Wilmington, NC
Arrowhead Park Share
Uploaded By: takman Hole #12 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 118ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tons of Potential

1    2/6/2013   2/12/2013
Review By: grains36
Played: 70  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 24.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I do not review alot of courses because it seems like it is best to play them a few times before trying to sound off. However, I could not resist because this course was very interesting.
Good design. The designer used the elevation that was available. Good beginner course. I Iike the potential of this course.

Shiny Trash Cans everywhere. I hope this keeps it clean.
Cons: The biggest problem is that nobody has taken a high limb trimber to the property. In my experience, it is best to take out the high limbs first so that you can create some space about 10 to 16 feet above the ground. Hole 2 is a prime example where taking the two limbs on the left would open a nice risky fairway over an huge dropoff. There are limbs to take on every hole. To make matters worse, there were small battered trees left in the fairway cutting off low routes too. These are all easy fixes with a few tools and a few hours.

Signage- None. A sign to Hole 1 would be nice. I heard that signs were on order.

Other Thoughts: Beginner level courses are great for disc golf. My hat is off to the people that are making this happen. I had fun but would not want to play a serious round until the fairways are finished.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very Impressed

2-4    2/2/2013   2/2/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: o- Short course allowing multiple games, or if you play multiple courses a day this course will not hold you up..

o- Very easily navigated, the paths from basket to tee pad are very heavily broken in also as mentioned before, all tee pads can be located by the shiny trash cans located at each basket.

o- Good mixture of lines off the pad, Some requiring very technical approaches, and some that are just an open line.

o- Elevation is very nicely mixed, you will go from throwing straight on, to up hill right back to down hill.

o- Nice basket placement, on some of the holes if you shoot long, you can count on adding a stroke.

o- Quite a few ACE RUNS!!!! ( Hit chains on a couple of the baskets, couldn't get the disc to rest in them, very heart pounding.)
Cons: I really only have 1 gripe about this course, the distance from tee to basket is non existent.Some may not mind this too much, but I like to know what distance I am looking at throwing.
Other Thoughts: Very quite park, the people that were there playing were very polite, and very friendly. It was definately an A+ experience. Which is why we chose to play through the course 4 times today.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

what a waste

2-4    12/17/2012   12/17/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.7 Years
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layout - Can really test your short/technical game. Lots of super tight lines that you really have to work a disc to hit. There are a few solid disc golf holes out here and I can say that a lot of holes certainly give you a look you probably haven't seen before.

There actually are some nice elevation changes here which is weird for the beach.

Equipment - Shiniest trashcans I've ever seen.. and there's a ton of them. When in doubt on where to go next just look for the traschans which are at every hole.

Brand new nice baskets. Pads are hexagon rubber things which work well for here... no point in wasting more resources like concrete on this place.

Atmosphere - Nice park, bathroom facilities. Has a new look/feel to it. It's sandy and has typical beach type trees everywhere.
Cons: Layout - Did I read that they actually hired somebody to design this course? They should of just bought a bunch of drugs and then designed this place because it would of turned out better and they would of had a good time.

There's some holes where you try to figure out how in the hell you can make a disc do that. Then there's some even worst holes where you to try to figure out if you should just laugh at how dumb it is and move on to the next hole or if you should just leave.

... should of left.

If they took 500 trees off this (short rec level) course it might be decently playable. It's just not designed well. There's multiple trees within 3' of most baskets. You could describe the fairways in terms of pinball and be more accurate. I don't really get how this is a beginner course. If kids or beginners play it they might never play again.

The best holes on this course are decent at best... that says a lot. If I could describe this course in one sentence it would be "it's short and what the hell were they thinking."

Equipment - There's no signs yet; though you don't really need them unless most of them say either "it's right there throw a putter" OR "it's right there and impossible so who gives a damn"

It might have been better if they just used the trashcans as targets and put the new baskets up at Castle Hayne.

Atmosphere - It's kind of a dreary setting in some parts.. maybe it's because i was at the beach in winter or because this course sucks so much you just can't feel good about any part of it.
Other Thoughts: Don't even go here, just play Castle Hayne twice. If anyone who has the power to change this course reads this for the love of Ken Climo make this course beginner friendly so you don't turn an entire generation against us.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

To the point on Arrowhead

2-4    12/5/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park, they dumped something like 2 million dollars into the renovation of it. The course is really short and really technical. Not a lot of tall trees but tall enough pines and what not to feel wooded. Not a lot of vegetation to lose a disc in for the most part, just pine needles and sand really.

The tees are those plastic hexagonal grid things they have at the Kure Beach park. They do the job for the most part.

Trash cans at literally every hole. If trash can availability was an indicator of how good a course was, this would be the host of the USDGC.

The course flows okay, a few hiccups at the beginning but the course is short so you don't spend a lot of time walking if you accidentally go to the wrong hole.

Cons: I don't really get whom this course is designed for. If you're a novice, you're gonna be whipped by the very tight, technical lines but fortunately the holes are short. If you have much DG ability whatsoever, it feels like putt-putt where every hole is a windmill hole, or more like shooting hoops at the fair on one of those carnival rims where only a perfect shot goes in.

Some of the holes appear to have been shortened (read: made worse) for some reason. There is some room to have a decent length hole here and there to break up the 100-200' monotony but they went the opposite way. Puzzling.

