Manhattan, IL 
Round Barn DGC Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #4
3 / 330ft.   3 / 394ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun Course

5+    9/14/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 60  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Equipment is good, baskets catch well, and the large circular teepads are great.

- Multiple pins (Though in many cases the alternate pins don't actually add much)

- Course is in a beautiful park and is nice to play through

- Variety, several holes around the pond, some longer more open holes, some winding through large trees, some through more tight alleyways.

- The limited elevation is used well to provide some interesting greens.
Cons: - There aren't really many great holes. Hole 3 is a standout, the stacked, protected baskets on 9 are cool, but the hole itself isn't spectacular. There aren't really any bad holes, but not really anything that blows you away.

- Always seems to be windy here, can get tiring.

- As mentioned above, the multiple pins seem like a missed opportunity, in many cases they don't really add anything, could be nice for more beginner players, but just come off as "meh."

- Hole 5 seems to just eat discs.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course from time to time, but more often than not I end up heading to different courses when I make the trip to the Joliet area. Highland, West, and Community Parks are generally higher on my list of courses to hit.

Course is a nice addition to the area, but not quite as much of a draw.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

2 in 1 course

5+    8/23/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: StevieWraithVaughan
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple pins on each hole
-Many circular tee pads
-Mix of challenging and easier holes
-Lots of variety available
-Unique
-Nice Park
-Disc store less than a mile away
Cons: -Location (kind of in the middle of nowhere)
-Not really a con but the pond can be a problem for someone not wanting to risk losing a disc.
-Not much to complain about
Other Thoughts: Really nice layout and some very unique holes and creativity. The round paved tee boxes are great and accommodate player that might want a different path to follow. (VS. straight tee boxes)

Having different pin options allows you to play a different course twice in the same location. Sometimes I will even mix and match between red and silver pins in a round. Having that option is truly unique and keeps the course interesting.

If you are one that doesn't want to lose discs in the water then layup, these holes are still playable if you throw safely. If you think you can clear the water and can't throw 350'ish consistently then maybe you should reconsider if you don't want to lose plastic.

Great course, fairly close to Westpark and the Oaks. Some of the red tees are really really long and seem nearly impossible to finish in two w/out alot of luck.

Not much around the area it is out in the country, so get food before, or bring a cooler.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Round & Round Dosey Doe!

1    3/9/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Round Barn (named for the huge white round barn at the entrance) plays through a grassy, mostly open area that has a smattering of trees throughout. One or two holes include somewhat tighter looks off the tee, but nothing gets into "technical" wooded golf. The course is open enough that most botched tee shots still result in a par.
- H20 is definitely the best part of this course. Unfortunately it only comes into play on #'s 2,3, 4, and 5 with #'s 3 and 4 Red (i.e., the longs) easily being the standout holes. Both offer risky water carries while offering a safety route for less experienced/skilled players.
- Good signage, tees (many are circular, adding to "round" motif), baskets. No lack of amenities. Dual pin positions offer a more difficult layout as well as the shorter Silver holes. #9 has the Silver and Red baskets stacked atop each other (Red on top). Definitely something I hadn't seen before; the concept seemed neat, but the execution (with a tight cluster of tree trunks behind the pin) took a lot of the risk out of gunning for the upper basket.
- Decent use of the minor elevation changes throughout. Nothing spectacular, but all the major wrinkles are used to utmost effect (#18 comes to mind).
Cons: - The major con here is that much of the course seems the same. Not much distinguishes the non-water holes from each other. The holes aren't bad, per se, just kinda bland.
- Several of the holes towards the middle of the course seem tightly clustered together, with potential for fairway overlap. This could become a bit of a safety issue on busier days.
Other Thoughts: - The greatest attribute of Round Barn is the nice lake. Not only does it provide some challenging, well-designed holes, but it also is a pleasant relief from some of the nastier Chitown-area "water" holes. Runoff ditches, scum-filled ponds, pollution, and poop-water are all "water" hazards I've seen in Chicago. Thus, the relatively clean and picturesque lake does much to help Round Barn's appeal.
- Overall, decent without ever really wowing. Simply not enough standout holes to bump it up to a 3.5.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Round barn a soild course

