Manhattan, IL
Round Barn DGC Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #10 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 241ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Intermediate

1    7/8/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the ground of an old farm, taken over by the park district. Doesn't seem like there would be any interference except for a walking path by #16 and #17. No problem.
- Roughly half the holes are set in a large section/grove of smaller trees that force/take away lines. Some are pretty tight, like the hallway on #7, and the low ceiling on #13. Others are more open but still require accuracy, like the uphill shots on #6 and #8. #11 plays out of the woods with a few trees right off the tee, and #12 plays back into the woods from an open meadow.
- Other holes are more open, like #1 which only has one large tree to worry about. #14 is almost wide open, a nice downhill shot with a little tree in the fairway. #17 plays around a large tree, with a basket on top of a smallish hill, and #18 is a long shot over rolling terrain. #2 is a bomber shot with lots of length, and trees to snag approach shots by the basket. Most of these holes also have elevation changes to keep things interesting.
- Three of the holes have major water hazards here. #3 has a water carry with the basket on a peninsula. Water left, behind, front the basket, with a large tree on the right. #4 is a much, much longer water carry that has a huge bush forcing a wide hyzer shot if you aren't going over the water. The silver pin isn't too tough to get to, but the red is far across the water with another large bush blocking the lay-up option. #5 is the big boy, the red pin is tucked way back in the woods to the right. Getting to the window involves a high RHBH anny over the lake or a very skinny shot straight between the water and the woods. Tough hole.
- Tricky basket positions add to the challenge in many spots. #3's is close to the water, #17's is on top of a hill that slopes on both sides, #9's baskets are within a tight cluster of trees, and one is elevated (on top of the other, no less). #11's baskets are right next to each other... don't end up on the wrong side I suppose.
- Great teepads; some circular for different lines and others rectangular for the same line. Good baskets. Tee sign pending, but the navigation isn't too terrible, even without them.
Cons: - Holes amongst the smaller trees are a little crammed in, there are some close fairways, and some close baskets/teepads. I could foresee some errant shots ending up in other people's business.
- Course is kind of split between holes that are pretty darn tough, and others that are pretty easy. At times it seems way too hard for beginners, at other times a little too straightforward for anyone else.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a fun course that has lots of birdie opportunities, and also some double, triple, or worse bogey opportunities. The silver pins are well suited to beginner players who know how to avoid water; the red pins are much tougher for the more experienced players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Round Da Round

1    7/9/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: Water_Wind_Spirit
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Round t-pads are pretty neat! Nice variety, good challenge.
Cons: Need signs at the t-pads. Can see as this course becomes more popular, there are going to be some congestion issues. Few holes placed too close together. Can see a couple people getting hit by people's drives on the hole previously played. A few times the group behind us came close to hitting us while we were playing.
Other Thoughts: Would like to see a path cut out threw the trees on hole #5.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Round Barn

5+    7/4/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: AcesandChains
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 3 shots over water, each with a "safe" route.
- Round tee pads
- Two baskets for every hole
- 2 true par 4 holes

Nice mix of long open, and short technical holes. Not all the short holes were technical, nor all the long holes open, but that was the general feel.

Silver baskets are great for casual players, and the Red baskets are a good challenge for tournament, or more advanced players.
Cons: - No tee signs yet
Other Thoughts: I love the fact that the course designer was the only one to give this course a (lowly) 3.5 so far. Every one else who has reviewed it has given it a 4.

You may lose a disc in the water at this course, so I recommend bringing a few water discs that you are comfortable losing. (Why risk losing your favorite disc?)

Round Barn Farm makes a very unique and welcome addition to the courses in the area. A big thanks to Manhattan Park District for putting in the course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Someone finally gets it

1    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 371  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual Baskets
-Secluded from other activities
-Cement Tees
-Signature type holes
-Mixed Shots

This is an outstanding designed course just a few miles south of I-80. This course has unique features that you do not generally get to find on most courses, especially in the Chicagoland area.

First, all holes had two sets of baskets, silver for shorts, red for longs. Majority of the baskets were strategically placed. Sometimes when courses have dual baskets they are generally the same hole just a little longer. A good portion of the holes had baskets uniquely placed, especially where the land counted. Holes 3, 4, 5, and 18 definitely come to mind on making the holes different. Cement Tees are definitely nice (and almost a must), but added round tees were definitely a great experience. It gives an opportunity for some great safari holes for leagues or tourneys, as well as an early morning when you have the course to yourself.

The course played throughout the fields not mixing in to other activities. Not once did I think I could throw into the playground, or hit someone while they were having a picnic. Although there are times where you come across a picnic bench or a gazebo, however the holes were designed properly with safety for all park goers in mind.

There are some solid signature holes on this course. Some of the holes that make me want to go back and play this course again. Red 3, 4, 5, and 18 definitely come to mind. The "stacked basket" as well is definitely worth playing again.

