South Boston, VA
Edmunds Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 11abush11   (Taken 7/2012)



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Spice of Life

1    11/2/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros at Edmunds can be summed up in one word: variety.

The course begins on a hill overlooking a lake. The first hole is long and open, a towering drive towards a pin at least 450 feet away. The next three holes loop around that lake although the water won't come into play unless a shot is a ways off-target. The first four fairways are completely open and freshly mowed. It's a chance to work out that arm and flex that driver.

From there it's into the woods, though there are a few relatively open shots later on. The wooded holes here are solid, with light brush and clean fairways. There are some ups and downs, and some narrow gaps that add challenge to the holes that need it.

Although I usually hate gimmicky holes, the fence on 12 doesn't feel out of place. It's a short hole, that is guarded by a high bamboo fence. There are a few gaps in the fence, that golfers can try to shoot through. Alternatively, one can play safe to the left of the fence or go over the top.

The best hole for me is 14. It's a long, fairly open hole but it is complicated by an early gap. Hit the narrow opening and then you can shoot up and down a rolling hill with woods to the right.

17 is probably the signature hole here though, From an elevated position, the points across a valley with a creek in the center to a basket on a similarly elevated point. The caveat, there is some vegetation high so initial drives have to be kept as low as possible.

There's a lot to like Edmunds, and with this much variety, the course should apply to golfers of all sorts.
Cons: It could really use some sort of system for identifying which basket is currently in use. Some of the pins are very far apart and different tee shots would be used for each.

Additionally, there are some navigation issues. Most holes feature obvious routes to follow, but there are a few that would definitely benefit from next tee signs, even just the ones that hang from the basket and point the direction like at the Roxboro courses. There was one hole (11?)that I had a difficult time locating, strolling up to the 17 tee before finding the correct one. (although that helped me find 17 later on, which is also tricky)
Other Thoughts: This area of Virgilina is apparently the Lake Wobegon of disc golf. All the courses are above average. Between this, Rockness and Sasquatch, there is a nice day trip in the area. Rockness provides the woods, Sasquatch the water and Edmunds the variety.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/21/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: barryschofield
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Multiple tees and pin locations.
* Course has par 3s, 4s, and 5s.
* Good mix of open and wooded holes.
* Good use of elevation on some holes and water hazard.
* Some creative holes with obstacles and basket layouts.
* Some holes have thick rough adding challenge.
* Parks and Recs Department does a good job of maintaining course.
Cons: * A couple tee boxes are hard to find, though course is laid out logically for the most part.
Other Thoughts: Great course, designer did a good job of mixing in long holes. Moderate level of challenge makes this a good course for intermediate players. Definitely check it out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Edmunds playground

1    1/23/2013   1/24/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - An excellent mixture of open/wooded and hole length. Most of the open holes aren't the boring wide open type, you will have to be accurate on the drive or approach. The wooded holes are technical and have some tight gaps but are fair.

The course incorporates a nice mix of hole types. Multiple paths on some of the holes and gives an opportunity of creativity.You won't need every shot but quite a few. There's some good elevation changes and it's used well.

Some pretty tricky greens here as they are positioned near ravines, creek or a lake. The greens are also protected heavily on some holes so you'll have to hit tight gaps near the basket in a few places.

Multiple tees on every hole and multiple pins on some. The multiple pins do a good job of changing the shape of the hole or the path needed.

Good course flow, easy to follow for the most part. No long or confusing transitions.

Atmosphere - Absolutely gorgeous park with rolling hills, a lake, creek, nice cedar trees. Very serene out there no distractions and not many other golfers or other park users. A local dog who was awesome followed us around most of the round and then jumped in my car at the end, sadly we had to leave him.

Equipment - The white tees have large and level pads. There are tee signs at the white pads that have a pic of the hole, the multiple pins and shows you where the other pads are located. The other pads have colored posts next to them. Good baskets and bridges where needed. Course map and scorecards at #1.
Cons: Layout - I played the whites and from there I felt like a few of the pins are at awkward distances making the holes tweeners.

I didn't like all of the pin locations, I think some are in awkward places. Specifically 4 which has a pin within 3' of the lake, 9 and 12. I didn't really like 12 at all actually, a short boring hole mixed in to awesomeness.

Some of the wooded holes still need a bit of clearing of the higher parts of the fairway. Some of the rough off the immediate fairway needs to be cleaned up. Very thick in some places that forces you to just pitch out.

I think some of the green areas should have a few smaller trees taken out that are near baskets. There's a couple fairways that also need one more tree removed.

