Addison, IL
Foxdale Park Share
Uploaded By: geognerd Hole #3 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 350ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Tee #3



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not good.

1    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 89  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The main pro of this course is that it has amazing, beautiful, blue DGA baskets that shimmer in the sunset. I wish every course had baskets like these. Also, the park was clean, nice, and didn't seem super busy. There was plenty of parking and the location of the course was well marked.

Cons: The course as I played it today was not worthy of more than a 1.5 disc rating. But because it is relatively new and I will not be going back there, I gave it the benefit of the doubt and bumped it up to a 2.0. There are so many cons to this course:

*No tee-pads (I didn't dock the rating too hard on this because I've heard that the course might be getting slabs)
*Hole 4 was completely gone. No sign, no basket (I also didn't dock too hard for this... maybe this new course is getting some design kinks worked out?)

But even if the above cons are fixed, I still don't ever plan on returning here.

*Course is right next to the highway... even though there is a wall separating the park from the road, it's super loud and annoying.
*The tee for the first hole is under a tree that hangs down and prevents any kind of run-up.

*The course flirts with, and even crosses a walking path the whole time.

*None of the holes are exciting... they're completely flat and not challenging enough to be exciting, and there's not much of a fun factor.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course the same rating as nearby Lombard Commons, but I would choose that course over this one any day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course if you live nearby

1    8/18/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: DonCasper
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Baskets
-Well Kept
-Mix of Challenges
-Holes are of Reasonable Length

The course has a good mix of challenges. The holes still require shot-shaping to avoid ending up on the highway on holes 2-4, and a few of the holes go through a small forest, which helps with variety.
Cons: The highway barrier is about 10 feet tall and will really punish anyone who grip-locks it or thows a forehand shot a bit too high.

The pond seems to be filled with runoff from 355 and 290, leaving it oily and disgusting.

No teepads. The course doesn't seem like it gets much traffic, so it shouldn't be a huge problem, but I threw from the worn out areas and ended up backhanding a sign, which have fairly sharp corners. This is a result of my own idiocy, but also results from a lack of tee markers beyond the signs themselves.
Other Thoughts: You would be hard-pressed to land in the water on any hole if you have and sort of skill at disc golf. On the one throw which requires you to throw over it, you would have to throw the disc about 40 feet to land in the water, it is all of 30 feet wide, MAX.

Course is short and forget-able, however it is well-designed for the space and the baskets are incredible. I gave it a half-disc boost just for the baskets. I would be a very happy golfer if every course used baskets as nice as these.

I would also avoid backhanding the signs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Foxy

1    7/7/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is very open with only minor rolling terrain in a few areas. There are only a few tree obstacles to contend with. Making on/over the fitness trail being out of bounds adds difficulty. Water could comes into play on a couple of holes.

This course was very easy to navigate. There is a map off the parking lot.

New tee signs on all 9 holes.

Brand new Mach 2 DGA Blue baskets.

This is a great beginner course for the area.
Cons: My #1 con is the tee pads. Natural grass that will over time turn to dirt.

I'm not sure how much the very nice walking path gets used. It comes into play a lot.

By no means was this course ever going to be awesome but bringing the water more into play could have made several holes very interesting.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't travel to far out of the way.It's just minutes off the interstate if you are in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another Chicago suburban 9 holer!

1    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 371  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -New Mach V Baskets
-Well signed

The course is a beginner friendly courses that wraps around the outskirts of the park, far enough away from other activities to not interfere with each other. The courses features holes ranging from 171 to 350 feet in length. The course is very easy to navigate.

They have installed the DGA 8x11 tees signs and brand new Mach V baskets. Some trees have been planted to add additional challenge. The pond is all used where you could potential turn a disc over into in a couple of places.
Cons: -Layout needs some safety adjustments
-No amenities
-Natural tee pads
-Sign length did not seem accurate

One of my two pet peeves was here. More or less all baskets were dead straight ahead. There was a little left or right on some of them, however, if you walk up to a tee sign, look forward, there was your basket. Although you have to do a little line shaping, you were not really force to throw any particular shot. The natural tee pads (or lack of any tee pads) made it even easier for it to be a dead straight shot.

There was no water fountain, bathroom, or any other amenities at the course. Not a necessity, but if you have hit the bathroom, you may be stopping in Walmart first. They also need to add some garbage cans around the course.

There are some majors safety concerns on this course. One is it run along a path that wraps around the course. There will some safety issues of people throwing due to it on 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 9. Not a biggie, just might have to wait a little to play a round if the park gets busy (which it wasn't when I was here).

Hole 1, the actually best shot may be the big hyzer. A big hyzer would have to be thrown over I-290. I did not do that because it should not be done from a logical standpoint, however, I can easily she people doing it. One car gets hit and I am sure the course would be pulled. I would like to see the tee pad moved slightly south to eliminate the hyzer route altogether. 2 and 3 run along the highway as well, however, hole 1 is the only one I naturally looked over the wall as an option.

The tee for hole 7 needs to be moved another 20-30 feet to the south as well. It is too close to basket 6. If the course gets busy, there is a real risk of some putting on 6 getting hit in the head a full speed on an errant shot.
Other Thoughts: All and all I feel it is a decent beginner course. There are a couple holes where beginners could learn to stretch their distance, and well a few holes for them to deuce and get excited about playing. I would definitely use this course to show someone how to play. It features a lot of good things about disc golf, without putting too much challenge to be discouraging.

In its current condition, I can only give it a 2.0. With its safety issues, I wouldn't rate it any better. You cannot design a course without taking in consideration of every type of player. If the fixed the two major safety concerns I listed, added cement tees, and found a way to make a couple more baskets more challenging to reach (distance or obstacles), it has the potential of being a solid 3.0-3.5 type course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.