Menasha, WI 
O'Hauser Park Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #2 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good Course

5+    3/9/2015   1/7/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 85  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2016
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The use of moderate to describe the vegetation is somewhat off base. While the very few open holes are more sparsely lined with mature trees, the wooded holes are incredibly densely populated, leaving very tight and difficult lines to hit (the open holes also tend to be longer, so that is the trade off).

The tees and baskets are in excellent shape, and I've never seen more accurate and detailed tee signs (even offering the distances in meters for our European friends).
Cons: The only con to this course is that it lacks any sort of elevation, but the technical difficulty of the shot making required more than makes up for it. That, and the sheer length of the course, each are what drops my review a half point.
Other Thoughts: There are many great courses in this area and this is definitely near the top of the list.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

O'Hauser in Menasha

1    5/3/2015   5/5/2015
Review By: NoDakWxGuy17
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained
- Tee pads with a foul line, something I haven't seen before, but like!
- Multiple tee pads and possible pin locations, love that!
- Multiple holes with narrow routes through trees make for an intense challenge for anyone used to open courses
- Not busy at all on a Sunday morning (only one other person on the course when we were out there!)
- $: P2P. Usually the P2P courses are nicer and more well kept than free courses. This one does not disappoint! And $3 is nothing compared to playing a round of ball golf :)
Cons: - $: P2P. Some people don't like it, for them it would be a con. For me not so much!
- Trains could get annoying for sure. I love train watching, but probably not so much while I am disc golfing.
Other Thoughts: Lack of elevation doesn't bother me. I play in Grand Forks, ND where there is probably less elevation change, so I am used to it. Was in town for brother's wedding, and based on reviews I knew I had to play this course before heading back home. Absolutely was not disappointed. This is a great course, and if I am ever back in eastern WI, I will be looking to play it again!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Constantly improving gem

5+    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 269  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2016
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful course set in an out of the way park in Neenah.

Really nice concrete tee pads, that each have a foul line and run over area, which is a great feature that more courses should incorporate. This makes winter discing here much more pleasant, as well. 2 tee pads (blue/red) on each hole, with a Gold option on many, as well. These extra tees aren't just extra distance...nearly every one adds an extra wrinkle or completely different line to the hole.

Solid DGA baskets, in good repair. Did notice a little wobble on a couple cages, but nothing that will change the performance. 2 or 3 pin positions for every hole.

Nice molded plastic tee signs on every hole, at each tee pad. They're simple, but informative. The only thing that would help is a marker for which pin position is current.

A good variance in shots here. You'll get some straight, some left to right, and some right to left...even some OH's are forced in certain places. Shot shaping is required in some places to score well.

Upkeep is second to none. The open areas are extremely well groomed, fairways are well defined, and intended lines are well planned. The wooded fairways are extremely fair...not too open, but plenty of room for the Rec or Int player to have a chance to score well from hole to hole, yet still be rewarding enough for the better player, especially from the longer tees.

The rough here is made mostly of trees and bushes, but not dense overgrowth...so you almost have to try to lose a disc. This is a huge plus in my book. You're punished by bad shots, but not by losing plastic.
Cons: It's P2P ($3/day), which is pretty paltry for such a nice course. Some people just don't like P2P, though, so I always include it. If you don't pay, parks department personnel WILL come through and ask. The fine is $87.50, so pay your $3.

No real open bomber holes here...so if that's your favorite, you'll be disappointed. No real water in play, either...just a creek alongside a couple holes, that really shouldn't come into play.

While the park is wooded and should feel more secluded, the constantly running freight trains next to half the course is somewhat unnerving, especially if you happen to be mid swing during a train horn 50' away from you.

No elevation in play here, although to be honest, I barely notice it while playing.
Other Thoughts: While I'd like to give O'Hauser a 4.25, I'll bump it up knowing that it's just going to keep getting better. Every time I come here, I leave wanting to come back.

To me, this is the best course in the FDL-Appleton corridor. You'll need to be accurate (and in some cases long) to score well. Some holes look harder than they are, while some holes play tougher than they look. It will challenge you, without absolutely beating you down.

The park has baseball diamonds, tennis courts, walking trails, playgrounds...all the makings of a great family day. Restrooms by tee 1 (as well as the pay station), along with a porta potty in the middle of the course.

