglegs with some straight approaches. Solid if not overly exciting.

I wouldn't describe this course as beginner-friendly but it's not beginner-unfriendly either. There are some things that should frustrate them, but with the easy distances involved and the low amount of underbrush, they should be able to get out of trouble. Advanced players might be bored somewhat but they shouldn't be coming here looking for a destination course. I would say that the ideal audience for this course is the intermediate player without a lot of time on their hands. It plays quickly. A lot quicker than either of the other two courses in the county and it's proximity to downtown Wilmington means that many players are likely in out of here on a regular basis. As a play-it-all-the-time course it fits the bill and when you combine the easy navigation, the ability to start on 10, (or 13 if you have the map) there is no reason not to play it if you are in the area for the other two courses.
Cons: The holes are short. Thirteen of them are under two-hundred feet. A wooded course like this isn't required to feature monster distances but when their this short, it's too easy to recover for par even when missing the drive and ending up on the trees. So it's not an ideal course for experienced players. And it's not ideal for beginners as the lines are bit too tight for them. I'm talking a lot about what it isn't but that's probably the only thing wrong that I see. It's not a destination. It's not a challenge. It's not memorable or spectacular in any way. There are no signature holes. For what it is, a quick, relatively easy wooded course, (in an area without any other) it actually succeeds pretty well.
Other Thoughts: It's about a three-minute drive off the route to Joe Eakes. It takes less than forty minutes to play. It has some nice lines and if you aren't expecting another Castle Hayne, you won't be disappointed. It's not a destination course: it's an on-the-way course. And thankfully, this one is very much on-the-way.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good beginner beach course.

1    2/23/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very short, so it tests your short game well. A good number of ace runs. Decently designed for the land. Good signage, nice to have trash cans at every hole for the assholes that decide to drop their beer cans while playing.
Cons: Could use a few trees taken out to make the fairways consistent with the lengths. Fun to have short holes, but this ends up being more of a putting round than a real throw down.
Other Thoughts: For a beginner, this course would be great if they could avoid the trees.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not bad...

5+    9/30/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 29  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Short. Perfect for a quick getaway from the office during a lunch break. Two can easily play a round in under 45 minutes. Wham, bam, thank-you-ma'am.

- Location. It's set pretty far back in Monkey Junction, but because of it's propinquity to College Road it makes for a nice in-between course on the travel from Castle Hayne to Joe Eakes if one were so inclined to play all three Wilmington courses over a weekend. (P.S. "Propinquity" means closeness.)

- Well marked. Navigating the course is easy. However, those new to the course will probably wonder where to begin. First hole is straight up the first hill you see driving in to the entrance to the park. Chances are you saw a basket on your drive up. That was #2. #1 tee is to the right of that.

- Lots of trash cans that are emptied regularly. And they are bright! If you're not sure where the next hole is, look for the closest glare from the NC sun. One on every tee box.

- Baskets are fairly forgiving. Tee boxes aren't bad too awful terrible, but you can read about that in the cons.

- Provides some nice elevation changes in spite of its proximity to the beach.

- Not too much traffic on the course. Since this course is generally considered the bronze-medal winner in Wilmington (there's only three courses), most people prefer to play Castle Hayne or Joe Eakes in Kure Beach. Plus, with the course being a short one the wait times for groups in front are pretty short.

- Park itself offers great amenities: new shelter (with clean restrooms and a grill), basketball/tennis courts, ultimate/soccer/kickball field, and playground for the kiddies. (No reservations required to use the shelter either. First come, first served.)
Cons:
- VERY wooded. Only on a couple holes are you able to grip it 'n rip it. No matter how good you are, you WILL probably hit more trees than you're accustomed to or comfortable with when playing this course. Accept it and send frustration packing.

- All par threes. I know I said that was a pro, but it'd be nice to have a few holes to draw out the game. But hey, I was able to play 27 holes on my lunch break the other day, so if you value quantity over quality this is a good thing too. Beggars can't be choosers.

- No benches on tee boxes....but then, it's a short course.

- Tee boxes. They're plastic and can be really slippery when wet. Also, some are really uneven, especially #9. Careful on the run-up as erosion on that hole could easily cause you to slip off the back and sideline you with a sprained ankle.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
All in all, Arrowhead is not a "bad" course by any means, but compared to The Castle and Joe Eakes it's junior varsity. The length is optimal for beginners and kids, but being so heavily wooded it could easily frustrate both. However, if you're looking for a quick round to sharpen your short game and technical skills, you could do a lot worse than Arrowhead. It's worth a look for anyone addicted to the game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    9/5/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: Bowman101
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good Beginner course
clean
bathrooms and trash cans
uses terrain very well
Cons: short
not enough space for some holes
trees everywhere
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and I have played it every day this week. Its a fun course, but my biggest problem is all of the trees. They make it challenging, but there have been so many times I have hit them, or heard a thunk and an obscene remark from another played across the park. Either way, love this course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sand Dune

5+    5/30/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: jmw1121d1
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the course I take beginners to. It is short but tight, so I enjoy it also as a change of pace from playing The Castle most of the time.

This area is typically below or at sea level meaning it is really flat around here. Arrowhead is the only course with any real elevation to practice on.

The course also allows for some neat shots you do not get anywhere else nearby. Try throwing an over head over all the trees off the 4th tee. That shot does not exist anywhere else nearby. Down hill over trees.

My only ace was on this course with a comet. I play a lot of ace runs here which I do not do anywhere else.

The park around the course is nice and has field for practicing before you play.
Cons: Really short, no holes to air the disc out on.

Needs a little pruning on a few holes. Not to take away the teeth of the course but just to clean up the lines.

no benches.

no practice basket.
Other Thoughts: Watch for snakes I have seen a couple at this course. If you go when no one is on the play ground try climbing the hill behind it and throwing a shot over the field and play to the basket at 14. Makes for a really fun 19th hole. Just make sure no kids are on the play ground.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beginner Course

5+    5/28/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: shocker22
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is good for the beginning player or if you want to go have some fun with you buddies.
Cons: no benches to sit on while waiting for others to finish holes or waiting for you group to finish driving

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

short course, long on fun

2-4    5/23/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: ghahn
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: well marked, easily navigated, sand based terrain. I played this in the afternoon after it had downpoured in the morning and it was well drained (no standing water).
Cons: if you want to work on long drives, go elsewhere!
Other Thoughts: short holes, many less than 200', but great for working on your short game.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

All about the elevation

5+    5/2/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: wilmheath
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 5/6/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of elevation on the front 9

Good way to improve your short game

You can play the whole course in under an hour.

Very well marked with nice pads. Trash cans everyone and it's very clean and I hope it stays that way.

Nice playground for the kids to play on, basketball court, tennis, etc.
Cons: It still needs some grooming but it's come a long way since when it first opened.

Would be nice to have some par 3+'s.

Other Thoughts: It's gotten a ton better in the last 5 months and I play here all the time. It's worth the trip to if you are in town and having elevation makes it well worth it.


3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.