Menasha, WI 
O'Hauser Park Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #8 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 326ft.   3 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    9/28/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: michaelzenith
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Multiple large and clean pads
Some wonderful landscaping on many of the holes
Very challenging, all kinds of creativity needed here!
Pro shop
Met some really wonderful people on the course.
Cons: The course is mostly marsh land. My wife who played the course with me wanted to leave three holes in because of the bugs and mud.
Very challenging holes, even from the easier pads. Felt that many of my drives required luck rather than skill.
Unless your drives are in the fairway you are in for a good search for your disk! Hiking boots needed!
Other Thoughts: I love to travel and try out new courses. If I played this course more I bet I would like it more. I really wanted to love the course as you can tell some serious time and dedication went into it but the course is a difficult play for someone passing through or who is not a highly skilled player. After playing the course I left frustrated, muddy and full of bug bites and yes, a unhappy wife.

Constantly improving gem

5+    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 94  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful course set in an out of the way park in Neenah.

Really nice concrete tee pads, that each have a foul line and run over area, which is a great feature that more courses should incorporate. This makes winter discing here much more pleasant, as well. 2 tee pads (blue/red) on each hole, with a Gold option on many, as well. These extra tees aren't just extra distance...nearly every one adds an extra wrinkle or completely different line to the hole.

Solid DGA baskets, in good repair. Did notice a little wobble on a couple cages, but nothing that will change the performance. 2 or 3 pin positions for every hole.

Nice molded plastic tee signs on every hole, at each tee pad. They're simple, but informative. The only thing that would help is a marker for which pin position is current.

A good variance in shots here. You'll get some straight, some left to right, and some right to left...even some OH's are forced in certain places. Shot shaping is required in some places to score well.

Upkeep is second to none. The open areas are extremely well groomed, fairways are well defined, and intended lines are well planned. The wooded fairways are extremely fair...not too open, but plenty of room for the Rec or Int player to have a chance to score well from hole to hole, yet still be rewarding enough for the better player, especially from the longer tees.

The rough here is made mostly of trees and bushes, but not dense overgrowth...so you almost have to try to lose a disc. This is a huge plus in my book. You're punished by bad shots, but not by losing plastic.
Cons: It's P2P ($3/day), which is pretty paltry for such a nice course. Some people just don't like P2P, though, so I always include it. If you don't pay, parks department personnel WILL come through and ask. The fine is $87.50, so pay your $3.

No real open bomber holes here...so if that's your favorite, you'll be disappointed. No real water in play, either...just a creek alongside a couple holes, that really shouldn't come into play.

While the park is wooded and should feel more secluded, the constantly running freight trains next to half the course is somewhat unnerving, especially if you happen to be mid swing during a train horn 50' away from you.

No elevation in play here, although to be honest, I barely notice it while playing.
Other Thoughts: While I'd like to give O'Hauser a 4.25, I'll bump it up knowing that it's just going to keep getting better. Every time I come here, I leave wanting to come back.

To me, this is the best course in the FDL-Appleton corridor. You'll need to be accurate (and in some cases long) to score well. Some holes look harder than they are, while some holes play tougher than they look. It will challenge you, without absolutely beating you down.

The park has baseball diamonds, tennis courts, walking trails, playgrounds...all the makings of a great family day. Restrooms by tee 1 (as well as the pay station), along with a porta potty in the middle of the course.

If you're in the area, you're doing yourself a disservice not playing here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

O'Hauser DGC Review

5+    7/20/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: FoxRacer23TW
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course was redone recently, to make it more of a tournament type course. The majority of the holes, have 3 different pad's, depending on your expertise. Most holes also have alternate pin locations, depending on the time of the year. Its one of those courses that you have to try multiple times just to get the hang of it. It is open year around, so you can go whenever you want.
Cons: BRING BUG SPRAY!!! It is terrible to play when you are constantly swatting at mosquitos and gnats. I don't know what the deal is, but every hole has loads of bugs on it, and makes it a struggle to throw and concentrate. A couple holes have poor throwing lanes, and makes it frustrating to throw through. You have to pay a $3 fee for each game you play, or you can pick up a yearly pass for $25 for single player.
Other Thoughts: If it wasn't for the bugs, I'd be there almost every weekend. The course is a great challenge, and its neat that the pins can change at any time. Not to fond of the fee to play, but if it means the course gets constant maintenance, I guess its worth it. Right now it seems like they are doing more visual renovations than making the course better.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course.