2-4    6/11/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: depauw
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the tees are made of concrete and offer good grip the tee signs are of good quality there are two baskets at each hole one for advanced players and one for newer players there arent many people at this course so you can almost always play at any pace you want
Cons: tee signs keep disappearing ive seen many people lose discs in the pond the woods are full of misquotes and they will eat you alive unless you have bug spray

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Play, Bring a Boat

2-4    5/5/2013   5/7/2013
Review By: dwebb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course has a great layout with a variety of short holes and long holes. The course is very well maintained and has large concrete tee pads and almost brand new catchers. There are both short and long catchers on every hole, and most holes are able to be played by beginners.
Cons: While the holes outside the trees are grass, those under the canopy are mostly weeds and can be a little buggy. There are holes on this course with water in play so bring a floater and a long pole for retrieval.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Round Barn DGC

2-4    10/21/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 79  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of shots here, Some short but technical shots and some wide open holes.
-Concrete pads, Some of which are circular which is unique.
-A couple risk/reward shots which are not usually found on other courses in the area.
-Lots of big oak trees, and plenty of other smaller trees to add obstacles.
-The double basket on hole 9 is awesome. Both times I've played here I hit the basket but missed the ace, I like the idea of having two baskets on top of each other, increasing the odds of an ace.
-Signs are now up and look very nice, despite the fact that someone has already broken the display off of their respective posts on two holes.
-Multiple baskets, These are great if you are an experienced player and will be bringing someone who is not as experienced.
-Nice quiet setting, If you come here and there are only a few other disc golfers out it can be very peaceful.
-Excellent place to work on shot shaping
-Proximity to other good disc golf courses
Cons: -Its always windy here it seems. That can get old but it is what it is.
-Some of the holes seem repetitive.
-Fairways do get close together here and that could be an issue as this course gains popularity and traffic.
-Needs a couple more garbage cans throughout the course and maybe a port-o-potty near the back of the course near the 11 teepad.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the second time today and I enjoyed it much more than my first time here. Now that there are signs and I knew how to navigate the course I was a lot more at ease. The lack of signage the first time here really bothered me.

I really would like to hit this one up as my first play of the day when I am fresh, because then I believe I would have a better time here. Both times I've been here I had already played 18+ holes at some of the other nearby courses and I tire out after the first handful of holes when I get here. That being said, trinity links and highland are both nearby, if your coming down to the the J town to make a day of disc'n then make sure you hit this one up too.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

round barn

1    10/1/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - very nice park
-some tee pads are nice big round and concrete that are very nice for me because i have a very big stride
-the shots by the pond are fun you can risk a shot over the pond if u want but don't have to
-many holes under huge oak trees make for nice hard shots
-each hole has two baskets silver ones that are easier and red tees for more skilled players
-hole 9 is awesome with 2 baskets stacked on top of each other that is possible to ace with a perfect shot
-has one or two holes that really test your arm
Cons: -no directions to baskets / next hole as of yet but there is a map in the parking lot i would recommend taking a picture of the course map on your phone to help u find your way
-if you throw into the heavy underbrush / heavy woods on the back side there are thrones F*@%ing everyplace you step
Other Thoughts: me and my friend played here for the first time today and my buddy was getting frustrated by the lack of signs until we met up with a local who had played it many times who helped show us the way
- i was told that they have put in signs at the tee pads but have not been there yet to see for myself

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun mix

1    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a grassy park with mature oak trees. A few holes bring a pond into play, offering some great risk/reward decisions. All offer safe shots that avoid the danger of ending up in the water but take away the birdie opportunities, to get deuces on these shots you have to take the riskier route over the pond. On each of these, the short basket is a much more beginner friendly option with less risk and more room on the greens between the basket and the shore.

The rest of the course offers multiple routes through mature trees. Having a good selection of different line shaping skills is valuable here, you can throw a hyzer on most holes but it's not always the best option. A few elevation changes come into play, and are used as well as possible. I liked the rollaway greens on the last couple holes, they keep things interesting through the end of the round. The stacked basket is a cool quirk, adding an elevated pin position while still offering the cool protected pin position to the shorter basket.