If you're in the area, you're doing yourself a disservice not playing here.

UPDATE: I'm close to downgrading this to a 4.0, as the parks crew keeps clearing out obstacles. Holes 7/8 are nearly wide open now, and several other holes have had some clearing. Stop it!

Update 2: More clearing, and it has brought my score on the course down. It's still a very fun place to play, though.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 O'Hauser DGC Review

5+    7/20/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: FoxRacer23TW
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course was redone recently, to make it more of a tournament type course. The majority of the holes, have 3 different pad's, depending on your expertise. Most holes also have alternate pin locations, depending on the time of the year. Its one of those courses that you have to try multiple times just to get the hang of it. It is open year around, so you can go whenever you want.
Cons: BRING BUG SPRAY!!! It is terrible to play when you are constantly swatting at mosquitos and gnats. I don't know what the deal is, but every hole has loads of bugs on it, and makes it a struggle to throw and concentrate. A couple holes have poor throwing lanes, and makes it frustrating to throw through. You have to pay a $3 fee for each game you play, or you can pick up a yearly pass for $25 for single player.
Other Thoughts: If it wasn't for the bugs, I'd be there almost every weekend. The course is a great challenge, and its neat that the pins can change at any time. Not to fond of the fee to play, but if it means the course gets constant maintenance, I guess its worth it. Right now it seems like they are doing more visual renovations than making the course better.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course.

1    11/9/2013   1/28/2014
Review By: Offconstantly
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: WOW! What a fun course. 3 sets of tees offer a great variety to all players. 2 positions for baskets. Very clean and well managed. This is a city course so they have the funds to do the right things to keep it in great shape and making changes to keep it a great course. There is a good mix of open and wooded holes. Some of the wooded holes are some of the hardest I have ever played, but great. Has a cool little closed near first tee where they sell discs and other gear.
Cons: Some holes are just to hard to play. There is a hole that has about a 1000 trees between the tee and the basket. This is a little bit much. I like flat courses sometimes, but there really isn't any change in elevation here. That's not much of a con for me but some people like hilly courses. Only change baskets 2 times a year. Winter and summer, that's it. As a city course it should be free. I have no problem paying for disc golf, but to pay at a city course is a bit ridiculous. I don't have to pay to play baseball with my friends on there field and that costs a ton more to maintain. Hours of pro shop are posted but not followed. Don't post them if you can't keep them. League players are a-holes and very rude to paying players. Just because we don't carry 30 discs in our bag doesn't make us less of a discer than you. I know many players that play with 2 discs and would stomp those guys into the ground.
Other Thoughts: Great place for the more advanced player and a tough challenge for the better players. Not as crowded as other courses due to the $3 fee. When leagues are going on some of the players are snobby and make comments about non league players getting in their way. Those people allow you to play a nice course when they pay $3 is what to told one guy and I can't post what his response was. Have fun and enjoy a great course. One of my top 10 in WI.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The best in the Fox River Valley!

1    10/21/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 232  Reviewed: 163  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a few minutes off Hwy 10 or Hwy 41 in Menasha. It's $3 a day per person and there are annual single and two person passes available as well. You can see where the money to play goes to on this course. I was very impressed with this place. There are 3 sets of tee pads on half the holes with the other half having 2 sets. The reds are the shorts, blues are longs and the golds are advanced/Tournament tees. These are set up very nicely, making shots from each different tee seem very different from one another. There is definitely a drastic difference from the reds to golds. The tee pads themselves were all in awesome shape. they are large, level and grip very well. They also have a painted foul line on the front of each tee which I don't recall ever seeing before anywhere else. The tee signs are on 4"x4" posts by each tee. The signs have all the info you need. They have a basic hole layout with all the tee and pin locations shown, hole #, distances for each in feet and meters and par. The baskets are Mach 3's with number plates on top that are in great shape and catch superbly. There are wood chips throughout the course on fairways and walking paths between holes. There are multiple benches and garbages throughout the course and restrooms at the proshop and even a port o potty near the middle. There is a small creek that comes into play on a couple holes as well. The flow of the course is easy to follow and they provide very nice maps at the pay box with a scorecard on the back also. There's good variety here from tightly wooded to more open holes with none being just wide open. There is also a pro shop there too. I'm not sure what their hours are though. The course is open year round which is always a plus.
Cons: The course is mostly flat. Some elevation would really add more challenge but with the land available they did an outstanding job. I can imagine the bugs could be an issue in the summer but that goes without saying in Wisconsin. Other than that I can't come up with anything else.
Other Thoughts: This was the best out of the 8 courses I played near Appleton. I would highly recommend playing a few rounds at O'Hauser if you're anywhere nearby. This is a great, great tournament level course that will not disappoint serious disc golfers. The best nearby besides Rollin Ridge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Redo is better than original

