Gainesville, FL 
Northside Park Share
Uploaded By: Chain Hawks DGC Hole #13 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 315ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    2/3/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Shreddedcoconut
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean tight little course. Plenty of well thought out lines and many alternate routes. Really good flow. Lots of trash and recycling cans around course. Really nice bathroom near hole 1 with water fountain. I met friendly folks to play with every time I went out there. Nice tee pads. 2 pin positions on each hole. Baskets near water.
Cons: Tee signage could be improved. Missing some signs. The nice blue signs don't have the B pin position on them. No signage to next tee.
Other Thoughts: As a newer player this was a really fun course that was open enough to really develop my longer throws. I had a lot of fun here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/17/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot going in its favor.
- The bathrooms and parking are right next to tee's #1 & #10. This is so helpful when courses are able to do this so it gives it the feel of a front and back nine where you can get to your car or the facilities at the half way point.
- This course isn't competing for space and so you rarely have to wait on other park users to throw.
- The course has few "gimmie" holes. Some appear easy or short but you still have to hit the right line to get your birdie.
- There are some holes that will challenge your arm, especially 16 & 18
- Water comes into play primarily on holes 7, 12, and 18. The little pond between 7 and 12 is roughly waist deep if you have to get in it but it will eat up your feet with some kind of nasty in there. There are also water snakes in there. I have never seen any gators on 18 but it sure looks like there could be some in that swamp at times.
- Variety of shot shapes and distances.
- Roller friendly
- The people are friendly as well. I have never seen a crowd there but I am sure it does at times due to limited number of courses in the area.
- Short tees are useful for those of lesser skill level and make the course significantly easier to play.
Cons: Very few cons for this course:
- No practice basket
- Signs need replaced. These things are old as dirt. They are part of the personality of this course but they really could use an update.
- The water is unpleasant if your disc goes in there. Just don't stay in there very long.
- Drives can be repetitive as so many are just straight ahead with no real dog legs.
Other Thoughts: This course is beginner and pro friendly depending on which tees you play. There is just enough canopy to provide shade on very hot and sunny days. That also provides plenty of trees as obstacles to make you really have to think about your shot. Throw in the hand full of longer holes that give you easier lines to the basket and this course provides plenty of fun regardless of your skill level.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    3/27/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: clarke.bry
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of long and short, right and left, open and heavily wooded holes. A few shots involve water which is a nice change of pace. Decent enough facilities. Amateur and Pro tees for different skill sets, yet the amateur tees play like a totally different course and are a nice change of pace.
Cons: A couple holes play within 200 ft of a major road which isn't great for ambiance but is not a safety hazard. All holes are a par 3, including #16 which is 500 ft + and severeal 400 ft + holes all of which are legitimate par 4's (conversely though, hitting par on many holes feels as good as a birdie!)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Take on Gaine'svilles best course.

5+    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: cocopop
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.8 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have played this course probably a dozen times and every time I play it I tell myself, "This time I'm gonna tear it up!" and I have yet to tame this challenging course.

As you pull up to the course you will notice that the property is shared by people playing tennis, racquetball, disc golf, and picnicking families. The thing that makes this a plus is even with all of the other activities taking place in the property, the course itself doesn't overlap them and still has a nice flow from hole to hole.

Almost all holes are 300+ ft, with a couple topping 500ft. As you stare down the fairways, you notice that it really isn't that wooded. However, all of the trees and foliage seem to be strategically placed to challenge your creativity and shot making abilities. Those responsible for designing this course put a lot of thought into every hole and, I'm sure, smiled mischievously at the challenges that were coming up with on a few of them. Like, for instance, hole #18. This is the signature hole of the course. It plays around 425ft and forces the thrower to flirt with a disc eating pond that borders the right center part of the fairway. You could wuss it and lay-up, but then you are left with a 150-200ft approach shot through the trees.

The park is very clean and well maintained with facilities and a water fountain that border 5 or 6 holes, so a break from the action to answer natures calls is always within reach.
Cons: Cons are small in number and annoyance.

The land seems to be one big flood plain when it rains, so stay away if it has recently rained.

The course is popular with the U of F students, so prime times can be pretty crowded and many of the people you will encounter are beginners so the goings can be slow. To avoid this just hit it during the middle of the week.
Other Thoughts: As I had mentioned, hole # 18 is the signature hole here. However, my favorite hole is #10. It's a tricky 325ft anhyzer shot down a narrow fairway that has only 1 route.

I love this course and will play it at every opportunity I can.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course - Close to I-75

1    12/27/2008   1/6/2009
Review By: hooboy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is self contained, only has brushes with the rest of the park (hole 18 in particular). Lightly wooded and mostly flat. Two sets of tees, big challenge from the pro tees, as all holes are par threes. Good variety of wooded, open, and some water holes on the course so be careful. Only 7 miles total from I-75. I was on a road trip so this made for a quick diversion. Being flat without much underbrush, you can play here fairly quickly, not a lot of searching for lost discs. Two tee pads is always nice for different levels. Course is well marked. I liked this course.
Cons: Not many at all. Hole 18 is over a lake, and the basket also comes real close to a picnic pavillion. I skipped 18 for fear of losing one of my new Christmas discs, and/or hitting a park pedestrian.
Other Thoughts: I was on a road trip from Atlanta to Ft. Myers, FL. With the exception of Claystone in Macon, GA, this is the closest you'll find to I-75, and its good quality. Plus for me, it was just past the half way point to Ft. Myers. I played 17 holes, got gas, had lunch, and was back on I-75 within two hours total. I'll go back on another road trip. Thanks to "crouchingwombat" (review below) for recommending this course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/23/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: lots of trees with no underbrush,flat,variety of shots,if you hit a tree you still have a chance for a 3.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Double G lives next to the course and plays there regularly and asked us if he could play with us,super nice guy and a fun course.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.