Wilmington, NC 
Arrowhead Park Share
Uploaded By: takman Hole #14 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Not bad...

5+    9/30/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 64  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Short. Perfect for a quick getaway from the office during a lunch break. Two can easily play a round in under 45 minutes. Wham, bam, thank-you-ma'am.

- Location. It's set pretty far back in Monkey Junction, but because of it's propinquity to College Road it makes for a nice in-between course on the travel from Castle Hayne to Joe Eakes if one were so inclined to play all three Wilmington courses over a weekend. (P.S. "Propinquity" means closeness.)

- Well marked. Navigating the course is easy. However, those new to the course will probably wonder where to begin. First hole is straight up the first hill you see driving in to the entrance to the park. Chances are you saw a basket on your drive up. That was #2. #1 tee is to the right of that.

- Lots of trash cans that are emptied regularly. And they are bright! If you're not sure where the next hole is, look for the closest glare from the NC sun. One on every tee box.

- Baskets are fairly forgiving. Tee boxes aren't bad too awful terrible, but you can read about that in the cons.

- Provides some nice elevation changes in spite of its proximity to the beach.

- Not too much traffic on the course. Since this course is generally considered the bronze-medal winner in Wilmington (there's only three courses), most people prefer to play Castle Hayne or Joe Eakes in Kure Beach. Plus, with the course being a short one the wait times for groups in front are pretty short.

- Park itself offers great amenities: new shelter (with clean restrooms and a grill), basketball/tennis courts, ultimate/soccer/kickball field, and playground for the kiddies. (No reservations required to use the shelter either. First come, first served.)
Cons:
- VERY wooded. Only on a couple holes are you able to grip it 'n rip it. No matter how good you are, you WILL probably hit more trees than you're accustomed to or comfortable with when playing this course. Accept it and send frustration packing.

- All par threes. I know I said that was a pro, but it'd be nice to have a few holes to draw out the game. But hey, I was able to play 27 holes on my lunch break the other day, so if you value quantity over quality this is a good thing too. Beggars can't be choosers.

- No benches on tee boxes....but then, it's a short course.

- Tee boxes. They're plastic and can be really slippery when wet. Also, some are really uneven, especially #9. Careful on the run-up as erosion on that hole could easily cause you to slip off the back and sideline you with a sprained ankle.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
All in all, Arrowhead is not a "bad" course by any means, but compared to The Castle and Joe Eakes it's junior varsity. The length is optimal for beginners and kids, but being so heavily wooded it could easily frustrate both. However, if you're looking for a quick round to sharpen your short game and technical skills, you could do a lot worse than Arrowhead. It's worth a look for anyone addicted to the game.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    9/5/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: Bowman101
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good Beginner course
clean
bathrooms and trash cans
uses terrain very well
Cons: short
not enough space for some holes
trees everywhere
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and I have played it every day this week. Its a fun course, but my biggest problem is all of the trees. They make it challenging, but there have been so many times I have hit them, or heard a thunk and an obscene remark from another played across the park. Either way, love this course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sand Dune

5+    5/30/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: jmw1121d1
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the course I take beginners to. It is short but tight, so I enjoy it also as a change of pace from playing The Castle most of the time.

This area is typically below or at sea level meaning it is really flat around here. Arrowhead is the only course with any real elevation to practice on.

The course also allows for some neat shots you do not get anywhere else nearby. Try throwing an over head over all the trees off the 4th tee. That shot does not exist anywhere else nearby. Down hill over trees.

My only ace was on this course with a comet. I play a lot of ace runs here which I do not do anywhere else.

The park around the course is nice and has field for practicing before you play.
Cons: Really short, no holes to air the disc out on.

Needs a little pruning on a few holes. Not to take away the teeth of the course but just to clean up the lines.

no benches.

no practice basket.
Other Thoughts: Watch for snakes I have seen a couple at this course. If you go when no one is on the play ground try climbing the hill behind it and throwing a shot over the field and play to the basket at 14. Makes for a really fun 19th hole. Just make sure no kids are on the play ground.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

5+    5/28/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: shocker22
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is good for the beginning player or if you want to go have some fun with you buddies.
Cons: no benches to sit on while waiting for others to finish holes or waiting for you group to finish driving

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 short course, long on fun

2-4    5/23/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: ghahn
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: well marked, easily navigated, sand based terrain. I played this in the afternoon after it had downpoured in the morning and it was well drained (no standing water).
Cons: if you want to work on long drives, go elsewhere!
Other Thoughts: short holes, many less than 200', but great for working on your short game.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 All about the elevation

5+    5/2/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: wilmheath
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 5/6/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A lot of elevation on the front 9

Good way to improve your short game

You can play the whole course in under an hour.

Very well marked with nice pads. Trash cans everyone and it's very clean and I hope it stays that way.

Nice playground for the kids to play on, basketball court, tennis, etc.
Cons: It still needs some grooming but it's come a long way since when it first opened.

