Manhattan, IL 
Round Barn DGC Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #9
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Course

5+    9/14/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Equipment is good, baskets catch well, and the large circular teepads are great.

- Multiple pins (Though in many cases the alternate pins don't actually add much)

- Course is in a beautiful park and is nice to play through

- Variety, several holes around the pond, some longer more open holes, some winding through large trees, some through more tight alleyways.

- The limited elevation is used well to provide some interesting greens.
Cons: - There aren't really many great holes. Hole 3 is a standout, the stacked, protected baskets on 9 are cool, but the hole itself isn't spectacular. There aren't really any bad holes, but not really anything that blows you away.

- Always seems to be windy here, can get tiring.

- As mentioned above, the multiple pins seem like a missed opportunity, in many cases they don't really add anything, could be nice for more beginner players, but just come off as "meh."

- Hole 5 seems to just eat discs.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course from time to time, but more often than not I end up heading to different courses when I make the trip to the Joliet area. Highland, West, and Community Parks are generally higher on my list of courses to hit.

Course is a nice addition to the area, but not quite as much of a draw.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Round barn a soild course

2-4    6/11/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: depauw
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the tees are made of concrete and offer good grip the tee signs are of good quality there are two baskets at each hole one for advanced players and one for newer players there arent many people at this course so you can almost always play at any pace you want
Cons: tee signs keep disappearing ive seen many people lose discs in the pond the woods are full of misquotes and they will eat you alive unless you have bug spray

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Round Barn DGC

2-4    10/21/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 82  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of shots here, Some short but technical shots and some wide open holes.
-Concrete pads, Some of which are circular which is unique.
-A couple risk/reward shots which are not usually found on other courses in the area.
-Lots of big oak trees, and plenty of other smaller trees to add obstacles.
-The double basket on hole 9 is awesome. Both times I've played here I hit the basket but missed the ace, I like the idea of having two baskets on top of each other, increasing the odds of an ace.
-Signs are now up and look very nice, despite the fact that someone has already broken the display off of their respective posts on two holes.
-Multiple baskets, These are great if you are an experienced player and will be bringing someone who is not as experienced.
-Nice quiet setting, If you come here and there are only a few other disc golfers out it can be very peaceful.
-Excellent place to work on shot shaping
-Proximity to other good disc golf courses
Cons: -Its always windy here it seems. That can get old but it is what it is.
-Some of the holes seem repetitive.
-Fairways do get close together here and that could be an issue as this course gains popularity and traffic.
-Needs a couple more garbage cans throughout the course and maybe a port-o-potty near the back of the course near the 11 teepad.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the second time today and I enjoyed it much more than my first time here. Now that there are signs and I knew how to navigate the course I was a lot more at ease. The lack of signage the first time here really bothered me.

I really would like to hit this one up as my first play of the day when I am fresh, because then I believe I would have a better time here. Both times I've been here I had already played 18+ holes at some of the other nearby courses and I tire out after the first handful of holes when I get here. That being said, trinity links and highland are both nearby, if your coming down to the the J town to make a day of disc'n then make sure you hit this one up too.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun mix

1    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a grassy park with mature oak trees. A few holes bring a pond into play, offering some great risk/reward decisions. All offer safe shots that avoid the danger of ending up in the water but take away the birdie opportunities, to get deuces on these shots you have to take the riskier route over the pond. On each of these, the short basket is a much more beginner friendly option with less risk and more room on the greens between the basket and the shore.

The rest of the course offers multiple routes through mature trees. Having a good selection of different line shaping skills is valuable here, you can throw a hyzer on most holes but it's not always the best option. A few elevation changes come into play, and are used as well as possible. I liked the rollaway greens on the last couple holes, they keep things interesting through the end of the round. The stacked basket is a cool quirk, adding an elevated pin position while still offering the cool protected pin position to the shorter basket.

The tees are nice, many are large circular pads and the rest are standard rectangular pads, all are textured concrete. The baskets are new and catch great, and having the short beginner friendly silver baskets and the tougher red baskets is a great feature.
Cons: There are a lot of holes in the trees that feel a bit similar, there's not a whole lot of space to stretch things out and the rough is very limited so the land doesn't offer much chance for variety. The lack of length keeps even the long layout from being all that challenging for better players. Some of the holes don't offer much difference between the long and short baskets which was a little disappointing. A few spots have fairways that are very close to one another, that definitely could be a safety issue as this course gets popular.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the silver baskets approachable, with reasonable lengths and less water danger. The red baskets offer some fun challenges, they're a little short to really test top players but it's a course that is enjoyable for most skill levels. I will definitely be playing this one again when I'm in the Joliet area, and I recommend a stop if you're passing through.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging, Well thought out Course

