Gainesville, FL 
Northside Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 320ft.   3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Nice Course - Close to I-75

1    12/27/2008   1/6/2009
Review By: hooboy
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is self contained, only has brushes with the rest of the park (hole 18 in particular). Lightly wooded and mostly flat. Two sets of tees, big challenge from the pro tees, as all holes are par threes. Good variety of wooded, open, and some water holes on the course so be careful. Only 7 miles total from I-75. I was on a road trip so this made for a quick diversion. Being flat without much underbrush, you can play here fairly quickly, not a lot of searching for lost discs. Two tee pads is always nice for different levels. Course is well marked. I liked this course.
Cons: Not many at all. Hole 18 is over a lake, and the basket also comes real close to a picnic pavillion. I skipped 18 for fear of losing one of my new Christmas discs, and/or hitting a park pedestrian.
Other Thoughts: I was on a road trip from Atlanta to Ft. Myers, FL. With the exception of Claystone in Macon, GA, this is the closest you'll find to I-75, and its good quality. Plus for me, it was just past the half way point to Ft. Myers. I played 17 holes, got gas, had lunch, and was back on I-75 within two hours total. I'll go back on another road trip. Thanks to "crouchingwombat" (review below) for recommending this course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/23/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: lots of trees with no underbrush,flat,variety of shots,if you hit a tree you still have a chance for a 3.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Double G lives next to the course and plays there regularly and asked us if he could play with us,super nice guy and a fun course.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love it and hate it

5+    11/25/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very difficult but can be very rewarding when you actually get par or even better, get a birdie. After playing 50+ times I still feel challenged every time I go out. The holes are marked very well with little plaques and there are amateur pads that offer a whole new game.
Cons: Like I said in the Pros this course is hard. Every hole is a par 3 and some of they really shouldn't be. It's nice to actually go under par when you have an amazing day… not here. There are a few ponds and a creek that suck discs up but they can easily be avoided. Lastly, this park is becoming more and more popular. Most days you can easily get stuck behind a large group of idiots, especially Friday afternoons.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great casual course

7/20/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: Ladred
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has two concrete tees for most holes. It makes good use of its surroundings in creating a challenge for the novice, and advanced players. The atmosphere is diverse and the locals are incredibly welcoming and friendly. The challenges in this course range from a couple of easy to make birdie holes to a moderately difficult 500+ foot par 3 that has a grand expanse for the long drive, but the last 100 feet are divided by a wooded area beginning with a heavy wooded line. You want to land your approach drive so you can make it through the clear part of the wood line, as its the only safe part that your disc will slice through.
Cons: Absolutely no elevation change. This single fact lowers the challenge of the course considerably, but does add to the casual feel of the course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    6/29/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: steujr
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2008
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: good course. has some long holes, some trees and water hazards good signs to follow so you dont get lost. moves fast no hold up while we were playing (had 5 players) well keeped lots of players were there so course is well know. will be glad to play there again

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.