1    11/9/2013   1/28/2014
Review By: Offconstantly
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: WOW! What a fun course. 3 sets of tees offer a great variety to all players. 2 positions for baskets. Very clean and well managed. This is a city course so they have the funds to do the right things to keep it in great shape and making changes to keep it a great course. There is a good mix of open and wooded holes. Some of the wooded holes are some of the hardest I have ever played, but great. Has a cool little closed near first tee where they sell discs and other gear.
Cons: Some holes are just to hard to play. There is a hole that has about a 1000 trees between the tee and the basket. This is a little bit much. I like flat courses sometimes, but there really isn't any change in elevation here. That's not much of a con for me but some people like hilly courses. Only change baskets 2 times a year. Winter and summer, that's it. As a city course it should be free. I have no problem paying for disc golf, but to pay at a city course is a bit ridiculous. I don't have to pay to play baseball with my friends on there field and that costs a ton more to maintain. Hours of pro shop are posted but not followed. Don't post them if you can't keep them. League players are a-holes and very rude to paying players. Just because we don't carry 30 discs in our bag doesn't make us less of a discer than you. I know many players that play with 2 discs and would stomp those guys into the ground.
Other Thoughts: Great place for the more advanced player and a tough challenge for the better players. Not as crowded as other courses due to the $3 fee. When leagues are going on some of the players are snobby and make comments about non league players getting in their way. Those people allow you to play a nice course when they pay $3 is what to told one guy and I can't post what his response was. Have fun and enjoy a great course. One of my top 10 in WI.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The best in the Fox River Valley!

1    10/21/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a few minutes off Hwy 10 or Hwy 41 in Menasha. It's $3 a day per person and there are annual single and two person passes available as well. You can see where the money to play goes to on this course. I was very impressed with this place. There are 3 sets of tee pads on half the holes with the other half having 2 sets. The reds are the shorts, blues are longs and the golds are advanced/Tournament tees. These are set up very nicely, making shots from each different tee seem very different from one another. There is definitely a drastic difference from the reds to golds. The tee pads themselves were all in awesome shape. they are large, level and grip very well. They also have a painted foul line on the front of each tee which I don't recall ever seeing before anywhere else. The tee signs are on 4"x4" posts by each tee. The signs have all the info you need. They have a basic hole layout with all the tee and pin locations shown, hole #, distances for each in feet and meters and par. The baskets are Mach 3's with number plates on top that are in great shape and catch superbly. There are wood chips throughout the course on fairways and walking paths between holes. There are multiple benches and garbages throughout the course and restrooms at the proshop and even a port o potty near the middle. There is a small creek that comes into play on a couple holes as well. The flow of the course is easy to follow and they provide very nice maps at the pay box with a scorecard on the back also. There's good variety here from tightly wooded to more open holes with none being just wide open. There is also a pro shop there too. I'm not sure what their hours are though. The course is open year round which is always a plus.
Cons: The course is mostly flat. Some elevation would really add more challenge but with the land available they did an outstanding job. I can imagine the bugs could be an issue in the summer but that goes without saying in Wisconsin. Other than that I can't come up with anything else.
Other Thoughts: This was the best out of the 8 courses I played near Appleton. I would highly recommend playing a few rounds at O'Hauser if you're anywhere nearby. This is a great, great tournament level course that will not disappoint serious disc golfers. The best nearby besides Rollin Ridge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Redo is better than original

5+    9/27/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: Disc goddess
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like what they have done with the new lay-out. There are alot of difficult shots but also shorter holes mixed in too. Now that it is pay to play its nice not having the trash all over and maintained very well. Its nice having 3 tee pads at every hole. Definitely worth stopping to play.
Cons: Not alot of benches and alot of the ones that are there are placed in really weird positions and some even RIGHT next to the tee pad

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New O'Hauser park is a must play.

