Menasha, WI 
O'Hauser Park Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #12 (Taken 8/2012)
4 / 373ft.   4 / 456ft.   4 / 574ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
O'Hauser DGC Review

5+    7/20/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: FoxRacer23TW
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course was redone recently, to make it more of a tournament type course. The majority of the holes, have 3 different pad's, depending on your expertise. Most holes also have alternate pin locations, depending on the time of the year. Its one of those courses that you have to try multiple times just to get the hang of it. It is open year around, so you can go whenever you want.
Cons: BRING BUG SPRAY!!! It is terrible to play when you are constantly swatting at mosquitos and gnats. I don't know what the deal is, but every hole has loads of bugs on it, and makes it a struggle to throw and concentrate. A couple holes have poor throwing lanes, and makes it frustrating to throw through. You have to pay a $3 fee for each game you play, or you can pick up a yearly pass for $25 for single player.
Other Thoughts: If it wasn't for the bugs, I'd be there almost every weekend. The course is a great challenge, and its neat that the pins can change at any time. Not to fond of the fee to play, but if it means the course gets constant maintenance, I guess its worth it. Right now it seems like they are doing more visual renovations than making the course better.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course.

1    11/9/2013   1/28/2014
Review By: Offconstantly
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: WOW! What a fun course. 3 sets of tees offer a great variety to all players. 2 positions for baskets. Very clean and well managed. This is a city course so they have the funds to do the right things to keep it in great shape and making changes to keep it a great course. There is a good mix of open and wooded holes. Some of the wooded holes are some of the hardest I have ever played, but great. Has a cool little closed near first tee where they sell discs and other gear.
Cons: Some holes are just to hard to play. There is a hole that has about a 1000 trees between the tee and the basket. This is a little bit much. I like flat courses sometimes, but there really isn't any change in elevation here. That's not much of a con for me but some people like hilly courses. Only change baskets 2 times a year. Winter and summer, that's it. As a city course it should be free. I have no problem paying for disc golf, but to pay at a city course is a bit ridiculous. I don't have to pay to play baseball with my friends on there field and that costs a ton more to maintain. Hours of pro shop are posted but not followed. Don't post them if you can't keep them. League players are a-holes and very rude to paying players. Just because we don't carry 30 discs in our bag doesn't make us less of a discer than you. I know many players that play with 2 discs and would stomp those guys into the ground.
Other Thoughts: Great place for the more advanced player and a tough challenge for the better players. Not as crowded as other courses due to the $3 fee. When leagues are going on some of the players are snobby and make comments about non league players getting in their way. Those people allow you to play a nice course when they pay $3 is what to told one guy and I can't post what his response was. Have fun and enjoy a great course. One of my top 10 in WI.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The best in the Fox River Valley!

1    10/21/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a few minutes off Hwy 10 or Hwy 41 in Menasha. It's $3 a day per person and there are annual single and two person passes available as well. You can see where the money to play goes to on this course. I was very impressed with this place. There are 3 sets of tee pads on half the holes with the other half having 2 sets. The reds are the shorts, blues are longs and the golds are advanced/Tournament tees. These are set up very nicely, making shots from each different tee seem very different from one another. There is definitely a drastic difference from the reds to golds. The tee pads themselves were all in awesome shape. they are large, level and grip very well. They also have a painted foul line on the front of each tee which I don't recall ever seeing before anywhere else. The tee signs are on 4"x4" posts by each tee. The signs have all the info you need. They have a basic hole layout with all the tee and pin locations shown, hole #, distances for each in feet and meters and par. The baskets are Mach 3's with number plates on top that are in great shape and catch superbly. There are wood chips throughout the course on fairways and walking paths between holes. There are multiple benches and garbages throughout the course and restrooms at the proshop and even a port o potty near the middle. There is a small creek that comes into play on a couple holes as well. The flow of the course is easy to follow and they provide very nice maps at the pay box with a scorecard on the back also. There's good variety here from tightly wooded to more open holes with none being just wide open. There is also a pro shop there too. I'm not sure what their hours are though. The course is open year round which is always a plus.
Cons: The course is mostly flat. Some elevation would really add more challenge but with the land available they did an outstanding job. I can imagine the bugs could be an issue in the summer but that goes without saying in Wisconsin. Other than that I can't come up with anything else.
Other Thoughts: This was the best out of the 8 courses I played near Appleton. I would highly recommend playing a few rounds at O'Hauser if you're anywhere nearby. This is a great, great tournament level course that will not disappoint serious disc golfers. The best nearby besides Rollin Ridge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Redo is better than original

5+    9/27/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Disc goddess
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like what they have done with the new lay-out. There are alot of difficult shots but also shorter holes mixed in too. Now that it is pay to play its nice not having the trash all over and maintained very well. Its nice having 3 tee pads at every hole. Definitely worth stopping to play.
Cons: Not alot of benches and alot of the ones that are there are placed in really weird positions and some even RIGHT next to the tee pad

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

O'Hauser Park DGC

5+    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 29  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Gigantic tee pads, you will not be accidentally running off of these.
2) Concrete pads, nice and grippy.
3) Tee pads are color coded; red pads are colored red, blue pads are silver (color didn't take well i guess) and gold pads are gold, along with an Appleton Area Disc Golf Club (AADGC) stamp in the front of them.
3) Multiple pin placements and tees.
4) Tons of variety, hole shapes and distances. There's some big bombers (5, 7, and 12 from blues or golds), there's some short ace runs (most holes from the reds and 2 and 4 from the blues). From the reds 3 holes play LHBH, 10 play straight, 4 play RHBH, and hole 11 plays as an S shape. From the blues 6 play LHBH, 5 play straight, 4 play RHBH, and holes 6, 11, and 18 play as an S shape. And out of the 9 gold tees 5 play LHBH, 2 play straight and 2 play RHBH. You will need every shot in your bag, except maybe a roller, to shoot well here.
5) Most of the fairways in the woods are covered with wood chips; the course should never be muddy in these areas due to this.
6) A few elevated baskets with some really nice looking rock walls and 'greens'.
7) Course is nice and clean, and will hopefully stay this way as time passes
Cons: 1) Benches are few and far in between, but there are quite a few places to sit (on big rocks and such) on most holes without benches.
2) Same thing with trash cans as there is with the benches, but it's not that hard to carry your own trash. Shouldn't have a problem with liter bugs anyway since the course is pay to play.
Other Thoughts: This is one amazing course. Thanks to Rich Martin for designing this awesome course, and to the AADGC for putting all of their time and effort into making this the premiere course in the Fox Cities. This course is filled with great holes, and hard holes at that. Hole 11 definitely makes a run for first place as the hardest hole in the Fox Valley. This is a very tough course, but, for the most part, fair. Some holes are a bit ridiculous from the blues/golds. If you're playing from the blues or golds and can score par go ahead and pat yourself on the back, you have done well for this course. If you are anywhere near this course you need to stop by and play it, like I said before, it is an amazing course and must be played if you are in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.