I also like that there is a solid mix of challenges here. Some of the silver are beginner friendly enough and some of the red baskets are borderline brutal. It gives challenges for both newer players as well as more experienced players to enjoy. It is not set up to alienate new players yet does discourage experienced players to come out time and time again. I also like that there are multiple routes on most holes. Nothing really forces a particular shot, although there are some obvious better choices. You can walk up to most holes and debate what and how you throw.
Cons: -Amenities
-Overall Challenge

This is all nitpicking. There are plenty of port-a-potties, but for "the misses" something a little nicer would be great. Not a big deal at all, but we've all been in port-a-potties.

There are some great holes on this course, however, some of the middle holes are pretty similar in challenge and vibe. The little bit of elevation changes helps a little bit, as well as some well thought out basket placements. They used what was there and stretch the land to the corners of the park. Nothing really could be done. The stacked baskets helps break up what can be seen as similar on 6 through 10. Nothing gets crazy long through there but it's just the lay of the land. But I think the awesomeness of holes 3 through 5 being early in the round, is what would leave a little to be desired.
Other Thoughts: All things considered, I would give the course a 4.0 (Excellent). I am taking in for the fact that the tee signs are going to installed shortly, Hole 1 is being turned into an island hole, and both baskets are being moved on Hole 11. If they let a couple of the holes go into the wooded areas (which was not allowed), it could potentially be a 4.5 caliber course. This course holds it own against the best courses in the area.

I hope park district see the reviews on this course. Windy City Disc Golf installed a product that we are truly lacking in the Chicagoland area. This course is well executed, inviting to all player types, and safe for everyone in the park. If anyone ever ask me to "take them to a course to show them what disc golf is all about", this is where I would bring them. Well down Mathattan. I will be driving passed 11 courses just off the highway to frequent this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Addition to the Joliet Region

1    7/6/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: Rexdiscus
Played: 107  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like this new course. The designer/s did well with the land they had to use. Number one is short and very open, an easy deuce chance, especially if you play the silver baskets like I did the first round. It reminded me of Patriots Park in Homewood. However, the first hole is not indicative of how the rest of the course plays. There is plenty of variety. A lot of courses have dual tees, but not many have dual baskets on every hole. The silver baskets offer less advanced players a less risky, yet a fairly challenging, round. The red baskets offer more length and challenge. I like how the lake is used out here. Your discs have a chance to get wet if you are too short or left on holes three and and four, depending on which baskets you are playing. Like another user said, the peninsula set up for the red basket is is very cool. There are some tight, tricky little holes between five and seven. Five is very tight unless you want to risk starting it out left over the lake hoping it well bend back without getting snagged on the tree branches. On the right is bushes the entire way down. The stacked basket on nine is unique, a first for me. It is also one of the most well guarded holes I have ever seen. Number 9 is not long, but a deuce is tough if you are not within five feet of the stacked basket. I just had to get a photo of this unique basket/s . There is not a lot of elevation on this course, but what exists is well used. There are some holes on small hills that offer a chance for a roll-away. Number 11 has the two baskets side by side, something I have never seen before. Some might not like that, but I do. The tees are nice cement tees, some of them big circular tees, another first for me. The atmosphere of this place adds to the experience. It is in a rural setting. The old barn and old tractor on number 1 gives it a rustic feel.
Cons: Obviously, the lack of tee signs is a con. I do like to know the distance of each hole. Even though the red baskets offer more length, the course is still not very long. i do not throw it over 400 feet, but it is nice to have at least three or four holes over 400 feet, but this course offers enough fun to offset the lack of bomber holes.
Other Thoughts: Be careful not to go too long on number 14. My bud went long and the downhill trajectory sent his disc into the high grass. We spent about ten minutes trying to find it since you can not see the bottom of the hill from the tee. The Joliet region already has a pretty nice range of courses. This is a very nice addition. I give it a solid four. A few minor tweaks and the addition of tee signs might get me to raise my rating to a 4.5. I look forward to hitting up Round Barn soon. Disc it up!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

-:[ WoW ]:-

1    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: .
-:[WoW]:-
**This is going to be a world class course when completed.
**2 baskets per hole: A Silver (short/safe) basket and a Red (long/risk-reward) basket per hole
**Super appropriate round tee pads on quite a few holes, different angles needed to the different baskets.
**Nice job using the multiple baskets to create variety
**Looks like there's going to be a few hanging baskets at some point???
**Nice water shots, love the peninsula green on # 3.
**Good "pucker factor" on # 4 red over the lake, it is an intimidating shot
>>>>># 9 with the stacked baskets inside the lilac tree is VERY CQQL (banked a deuce putt off of one of the branches into the red basket on my first round...)

WILL ADD MORE LATER AFTER I GET TO PLAY THE "COMPLETED/TWEAKED COURSE…
Cons: .
That there are not more courses with this much thought put into them around to play...
Other Thoughts: .
**Giving this a 4 as-is...
**I'm sure that's going nowhere but up as soon as I can play the completed/tweaked course

GREAT JOB GUYS…

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Refreshing

2-4    6/26/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course being located literally on the farm makes for some very interesting scenery, not just the usual "forest course" you see in the area.