The fairways are designed pretty well, challenging but fair, but more than a few have borderline impossible lines thanks to the shortness, like a short 'L' that bends less than 100' away. If you don't have a bag of OH and skips and rollers and similar tricks, you'll be exasperated.

Some of the tees need to be reinforced because they are falling apart already, making them lumpy and tripping hazards.

Other Thoughts: It's a time killer and a fun course if you like some gimmicky challenge. If you like to air out discs and really rip long drives though, you'll hate this course. This is a fine-tune your midrange and approach game kind of course. It's really not that bad, and could be a lot better, but as it is now, it just kind of puzzles me how you can go through so much trouble to put in a course and just end up with this?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Improving

5+    9/21/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: takman
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is getting some attention and it's getting played. The re-design of holes 17-18 have made them very playable.
Lots of trees marked on Hole #4, hopefully by the county to be removed.
I've noticed some evidence of trimming and the fairways are opening slightly.
Trash situation seems a little better.
Cons: No signage yet.
They need an off ramp to Hole #1 teepad and a course map.
Too much ground debris and many of the greens are undefined.
Other Thoughts: IMO this course was not ready to review yet but the recent improvements inspired me.
My suggestions are:
1. Rake the fairways and greens right down to the dirt. This may sound tough but we raked all 6500 feet of Castle Hayne gradually and it made a ton of difference. It gives the holes a groomed look and improves footing where it's needed.
2. Give the greens a 30 foot perimeter of clean footing and trim any low skinny branches surrounding the basket.
3. Remove heavy downed limbs from fairways and greens. Use them for the transitions.
*Adopt a hole and rake it. You'll be surprised how quick we could make Holes 1-3 look groomed. Pinestraw and leaves will naturally fall and cover the dirt but the ground will remain firm instead of loose and crunchy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

ok start

5+    6/2/2013   7/22/2012
Review By: jeditden
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Holes 4,6,7,and 9 use the elevation changes of the hill well.
-All holes are a par 3, making for a shorter round then other courses in town.
-The majority of holes are under tree cover so the shade helps during these rough summer days.
-Despite some saying opposite, most tees are within sight of the previous basket. Hole 10 to 11 is a small hike though.
Cons: . Lots of leaves on the ground mean long times searching for discs if you don't watch your throws.
-The paved walkway leading up to the course just sort of stops and you are right in the middle of a fairway. Why didn't it come up by the 1st tee?
-No benches or practice tees.
-Rubber tees weren't really the best choice for this course. There are a few that have come apart already


Other Thoughts: This course has come a long way since it opened up a year ago. Almost every fairway is defined and some have been moved for the better. I would say it rounds out the local courses nicely. With Castle Hayne and Kure Beach such different styles as well. It's only a matter of time until I ace one of these holes (Probably #7, I've come so close multiple times...)
-I was wrong. I aced Hole 9! First ace ever gives the course an automatic half point increase haha!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Open but not ready

1    7/7/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: David5017
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice new baskets. Short course is quite easy for most players but is a good course for beginners.
Cons: Virtually no fairways. You toss from the tee and then walk through the woods. Some holes are even dog legs with absolutely no fairways to shoot for. After you are done with a hole it is difficult to find the next tee box on several holes.
Other Thoughts: This course needs a lot more maintenance before it will be in any kind of shape to play. It will take more than just a bunch of disc players stomping down the vegetation to get this course playable. It still needs some heavy equipment. Then, signage would help.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

getting better

5+    4/24/2013   6/30/2012
Review By: RK311
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/19/2013
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Finally a course close to my house
A third course in NH county
Brand new baskets
Nice piece of property with elevation changes
Lots of trash cans
Great for upshot and putting practice
Getting beat in nicely
Sandy soil means no puddles...ever.
Cons: Some tees need repair
Needs some minor tree work
Other Thoughts: The arrow has become our go-to course for a quick round. Short with tight lines. Challenging for rec level, either easy or frustrating for intermediate level, easy for advanced level. Plenty of chances for ace runs.
Bring a putter, a mid, and some friends.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/28/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: sheaD
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plays up and down what should be considered some nice elevation for being to close to the ocean. Set in a nice park with good facilities.
Cons: No "true" fairways or lanes to the basket. The county drove 4-wheelers through the park to clear fairways. Short course, I did not use a driver but one time (I throw around 350'). Lots and lots of trash especially at the bottom of the hill.
Other Thoughts: Even though there a no real fairways yet this is still a pretty easy/relaxing course. I shot a 47 and the guy I was with shot a 46. This course is only 1 day old so it definitley needs a lot of tree trimming and foot traffic to make some real lanes to the basket. Once this course is beat in some it should make for a very fun, ace run round that you can finish in about 30-45 minutes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The kids will play, the men will frolf

5+    6/25/2013   6/28/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 33  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Nice large rubber tees
2. Tees are all very close to the previous hole
3. Makes nice use of the elevation changes
4. Provides mixture of open and wooded holes
5. Large pavilion, baseball field, and playground for the kids and wife.
6. Signs with map par and distance
7. trashcans at every hole.
8. Great course for beginners.
Cons: 1. Tight sometimes too difficult fairways
2. Back nine are hot and sandy (no big deal though)
Other Thoughts: This course starts out great. Fun not too hard and short. However the back nine are not shaded, more lengthy, and sandy. Great course, especially in the winter. Can't wait to play again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.