Would be nice to have some par 3+'s.

Other Thoughts: It's gotten a ton better in the last 5 months and I play here all the time. It's worth the trip to if you are in town and having elevation makes it well worth it.


3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    3/21/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: nalu222
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All in all I think this course is really fun. After reading some the other reviews, I was worried that this course would not be playable. However we arrived to find the course in great condition. All tees and baskets are clearly marked and have a natural flow to them. The course makes excellent use of the elevation changes, a rare thing here at the beach. There are alot of Par 3's which is good for most players just starting out. More advanced players should expect to finish well under par.
Cons: There are still some trees that I think should be trimmed or removed all together. Some of the trashcans are way to close to the tees. I nailed 2 of them with my follow thru.
Other Thoughts: I wonder if they have considered expanding the course back into the swamp area?

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Potential

1    2/6/2013   2/12/2013
Review By: grains36
Played: 76  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 27.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I do not review alot of courses because it seems like it is best to play them a few times before trying to sound off. However, I could not resist because this course was very interesting.
Good design. The designer used the elevation that was available. Good beginner course. I Iike the potential of this course.

Shiny Trash Cans everywhere. I hope this keeps it clean.
Cons: The biggest problem is that nobody has taken a high limb trimber to the property. In my experience, it is best to take out the high limbs first so that you can create some space about 10 to 16 feet above the ground. Hole 2 is a prime example where taking the two limbs on the left would open a nice risky fairway over an huge dropoff. There are limbs to take on every hole. To make matters worse, there were small battered trees left in the fairway cutting off low routes too. These are all easy fixes with a few tools and a few hours.

Signage- None. A sign to Hole 1 would be nice. I heard that signs were on order.

Other Thoughts: Beginner level courses are great for disc golf. My hat is off to the people that are making this happen. I had fun but would not want to play a serious round until the fairways are finished.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very Impressed

2-4    2/2/2013   2/2/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 48  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: o- Short course allowing multiple games, or if you play multiple courses a day this course will not hold you up..

o- Very easily navigated, the paths from basket to tee pad are very heavily broken in also as mentioned before, all tee pads can be located by the shiny trash cans located at each basket.

o- Good mixture of lines off the pad, Some requiring very technical approaches, and some that are just an open line.

o- Elevation is very nicely mixed, you will go from throwing straight on, to up hill right back to down hill.

o- Nice basket placement, on some of the holes if you shoot long, you can count on adding a stroke.

o- Quite a few ACE RUNS!!!! ( Hit chains on a couple of the baskets, couldn't get the disc to rest in them, very heart pounding.)
Cons: I really only have 1 gripe about this course, the distance from tee to basket is non existent.Some may not mind this too much, but I like to know what distance I am looking at throwing.
Other Thoughts: Very quite park, the people that were there playing were very polite, and very friendly. It was definately an A+ experience. Which is why we chose to play through the course 4 times today.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 what a waste

2-4    12/17/2012   12/17/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.4 Years
12 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Layout - Can really test your short/technical game. Lots of super tight lines that you really have to work a disc to hit. There are a few solid disc golf holes out here and I can say that a lot of holes certainly give you a look you probably haven't seen before.

There actually are some nice elevation changes here which is weird for the beach.

Equipment - Shiniest trashcans I've ever seen.. and there's a ton of them. When in doubt on where to go next just look for the traschans which are at every hole.

Brand new nice baskets. Pads are hexagon rubber things which work well for here... no point in wasting more resources like concrete on this place.

Atmosphere - Nice park, bathroom facilities. Has a new look/feel to it. It's sandy and has typical beach type trees everywhere.
Cons: Layout - Did I read that they actually hired somebody to design this course? They should of just bought a bunch of drugs and then designed this place because it would of turned out better and they would of had a good time.

There's some holes where you try to figure out how in the hell you can make a disc do that. Then there's some even worst holes where you to try to figure out if you should just laugh at how dumb it is and move on to the next hole or if you should just leave.

... should of left.

If they took 500 trees off this (short rec level) course it might be decently playable. It's just not designed well. There's multiple trees within 3' of most baskets. You could describe the fairways in terms of pinball and be more accurate. I don't really get how this is a beginner course. If kids or beginners play it they might never play again.

The best holes on this course are decent at best... that says a lot. If I could describe this course in one sentence it would be "it's short and what the hell were they thinking."

Equipment - There's no signs yet; though you don't really need them unless most of them say either "it's right there throw a putter" OR "it's right there and impossible so who gives a damn"

It might have been better if they just used the trashcans as targets and put the new baskets up at Castle Hayne.

Atmosphere - It's kind of a dreary setting in some parts.. maybe it's because i was at the beach in winter or because this course sucks so much you just can't feel good about any part of it.
Other Thoughts: Don't even go here, just play Castle Hayne twice. If anyone who has the power to change this course reads this for the love of Ken Climo make this course beginner friendly so you don't turn an entire generation against us.

12 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.