1    7/28/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: stpitner
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love playing well thought out courses. I also really enjoy when a park district supports and implements the ideas of the course designer. Not many park districts would pull the trigger on circle teepads, and more than half of the holes have these. Dual Baskets on EVERY hole enables me to play the reds while my wife can play Silvers and give each other a great challenge. Very unique shots all throughout, and the pond shots are VERY tough.
Cons: Would have liked to see the more signature holes later on in the round, but you can't really do that and still be able to start/finish near the parking log. Hopefully the park district will let a couple of the holes for the red baskets near the end get pushed back a little deeper to add to the challenge.
Other Thoughts: In order to get to this course I drive by 3 other courses, including Channahon and West Park. I would definitely pass West Park to get to this one, and I'd enjoy continuing to play it as much as Channahon. I hope to continue to see nothing but improvements out there!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    7/8/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the ground of an old farm, taken over by the park district. Doesn't seem like there would be any interference except for a walking path by #16 and #17. No problem.
- Roughly half the holes are set in a large section/grove of smaller trees that force/take away lines. Some are pretty tight, like the hallway on #7, and the low ceiling on #13. Others are more open but still require accuracy, like the uphill shots on #6 and #8. #11 plays out of the woods with a few trees right off the tee, and #12 plays back into the woods from an open meadow.
- Other holes are more open, like #1 which only has one large tree to worry about. #14 is almost wide open, a nice downhill shot with a little tree in the fairway. #17 plays around a large tree, with a basket on top of a smallish hill, and #18 is a long shot over rolling terrain. #2 is a bomber shot with lots of length, and trees to snag approach shots by the basket. Most of these holes also have elevation changes to keep things interesting.
- Three of the holes have major water hazards here. #3 has a water carry with the basket on a peninsula. Water left, behind, front the basket, with a large tree on the right. #4 is a much, much longer water carry that has a huge bush forcing a wide hyzer shot if you aren't going over the water. The silver pin isn't too tough to get to, but the red is far across the water with another large bush blocking the lay-up option. #5 is the big boy, the red pin is tucked way back in the woods to the right. Getting to the window involves a high RHBH anny over the lake or a very skinny shot straight between the water and the woods. Tough hole.
- Tricky basket positions add to the challenge in many spots. #3's is close to the water, #17's is on top of a hill that slopes on both sides, #9's baskets are within a tight cluster of trees, and one is elevated (on top of the other, no less). #11's baskets are right next to each other... don't end up on the wrong side I suppose.
- Great teepads; some circular for different lines and others rectangular for the same line. Good baskets. Tee sign pending, but the navigation isn't too terrible, even without them.
Cons: - Holes amongst the smaller trees are a little crammed in, there are some close fairways, and some close baskets/teepads. I could foresee some errant shots ending up in other people's business.
- Course is kind of split between holes that are pretty darn tough, and others that are pretty easy. At times it seems way too hard for beginners, at other times a little too straightforward for anyone else.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a fun course that has lots of birdie opportunities, and also some double, triple, or worse bogey opportunities. The silver pins are well suited to beginner players who know how to avoid water; the red pins are much tougher for the more experienced players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Round Da Round

2-4    7/9/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: Water_Wind_Spirit
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Round t-pads are pretty neat! Got my first ace here - along with my first black ace - along with back to back aces with a friend.
Cons: Nothing really bad to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: In the vicinity of other great courses in the area!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Roundtastic

5+    6/28/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is located on an old farm which features a very impressive round barn. It's worth the trip just to get some photos of it. It has a section of large oaks and a pond. The land is mostly flat but has a small rolling hill and a few berms that come into play. Wind makes this course play like a beast. Water comes into play on several holes so bring a water disc or two.

To my knowledge the "stacked" basket on hole #9 is the first of it's kind. The grouping of trees makes this somewhat routine hole a very cool one.

There are 2 epic shots over the water to the red layout. Hole #3 is a shorter shot to a penisula green. Hole #4 is an absolute monster to throw over. There is an option to throw safely to the right then approach the green using 2 distinct routes.

This is the first course in Illinois to feature 2 baskets on each hole. There is a silver set that plays as the shorts and a red set that is longer. The short set is very very recreational friendly and a great place to learn how to play. The red set is a solid challenge with a few very tough risk/reward holes. The option to play 36 unique holes is a bonus. There is a great mix of putter, mid range, fairway, and distance shots.

This is also the first course in Illinois to feature concrete circular tee pads on most holes. This comes in handy since several of the baskets are in opposite directions.

There are 2 par 4's on the course to the red baskets. They are tough 3's to get. Those include #2 and #5.

You can break out your longest driver and just smash them on Red #2 & #18.

There are several tricky greens that sit on berms and mounds.

There are a few holes throwing uphill (8 & 15) and another downhill (14).

This is an overall fun course to play.
Cons: The land is rather open with scattered trees and was not big enough to make a monster layout. It plays on the short side. There are only a few holes where you have to hit a tight line.

There are a couple of minor issues that the park needs to fix. That includes moving the baskets on #11. They are going to block the hyzer route on #13. Hole #1 is awaiting a liner that will make it an island hole. Hoping to get #6 installed and elevated on the stump.
Other Thoughts: Typically I'd give this course a 3 disc rating. The unique features and several nice signature holes got it to 3.5 discs for me.

Thank you Manhattan PD for doing this right! Every course should have tee signs, good tees, and great baskets. Thank you for hiring me! I'm tired of playing courses where non players and non qualified people are designing them.

Manhattan is located between some solid disc golf courses. Channahon, Joliet (Highland & West), Lockport, & Mokena are not very far away.

As the course designer I'm pretty pleased with the course. There were several pavillions and safety issues. Note that the wooded section and tall grass area near the creek were off limits. The large open area on the far east side of the park was mostly off limits too. Check out www.windycitydiscgolf.com

Chicagoland Speedway is only a few miles away.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.