The tees are nice, many are large circular pads and the rest are standard rectangular pads, all are textured concrete. The baskets are new and catch great, and having the short beginner friendly silver baskets and the tougher red baskets is a great feature.
Cons: There are a lot of holes in the trees that feel a bit similar, there's not a whole lot of space to stretch things out and the rough is very limited so the land doesn't offer much chance for variety. The lack of length keeps even the long layout from being all that challenging for better players. Some of the holes don't offer much difference between the long and short baskets which was a little disappointing. A few spots have fairways that are very close to one another, that definitely could be a safety issue as this course gets popular.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the silver baskets approachable, with reasonable lengths and less water danger. The red baskets offer some fun challenges, they're a little short to really test top players but it's a course that is enjoyable for most skill levels. I will definitely be playing this one again when I'm in the Joliet area, and I recommend a stop if you're passing through.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging, Well thought out Course

1    7/28/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: stpitner
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love playing well thought out courses. I also really enjoy when a park district supports and implements the ideas of the course designer. Not many park districts would pull the trigger on circle teepads, and more than half of the holes have these. Dual Baskets on EVERY hole enables me to play the reds while my wife can play Silvers and give each other a great challenge. Very unique shots all throughout, and the pond shots are VERY tough.
Cons: Would have liked to see the more signature holes later on in the round, but you can't really do that and still be able to start/finish near the parking log. Hopefully the park district will let a couple of the holes for the red baskets near the end get pushed back a little deeper to add to the challenge.
Other Thoughts: In order to get to this course I drive by 3 other courses, including Channahon and West Park. I would definitely pass West Park to get to this one, and I'd enjoy continuing to play it as much as Channahon. I hope to continue to see nothing but improvements out there!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 almost but not quite

1    7/11/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: Bodangle22
Played: 70  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a beautiful park with lots of great land for disc golf. I played the red baskets. #2 is a type of hole not seen much in this area. It requires an upshot. The upshot is a downhill shot to a well guarded basket. #3 peninsula hole is the epitome or risk/reward. #4 is an epic shot over water and requires a little more distance than it appears off of the pad with an excellent pin position. #5 is also a cool RHBH anny shot that requires putting it over the water and hitting a 30 foot wide gap on the right side of the fairway about 225' off the pad. after that gap theres another 200' feet give or take on a well guarded fairway to a nicely place basket position. #9 stacked baskets are something I have never seen before and on top of that its in the middle of jail which makes for interesting putts. #10 has a nice basket position on top of a small hill. #15 is a monster uphill shot then back down a little bit to the basket. up and down sloped holes are always cool. #16 im guessing will be an island type hole when it comes to leagues and tourneys with the path coming in play just before the basket. #17 basket position is stellar. death putts galore for that one. #18 is a great way to end the course with a nice elevated shot over 2 "valleys" with the basket placed on top of the 2nd hill. The circle tee pads are something new to this area and a great perk to this course.
Cons: This course really disappointed me and the group I was playing with. For having 2 baskets on every hole I was really expecting more distance and variety for the long baskets. #1 was not the way I would want to start a course. A tee pad and a basket 250' away with nothing in between. #6 and #7 is where my bubble really bursted playing this course. Both of these holes are definitely "filler" holes. Holes 6-10 were all crammed together super tight in an area where some really great holes could have been made. Too much of this course (red baskets) were simple buzzz or putter shots with very little in the way to stop them from getting to where you want them to go. This was the most disappointing thing about this course. I was really hoping to be able to pull a driver out on more than maybe 5 holes.
Other Thoughts: The designers of this course know how to design courses and I can only expect to see changes to this in the future. Unfortunately from what I hear a lot of the land they wanted to use was not made available to them a last seconds notice which seems to me why there are these filler holes. I doubt I'll come back to this course until changes are made because the hour and a half drive isn't worth playing 7 or 8 good holes. I really hope the red baskets get a major make over to make this course a beast. The potential is there. My rating doesn't factor in the lack of signage and benches.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/11/2012 Designer Response by: #19325
Tee signs have been installed.

Hole 1 will have an Island built around it in the future. The plan is for a similar green like USDGC 17.

I am trying to get #14 & 16 lengthened down the hill.

The plan was for a minimum of 4 par 4's but it didn't work out. Adding long par 4's through the Oaks would have been impossible. The open areas to the East and South are off limits.

There were a lot of restrictions and areas we needed to avoid. We could not use the creek area in front or wooded area near the creek. Those pavilions really take away a ton of room for buffer zones. If you look at the area the course is on it's really not that much land.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.