Equipment - There's nothing marking which pin location is in use. Blue tees have no pads yet but those are coming. No benches or trashcans yet.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and a lot of fun. There's some very memorable holes here that really stand out and overall I think the design is well done. There are some tweaks and clearing up that need to be done but as this course breaks in I see it only becoming better.

My fave holes were 6, 8, 14 and 17. 14 being an absolute gorgeous uphill shot through a gap and past a big cedar.

A great one day trip for non locals where you can hit this one and the two Roxboro courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Something for everyone

2-4    10/20/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a nice rural park. The two times I have been here no one else has been on the course. If you want a place to yourself a trip to Edmunds might be in order.

Nice, large concrete tee pads at every hole for the White positions. Red and Blue are natural pads marked by posts or ground markers. Baskets were all in good shape and had no issues. Signs at every pad showing layout and multiple basket positions.

Good mix of open versus wooded holes. First few holes are wide open allowing you to get a little warm up before going into the woods for the technical holes. There is also a good mix of long holes, short holes and everything in between. From white tees there are holes from 196' to 713'. Excellent variety.

There is a nice mix of lefts and rights. Course does not seem to favor any style or RH vs LH.

Some elevation present, but nothing extreme or memorable. Just enough to add some challenge to a few holes, or to add a little down hill fun. But it won't greatly change your throws.

Bridges are up in areas where they are needed, and walking paths are obvious and cleared. Upkeep seems to be excellent. No trash or signs of abuse anywhere.
Cons: The first few open holes are a little uninspiring. Don't let them fool you, the course gets better.

Some of the wooded holes seem a little off. In a few spots the tee pad seemed like it should be moved over a few feet. Maybe it was just me. Not sure.

Some of the wooded holes have lots of late trouble near the basket. Seemed to favor luck in a few places more than a well placed shot. Maybe there are local routes that aren't obvious, but I couldn't fathom it.

Basket visibility. Many blind shots where we had to walk a long ways to spot the basket. Some bright tape or flags would help this course a lot.

Signs do not show the current basket position. The simple washer type system would solve this easily.
Other Thoughts: This was a nice, varied course that really has a lot to offer. There are nice open holes for big bombs, and some tight technical holes for those that enjoy woods. I am pretty sure I used every shot I had here. That in itself is something to be proud of in a course. My issues with the wooded holes stem from making decent drives into the middle of a fairway, and still not having a clear and obvious path to the basket. Strange, but the holes were still fun, even if a little frustrating.

South Boston is out of the way for most people, but this course is worth a little side trip. And with the up and coming courses in Roxboro, NC a day trip makes a lot of sense. This is already a very nice course, and with a few tweaks it could be even better. If you have a chance, play it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Hidden gem with lots of room to grow!

5+    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So this review is going to be biased because I helped with this park, but its time to give the first rating after its extensive redesign. As I say this course still needs foot traffic and more clearing, but its on its way!!

-New concrete pads on all 18 "white" tee pads
-New practice basket
-Redesign with lots of new challenges
-Big bomb holes with some more technical wooded holes to go with the field holes.
-Currently being cleared for alternate pins 8/28/12
-Currently being cleared for blue tees 8/28/12
-Has a disc golf driving range with a 5x12 concrete pad and distance signs.
-19th hole that plays over the water for a tie breaker hole back to practice basket soon to be installed for rec play as well!
-Solid red tees for recs/children.
-New signs with correct distance and tee to pin placement.
-Added benches
-Has a playground for kids and a very clean bathrooms as well.
Cons: -8/10 relationship wooded to field holes. Hopefully working on plans for 2 more holes after all pins and blues are in place for an even 10/10 relationship woods to fields.
-The openness of the course really makes it a little easier to take different lines which can make it easier to birdie.
-A couple tween-ers for pars some 5s could be 4s some 4s could be 3s in rec play.
-Needs more wooded holes/cleaning up the rough.
Other Thoughts: -No lie the course needs some more ground clearing and more closed lines to throw on.
-When tournaments are played we will have fun O.B.s with risk reward shots and closes it up and makes the pars really true and mental.
-Other great courses are very close by. (Roxboro, The new Mayo Park, and future Hyco Park).
-This course really allows all sorts of throwing styles that require you to shape on many different lines which makes it very interesting and fun.
#1 starts all the way up in the main parking lot next to the green kiosk. The "Greg" driving range is to the left of the silo behind hole 1.
Please come and give this course a try its a lot of fun for both styles of play open/wooded with lots of improvement to grow.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.