-Dual Baskets! I genuinely feel that playing holes with two pins usually makes them play more differently than just those with two tees. Really ups the replay value of this course in my opinion.

-The water holes are a blast. While Trinity offers water shots as well, they aren't nearly as intimidating as the ones offered on Red 3 and 4 here.

-This course offers a few real distance bomber holes, which we don't have many of in this area. The big uphill throw, which I believe is 15, is something completely different from the other courses in the area.

-That doesn't mean this course is wide open, the tunnel shots that play along the treeline are really tight and tough, forcing some accurate shots as well.

-This course does ton's with the elevation at hand. Big downhill throws, big uphill throws, throwing over the "valley" made by the drainage ditch on 17 and 18 (which, if I had my way, would be filled with water, but I understand the practical necessity), all show probably the best possible use of elevation change this course could offer.

-The difference in difficulty between the two baskets also keeps this course enjoyable for more players. The easier silver baskets are reachable for most, but not exactly easy, and the red baskets provide challenges for upper level players as well. The best part is that every hole has a second pin, so you can play two rounds and never replay a hole, which other courses around here don't offer.

-The inclusion of legitimate par 4 holes is nice as well, considering the limited amount of those in the area.

-I have to mention the stacked basket on hole 9, super unique. Also, if you're playing the red basket, you definitely want to end up on the right side of the tree group as opposed to the left. Bigger gap in the trees to putt from on the right. Oh, and I can't wait to hear about someone black acing the wrong basket on that hole.

-The circular teepads are weird to see at first, but very practical given that on certain holes the separate baskets are spread pretty far apart.
Cons: -My biggest con here is the navigation is tough, mostly due to the tee signs not being in yet. Once they go in, my big complaint with this course will be remedied.

-Some holes, although having two baskets, still play very similar, like 10 and 11, with the baskets currently set side by side. Once again, this will be changed and this complaint will also be handled.

-When I played here, horses had left "presents" out randomly in the fairways in a few spots. I was lucky enough not to hit any thusfar, but it would really stink (ha ha ha) to end up in one.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course because it is so different from the others in the area. It feels unlike anything else around here for the most part, and is a great change up for a local player like myself.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Roundtastic

5+    6/28/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is located on an old farm which features a very impressive round barn. It's worth the trip just to get some photos of it. It has a section of large oaks and a pond. The land is mostly flat but has a small rolling hill and a few berms that come into play. Wind makes this course play like a beast. Water comes into play on several holes so bring a water disc or two.

To my knowledge the "stacked" basket on hole #9 is the first of it's kind. The grouping of trees makes this somewhat routine hole a very cool one.

There are 2 epic shots over the water to the red layout. Hole #3 is a shorter shot to a penisula green. Hole #4 is an absolute monster to throw over. There is an option to throw safely to the right then approach the green using 2 distinct routes.

This is the first course in Illinois to feature 2 baskets on each hole. There is a silver set that plays as the shorts and a red set that is longer. The short set is very very recreational friendly and a great place to learn how to play. The red set is a solid challenge with a few very tough risk/reward holes. The option to play 36 unique holes is a bonus. There is a great mix of putter, mid range, fairway, and distance shots.

This is also the first course in Illinois to feature concrete circular tee pads on most holes. This comes in handy since several of the baskets are in opposite directions.

There are 2 par 4's on the course to the red baskets. They are tough 3's to get. Those include #2 and #5.

You can break out your longest driver and just smash them on Red #2 & #18.

There are several tricky greens that sit on berms and mounds.

There are a few holes throwing uphill (8 & 15) and another downhill (14).

This is an overall fun course to play.
Cons: The land is rather open with scattered trees and was not big enough to make a monster layout. It plays on the short side. There are only a few holes where you have to hit a tight line.

There are a couple of minor issues that the park needs to fix. That includes moving the baskets on #11. They are going to block the hyzer route on #13. Hole #1 is awaiting a liner that will make it an island hole. Hoping to get #6 installed and elevated on the stump.
Other Thoughts: Typically I'd give this course a 3 disc rating. The unique features and several nice signature holes got it to 3.5 discs for me.

Thank you Manhattan PD for doing this right! Every course should have tee signs, good tees, and great baskets. Thank you for hiring me! I'm tired of playing courses where non players and non qualified people are designing them.

Manhattan is located between some solid disc golf courses. Channahon, Joliet (Highland & West), Lockport, & Mokena are not very far away.

As the course designer I'm pretty pleased with the course. There were several pavillions and safety issues. Note that the wooded section and tall grass area near the creek were off limits. The large open area on the far east side of the park was mostly off limits too. Check out www.windycitydiscgolf.com

Chicagoland Speedway is only a few miles away.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.