5+    9/27/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Disc goddess
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like what they have done with the new lay-out. There are alot of difficult shots but also shorter holes mixed in too. Now that it is pay to play its nice not having the trash all over and maintained very well. Its nice having 3 tee pads at every hole. Definitely worth stopping to play.
Cons: Not alot of benches and alot of the ones that are there are placed in really weird positions and some even RIGHT next to the tee pad

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs Play

5+    8/9/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 25.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The redesign of O'hauser will excite some and upset others. Some excellent, challenging holes have been added: 3 Blue Tee, 5 Gold Tee, 7 Gold, 9 Blue/Gold, 12 Gold, 15 Gold. Multiple pin placements is a plus. Legitimate par 4's and 5 depending on the pin positions. Update 8/26: New green on hole nine creates a great, straight drive to the pin from the blue and gold. New fairway on hole 16 gives a good risk/reward from the gold and blue tees. Update 11/4/15: New green on #15 Gold is a great and challenging par 4.
Cons: Lots of righting anyhyzers off of the tee.(1, 3gold, 6Blue, 7, 9, 10Gold, 11Blue, 14, 15, 16, 18) Doesn't make them bad, but I throw the same disc on many of these drives. Some Gold tees very hard.(1, 3, 10, 14, 16) Missing long, tight driving hole that doesn't require some type of turn or slide. Seems like most tee shot needs to angle off the tee or late during the drive to find the landing spot. Blind holes due to desire to make the shots harder. (1, 3, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18)
Other Thoughts: Course has had a significant amount of buckthorn removed making it much more forgiving off of the fairway. Recovery shots are needed to get to the pin, but "pitchouts" have been significantly reduced.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 O'Hauser Park DGC

5+    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 40  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Gigantic tee pads, you will not be accidentally running off of these.
2) Concrete pads, nice and grippy.
3) Tee pads are color coded; red pads are colored red, blue pads are silver (color didn't take well i guess) and gold pads are gold, along with an Appleton Area Disc Golf Club (AADGC) stamp in the front of them.
3) Multiple pin placements and tees.
4) Tons of variety, hole shapes and distances. There's some big bombers (5, 7, and 12 from blues or golds), there's some short ace runs (most holes from the reds and 2 and 4 from the blues). From the reds 3 holes play LHBH, 10 play straight, 4 play RHBH, and hole 11 plays as an S shape. From the blues 6 play LHBH, 5 play straight, 4 play RHBH, and holes 6, 11, and 18 play as an S shape. And out of the 9 gold tees 5 play LHBH, 2 play straight and 2 play RHBH. You will need every shot in your bag, except maybe a roller, to shoot well here.
5) Most of the fairways in the woods are covered with wood chips; the course should never be muddy in these areas due to this.
6) A few elevated baskets with some really nice looking rock walls and 'greens'.
7) Course is nice and clean, and will hopefully stay this way as time passes
Cons: 1) Benches are few and far in between, but there are quite a few places to sit (on big rocks and such) on most holes without benches.
2) Same thing with trash cans as there is with the benches, but it's not that hard to carry your own trash. Shouldn't have a problem with liter bugs anyway since the course is pay to play.
Other Thoughts: This is one amazing course. Thanks to Rich Martin for designing this awesome course, and to the AADGC for putting all of their time and effort into making this the premiere course in the Fox Cities. This course is filled with great holes, and hard holes at that. Hole 11 definitely makes a run for first place as the hardest hole in the Fox Valley. This is a very tough course, but, for the most part, fair. Some holes are a bit ridiculous from the blues/golds. If you're playing from the blues or golds and can score par go ahead and pat yourself on the back, you have done well for this course. If you are anywhere near this course you need to stop by and play it, like I said before, it is an amazing course and must be played if you are in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.