Addison, IL 
Foxdale Park Share
Uploaded By: geognerd Hole #6 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Tee #6



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Just Another Chicago 9'er.

1    6/23/2016   6/23/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 944  Reviewed: 894  Exp: 38.2 Years
Pros: Foxdale is a small community park nestled between houses and I-355. The park has a smallish pond in the center. One old guy fishing pulled a two pound carp today. The murky pond only comes into play on # 9 and not too much danger for most players.

The tee signs are the old school fiberglass ones. They're a fine fit here. There are no tee pads persee but there are one or two little concrete markers on each hole showing you to tee off from. The star of the show here are the lovely and talented bright blue DGA baskets. They really are pretty!

The course basically plays around the park counterclockwise which is going to result in anhyser throws. I think the first three all require an Annie or a roller. Both holes 1 and 2 tee off right next to the freeway wall. If you somehow throw over this wall, you can kiss your disc goodbye. Hole distances vary from 140' to 350'. There are a couple of technical type wooded holes as well as 9 which requires a short (150') to get across. Mostly, it plays games with your mind. I'm sure a few discs have drowned on # 9.
Cons: Between the freeway noise and being under O'Hare's flight path, this is perhaps the noisiest course you may ever play. But I think most players quickly adapt and tune all that noise out.

The tee sign was completely missing for hole # 5, I believe it was.

A walking path runs through the park. I sincerely doubt whether there would ever be enough foot traffic to affect your game much.

There is chance someone could fire one over the wall into freeway traffic. I threw rollers on both holes just to eliminate that happening. It would have to a really poor shot.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid little Chicago 9'er. I enjoyed my round here and would return if I lived anywhere near. I'm hardly concerned with the stated safety issues. I doubt rather this course will ever get so busy that other players will be firing discs off your head. Life is a risk! Playing the extreme sport of disc golf has it's dangers.

 Foxdale

1    8/11/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 900  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Rules sign a the first tee.
2) DGA signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a Map.
3) Very nice pocket of woods used on #4, and #5.
4) Water carry on one of the holes and water danger on another hole.
5) Distance variation is not bad with a couple in the 100's, some in the 200's and a couple in the 300's also. It's always nice to be able to throw a handful of shots and discs in a round.
6) The course initially feels a little repetitive because it is 5 anhyzers in a row and then finishes with 4 straight to hyzer shots. I would prefer to have those broken up slightly but at least the shots are all out on the course.
7) Nice blue powder coated Mack baskets.
Cons: 1) Grass tees always leave a lot to be desired.
2) Freeway noise comes over the top of the noise barrier along holes #1-3. It isn't too distracting but it is noticeable.
3) Overall this course is pretty flat. Hole #6 goes slightly downhill and #8 goes uphill just slightly. It is always more fun if you have to think about elevation and how your disc needs to land around the basket.
4) The walking path is a distraction and could be a danger issue, so please be aware of everyone around you.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice diverse course. There are no glorious overwhelming holes, but there also are no absolute duds. It is a solid course overall but is not championship caliber by any means. It is short enough for beginners but has enough challenge to keep better players intrigued. All in all a decent experience.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Typical Suburban Course

1    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: axiom
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent variety of terrain. Most are fairly open, but 4 and 5 are heavily wooded, and 8 offers a fun shot over a pond. Everything is pretty much brand-spanking new, so the course is in good shape.
Cons: If, like me, you're still unsure about your shot, holes 1 thru 4 might be troublesome for you. I skipped hole 1 all together. It's bordered on the left by a basketball court (with a game in progress) and on the right by a 10' wall such that a really bad drive will put your disc on interstate 290. Holes 2 and 3 run along the same wall, but with a soccer field to the left. If you wind up in the trees on 4, you'll almost certainly lose your disc, as the foliage is impressively thick.

There is signage, but it's relatively poor quality. The tee signs are white-boards with crappy decals showing obstacles and baskets. The decals don't look like they'll hold up for more than a few months, and the signs are kind of unintelligable (fortunately, the holes are pretty straight forward). The course map is all the way at the entrance to the parking lot (why?), which made finding both the map and hole one a challenge.

There aren't tee-pads, just throw next to the signs.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, hole one runs along the 10' wall that seperates the park and 290... just in case you have trouble finding it. From there, navigation is easy.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Man Among Midgets

1    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 135  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 10.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Foxdale Park is, at first glance, your average Chicago 9er. It is set in a typical suburban park: soccer field, playground, retention pond, walking path. After playing, it is clear that Foxdale possesses some features that set it apart from the rest. There are a decent variety of hole distances and shapes (140ish to 350'). While it is a more open course, the trees determine the optimal line more often than on other area 9ers. The baskets are brand new blue DGA Mach V's. They are easily visible from the tee. The over the water shot on 8 is a nice addition although the challenge added by is strictly mental (only 150' or so to clear it).
Cons: The natural (grass) tees here will soon become rutted. There is also no specifically defined tee area, leaving it open to the player's interpretation exactly where to tee off from. Additionally, I wouldn't trust all of the sign distances. Hole 2 is listed as 190', but seemed more like 140'. For those with bigger arms this is a putter/mid course (only 2 holes over 300').
Other Thoughts: Foxdale compares very favorably with area courses such as: Goose Lake, Maryknoll, the Commons, and Clark. With the addition of concrete or even rubber tees, I feel that it would be the pick of the bunch. This course also helps alleviate a course desert in the near western suburbs. Speaking for the shot variety, I used 6 different discs to drive with over the 9 holes. On most similar courses, I would only use Zone/Roc/Cyclone for tee shots. Overall, this course was better than expected. It is a solid addition to the pantheon of crap that is available to residents of the near western suburbs. With the addition of concrete or even rubber tees, I would upgrade this course to a 3.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, New Beginner Course in the Chicago Suburbs

1    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 150  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a relatively small, multi-use park directly adjacent to 2 major highways (I-290 and I-355) which makes finding this course very easy.

New Mach V blue baskets and new, yet simple tee signs make navigation easy after finding Hole #1.

Another reviewer mentioned a lack of bathrooms. I noticed a small building with bathrooms in between #1 and #9 by the baseball field although I did not check to see if the doors were unlocked.

The wall between the course and the highway on #1--#3 is a unique feature. Some may consider this to be a con because of the noise coming from the other side of the wall. However, I was able to tune it out easily.

The walking path can and should be used as OB to add some challenge on #1--#3, #5 and #8.

There are young trees on several holes that will certainly add to the difficulty over time.

This is a great course for beginners and will be a challenge for recreational level players.
Cons: Right now, there is no way to know where Hole #1 is located if you are in the parking lot. I understand this is a brand new course and I hope there are plans to install at least a small sign to remedy this issue.

Natural, undefined teepads are a big con for me.

Ideally, there should not be any problems with players throwing on other park users on the bike/walking path because you can clearly see it from every teepad with the exception of #5. There is certainly some potential for accidents if players are not paying attention before throwing.

This appears to be another short, 9-hole Chicagoland disc golf course that is one of many without a true signature hole.

Intermediate level players and up will probably not find anything that will test their skills here.
Other Thoughts: Although the pond should only be considered a true "water hazard" on #8, I would not be surprised to hear about people throwing discs in there on #6 and #7.

I would come back for another round if I wanted to teach some newer players. Even in it's current condition, this is a great course for beginners.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.