5+    11/16/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: Putter
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple location concrete tee's.
Multiple Mach 3 pin locations.
Challenging narrows to long open fields.
Semi-Private feel.
Benches at tee locations.
Garbage and recycling throughout the course.
Well groomed and maintained.
Proshop on grounds.
Score cards with layout map and pencil's provided.
Cons: Not much elevation change.
Some of the heavier wooded area's need a little clearing.
3 dollars to play all day or 25 for a season pass.
Other Thoughts: Since the new course has been put in, I have been going at least once a week. This is one of my new favorite local spots to throw for an afternoon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New and improved O'Hauser? Or just different

1    9/4/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) 3 sets of tees to choose from based on your skill level.

2) multiple pin locations to keep the variety available on this course.

3) Pay to Play which some consider to be a negative, while I think it will onlymake the course better.

4) Stamped concrete with a fault line on the end.

5) Nice mach baskets with the # plates facing the tees.

6) Nice signs with distance, pay, and a nice looking map of the hole.

7) Plenty of garbage cans around the place to drop of your garbage.

8) Benches available for those long rounds.

9) There is a pretty good variety of hole types from open, to moderately wooded to tightly wooded. This is also one of my favorite things to find on a course even though I prefer tightly wooded courses.

10) Elevated green on #8 adds a little bit of variety to the standard disc golf green.

11) Very nice perennial and plant garden on #8. It was kindof unexpected but it should mostly be out of play so it won't get damaged. I wonder how much effort will be put into keeping it looking nice though when there are other pressing disc golf needs. I hope it looks good long term!

12) Moderate distance variation with 200s, 300's, and 400's.

13) Lots of woodchips used to create paths and landing areas and green areas.

14) Pro shop located on site, although I do not know the hours it is open.

15) A little water in play but moreso in the springtime.
Cons: 1) I played the forward tees with my wife. I am a 900 rated player and she is about 700 rated. I would say the forward tees are not good for either player. Perhaps the best suitable player rating would be around 800. There just seemed to be some strange shots for both of us. She was frustrated because it seemed to be too difficult to execute some shots and I felt I was overexcuting some shots.

I will wait to address the rest of the tees until I play them, but I would expect the middle tees to be more suitable for me.

2) Compaction is a problem in many spots on this course and therefore erosion will be a factor too although the course is fairly flat.

3) Lack of much elevation change on the entire course. Not a design problem, just a factor of the land available.

4) The trees on this course are mostly weak and scrawny, plus lot off buckthorn creating contrived fairways. I wish all buckthorn could be removed and let the natural beauty of the course take over. I am sure they will work on the buckthorn, but it is a long battle.

5) A bit dangerous on the open holes on the east side of the park. A couple of fairways lanes cross very close to others.

6) A little luck reliance on some holes in my opinion. Some gaps that are crazy impossible to hit and lots of little trees scattered to knock down what might have been a decent shot.

7)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of a Kind

2-4    9/28/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: ACE_Holes4Life
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good signage, tee pads, upkeep. Only course in with true par 4 holes in the Greater Fox Valley. Nice to not be playing deuce or die for once.
Cons: Super punishing rough that comes with a new course. There's a few tees/landing zones that qualify as NAGS (not a disc golf shot).
Other Thoughts: There's a lot of very wooded dogleg or placement shots throughout the course. Even on good drives I found my second shot to most commonly be a leaning forehand roller.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  New and IMPROVED O'Hauser

5+    9/6/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: Raygun
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: • Tough-as-nails, but fair, course layout
• Outstanding teepads
• 3 tees on most holes provide good variety and test of skills
• Unique attributes like rock walls, memorial garden, etc. add special touches
• Tests all shots you can imagine
• Parking, pro shop open most days, bathrooms, scorecards, pencils
Cons: • No elevation and very little water in play, but what can you do? The land is the land, right?
• New layout is "young," and needs a couple years to improve even more
• Some drives are blind, so first-timers may have a longer round
• Could be frustrating for beginners due to difficulty
Other Thoughts: To go from a free public course to pay-to-play takes a special effort, indeed. Kudos to Rich Martin and all the volunteers for the hard work. This course was always the most enjoyable in the Fox Valley, yet has now vaulted into the top five in the state. Get out there and enjoy!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.